DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on February 29, 2024. Claims 1-20 are being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
III. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
IV. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2020/0260384 A1) in view of Link, II (US 2023/0189156 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Ryu teaches a radio device for communicating with a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network (see paragraphs [0140] & [0275] and Fig. 19, The UE may activate a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode in a 5GC. The MICO mode may be activated to reduce power consumption at the UE. The UE may request MICO mode activation in a registration request, wherein the registration request is accepted and MICO mode activated. This reads on a radio device for communicating with a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network) wherein the radio device is configured: when the radio device is registered to the 4G or 5G cellular network and has the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode activated (see paragraphs [0305] & [0322] and Fig. 19, The UE may activate/enter the MICO mode. This reads on when the radio device is registered to the 4G or 5G cellular network and has the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode activated), in response to determining that the radio device has data to send to the cellular network, to deactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and to search for a suitable cell of the cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network (see paragraphs [[0306] & [0322], The UE may need to send data/signaling. If the UE wants/needs to send data/signaling, the UE may deactivate the MICO mode and switch on an access stratum (AS) of the UE. If the UE needs to send data/signaling, the UE may start cell searching procedure to camp on a suitable cell and the UE may read system information of the suitable cell).
Ryu does not specifically tech in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode.
Link, II teaches in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode (see paragraph [0034], The device may wake up and attempt to connect to a wireless network after being in a power save mode. If no wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, for example, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make searching for a suitable cell in Ryu adapt to include in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode because it would improve the efficiency of the UE by allowing the UE to enter power saving mode when practical (see Link, II above).
Regarding claim 2 Ryu teaches wherein the radio device is configured not to listen for paging messages from the 4G or 5G cellular network when the radio device has activated the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode (see paragraph [0275], A UE may activate a MICO mode. As a result, the UE may not monitor for paging messages from the network. This reads on wherein the radio device is configured not to listen for paging messages from the 4G or 5G cellular network when the radio device has activated the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode).
Regarding claim 3 Link, II teaches wherein the cellular network supports 4G LTE communication, and wherein the power saving mode is a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode (see paragraphs (see paragraphs [0028] & [0033] – [0034] & Fig. 3, The long range wireless communication network can be an LTE network. The device uses the long range LTE network to send messages. The device may enter a power saving mode to conserver device power. This reads on wherein the cellular network supports 4G LTE communication, and wherein the power saving mode is a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode).
Regarding claim 6 Ryu teaches wherein the cellular network supports 5G communication, and wherein the power saving mode is a 5G MICO mode (see abstract and paragraphs [0108] & [0305], In a 5G system, the UE may activate/enter the MICO mode. This reads on wherein the cellular network supports 5G communication, and wherein the power saving mode is a 5G MICO mode).
Regarding claim 8 Ryu teaches a radio modem (320, Fig. 3) for communicating with the 4G or 5G cellular network and a processing system (318, Fig. 3) for executing a software application, wherein the radio device provides an application-layer interface (326, Fig. 3) for communication between the radio modem and the software application (see paragraphs [0109] & [0199] and Fig. 3, A UE may initiate a service request procedure to send uplink messages, user data, and/or the like across the network. The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions (see paragraph [0323]). This reads on radio modem for communicating with the 4G or 5G cellular network and a processing system for executing a software application, wherein the radio device provides an application-layer interface for communication between the radio modem and the software application).
Regarding claim 9 Link, II teaches wherein the radio modem is configured to signal to the software application that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data (see paragraphs [0014] & [0034] and Fig. 2, The processor of the device instructs the long-range wireless components to wake-up and attempt to connect to the long-range wireless network. If no long-range wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on wherein the radio modem is configured to signal to the software application that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data).
Regarding claim 10 Link, II teaches wherein the radio modem is configured to receive from the software application an instruction to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode, and wherein the radio modem is configured to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to the instruction (see paragraphs [0014] & [0034] and Fig. 2, The processor of the device instructs the long-range wireless components to wake-up and attempt to connect to the long-range wireless network. If no long-range wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on wherein the radio modem is configured to receive from the software application an instruction to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode, and wherein the radio modem is configured to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to the instruction).
Regarding claim 12 Link, II teaches starting a timer in response to a command from the 4G or 5G cellular network, and further configured to deactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and search for a suitable cell of the cellular network in response to the timer expiring, wherein the radio device is configured, after deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode due to the timer expiring, not to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode until after the radio device has found a suitable cell (see paragraph [0034], For example, the processor that is still operating may instruct the long-range wireless components to wake up and attempt to connect to the long-range wireless network after being in power saving mode for two minutes. If no long-range wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, after two minutes, for example, or some other configured period, the device may re-enter power saving mode for eight minutes, for example. If no network can be attached to, or connected to, during a wake state after the eight-minute power-saving mode, or state, the device may re-enter power saving mode again and then continues the cycle of exiting power saving mode and retrying to connect/attach to a long-range wireless network and then re-entering power saving mode if unsuccessful at increasingly longer intervals such as, for example, thirty-two minutes, then sixty minutes, and then 240 minutes. The period is configurable and can be adapted to include various scenarios. This reads on starting a timer in response to a command from the 4G or 5G cellular network, and further configured to deactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and search for a suitable cell of the cellular network in response to the timer expiring, wherein the radio device is configured, after deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode due to the timer expiring, not to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode until after the radio device has found a suitable cell).
