DETAILED ACTION
The IDS has been considered by the examiner.
The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (US 2019/0068299) in view of Khan (US 2020/0371192).
Referring to claim 1, Ikeda discloses an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1-2 and Par. 22, “communication state analysis system”, “environment measuring device adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machine, and acquire environment measurement data indicative of the radio wave intensity”) comprising:
a processor (FIG. 2, Control unit 60) configured to
generate data note that figure 2 and paragraphs 44 and 46 describe the plurality of access points deployed in a geographic area. The wireless access points 22 generate data of radio wave map to which data relating to received power of a radio signal at points in a predetermined geographical range is mapped, e.g., each wireless access point radiate radio signals that reach boundaries of radio cell created by the access point and a radio map of the access points is generated within a geographic area) based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range (FIG. 1-2, “QA Device 20”. FIG. 39, 40, 81, “The vehicles 12, which serve as objects to be inspected, move along a path having an arbitrary shape (in the present figure, a U-shaped path) while passing through execution points of each of the inspection processes that take place within the inspection area”, “The vehicles 12 are each equipped with a computer referred to as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit)”, “The performance measurement data D2 includes the date, the measurement time, the radio wave intensity, the channel, a connection error detection flag, and the MAC address and the SSID of the connection destination (i.e., the wireless access point 22)”, note that the vehicle as shown in figure 1 travel around the U-shaped path and their radio status changes as their distance change between a vehicle and the wireless access point, which reads on based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range) and a second wireless device configured to form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range (Par. 89, 96, 104, “one or more of the wireless devices (wireless access points 22), which serve as objects to be analyzed, can be easily selected via the list screen. For example, when a plurality of wireless access points 22 are arranged in a distributed manner within a wide inspection area”, “a graph showing temporal changes in the reception strength and the radio wave intensity is displayed in a central field 94,”, “the environment measuring devices 18 adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machines, and acquire environment measurement data D3 indicative of the radio wave intensity, [3] movable bodies (vehicles 12)”, note that wireless access points depicted in figure 1 is equivalent to the second wireless device these wireless access points form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range).
Ikeda is not relied on for generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map.
In an analogous art, Khan discloses generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map (Par. 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note a missing part of radio wave is generated via interpolation using priorly stored radio maps).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the status of the propagation path using received power measured from a synchronization signal or a reference signal transmitted and received between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Ikeda, Par. 44, “The wireless quality may be, for example, a reception strength, a signal-to-noise ratio, or the like, and as examples of the former, there may be cited a received signal intensity (RSSI: Received Signal Strength Indicator) of a reference signal that is periodically transmitted by the wireless access point 22”).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the status of the propagation path based on a difference between first received power measured on a side of the first wireless device and second received power measured on a side of the second wireless device (Khan, Par. 67, “ Each of the plurality of radio nodes and/or electronic devices e.g. measures signals transmitted from one or more radio nodes (e.g. surrounding radio nodes), which one or more signals are receivable with one or more sensors”. Khan, Par. 154, “The one or more first fingerprints are obtained e.g. by receiving the one or more first fingerprints from one or more radio nodes, e.g. radio nodes 140 of FIG. 1. The one or more first fingerprints may for instance be obtained from another entity (not shown in FIG. 1) that is different from the one or more radio nodes (e.g. radio nodes 140 of FIG. 1) and that transmits the one or more first fingerprints to the master central device”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a first variation of received power, when the received power of a direct wave is larger than the received power of a reflected wave (Khan, Par. 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note that the claim includes the conditional limitation “when”, thus, generating of data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a first variation of received power is only possible if the received power of a direct wave is larger than the received power of a reflected wave. Applicant is required to change “when” to “after determining”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143
Referring to claim 11, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a second variation of received power or a third variation of the received power in a section longer than the second variation, when the received power of a reflected wave is larger than the received power of a direct wave (Khan, Par. 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note that the claim includes the conditional limitation “when”, thus, generating of data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a second variation of received power or a third variation of the received power in a section longer than the second variation is only possible if the condition is met. Applicant is required to change “when” to “after determining”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143
