DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed February 29, 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-16 have been canceled. Claims 17-36 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed November 27, 2024 (two separate filings), April 24, 2025 and May 4, 2026 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
With respect to foreign language references with no translation of the document: “If no translation is submitted, the examiner will consider the information in view of the concise explanation and insofar as it is understood on its face, e.g., drawings, chemical formulas, English language abstracts, in the same manner that non-English language information in Office search files is considered by examiner in conducting searches.” See MPEP §609.04(a)(II) (D) and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(ii).
Since this application is a continuation application filed under 37 CFR 1.53 (b), the examiner has considered information, which has been considered by the Office in the parent applications. Such information need not be resubmitted in the continuing application unless the applicant desires the information to be printed on the patent.
Copies of references cited by applicant in accordance with MPEP § 609, § 707.05(b) and § 708.02 are not furnished to applicant with the Office action. Additionally, copies of references cited in continuation applications if they had been previously cited in the parent application are not furnished.
Drawings
The drawings received February 29, 2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The specification received February 29, 2024 has been reviewed for examination purposes.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of the parent application identified in the first sentence of the instant application should be updated since it has matured into a U.S. patent. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The current abstract reflects a different aspect of the invention from that of the claimed invention and should be amended to reflect the details of the invention claimed.
Claim Objections
Claims 29-36 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 29, 30, 31, 32 and 36 explicitly recite “the membrane” which, for consistency, should be “the flexible membrane” (claims 30-36 being dependent upon claim 29, objected to as a collective for the same reasons). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 23-28 use the words “means for puncturing” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses this generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-19, 23-32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN112303308A).
As to claim 17, Zhang discloses a battery system comprising:
a battery including:
a scaled enclosure defining a cavity (case of the battery pack 1), the enclosure including an end wall 11 with an opening formed in the end wall;
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery pack 1); and
a diaphragm (film 124) coupled to the end wall and covering the opening; and
a puncture pin 1212 disposed outside of the enclosure and adjacent the diaphragm 124 such that when pressure increases in the cavity, the diaphragm 124 flexes outward and is punctured by the puncture pin 1212 (Figs. 1-10 and para. [0062] which states an explosion-proof membrane 124 is disposed on the upper port 1211 of the first connector 121 and seals the upper port 1211, and the explosion-proof membrane 124 is located above the ejector pin 1212 in the vertical direction Z. When a large amount of gas is generated inside the battery pack 1, the large amount of gas will press down on the explosion-proof membrane 124 until the explosion-proof membrane 124 is punctured by the ejector pin 1212, thereby realizing the connection between the first connector 121 and the inside of the box, and thus expelling the gas inside the box).
As to claim 18, an exhaust duct 121 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the exhaust duct 121 to direct pressurized fluid from the
cavity of the battery pack 1 case to a downstream location when the diaphragm 124 is punctured via pin 1212 (Fig. 5 above for example).
As to claim 19, the puncture pin 1212 is disposed inside of the exhaust duct 121 (Figs 1-10).
As to claim 23, Zhang discloses a battery for an electric vehicle (which can encompass any number of vehicles including land vehicles and aircraft, further noting that the phrase “for an aircraft” is held to be intended use), the battery comprising:
a housing (case of the battery pack 1) including a wall 11 having an opening defined therein;
a battery cell disposed in the housing (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery pack 1);
an exhaust duct 121 coupled to the opening;
a flexible membrane 124; and
means for puncturing 1212 the flexible membrane 124, the flexible membrane 124 to extend toward the means for puncturing 1212 in response to an increase in pressure in the housing, the means for puncturing 1212 to puncture the flexible membrane 124 when at least a portion of the flexible membrane 124 engages the means 1212 for puncturing to cause the pressure to be released from the housing to a location outside the aircraft via the exhaust duct 121 (Figs. 1-10 and para. [0062] which states an explosion-proof membrane 124 is disposed on the upper port 1211 of the first connector 121 and seals the upper port 1211, and the explosion-proof membrane 124 is located above the ejector pin 1212 in the vertical direction Z. When a large amount of gas is generated inside the battery pack 1, the large amount of gas will press down on the explosion-proof membrane 124 until the explosion-proof membrane 124 is punctured by the ejector pin 1212, thereby realizing the connection between the first connector 121 and the inside of the box, and thus expelling the gas inside the box).