Regarding claim 13 Ryu teaches deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to determining that the radio device has data to send to the 4G or 5G cellular network (see Ryu, paragraph [0322], The UE may need to send data/signaling. If the UE wants/needs to send data/signaling, the UE may deactivate the MICO mode. This reads on deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to determining that the radio device has data to send to the 4G or 5G cellular network) and Link, II teaches configured to keep the timer running when deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and when reactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell for sending the data to the cellular network (see Link, II, paragraph [0034], For example, the processor that is still operating may instruct the long-range wireless components to wake up and attempt to connect to the long-range wireless network after being in power saving mode for two minutes. If no long-range wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, after two minutes, for example, or some other configured period, the device may re-enter power saving mode for eight minutes. This reads on keep the timer running when deactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and when reactivating the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell for sending the data to the cellular network).
Regarding claim 14 Ryu teaches wherein the data is up-link data or is a mobile-originating (MO) short message-service (SMS) message (see paragraph [0199], The UE may initiate a service request procedure to send uplink signaling messages, user data, and/or the link. This reads on wherein the data is up-link data).
Regarding claim 15 Ryu teaches wherein the radio device is a system-on-chip (see paragraph [0029], The tracking device including processor and components on a circuit board or in a integrated circuit chip reads on wherein the radio device is a system-on-chip).
Regarding claim 16 Ryu teaches a radio communication system comprising: a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network (see paragraphs [0140] & [0275] and Fig. 19, The UE may activate a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode in a 5GC. The MICO mode may be activated to reduce power consumption at the UE. The UE may request MICO mode activation in a registration request, wherein the registration request is accepted and MICO mode activated. This reads on a radio device for communicating with a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network); and a radio device for communicating with the 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the radio device is configured: when the radio device is registered to the 4G or 5G cellular network and has the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode activated (see paragraphs [0305] & [0322] and Fig. 19, The UE may activate/enter the MICO mode. This reads on a radio device for communicating with the 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the radio device is configured: when the radio device is registered to the 4G or 5G cellular network and has the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode activated), in response to determining that the radio device has data to send to the cellular network, to deactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and to search for a suitable cell of the cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network (see paragraphs [[0306] & [0322], The UE may need to send data/signaling. If the UE wants/needs to send data/signaling, the UE may deactivate the MICO mode and switch on an access stratum (AS) of the UE. If the UE needs to send data/signaling, the UE may start cell searching procedure to camp on a suitable cell and the UE may read system information of the suitable cell).
Ryu does not specifically tech in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode.
Link, II teaches in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode (see paragraph [0034], The device may wake up and attempt to connect to a wireless network after being in a power save mode. If no wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, for example, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make searching for a suitable cell in Ryu adapt to include in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode because it would improve the efficiency of the UE by allowing the UE to enter power saving mode when practical (see Link, II above).
Regarding claim 17 Ryu teaches a method performed by a radio device for communicating with a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network (see paragraphs [0140] & [0275] and Fig. 19, The UE may activate a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode in a 5GC. The MICO mode may be activated to reduce power consumption at the UE. The UE may request MICO mode activation in a registration request, wherein the registration request is accepted and MICO mode activated. This reads on a radio device for communicating with a 4G or 5G cellular network, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more cells and supports a 4G Long Term Evolution (LTE) Power Saving Mode (PSM) or a 5G Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) power saving mode for devices registered to the cellular network), the method comprising: in response to determining that the radio device has data to send to the cellular network, to deactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode and to search for a suitable cell of the cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network (see paragraphs [[0306] & [0322], The UE may need to send data/signaling. If the UE wants/needs to send data/signaling, the UE may deactivate the MICO mode and switch on an access stratum (AS) of the UE. If the UE needs to send data/signaling, the UE may start cell searching procedure to camp on a suitable cell and the UE may read system information of the suitable cell).
Ryu does not specifically tech in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode.
Link, II teaches in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode (see paragraph [0034], The device may wake up and attempt to connect to a wireless network after being in a power save mode. If no wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, for example, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make searching for a suitable cell in Ryu adapt to include in response to determining that the radio device is unable to find to any suitable cell of the 4G or 5G cellular network for sending the data to the cellular network, to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode because it would improve the efficiency of the UE by allowing the UE to enter power saving mode when practical (see Link, II above).
