DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed September 23, 2026. Currently, claims 1-39 are pending. Claims 5-9, 11-20, 28-32, 37-39 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-4, 10, 21-27, 33-36 and miR-190a-5p in the paper filed September 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/JP2023/007849, filed March 2, 2023 and claims priority to JAPAN 2022-138226, filed August 31, 2022.
It is noted that a translation of the foreign document has not been received.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 1-4, 10, 21-27, 33-36 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if:
(1) the species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent. See MPEP § 2117.
Here each species is considered to each of the miRNA listed in Claim 1.
The recited alternative species in the groups set forth here do not share a single structural similarity, as each different miRNA that could be detected is itself located in a separate region of the genome and has its own structure. The miRNA recited in the instant claims, do not share a single structural similarity since each consists of a different nucleotide sequences with different expression patterns. The only structural similarity present is that all detected positions are part of nucleic acid molecules. The fact that the markers comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleotide alone is not essential to the common activity of being correlated with colorectal cancer.
MPEP 2117 (II)(A) provides the following guidance as to what constitutes a physical, chemical, or art recognized class:
A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”
The recited miRNA do not belong to a recognized chemical class because there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that the miRNA will behave in the same manner and can be substituted for one another with the same intended result achieved. In other words, there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that each of the recited miRNA would function in the same way in the claimed method; it is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. Further there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that each of the recited miRNAs possess a common property. Figure 3 demonstrates each miRNA is not associated with the same cancers.
MPEP 2117 (II) further states the following:
Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the compounds do not appear to be members of a recognized physical or chemical class or members of an art-recognized class, the members are considered to share a "single structural similarity" and common use when the alternatively usable compounds share a substantial structural feature that is essential to a common use. Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
The recited alternative species do not share a substantial common structure just because they all have a sugar phosphate backbone. The sugar phosphate backbone of a nucleic acid chain is not considered to be a substantial common structural feature to the group of genes being claimed because it is shared by ALL nucleic acids. Further, the fact that the genes all have a sugar phosphate backbone does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a sugar phosphate backbone alone is not essential to a common use.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 10, 21-27, 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Question 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and a judicial exception.
Question 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a law of nature and a natural phenomenon.
Claim 1 and 21 are directed to “an analysis method for determining a presence of an affection of breast cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung, cancer, gastric cancer, colorectal cancer” comprising quantifying miRNA, namely hsamiR-190a5p to obtaining a quantitative miRNA value.
Claim 2 adds analysis of a control and comparing the first and second values to determining that the object suffers from a cancer.
Claim 24 is directed to constructing a determinization algorithm and determining the presence of affection using the determination algorithm information.
Claims 1 and 21 are directed to a process that involves the judicial exceptions of an abstract idea (i.e. the abstract steps of “determining of a presence of an affection or at least one of breast cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, gastric cancer and colorectal cancer”) and a law of nature/natural phenomenon (i.e. the natural correlation between the quantity of miRNA, namely hsa-miR-190a-5p and cancer).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons that follow.
Herein, claims 1 and 21 involves the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract process. Claims 1 and 21 requires performing the step of “determining of a presence of an affection or at least one of breast cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, gastric cancer and colorectal cancer”. Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for "determining" and the claims do not set forth how “determining” is accomplished. As broadly recited the determining step may be accomplished mentally by thinking about a subject’s methylation state and assessing whether the subject has cancer. Thus, the determining step constitutes an abstract process idea.
Claims 2 and 22 further recite a comparison between the quantity of miRNA and a normal control that is deemed an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A); • claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 763, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon. The association between the quantity of miRNA, namely hsa-miR-190a-5p and cancer is a law of nature/natural phenomenon. The "determining” in the preamble tells users of the process to predict cancer in the sample, amounts to no more than an "instruction to apply the natural law". Claims 4 and 10 specifically indicate a comparison is indicative of a result. This assessing step is no more than a mental step. Even if the step requires something more such as to verbalize the discovery of the natural law, this mere verbalization is not an application of the law of nature to a new and useful end. The "assessing" step does not require the process user to do anything in light of the correlation. The "assessing" step fails to provide the “practical assurance” sought by the Prometheus Court that the “process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself.”
Claims 24-27, 33 are directed to constructing a determination algorithm for determining the presence of affection of at least one cancer. Claim 26 provides the algorithm uses regression or a statistical method or machine learning method. These recitations are directed at known mathematical formulations and data analysis.
Question 2A Prong II
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. While the claim recites quantifying miRNA, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method. Thus, the claim is “directed to” the exception.
Question 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more from a statement of a natural principle for at least these reasons:
The claims do not include applying the judicial exception, or by use of, a particular machine. The claims do not tie the steps to a “particular machine" and therefore do not meet the machine or transformation test on these grounds. The use of machines generally does not impose a meaningful limit on claim scope.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. The quantifying miRNA is mere data gathering step that amounts to extra solution activity to the judicial exception. It merely tells the users of the method to determine the quantity of miRNA of a sample without further specification as to how the sample should be analyzed. The claim does not recite a new, innovative method for such determination. The determining step essentially tells users to determine the markers through whatever known processes they wish to use.
