2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-13 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Uejima (Pub No. US 2015/0295595).
Regarding claim 1, Uejima discloses a high frequency module (Para. 5-6: High frequency switching circuit) comprising: a switch circuit that comprises a first terminal, a second terminal, a third terminal, and a fourth terminal (Fig. 12: Switching ckt-3 & ckt-4 with 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th terminals & (Para. 11-12) (Fig. 3-4: Switch circuit with many terminals); a first antenna terminal that is connected to the first terminal by a first signal path (Fig. 2 & 12: ANT1 connected by the switch to 1st path); a second antenna terminal that is connected to the second terminal by a second signal path (Fig. 2 & 12: ANT2 connected by the switch to 2nd path); a matching circuit that is connected between the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: Matching ckt-5c between 1st and 2nd path) & (Para. 93); a first filter that is connected to the third terminal and that is configured to connect to one of the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: LPF1 connected to a terminal and also connect multiple signal lines) & (Para. 55); and a second filter that is connected to the fourth terminal and that is configured to connect to the other of the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: LPF2 connected to a terminal and also connect multiple signal lines) & (Para. 56);
wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the third terminal, the fourth terminal, or ground (Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals selectively connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state) & (Para. 49 & 61 & 92 & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b), and wherein when one of the first terminal and the second terminal is connected to the third terminal or the fourth terminal (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state), the other of the first terminal and the second terminal is connected to ground (Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Regarding claim 2, Uejima discloses a high frequency module (Para. 6: High frequency switching circuit) comprising: a switch circuit that comprises a first terminal, a second terminal, a third terminal, and a fourth terminal (Fig. 12: Switching ckt-3 & ckt-4 with 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th terminals & (Para. 11-12) (Fig. 3-4: Switch circuit with many terminals); a first amplifier circuit that is connected to the first terminal by a first signal path (Para. 5 & Fig. 13: PA 505a can be on the RFIC); a second amplifier circuit that is connected to the second terminal by a second signal path (Para. 5 & Fig. 13: PA 505b can be on the RFIC); a matching circuit that is connected between the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: Matching ckt-5c between 1st and 2nd path) & (Para. 93);a first filter that is connected to the third terminal and that is configured to connect to one of the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: LPF1 connected to a terminal and also connect multiple signal lines) & (Para. 55); and a second filter that is connected to the fourth terminal and that is configured to connect to the other of the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: LPF2 connected to a terminal and also connect multiple signal lines at a selected terminals) & (Para. 56); wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the third terminal, the fourth terminal, and ground (Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals selectively connected to terminal CP1 or other terminals based on switching state) & (Para. 49 & 61 & 92 & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b), and wherein when one of the first terminal and the second terminal is connected to the third terminal or the fourth terminal, the other of the first terminal and the second terminal is connected to ground (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state & Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Regarding claim 3, Uejima discloses a mounting board (Para. 79: wiring board-2), wherein the switch circuit further comprises a ground terminal that is selectively connected to the first terminal (Para. 92: Antenna terminals connect and grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b), wherein the matching circuit overlaps the first antenna terminal and wherein the ground terminal is adjacent to the first terminal (Fig. 12 & Para. 92-94).
Regarding claim 6, Uejima discloses the matching circuit comprises an inductor connected between the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: Inductor L1 at 5c connected between CP1 and CP2).
Regarding claim 7, Uejima discloses the matching circuit comprises a capacitor connected between the first signal path and the second signal path (Fig. 12: Capacitor C1 at 5c connected between CP1 and CP2).
Regarding claim 8, Uejima discloses the matching circuit is connected between the first signal path and the second signal path, and comprises an inductor and a capacitor that are connected in parallel to each other (Fig. 12: Inductor L1 and capacitor at 5c connected between CP1 and CP2) & (Para. 55).
Regarding claim 9, Uejima discloses the matching circuit is connected between the first signal path and the second signal path, and comprises an inductor and a capacitor that are connected in series to each other (Fig. 12: Inductor L1 and capacitor & Para. 61).
Regarding claim 10, Uejima discloses the matching circuit further comprises a capacitor connected between the first signal path and the ground (Fig. 10 & 12: Capacitor C1).
Regarding claim 11, Uejima discloses the matching circuit further comprises an inductor connected in series to the first signal path (Fig. 11: Inductor L1).
Regarding claim 12, Uejima discloses the matching circuit comprises an inductor formed in a pattern on the mounting board (Fig. 11: Inductor L7 & L8).
Regarding claim 13, Uejima discloses the third terminal and the fourth terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the first terminal, the second terminal, or ground, and wherein when one of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to the first terminal or the second terminal, the other of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to ground (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state & Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Regarding claim 17 & 18, Uejima discloses a signal processing circuit that is connected to the high frequency module and that is configured to perform signal processing on a high frequency signal (Para. 5-6: RFIC signal processor with high frequency signal circuit).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uejima (Pub No. US 2015/0295595) and further in view of Hanaoka et al (Pub No. US 2021/0399699).
Regarding claim 4, Uejima discloses a mounting board (Fig. 11-12). Uejima is silent regarding the matching circuit is adjacent to the switch circuit in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting board.
Hanaoka et al discloses the matching circuit is adjacent to the switch circuit in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting board (Fig. 1 & Para. 66-69: matching circuit adjacent with switch in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use matching circuit with the RF circuit to adjust and control proper signal in a RF device for robust wireless signals.