As to claim 24, the means for puncturing 1212 is external to the housing (Figs. 1-10).
As to clam 25, the means for puncturing 1212 is carried by the exhaust duct 121 (Figs. 1-10).
As to claim 26, the means for puncturing 1212 is coupled to an interior surface of the exhaust duct 121 (Figs. 1-10).
As to claim 27, the flexible membrane 124 is disposed at an end of the exhaust duct 121 coupled to the opening of wall 11 (Figs. 1-10).
As to claim 28, the exhaust duct 121 has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 8 for example).
As to claim 29, Zhang discloses a battery system comprising:
a battery 1 including:
an enclosure defining a cavity, the enclosure including an end wall 11 with an opening formed in the end wall; and
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery pack 1); and
a flexible membrane 124 coupled to the end wall 11 and sealing the opening, the membrane 124 to rupture when a pressure inside the cavity exceeds a threshold (Figs. 1-10 and para. [0062] which states an explosion-proof membrane 124 is disposed on the upper port 1211 of the first connector 121 and seals the upper port 1211, and the explosion-proof membrane 124 is located above the ejector pin 1212 in the vertical direction Z. When a large amount of gas is generated inside the battery pack 1, the large amount of gas will press down on the explosion-proof membrane 124 until the explosion-proof membrane 124 is punctured by the ejector pin 1212, thereby realizing the connection between the first connector 121 and the inside of the box, and thus expelling the gas inside the box).
As to claim 30, a vent 121 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the vent 121 to direct pressurized fluid from the cavity to a downstream location when the membrane 124 is ruptured (Figs. 1-10).
As to claim 31, the membrane 124 is disposed in the vent (Figs. 1-10).
As to claim 32, a pin 1212 disposed in the vent and adjacent the membrane 124 such that when the pressure inside the cavity increases, the membrane 124 flexes away from the opening and is punctured by the pin 1212 to cause the membrane 124 to rupture (Figs. 1-10 and para. [0042] which states that when massive gas is generated in the case of the battery pack 1, the gas extrudes down the film 124 until the film is pierced by the pin 1212 to discharge gas in the case).
As to claim 35, the flexible membrane 124 is coupled to a side of the end wall 11 and includes portions including when extended, that render it external to the cavity (Figs. 1-10, para. [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN112303308A) as applied to claims 18 and 30, respectively above, and further in view of Heim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0032219).
Zhang is silent regarding the material of the film 124 and therefore does not teach that the film 124, the flexible membrane of claims 22 and 36, is polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
The selection of PTFE as a suitable vent membrane in battery systems has long since been known in the art and would have been readily apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art. For example, Heim, drawn to the same field of endeavor – venting designs for battery systems, recognized the benefit of selecting the flexible membrane to be polytetrafluoroethylene (paras. [0020]-[0023]) as a suitable gas permeable, water pressure resistant material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the film of Zhang to be a suitable material such as PTFE as taught by Heim as such materials were well recognized in the art as flexible membranes for vent structures having good flexibility, responsiveness to pressure and water resistance. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP § 2144.07.
Claims 17-20, 22-32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindstrom et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0140235) in view of Kluser et al. (DE 102018114439A1).
As to claim 17, Lindstrom teaches of a battery system comprising:
a battery 12 including:
a scaled enclosure defining a cavity (case of the battery 12), the enclosure including an end wall 36 with an opening formed in the end wall;
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery 12); and
a vent 14 coupled to the end wall 11 and covering the opening (Figs. 2(a) and 2(b), for example).
As to claim 18, an exhaust duct 26 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the exhaust duct 26 to direct pressurized fluid from the
cavity of the battery pack 12 case to a downstream location when the vent 14 vents (Fig. 2(b) for example).
As to claim 20, Lindstrom teaches the battery is a first battery, the enclosure is a first enclosure, the opening is a first opening, and the exhaust duct 26 is a first exhaust duct, the battery system further including:
a second battery 12; a second exhaust duct 26 extending from a second enclosure of the second battery 12 at a second opening (vent 14) in the second enclosure; and a manifold 24 coupling the first exhaust duct 26 and the second exhaust duct 26 (Fig. 2(b)).