The prior art teaches that expression analysis using commercially available biochips and arrays that comprise the claimed genes. The steps are recited at a high level of generality. The claim merely instructs a scientist to use any analysis to determine the quantity of miRNA. The claim does not require the use of any particular non-conventional reagents. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation that distinguishes this step from well understood, routine and conventional activities engaged in by scientists prior to applicant’s invention and at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, the teachings in the specification demonstrate the well understood, routine, conventional nature of additional elements because it teaches that the additional elements were well known. Specifically, the specification teaches the quantification step may be performed using commercially available kits (see para 49 of the specification).
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For these reasons the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4, 10, 21-27, 3-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims are indefinite. It is not clear how the recited preamble is intended to breathe life and meaning into the claim. The preamble of Claim 1 is directed to a method for determining a presence of an affection of at least one of breast cancer….. However, the claim only provides for quantifying miRNA in a first sample. Thus it is not clear if applicant intends to cover any method for quantifying miRNA in a first sample, or if the method is intended to somehow require more to accomplish the goal set forth in the preamble. If the claim requires something more, it is unclear what additional active process step the method requires and it appears that the claims are incomplete. The claims fail to provide any active steps that clearly accomplish the goal set forth by the preamble of the claims. Claims 2-4, 10, 21-27, 33-36 are similarly indefinite.
Claims 2-4, 10, 36 are indefinite because it is unclear whether the mere comparison of a first miRNA and a second miRNA value determines that the subject has cancer. A comparison performed would not determine the presence of cancer. In fact, Claims 4 and 10 suggest that a comparison where the first miRNA value is smaller than the second is indicative of cancer. Thus “when” the first quantitative miRNA value is larger it would seem that no cancer is present which is at tension with Claim 2. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 21-27, 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kahraman et al. (WO 2018/055093, March 29, 2018).
Kahraman teaches a method for diagnosing breast cancer by detecting at least one miRNA in a blood sample from a patient. Kahraman teaches analysis of hsamiR-190a-5p (see Figure 4).
With respect to Claims 2, 22, Kahraman teaches comparing the miRNA value of the sample to a control (page 13, para 2).
With respect to Claims 3, 23, the control is a healthy control (page 13, para 2).
With respect to Claim 4, Kahraman teaches cancer subjects has lower quantities of miRNA than cancer (see Figure 4).
With respect to Claim 24, Kaharaman teaches determining an algorithm for determining breast cancer (see page 1, lines 5-15).
With respect to Claims 25-27, Kaharaman teaches the algorithm may be a machine learning approach that includes inputting the reference level of miRNA and computing the presence of breast cancer (page 20).
With respect to Claim 34, Kaharaman teaches the level of miRNA may be carried out using quantitative detection such as RT-PCR or RT qPCR (page 23, lines 18-30).
With respect to Claim 35, Kaharaman teaches the term blood sample includes whole blood or a blood fraction such as serum, plasma or blood cells.
With respect to Claim 36, Kaharaman teaches levels or amounts of miRNA are normalized/corrected by a standard.
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-27, 33-34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (World. Surg. Vol. 33, No. 4, pages 698-709, April 2009).
Zhang teaches analysis and quantification of miRNA including hsamiR-190a-5p. Zhang teaches analysis and differential expression analysis of miRNAs by real time RT_PCR which is a quantitative method in pancreatic cancer and normal cells (Abstract). Zhang teaches 8 miRNA including miR-190 were significantly upregulated in most pancreatic cancer tissues. Zhang teaches the sequences of miR-190 is miR-190 MIMAT0000458 ugauauguuugauauauuaggu tgatatgtttgatatattaggt (see page 11). This is SEQ ID NO: 14 of the instant application, namely miR-190a-5p.
With respect to Claims 2, 22, Zhang teaches comparing the miRNA value of the sample to a control (Abstract).
With respect to Claims 3, 23, the control is a healthy or normal controls (abstract).
With respect to Claim 24-27, Zhang teaches determining an algorithm for determining pancreatic cancer (see page 3). The statistical analysis used by Zhang was paired Student’s t-test to obtain a p-value.
With respect to Claim 34, Zhang teaches the level of miRNA may be carried out using quantitative detection such as RT-PCR or RT qPCR (page 23, lines 18-30).
With respect to Claim 36, Zhang teaches levels or amounts of miRNA are normalized/corrected by a standard (page 3).
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bianchi et al. (US2024/0368698, November 7, 2024) teaches analysis of lung adenocarcinoma and various miRNA. Table 10 list has-miR-109a-5p as not differentially expressed in lung cancer (page 13).
Sharifi et al. (Nature Portfolio, Scientific Reports, Vol. 12, No. 20135, November 2022) teaches miR-190a-5p as indicative of Breast cancer pathogenesis. This is filed prior to the instant filing date because no certified copy of the foreign priority document has been received.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
October 15, 2026