18591338Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the references do not disclose the newly amended limitation of
sending a configuration to the UE that specifies a number of failed beam recovery attempts, of the active beam pair, that should occur before the UE to take action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to assert that due to the broadness of the claim language, Jung does disclose that beam failures are declared by the base station to the UE (Jung [0469]) and a max number of detected failures occurred (Jung [0459]). Jung discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs.
However, Cheng does disclose the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs ([0025]: the UE monitoring when reaches maximum number of BFRQ transmission, then the UE will trigger RLF procedure and start with RRC).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Cheng disclosure to reconnect for service.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2018/0192371; using foreign Application effective date; hereinafter Jung) in view of Cheng (US 2019/0166555).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Jung discloses a method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS), comprising:
communicating using beamforming with a user equipment (UE) via a transmit beam and a receive beam of an active beam pair ([0288]: using beam pair for communications between BS and terminal); and
sending a configuration to the UE that specifies a number of failed beam recovery attempts, of the active beam pair ([0459]: beam recovery will continue until a max number of failures is detected),
Jung discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs.
However, Cheng does disclose the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs ([0025]: the UE monitoring when reaches maximum number of BFRQ transmission, then the UE will trigger RLF procedure and start with RRC).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Cheng disclosure to reconnect for service.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Cheng discloses wherein the BS sends the configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0025]: UE start the RRC connection).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Jung discloses the invention further comprising configuring the UE to use a particular transmit beam shape for sending one or more beam recovery messages in one or more directions as part of the failed beam recovery attempts ([0287]: beams having various directions).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Jung discloses a method for wireless communications performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
communicating using beamforming with a base station (BS) via a transmit beam and a receive beam of an active beam pair ([0288]: using beam pair for communications between BS and terminal);
obtaining a configuration from the BS indicating a number of failed beam recovery attempts, of the active beam pair ([0459]: beam recovery will continue until a max number of failures is detected),
Jung discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs.
However, Cheng does disclose the limitation the UE to taking action regarding a radio link failure (RLF) procedure when the number of failed beam recovery attempts occurs ([0025]: the UE monitoring when reaches maximum number of BFRQ transmission, then the UE will trigger RLF procedure and start with RRC).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Cheng disclosure to reconnect for service.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Cheng as applied to claims 4 and 9 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0257073; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Jung in view of Cheng discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about wherein taking action regarding the RLF procedure comprises:
detecting a beam from a neighboring cell; and
performing a forward handover (HO) to the neighboring cell.
However Park does disclose the limitations of wherein taking action regarding the RLF procedure comprises:
detecting a beam from a neighboring cell ([0085], [0094]: performing handover after acquiring neighboring measurements within the beam forming environment); and
performing a forward handover (HO) to the neighboring cell ([0085], [0094]: performing handover after acquiring neighboring measurements within the beam forming environment).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Park’s disclosure to provide handover and continue service coverage.
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644