DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Verstreken et al (US 2022/0130708 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Verstreken et al (‘708) discloses a chuck for acquiring and holding a workpiece, the chuck comprising:
a housing 20 (para[0033], fig3);
one or a plurality of first compartments 24a,24b (para[0044]) disposed within the housing 20 (fig3), each first compartment 24a,24b defining a first space (fig3) and having a wall that forms a chuck surface 20a (fig3) having a plurality of vacuum ports 23a,23b (para[0044]) that are distributed on the chuck surface 20a;
a second compartment 10 (para[0045]) disposed within the housing 20 (fig3) defining a second space for internally temporarily accumulating vacuum (para[0029]); and
one or a plurality of conduits 25a,25b (para[0045]) fluidically connecting between the second compartment 10 and each of said one or the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b, each of said one or the plurality of conduits 25a,25b having a valve 30a,30b (para[0045]) which when opened allows flow through that conduit 25a,25b and when closed prevents flow through that conduit 25a,25b (para[0045]);
wherein when a vacuum source 12 (para[0029]) is fluidically connected to the second compartment 10 and when the valve 30a,30b of each of said one or more conduits 25a,25b is closed vacuum is temporarily accumulated in the second compartment 10, such that when the valve 30a,30b of each of said one or more conduits 25a,25b is opened, the accumulated vacuum affects suction at the plurality of vacuum ports 23a,23b on the chuck surface 20a to acquire and hold the workpiece (para[0016]).
Regarding claim 2¸ Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, further comprising a controller 34 (para[0040]), configured to close the valve 30a,30b of each of said one or more conduits 25a,25b, to cause vacuum to temporarily accumulate in the second compartment 10, and to open the valve 30a,30b of each of said one or more conduits 25a,25b to acquire and hold the workpiece on the chuck surface 20a.
Regarding claim 3, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, wherein said one or the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b comprises the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b.
Regarding claim 4, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 2, wherein the controller 34 is configured to separately control the valves 30a,30b of the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b.
Regarding claim 5, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b are arranged concentrically (fig2A).
Regarding claim 6, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 5, wherein the vacuum ports of the first compartments 24a,24b are arranged in concentric strips (fig2A).
Regarding claim 7, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 6, wherein at least some of the concentric strips are adjacent to one another (fig2A).
Regarding claim 8, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 6, wherein at least some of the concentric strips are separated by a gap on the chuck surface 20a (fig2A).
Regarding claim 9, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, wherein the second compartment 10 comprises a vacuum connection port 14 (para[0030]), for connecting to an external vacuum source (para[0030], the vacuum source 12 is an external vacuum source).
Regarding claim 10, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of vacuum ports 23a,23b is distributed on a peripheral zone of the chuck surface 20a (fig2B).
Regarding claim 11, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of vacuum ports 23a,23b is distributed on the chuck surface 20a in one or a plurality of distribution patterns (figs2A-2C).
Regarding claim 15, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, further comprising one or a plurality of protrusions (para[0035], “projections”) on the chuck surface 20a to prevent direct contact between the workpiece and the chuck surface 20a.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Piper (6,024,631).
Regarding claim 16, as seen in fig3, Piper (‘631) discloses a chuck (col.6 line43) for acquiring and holding a workpiece (abstract), comprising:
a housing 32,51 (col.7 lines1-2, fig3) comprising: one or a plurality of first compartments 70 disposed in the housing 32,51, each first compartment 70 (fig3) defining a first space (fig3) and having a wall that forms a chuck surface 12 (fig3) having a plurality of vacuum ports 68 (col.7 line43) that are distributed on the chuck surface 12;
and one or more vacuum generators 40 (col.6 line50, “vacuum pump”), disposed within the housing 32,51 (fig3), for affecting suction in said one or the plurality of first compartments 70 to cause suction at the plurality of vacuum ports 68 on the chuck surface 12 to acquire and hold the workpiece (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verstreken et al (US 2022/0130708 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1. Verstreken et al teaches wherein said one or the plurality of first compartments 24a,24b can comprise the plurality of first compartments (fig3, para[0044]) or a single compartment 24 (para[0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use either a plurality of first compartments or a single first compartment, as taught by different embodiments, depending on how many vacuum zones a user would like on a chuck surface.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verstreken e al (US 2022/0130708 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 6,170,496 B1).
Regarding claims 13-14, Verstreken et al discloses the chuck according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the valve is a three-way valve. Chen et al (‘496) teaches a use of a three-way valve (col.3 lines35-44) which has multiple valve openings, each connected to each of multiple conduits and a gas supply respectively (col.3 lines35-44), the three-way valve connected to a pressure source to affect pressure force (col.4 lines5-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Verstreken et al to a three-way valve, as taught by Chen et al, so that a damaged conduit out of a plurality of conduits can be replaced without breaking the vacuum flow.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper (6,024,631) in view of Levin et al (US 6,644,703 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Piper discloses the chuck according to claim 16, however, does not explicitly disclose that the vacuum generators are Venturi vacuum generators. Levin et al (‘703) teaches that it is known to use a plurality of Venturi vacuum generators (col.25 lines50-51, “Venturi” type of vacuum-pump) for a vacuum chuck. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Piper to use Venturi vacuum generators as the vacuum generators, as taught by Levin et al, as Venturi vacuum generators are known types of vacuum generators for a vacuum chuck.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Piper and Levin et al teaches the chuck according to claim 17. Levin et al further teaches wherein an exhaust port (a connection) of each of the Venturi vacuum generators is connected to a vacuum source 51 (abstract) in order to provide vacuum to the vacuum generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Piper and Levin et al to an exhaust port to be connected to a vacuum source, as further taught by Levin et al, for the purpose of providing vacuum.
Regarding claims 19-20, the combination of Piper and Levin et al teaches the chuck according to claim 17. Levin et al further teaches a controller 53 (automatic “control” valve, col.25 lines52-53) for controlling a blow of high-pressure/the operation through said one or the plurality of Venturi vacuum generators (col.25 lines51-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Piper and Levin et al to use a controller, as further taught by Levin et al, for the purpose of controlling the Venturi vacuum generators.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723