As to claim 23, Lindstrom teaches of a battery system (noting that the phrase “for an aircraft” is held to be intended use) comprising:
a battery 12 including:
a scaled enclosure defining a cavity (case of the battery 12), the enclosure including an end wall 36 with an opening formed in the end wall;
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery 12); and
a vent 14 coupled to the end wall 11 and covering the opening (Fig. 2(a), for example).
As to claim 24, the vent 14 is external to the housing (Figs. 2(a)-(2(b)).
As to claim 27, the vent 14 is disposed at an end of the exhaust duct 26 coupled to the opening of wall 36 (Figs. 2(a)-2(b)).
As to claim 28, the exhaust duct 26 has a cylindrical shape (Figs. 2(a)-2(b) for example).
As to claim 29, Lindstrom discloses a battery system comprising:
a battery 12 including:
an enclosure defining a cavity, the enclosure including an end wall 36 with an opening formed in the end wall; and
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery 12); and
a vent 14 coupled to the end wall 36 and sealing the opening, the vent 14 designed to respond when a pressure inside the cavity exceeds a threshold (Figs. 2(a)-2(b)).
As to claim 30, a vent 14 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the vent 14 to direct pressurized fluid from the cavity to a downstream location (Figs. 2(a)-2(b)).
As to claim 34, Lindstrom teaches the battery is a first battery, the enclosure is a first enclosure, the opening is a first opening, and the exhaust duct 26 is a first exhaust duct, the battery system further including:
a second battery 12; a second exhaust duct 26 extending from a second enclosure of the second battery 12 at a second opening (vent 14) in the second enclosure; and a manifold 24 coupling the first exhaust duct 26 and the second exhaust duct 26 (Fig. 2(b).
Lindstrom does not teach of the vent including a diaphragm coupled to the end wall and puncture pin disposed outside the enclosure and adjacent the diaphragm such that the diaphragm flexes outward in the presence of increased internal pressure and is punctured by the puncture pin (claims 17-18); where the puncture pin is disposed inside the exhaust duct (claim 19); the vent including a flexible membrane and means for puncturing the flexible membrane, the flexible membrane extends towards the means for puncturing in response to increased internal pressure and is punctured by the means for puncturing to cause the pressure to be released from the housing to a location outside of the aircraft (claim 23); the means for puncturing disposed external of the housing (claim 24); the means for puncturing is carried by the duct (claim 25) further coupled to the interior surface of the duct (claim 26); the flexible membrane is disposed at an end of the duct coupled to the opening of wall 36 (claim 27); a flexible membrane coupled to the end wall to rupture when a pressure inside the battery exceeds a threshold (claims 29-30); the membrane disposed in the vent (claim 31); a pin disposed in the vent adjacent the membrane to cause the membrane to rupture via the pin when the membrane flexes away from the opening (claim 32); the membrane coupled to a side of the end wall of the cavity (claim 35); of the membrane being polytetrafluoroethylene (claims 22 and 36).
Kluser is directed to the same field of endeavor, venting battery enclosures using various vent designs wherein the vent responds to an increase in pressure within the enclosure to open/rupture and depressurize the battery pack via venting.
As to claim 17, Kluser discloses a vent structure for a battery system comprising:
a vent structure 100 provided in an opening of a battery wall enclosure 11, the vent including a diaphragm (film 120) coupled to the end wall and covering the opening; and
a puncture pin 142 disposed outside of the enclosure and adjacent the diaphragm 120 such that when pressure increases in the cavity, the diaphragm 120 flexes outward and is punctured by the puncture pin 142 (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 18, a vent 10 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the vent 100 to direct pressurized fluid from the cavity to a downstream location when the membrane 120 is ruptured (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 22, the membrane is PTFE (para. [0013]).