Regarding claim 20 Ryu and Link, II teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
V. Claims 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2020/0260384 A1) in view of Link, II (US 2023/0189156 A1) and Kawasaki et al. (US 2020/0336964 A1).
Regarding claim 4 Ryu and Link, II teaches the radio device of claim 3 including activating and reactivating a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode (see Link, II, paragraph [0034], The device, in a power saving mode, wakes up and attempts to connect to the long -range LTE wireless network after being in the power save mode. If no network can be attached to or connected to, the device may re-enter power saving mode again. This reads on activating and reactivating a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode) and except for entering an LTE evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) state of EMM-Registered.no-cell-available when activating and reactivating.
Kawasaki teaches entering an LTE evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) state of EMM-Registered.no-cell-available (see paragraph [0132], A registration state in the EPC includes a state in which there is no available cell (EMM-Registered.No-Cell-Available). This reads on entering an LTE evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) state of EMM-Registered.no-cell-available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the activating and reactivating a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode in the Ryu and Link, II combination adapt to include activating and reactivating power saving mode when UE enters an LTE evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) state of EMM-Registered.no-cell-available because the EMM state -Registered.no-cell-available is well-known in technical standards involving LTE evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) (see Kawasaki above).
Regarding claim 5 Ryu, Link, II, and Kawasaki teach the radio device of claim 4 including reactivating a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode (see Link, II, paragraph [0034], The device, in a power saving mode, wakes up and attempts to connect to the long -range LTE wireless network after being in the power save mode. If no network can be attached to or connected to, the device may re-enter power saving mode again. This reads on reactivating a 4G LTE PSM power saving mode) and an EMM sate other than EMM-Registered.Normal-Service (see Kawasaki, paragraph [0132], A registration state in the EPC includines a state in which there is no available cell (EMM-Registered.No-Cell-Available). This reads on an EMM sate other than EMM-Registered.Normal-Service).
Regarding claim 18 Ryu, Link, II and Kawasaki teach limitations as recited in claims 3-4 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Ryu, Link, II and Kawasaki teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2020/0260384 A1) in view of Link, II (US 2023/0189156 A1) and Sudarsan et al. (US 2019/0200178 A1).
Regarding claim 7 Ryu and Link, II teaches the radio device of claim 1 including determining the radio device is unable to find any suitable cell (see Link, II, paragraph [0034], If no long range wireless network can be attached to or connected to the device re-enters the power saving mode. This reads on the radio device is unable to find any suitable cell) and except for cancel sending data in response to being unable to find a suitable cell and to buffer the data for sending at a later time or to discard the data.
Sudarsan teaches cancel sending data in response to the user equipment being not reachable and to buffer the data for sending at a later time or to discard the data (see paragraph [0025], If the user equipment cannot be reached the SMS message is discarded. This reads on cancel sending data in response to the user equipment being not reachable and to buffer the data for sending at a later time or to discard the data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make determining the radio device is unable to find any suitable cell in the Ryu and Link, II combination adapt to include cancel sending the data in response to determining the radio device is unable to find any suitable cell for sending the data, and to buffer the data for sending at a later time or to discard the data because it is well-known that without being attached to or connected to a network data cannot be sent and buffering or discarding data are well-known and efficient mechanisms for handling data in those circumstances.
Regarding claim 11 Ryu and Link, II teaches the radio device of claim 8 including wherein the radio modem is configured to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to instructions (see Link, II, paragraphs [0014] & [0034] and Fig. 2, The processor of the device instructs the long-range wireless components to wake-up and attempt to connect to the long-range wireless network. If no long-range wireless network can be attached to, or connected to, the device may re-enter power saving mode. This reads on wherein the radio modem is configured to reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in response to instructions) and except for receiving from the software application an instruction to cancel sending the data.
Sudarsan teaches receiving from the software application an instruction to cancel sending the data (see paragraph [0025], If the user equipment cannot be reached the SMS message is discarded. This reads on receiving from the software application an instruction to cancel sending the data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make reactivate the 4G LTE PSM or 5G MICO power saving mode in the Ryu and Link, II combination adapt to include receiving from the software application an instruction to cancel sending the data because cancelling sending data is well-known and efficient mechanisms for handling data circumstances where the device is unavailable.
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lau et al. Patent No.: US 10,212,690 B1 discloses mobility management entity support of user equipment using extended discontinuous reception and power saving mode (see abstract).
ETSI TS 123 682 V17.3.0 Digital Cellular Telecommunications systems discloses UE Power Saving Mode including a UE adapting PSM for reducing its power (see pages 26-28).
Gummadi et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0248494 A1 discloses methods and system for transitioning a user equipment to an inactive state including a UE activating MICO mode (see paragraphs [0095] – [0096]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
February 11, 2026