DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on February 29, 2024 Claims 1-20 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/29/2024, and 4/30/2025 have been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Hindawi 2020) in view of Harnett et al (US 2021/0286067 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a radar system, comprising: at least one transmitter and at least one receiver [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers],
wherein the at least one transmitter and the at least one receiver are configured to transmit and receive radar signals, wherein the at least one transmitter and the at least one receiver are coupled to a vehicle [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers];
and a radar processor, configured to: transmit, at a first time, a first radar signal, receive, using the at least one receiver, a received signal [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers],
process the received signal to generate a data frame, determine a first snapshot comprising a first plurality of values associated with a first bin of the data frame [page 3, right column and page 7, figure 4 for performing range extrapolation and right column, first two paragraphs],
process the first plurality of values in the first snapshot to generate an autoregressive model based upon the first plurality of values, use the autoregressive model to extrapolate a second snapshot [page 4, right column, 4th paragraph and last 2 paragraphs for using AR parameters with page 5 section 4],
wherein the second snapshot includes the first plurality of values and a second plurality values generated using the autoregressive model, determine, using the second snapshot [page 4, right column, last two paragraph for using extrapolation for each chirps AR parameter, and page 6, last two paragraphs],
a covariance matrix, identify attributes of a plurality of objects using the covariance matrix [page 4, left column, first three paragraphs for covariance matrix],
and transmit the attributes of the plurality of objects to a vehicle controller [page 1 abstract for using TOA and DOA for automotive radar systems while vehicle in on the road].
Kim teaches data frames and covariance matrices, however Kim fails to explicitly teach Range-Doppler data and full rank covariance matrices.
Harnett has a method for facilitating the generation of additional training data and homogenization after pulse compression [abstract] and teaches Range-Doppler data [0062 for using range cell and Doppler bins to determine target of interest]
and full rank covariance matrices [0061 for combining covariance matrices to create a full covariance matrix].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the autoregressive modeling techniques, as disclosed by Kim, further including the range Doppler calculations as taught by Harnett for the purpose to test bins for the target of interest (Harnett, 0062).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the autoregressive model is configured to approximate the equality a =-Rz-rx, where a is a matrix containing prediction coefficients of the autoregressive model, rx is a cross-correlation vector, and Rz- is an inverse of the cross-correlation matrix [page 6, left col last paragraph and equation 20 for using a covariance matrix with AR parameters to estimate distance using linear equations].
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the radar processor is configured to identify the attributes of the plurality of objects by [page 1 abstract for determining vehicles and positions on the road]:
determining a set of eigenvalues of the full rank covariance matrix [page 4, left column first three paragraphs];
and determining the attributes of the plurality of objects using the set of eigenvalues [page 4, equations 10 and left column, last paragraph].
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the radar processor is configured to identify the attributes of the plurality of objects by by [page 1 abstract for determining vehicles and positions on the road]:
using at least one of a MUSIC spectral estimation algorithm and a CAPON spectral estimation algorithm to generate a pseudospectrum using the full rank covariance matrix [page 4, left column, first three paragraphs for covariance matrix using MUSIC];
and detecting a peak value in the pseudospectrum [page 4 left column last paragraph and equation 14 and page 4, right column first paragraph for using DOA spectrum functions with MUSIC].
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the first snapshot includes a first number of values equal to a number of physical or virtual arrays in the radar system [page 3 figure 2 for physical receive antenna arrays, with page 4, equation 8].
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the second snapshot includes a second number of values equal to two times the first number of values [page 6, right column last paragraph for having LE denote the number of extrapolated samples].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the full rank covariance matrix is a matrix having dimensions N x N, where the value of N is equal the second number of values divided by 1.5 [page 6, equation 20 for an N x N covariance matrix].
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the first snapshot includes four values and the second snapshot includes eight values [page 6, right column last paragraph for having LE denote the number of extrapolated samples].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the full rank covariance matrix is a matrix having dimensions 5 by 5 [page 6, equation 20 for an N x N covariance matrix].
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches radar system, comprising [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers]:
at least one transmitter and at least one receiver [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers];
and a radar processor, configured to [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers]:
process a received signal to determine a first snapshot comprising a first plurality of values associated with a first bin of a data frame [page 3, right column and page 7, figure 4 for performing range extrapolation and right column, first two paragraphs],
determine a second snapshot, wherein the second snapshot includes the first plurality of values and a second plurality values generated using an autoregressive model [page 4, right column, 4th paragraph and last 2 paragraphs for using AR parameters with page 5 section 4],
determine, using the second snapshot, a covariance matrix [page 4, right column, last two paragraph for using extrapolation for each chirps AR parameter, and page 6, last two paragraphs],
and identify attributes of a plurality of objects using the covariance matrix [page 4, left column, first three paragraphs for covariance matrix].