Referring to claim 12, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the processor is configured to generate data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a second variation of received power or a third variation in a section longer than the second variation, when the received power of the reflected wave is larger than the received power of the direct wave; and the second variation is a variation in a section longer than the first variation (Khan, Par. 170, 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note that the claim includes the conditional limitation “when”, thus, generating of data of a missing part on the radio wave map based on a second variation of received power or a third variation in a section longer than the second variation is only possible if the condition is met. Applicant is required to change “when” to “after determining).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to output reliability of data of at least the generated missing part in the radio wave map (Khan, Par. 48, 85, “The radio map is outputted. The radio map may for instance be outputted”, “the radio map is outputted to another apparatus, wherein the other apparatus generates a further radio map based at least partially on the outputted radio map and at least one further radio map of the venue obtained by the other apparatus”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143
Referring to claim 16, Ikeda disclose a system (Fig. 1-2 and Par. 22, “communication state analysis system”, “environment measuring device adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machine, and acquire environment measurement data indicative of the radio wave intensity”) comprising: a first wireless device configured to travel in a predetermined geographical range (FIG. 1-2, “QA Device 20”. FIG. 39, 40, 81, “The vehicles 12, which serve as objects to be inspected, move along a path having an arbitrary shape (in the present figure, a U-shaped path) while passing through execution points of each of the inspection processes that take place within the inspection area”, “The vehicles 12 are each equipped with a computer referred to as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit)”, “The performance measurement data D2 includes the date, the measurement time, the radio wave intensity, the channel, a connection error detection flag, and the MAC address and the SSID of the connection destination (i.e., the wireless access point 22)”, note that the vehicle as shown in figure 1 travel around the U-shaped path and their radio status changes as their distance change between a vehicle and the wireless access point, which reads on based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range); a second wireless device configured to form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range (FIG. 1-2, “QA Device 20”. FIG. 39, 40, 81, “The vehicles 12, which serve as objects to be inspected, move along a path having an arbitrary shape (in the present figure, a U-shaped path) while passing through execution points of each of the inspection processes that take place within the inspection area”, “The vehicles 12 are each equipped with a computer referred to as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit)”, “The performance measurement data D2 includes the date, the measurement time, the radio wave intensity, the channel, a connection error detection flag, and the MAC address and the SSID of the connection destination (i.e., the wireless access point 22)”, note that the vehicle as shown in figure 1 travel around the U-shaped path and their radio status changes as their distance change between a vehicle and the wireless access point, which reads on based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range); and the electronic apparatus of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1).
Referring to claim 17, Ikeda discloses a method (Fig. 1-2 and Par. 22, “communication state analysis system”, “environment measuring device adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machine, and acquire environment measurement data indicative of the radio wave intensity”) comprising:
generating data note that figure 2 and paragraphs 44 and 46 describe the plurality of access points deployed in a geographic area. The wireless access points 22 generate data of radio wave map to which data relating to received power of a radio signal at points in a predetermined geographical range is mapped, e.g., each wireless access point radiate radio signals that reach boundaries of radio cell created by the access point and a radio map of the access points is generated within a geographic area) based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range (FIG. 1-2, “QA Device 20”. FIG. 39, 40, 81, “The vehicles 12, which serve as objects to be inspected, move along a path having an arbitrary shape (in the present figure, a U-shaped path) while passing through execution points of each of the inspection processes that take place within the inspection area”, “The vehicles 12 are each equipped with a computer referred to as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit)”, “The performance measurement data D2 includes the date, the measurement time, the radio wave intensity, the channel, a connection error detection flag, and the MAC address and the SSID of the connection destination (i.e., the wireless access point 22)”, note that the vehicle as shown in figure 1 travel around the U-shaped path and their radio status changes as their distance change between a vehicle and the wireless access point, which reads on based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range) and a second wireless device configured to form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range (Par. 89, 96, 104, “one or more of the wireless devices (wireless access points 22), which serve as objects to be analyzed, can be easily selected via the list screen. For example, when a plurality of wireless access points 22 are arranged in a distributed manner within a wide inspection area”, “a graph showing temporal changes in the reception strength and the radio wave intensity is displayed in a central field 94,”, “the environment measuring devices 18 adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machines, and acquire environment measurement data D3 indicative of the radio wave intensity, [3] movable bodies (vehicles 12)”, note that wireless access points depicted in figure 1 is equivalent to the second wireless device these wireless access points form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range).
Ikeda is not relied on for generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map.