As to claim 23, Kluser discloses a battery for an electric vehicle, the battery comprising:
a vent 100 with a flexible membrane 120; and
means for puncturing 142 the flexible membrane 120, the flexible membrane 120 to extend toward the means for puncturing 142 in response to an increase in pressure in the housing, the means for puncturing 142 to puncture the flexible membrane 120 when at least a portion of the flexible membrane 120 engages the means 142 for puncturing to cause the pressure to be released from the housing to a location outside the aircraft via the exhaust duct 121 (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 24, the means for puncturing 142 is external to the housing (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 29, Kluser discloses a battery system comprising:
a flexible membrane 120 coupled to the end wall 11 and sealing the opening, the membrane 120 to rupture when a pressure inside the cavity exceeds a threshold (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 30, a vent 10 extending from the enclosure at the opening, the vent 100 to direct pressurized fluid from the cavity to a downstream location when the membrane 120 is ruptured (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 31, the membrane 120 is disposed in the vent (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 32, a pin 142 disposed in the vent and adjacent the membrane 120 such that when the pressure inside the cavity increases, the membrane 120 flexes away from the opening and is punctured by the pin 142 to cause the membrane 120 to rupture (Figs. 1-13).
As to claim 35, the flexible membrane 120 is coupled to a side of the end wall 11 and external to the cavity (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 36, the membrane is PTFE (para. [0013]).
Lindstrom teaches of a vent port with the core functionality of the vent port 14 being to purge pressurized gas from within the battery to and external exhaust system. Any number of conventional vent designs would have been reasonably applicable to the core invention of Lindstrom with a reasonable expectation that such known vent structures would provide the necessary structure for purging pressurized gas from within the battery.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vent of Lindstrom to have the vent structure of Kluser including a PTFE membrane and adjacent puncture pin as discussed above since it would have provided a conventional vent designs reasonably predictable expectation that the vent structure of Kluser to Lindstrom would have provided the a good vent structure for purging pressurized gas from within the battery.
The structure of Kluser provides a vent structure attached to an opening of a battery housing wall 11 to effectively vent pressurized gases within a given battery pack and it would have been reasonably predictable to employ the vent structure of Kluser as the vent 14 of Lindstrom as an effective and suitable vent design for the battery packs of Lindstrom. Upon modifying the vent 14 of Lindstrom with the vent of Kluser, in the context of the system of Lindstrom, the vent region where the pin 142 resides would be disposed inside of the exhaust duct 121 (claim 19); carried by the exhaust duct 121 (claim 25); coupled to an interior surface of the exhaust duct 121 (claim 26) and the membrane disposed at an end of the exhaust duct 121 coupled to the opening of wall 11 (claim 27).
Claims 23-28 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindstrom et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0140235) in view of Kluser et al. (DE 102018114439A1) and either Jones et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,508,970) or Liske et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0107756).
In the alternative that patentable weight is given to the battery of claims 23-28 in the context of an aircraft, the following rejection applies.
As to claim 23, Lindstrom teaches of a battery system (noting that the phrase “for an aircraft” is held to be intended use) comprising:
a battery 12 including:
a scaled enclosure defining a cavity (case of the battery 12), the enclosure including an end wall 36 with an opening formed in the end wall;
a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (not shown but understood to be within the enclosure of the battery 12); and
a vent 14 coupled to the end wall 11 and covering the opening (Fig. 2(a), for example).
As to claim 24, the vent 14 is external to the housing (Figs. 2(a)-(2(b)).
As to claim 27, the vent 14 is disposed at an end of the exhaust duct 26 coupled to the opening of wall 36 (Figs. 2(a)-2(b)).
As to claim 28, the exhaust duct 26 has a cylindrical shape (Figs. 2(a)-2(b) for example).
Lindstrom does not teach of the vent including a flexible membrane and means for puncturing the flexible membrane, the flexible membrane extends towards the means for puncturing in response to increased internal pressure and is punctured by the means for puncturing to cause the pressure to be released from the housing to a location outside of the aircraft (claim 23); the means for puncturing disposed external of the housing (claim 24); the means for puncturing is carried by the duct (claim 25) further coupled to the interior surface of the duct (claim 26); the flexible membrane is disposed at an end of the duct coupled to the opening of wall 36 (claim 27).
Kluser is directed to the same field of endeavor, venting battery enclosures using various vent designs wherein the vent responds to an increase in pressure within the enclosure to open/rupture and depressurize the battery pack via venting.