Kim teaches data frames and covariance matrices, however Kim fails to explicitly teach Range-Doppler data and full rank covariance matrices.
Harnett has a method for facilitating the generation of additional training data and homogenization after pulse compression [abstract] and teaches Range-Doppler data [0062 for using range cell and Doppler bins to determine target of interest]
and full rank covariance matrices [0061 for combining covariance matrices to create a full covariance matrix].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the autoregressive modeling techniques, as disclosed by Kim, further including the range Doppler calculations as taught by Harnett for the purpose to test bins for the target of interest (Harnett, 0062).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches the radar processor, in determining the second snapshot, performs steps of: processing the first snapshot to generate an autoregressive model based upon the first plurality of values [page 4, right column, 4th paragraph and last 2 paragraphs for using AR parameters with page 5 section 4];
and use the autoregressive model to extrapolate the second snapshot, wherein the second snapshot includes the first plurality of values and a second plurality values generated using the autoregressive model [page 4, right column, 4th paragraph and last 2 paragraphs for using AR parameters with page 5 section 4].
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches the autoregressive model is configured to approximate the equality a =-Rz-rx, where a is a matrix containing prediction coefficients of the autoregressive model,
is a cross-correlation vector, and is an inverse of the cross- correlation matrix [page 6, left col last paragraph and equation 20 for using a covariance matrix with AR parameters to estimate distance using linear equations].
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches the first snapshot includes a first number of values equal to a number of physical or virtual arrays in the radar system [page 3 figure 2 for physical receive antenna arrays, with page 4, equation 8].
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the second snapshot includes a second number of values equal to at least two times the first number of values [page 6, right column last paragraph for having LE denote the number of extrapolated samples].
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the full rank covariance matrix is a matrix having dimensions N x N, where the value of N is equal to at least the second number of values divided by 1.5 [page 6, equation 20 for an N x N covariance matrix].
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches method, comprising [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers]:
process a received signal to generate a data frame [page 2, figure 1 and right column 3rd paragraph for transmitter with page 4, figure 2 for multiple receivers];
determine a first snapshot comprising a first plurality of values associated with a first bin of the data frame [page 4, right column, 4th paragraph and last 2 paragraphs for using AR parameters with page 5 section 4];
process the first plurality of values in the first snapshot to generate an autoregressive model based upon the first plurality of values [page 6, left column for using linear AR models for the signals and antennas];
use the autoregressive model to extrapolate a second snapshot, wherein the second snapshot includes the first plurality of values and a second plurality values generated using the autoregressive model [page 4, right column, last two paragraph for using extrapolation for each chirps AR parameter, and page 6, last two paragraphs];
determine, using the second snapshot, a covariance matrix [page 4, left column, first three paragraphs for covariance matrix];
and identify attributes of a plurality of objects using the covariance matrix [page 6, left column, last paragraph and equation 20].
Kim teaches data frames and covariance matrices, however Kim fails to explicitly teach Range-Doppler data and full rank covariance matrices.
Harnett has a method for facilitating the generation of additional training data and homogenization after pulse compression [abstract] and teaches Range-Doppler data [0062 for using range cell and Doppler bins to determine target of interest]
and full rank covariance matrices [0061 for combining covariance matrices to create a full covariance matrix].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the autoregressive modeling techniques, as disclosed by Kim, further including the range Doppler calculations as taught by Harnett for the purpose to test bins for the target of interest (Harnett, 0062).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches processing the first plurality of values in the first snapshot to generate the autoregressive model that approximates the equality a =-R-frx, where a is a matrix containing prediction coefficients of the autoregressive model, rx is a cross- correlation vector, and Rzz is an inverse of the cross-correlation matrix [page 6, left col last paragraph and equation 20 for using a covariance matrix with AR parameters to estimate distance using linear equations].
Claims 3, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Hindawi 2020) in view of Harnett et al (US 2021/0286067 A1), as applied to Claim 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Barbaresco (FR 2769373 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, 14, and 20, Kim teaches the radar processor is configured to process the first plurality of values in the first snapshot to generate the autoregressive model [page 6, left column last two paragraphs and equations 20-21].
Kim fails to explicitly teach using Burg's method, Yule Walker equations, or Levinson's method.
Barbaresco has a high-resolution spectral analysis of the echoes and validation via an auto regressive model [abstract] and teaches using Burg's method, Yule Walker equations, or Levinson's method [page 9, second paragraph for using Burg and Levinson].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the autoregressive modeling techniques, as disclosed by Kim, further including the model calculations as taught by Barbaresco for the estimation of forward and backward prediction errors (Barbaresco, page 9, second paragraph).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikram et al (US 10539669 B2) has a method for tracking objects in three dimensions in a radar system is provided that includes receiving spherical coordinates of an estimated location of each object.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648