Regarding claim 5, Uejima is silent regarding the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the switch circuit closest to the matching circuit in the plan view.
Hanaoka et al discloses the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the switch circuit closest to the matching circuit in the plan view (Para. 66-69 & Fig. 5-6: Terminal 80-84 & Matching ckt on the board 9).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use matching circuit with the RF circuit to adjust and control proper signal in a RF device for robust wireless signals.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uejima (Pub No. US 2015/0295595), in view of ITO et al (Pub No. US 2021/0194518) and further in view of Hanaoka et al (Pub No. US 2021/0399699).
Regarding claim 14, Uejima discloses the third terminal and the fourth terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the first terminal, the second terminal, or ground, and wherein when one of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to the first terminal or the second terminal, the other of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to ground (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state & Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Uejima is silent regarding in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, and the first distance is shorter than the second distance.
ITO et al discloses the switch circuit further comprises: a first ground terminal selectively connected to the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 3: Ground terminal at 44 selectively connected terminals 72 & 71), a second ground terminal selectively connected to the third terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 3: Ground at 43B connect terminal 73 & 622. Para. 36 & 38), and a board on which the first terminal, the second terminal, the first ground terminal, and the second ground terminal are disposed (Fig. 2-4), and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, and the first distance is shorter than the second distance (Fig. 2-3: First distance is shorter. Distance between 44 & 72).
Hanaoka et al discloses in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal (Fig. 1 & Para. 66-69: plan view from a thickness direction of the board).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use terminal connection between circuitry the RF circuit to adjust and control proper signal in a RF device for robust wireless signals.
Regarding claim 15, Uejima discloses the third terminal and the fourth terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the first terminal, the second terminal, or ground, and wherein when one of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to the first terminal or the second terminal, the other of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to ground (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state & Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Uejima is silent regarding in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, a distance between the second terminal and the first ground terminal is a third distance, a distance between the second terminal and the second ground terminal is a fourth distance, and a sum of the first distance and the third distance is shorter than a sum of the second distance and the fourth distance.
ITO et al discloses the switch circuit further comprises: a first ground terminal selectively connected to the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 3: Ground terminal at 44 selectively connected terminals 72 & 71), a second ground terminal selectively connected to the third terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 3: Ground at 43B connect terminal 73 & 622. Para. 36 & 38), and a board on which the first terminal, the second terminal, the first ground terminal, and the second ground terminal are disposed (Fig. 3-4) and wherein in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, a distance between the second terminal and the first ground terminal is a third distance, a distance between the second terminal and the second ground terminal is a fourth distance (Fig. 2-3: Different distance between terminal and grounds). Examiner taking official notice that a sum of the first distance and the third distance can shorter than a sum of the second distance and the fourth distance (sum of two distances can be different that the sum of other two distance. Fig. 2-4: distance can be different).
Hanaoka et al discloses in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal (Fig. 1 & Para. 66-69: plan view from a thickness direction of the board).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use terminal connection between circuitry the RF circuit to adjust and control proper signal in a RF device for robust wireless signals.
Regarding claim 16, Uejima discloses the third terminal and the fourth terminal are each configured to selectively connect to the first terminal, the second terminal, or ground, and wherein when one of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to the first terminal or the second terminal, the other of the third terminal and the fourth terminal is connected to ground (Para. 49-50 & Fig. 1 & 12: Antenna ANT1 & ANT2 terminals can be connected to terminal CP1 based on switching state & Para. 92: Antenna terminals grounded & Fig. 12: Ant1/ Ant2 can be grounded at 7a/ 7b).
Uejima is silent regarding a first ground terminal selectively connected to the first terminal and the second terminal, a second ground terminal selectively connected to the third terminal and the fourth terminal, and a board on which the first terminal, the second terminal, the first ground terminal, and the second ground terminal are disposed, and wherein in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a straight line distance between the first terminal and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a straight line distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, a straight line distance between the second terminal and the first ground terminal is a third distance, a straight line distance between the second terminal and the second ground terminal is a fourth distance, and the first distance and the third distance are each shorter than the second distance and the fourth distance.
ITO et al discloses a first ground terminal selectively connected to the first terminal and the second terminal (Fig. 3: Ground terminal at 44 selectively connected terminals 72 & 71),
a second ground terminal selectively connected to the third terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 3: Ground at 43B connect terminal 73 & 622. Para. 36 & 38), and a board on which the first terminal, the second terminal, the first ground terminal, and the second ground terminal are disposed (Fig. 2-4), and wherein in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a straight line distance between the first terminal and the first ground terminal is a first distance, a straight line distance between the first terminal and the second ground terminal is a second distance, a straight line distance between the second terminal and the first ground terminal is a third distance (Fig. 2-4 & Para. 64 & 99), a straight line distance between the second terminal and the second ground terminal is a fourth distance (Fig. 2-4 & Para. 101 & 99), and the first distance and the third distance are each shorter than the second distance and the fourth distance (Fig. 2-3: One of the distance is shorter than other & Para. 60).
Hanaoka et al discloses in a plan view from a thickness direction of the board: a distance between the first terminal (Fig. 1 & Para. 66-69: plan view from a thickness direction of the board).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use terminal connection between circuitry the RF circuit to adjust and control proper signal in a RF device for robust wireless signals.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648