In an analogous art, Khan discloses generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map (Par. 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note a missing part of radio wave is generated via interpolation using priorly stored radio maps).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 18, Ikeda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program which is executable by a computer (Fig. 1-2 and Par. 22, 53, “communication state analysis system”, “storage unit 38 is constituted from a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. In this instance, the computer readable storage medium is a storage medium in the form of a portable medium, such as a magneto-optical disk, a ROM, a CD-ROM, a flash memory, or the like, or a hard disk that is incorporated in a computer system”), the computer program controlling the computer to execute functions of:
generating data note that figure 2 and paragraphs 44 and 46 describe the plurality of access points deployed in a geographic area. The wireless access points 22 generate data of radio wave map to which data relating to received power of a radio signal at points in a predetermined geographical range is mapped, e.g., each wireless access point radiate radio signals that reach boundaries of radio cell created by the access point and a radio map of the access points is generated within a geographic area) based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range (FIG. 1-2, “QA Device 20”. FIG. 39, 40, 81, “The vehicles 12, which serve as objects to be inspected, move along a path having an arbitrary shape (in the present figure, a U-shaped path) while passing through execution points of each of the inspection processes that take place within the inspection area”, “The vehicles 12 are each equipped with a computer referred to as an ECU (Electronic Control Unit)”, “The performance measurement data D2 includes the date, the measurement time, the radio wave intensity, the channel, a connection error detection flag, and the MAC address and the SSID of the connection destination (i.e., the wireless access point 22)”, note that the vehicle as shown in figure 1 travel around the U-shaped path and their radio status changes as their distance change between a vehicle and the wireless access point, which reads on based on a status of a propagation path between a first wireless device configured to travel in the predetermined geographical range) and a second wireless device configured to form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range (Par. 89, 96, 104, “one or more of the wireless devices (wireless access points 22), which serve as objects to be analyzed, can be easily selected via the list screen. For example, when a plurality of wireless access points 22 are arranged in a distributed manner within a wide inspection area”, “a graph showing temporal changes in the reception strength and the radio wave intensity is displayed in a central field 94,”, “the environment measuring devices 18 adapted to measure a radio wave intensity in the vicinity of the host machines, and acquire environment measurement data D3 indicative of the radio wave intensity, [3] movable bodies (vehicles 12)”, note that wireless access points depicted in figure 1 is equivalent to the second wireless device these wireless access points form a wireless communication area including the predetermined geographical range).
Ikeda is not relied on for generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map.
In an analogous art, Khan discloses generating data of a missing part on a radio wave map (Par. 172 and 177, “Radio map generator 611 may for instance be configured to generate a radio map (see step 223 of FIG. 2). Processor 610 may for instance comprise a radio map interpolator 612 as a function and/or structural unit. Radio map interpolator 612 may for instance be configured to interpolate a generated radio map”. “At least one of the stored radio maps may for instance be used for generating a further radio map, which further radio is generated based at least partially on one or more obtained first and/or second fingerprints and the at least one stored radio map”, note a missing part of radio wave is generated via interpolation using priorly stored radio maps).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikeda by incorporating the teachings of Khan by using interpolation priorly save radio maps, for the purpose of providing continuous radio map coverage without interruptions. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (US 2019/0068299) in view of Khan (US 2020/0371192) and further in view of KOSUGI (2020/0322758).
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Ikeda/Khan discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the status of the propagation path based on information regarding a direct wave and a reflected wave obtained by a Rician factor or a spatial correlation.
KOSUGI discloses determine the status of the propagation path based on information regarding a direct wave and a reflected wave obtained by a Rician factor or a spatial correlation (Par. 36, “the propagation path L1 is mainly formed by direct waves, and the propagation path L2 is mainly formed by diffracted waves and reflected waves. The received signal strength indicator differs in level in accordance with the propagation path (i.e., direct waves, diffracted waves, or reflected waves) and indicates inter-channel characteristics (frequency characteristics) such as variations in the received signal strength indicator for each channel in accordance with the propagation path”, note the direct wave propagation intrinsically corresponds to Rician and reflected waves corresponds to spatial correlations).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of KOSUGI by using direct path and reflected path of the radio map, for the purpose of providing a more accurate radio map coverage. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 14 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “the processor is configured to determine the status of the propagation path using map information in the predetermined geographical range; and the map information is updated at any time based on scan data of one or more laser range finders (LRFs) installed in the first wireless device or a mobile body equipped with the first wireless device”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “processor is configured to acquire a plurality of the first received powers to a predetermined resolution of the radio wave map, and determine the status of the propagation path based on a difference between the plurality of the first received powers”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “the radio wave map includes a first resolution and a second resolution lower than the first resolution; and the predetermined resolution is the first resolution”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “wherein the processor is configured to calculate received power for a frequency or an impulse response of the propagation path using a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmitted and received between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, and determine the status of the propagation path based on the received power for the frequency or a frequency response obtained from the impulse response of the propagation path”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “wherein the processor is configured to determine the status of the propagation path based on a change in an attenuation multiplier of received power to a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “wherein the processor is configured to reduce reliability of data of the missing part, which is generated using data in which a difference between first received power measured on the first wireless device side and second received power measured on the second wireless device side is equal to or greater than a predetermined value, lower than reliability of data other than the missing part”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not disclose the limitation, “wherein: the processor is configured to generate a route on the predetermined geographical range in which the first wireless device has to travel based on the radio wave map obtained by generating and interpolating the data of the missing part; and the electronic apparatus further comprises an output device configured to output the route generated by the processor to the first wireless device”, along with other limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644