DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 6 October 2026 has been entered, and the arguments presented therein have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, first line, recites the term “stabilized.” In view of applicant’s response on 6 October 2026, the examiner has included the following explanation as to how this term is interpreted.
In the declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.132 submitted on 6 October 2026, declarant takes the following position, as of paragraph #7, reproduced below.
In view of this, the examiner has proceeded with the understanding that colloidal/suspension stability and stability of the antigen itself are different issues. Regardless, in view of the principle of broadest reasonable interpretation of claims during examination, the examiner takes the position that a composition that is either colloidally/suspension stable or has a stable antigen meets the requirement of being a stabilized vaccine composition.
Claim 19 recites that aluminum phosphate has the abbreviation “ALPO” and aluminum hydroxide has the abbreviation “ALOH.” The examiner clarifies that these abbreviations are interpreted as not limiting the molar ratio of aluminum to phosphate or hydroxide and are not interpreted as chemical formulas. The examiner clarifies that aluminum hydroxide has the chemical formula Al(OH)3 because aluminum ions are trivalent and positively charged and hydroxide ions are monovalent and negatively charged; as such, three hydroxide ions are needed to balance the charge of one aluminum ion. Regarding phosphate, the examiner notes that both aluminum and phosphate are trivalent; as such, only one phosphate anion is needed to balance the charge of one aluminum cation. However, phosphate is a polyatomic anion having a formula of PO33-; as such, aluminum phosphate has the chemical formula of AlPO3. As such, the examiner interprets the abbreviations of ALPO and ALOH as not limiting the ratio of phosphorus to oxygen in the phosphate ion in aluminum phosphate and not limiting the ratio of hydroxide to aluminum in aluminum hydroxide. As such, the claims that recite these formulas are not rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “suspension-stabilized” in claim 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “suspension-stabilized” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The results in the instant application, e.g. as of figures 1-3 as well as other figures, would appear to indicate that the level of suspension stability is a relative term. For example, figure 3 shows that the sedimentation rate of the claimed invention is superior to that of a comparative example. While this would appear to indicate that the claimed invention is relatively more stable than the comparative example, it remains unclear as to what level of suspension stability is needed to meet the requirement of being “suspension-stabilized.” See MPEP 2173.05(b)(I) regarding relative terminology and terms of degree.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will interpret claim 36 as if it has the same scope as claim 1 upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 36 recites that the composition is suspension stabilized. This does not appear to be adequately supported by the original application as filed. There is no in haec verba support for the phrase “suspension stabilized.” While the instant application has described various tests regarding suspension stability (e.g. as described in figures 1-3, as well as other figures), it is unclear as to whether the results of such tests would be sufficient to meet the requirement of the composition being suspension-stabilized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-27 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairman et al. (US 2020/0054739 A1).
Fairman et al. (hereafter referred to as Fairman) is drawn to a conjugated vaccine, as of Fairman, title and abstract.
As to part (a) of claim 1, Fairman teaches protein-antigen conjugates wherein the antigens are polysaccharides, which would have resulted in a protein-polysaccharide conjugate, as of Fairman, paragraph 0014. Fairman teaches non-natural amino acids in the abstract and teaches at least two non-natural amino acids in paragraph 0008.
As to part (b) of claim 1, Fairman teaches an aluminum adjuvant as of at least paragraphs 0517-0518.
As to part (c) of claim 1, Fairman teaches phosphate buffer in paragraph 0313 and 0325; this appears to refer to a non-aluminum phosphate salt. Fairman teaches disodium phosphate dehydrate in paragraph 0530 and sodium phosphate in paragraph 0531.
As to part (d) of claim 1, Fairman teaches 0.9% sodium chloride in paragraph 1276.
As to claim 1, the claim requires less than 200 mM of sodium chloride. Fairman teaches 0.9% sodium chloride in paragraph 1276. As best understood by the examiner, this is 0.154 M or 154 mM sodium chloride, which is less than 200 mM sodium chloride.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a pH of between about 5.5 and 7. Fairman teaches multiple pH values in the table on page 123 of Fairman; these include pH values of 6.7, as of the first entry on the table, which is within the claimed range. Even if, purely en arguendo, Fairman does not teach the required pH range (e.g. possibly because the teachings of Fairman regarding pH refer to the pH of an intermediate product rather than the final product), this is not sufficient to overcome the applied rejection. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a vaccine comprising a polysaccharide-polypeptide conjugate in the form of an aqueous solution have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of pH via routine experimentation.