As to claim 23, Kluser discloses a battery for an electric vehicle, the battery comprising:
a vent 100 with a flexible membrane 120; and
means for puncturing 142 the flexible membrane 120, the flexible membrane 120 to extend toward the means for puncturing 142 in response to an increase in pressure in the housing, the means for puncturing 142 to puncture the flexible membrane 120 when at least a portion of the flexible membrane 120 engages the means 142 for puncturing to cause the pressure to be released from the housing to a location outside the aircraft via the exhaust duct 121 (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 24, the means for puncturing 142 is external to the housing (Figs. 1-3).
Lindstrom teaches of a vent port with the core functionality of the vent port 14 being to purge pressurized gas from within the battery to and external exhaust system. Any number of conventional vent designs would have been reasonably applicable to the core invention of Lindstrom with a reasonable expectation that such known vent structures would provide the necessary structure for purging pressurized gas from within the battery.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vent of Lindstrom to have the vent structure of Kluser including a PTFE membrane and adjacent puncture pin as discussed above since it would have provided a conventional vent designs reasonably predictable expectation that the vent structure of Kluser to Lindstrom would have provided the a good vent structure for purging pressurized gas from within the battery.
The structure of Kluser provides a vent structure attached to an opening of a battery housing wall 11 to effectively vent pressurized gases within a given battery pack and it would have been reasonably predictable to employ the vent structure of Kluser as the vent 14 of Lindstrom as an effective and suitable vent design for the battery packs of Lindstrom. Upon modifying the vent 14 of Lindstrom with the vent of Kluser, in the context of the system of Lindstrom, the vent region where the pin 142 resides would be carried by the exhaust duct 121 (claim 25); coupled to an interior surface of the exhaust duct 121 (claim 26) and the membrane disposed at an end of the exhaust duct 121 coupled to the opening of wall 11 (claim 27).
As to the battery specifically used in an aircraft, the modification of Lindstrom would have been obvious in light of the additional teachings of Jones (claim 23). Jones is drawn to the same field of endeavor, improving battery systems by including a venting feature to the battery enclosure. Jones further recognized that such vent designs and battery systems were suitable and conventionally employed in vehicle systems. The result improves the safety of the battery-powered device.
Jones teaches of a battery system for an aircraft (col. 2, ll. 35-49; col. 3, ll. 41-51) comprising: a battery including: a scaled enclosure 410 defining a cavity 422, the enclosure including an end wall 426 with an opening 427 formed in the end wall 426; a battery cell disposed in the cavity of the enclosure (understood to be within the enclosure of the battery pack); and a vent valve coupled to the end wall 426 and covering the opening 427 (Fig. 5, for example).
Liske is drawn to the same field of endeavor, energy storage systems for powering devices where the systems have improved safety. Liske teaches of an aircraft wherein in the aircraft is powered by an energy storage system and the energy storage system includes venting of plural modules in combination with exhaust outlets and manifolds to effectively regulate the battery system and improve safety of the aircraft (abstract, examples). Liske goes on to teach that the application of lithium ion battery systems in aircraft were known as they were understood to provide high energy density, power density and good cycle life. Liske further goes on to teach that such systems ideally include designs for improved safety via venting.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the battery system of Lindstrom in any number of particular systems including vehicles such as aircraft as shown by either Jones of Liske since it would have provided a robust battery system having high energy density, power density and good cycle life for aircraft applications while also having excellent safety designs for venting pressure/gas from the battery systems.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
a. None of the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination, are held to reasonably teach, suggest or render obvious the puncture pin of claim 23 wherein the puncture pin includes a plurality of support pins, the puncture pin coupled to the exhaust duct via the support pins.
For example, the various vent structures cited above, teach of a puncture pin but does not teach or suggest the puncture pin includes a plurality of support pins, the puncture pin coupled to the exhaust duct via the support pins.
b. None of the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination, are held to reasonably teach, suggest or render obvious the puncture pin of claim 33 wherein the puncture pin is coupled to a surface of the vent via a plurality of support pins.
For example, the various vent structures cited above, teach of a puncture pin but does not teach or suggest the puncture pin is coupled to a surface of the vent via a plurality of support pins.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN203589146U discloses a battery system with plural batteries 12, ducts and common manifold 2. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0036023 discloses a battery with an exhaust duct 162/170 for venting the battery.
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725