As to claim 1, Fairman appears to teach all of the claimed requirements, albeit in separate embodiments. While the prior art teaches all of the claimed components, the prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these components must be selected from various lists/locations in the prior art reference. It would have been prima facie obvious; however, to have selected the recited components from various lists/locations in the prior art reference and to have combined them together. This is because such a modification would have represented nothing more than the predictable use of prior art components according to their established functions. Combining separate prior art components (from a single prior art reference) according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
As to claim 2, Fairman teaches a surfactant in paragraph 0533; this reads on the required emulsifier.
As to claim 3, Fairman teaches 2-amino-3-(4-azidophenyl)propanoic acid substitution in paragraph 0116.
As to claim 4, Fairman teaches a carrier protein as of at least paragraph 0040.
As to claim 5, Fairman teaches a capsular polysaccharide as of the abstract.
As to claim 6, Fairman teaches a capsular polysaccharide from Streptococcus pneumoniae in paragraph 0013.
As to claim 7, Fairman teaches a capsular polysaccharide from Streptococcus pneumoniae in paragraph 0013.
As to claim 8, Fairman teaches the following as of paragraphs 0029-0031, reproduced below.
As to claim 9, the teachings from paragraphs 0029-0031 of Fairman which are reproduced above are understood to read on the claim requirement.
As to claim 10, Fairman teaches the following antigens as of paragraph 0234, relevant text reproduced below.
These are understood to read on the claimed requirement. The examiner notes that the serotypes are not listed in the same order in Fairman as in the instant claims, with 7F being listed before 7C; nevertheless, the teachings of Fairman would appear to read on the requirements of instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Fairman teaches a cell wall polysaccharide as of paragraphs 0260-0261.
As to claim 12, Seq. ID #1 of Fairman is understood to read on the required unsubstituted sequence because none of the natural amino acids are substituted with unnatural amino acids. This sequence is reproduced in part below from page 133 of Fairman; the sequence goes on to the top of page 135 of Fairman.
Note the lack of “Xaa” amino acids in this sequence.
As to claim 13, Fairman teaches a sequence that is substituted with pAMF at multiple positions, as of paragraph 0104 of Fairman; the acronym pAMF refers to 2-amino-3-(4 (azidomethyl)phenyl) propanoic acid, as of paragraph 0010 of Fairman.
As to claim 14, the sequence described in paragraph 0104 of Fairman would appear to have at least two pAMF substitutions.
As to claim 15, Fairman teaches an exemplary modified CRM may include substitution of a nnAA (e.g. pAMF) at each of K33, K212, K244, K264, K385, and K526; this has six substitutions of the same non-natural amino acid.
As to claims 16-17, Seq ID #1 of Fairman, as of pages 133-135 of Fairman and reproduced above in the rejection of claim 12, would appear to read on the required sequence.
As to claim 18, Fairman teaches the following, as of Sequence #14, relevant text reproduced below from page 144 of Fairman.
The examiner notes that the substitutions at sites 34, 213, 245, 386, and 527 appear to be the same substitution sites as in instant Seq. ID #2. While Fairman does not appear to specify a pAMF substitution in the text of the sequence ID, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used a pAMF substitution in view of at least the teachings of Fairman, paragraph 0104.
As to claims 19-20, Fairman teaches aluminum phosphate as of at least paragraphs 0518 and 0520-0521.
As to claim 21, Fairman teaches an aluminum concentration of ≤1 mg per mL, as of paragraphs 0523. This appears to overlap with the claimed concentration range. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In the alternative as to claim 21, Fairman teaches an aluminum phosphate adjuvant, but teaches a different concentration as compared with what is required by the instant claims. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the prior art and claimed invention will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality has been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of a vaccine comprising an aluminum phosphate adjuvant has been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have bene inventive to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of this ingredient via routine experimentation.
As to claim 22, Fairman teaches 15 mM potassium phosphate as of paragraph 1256. This appears to be within the claimed range.
As to claim 23, Fairman teaches 15 mM potassium phosphate as of paragraph 1256. This is slightly different from the 17 mM phosphate concentration required by the claim. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the prior art and claimed invention will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality has been presented. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a composition comprising a polypeptide, an aluminum adjuvant, a non-aluminum phosphate salt, and sodium chloride have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of these ingredients via routine experimentation.
As to claim 24, the claim requires about 150 mM of sodium chloride. Fairman teaches 0.9% sodium chloride in at least paragraph 1275. As best understood by the examiner, this is 0.154 M or 154 mM sodium chloride. This is understood to read on the claimed requirements.
As to claim 25, Fairman teaches compositions with pH values of 6.7 as of the first two lines of the table on page 123. However, elsewhere in the document, Fairman teaches a pH adjusting agent, as of Fairman, paragraph 0529, and also teaches a lower pH value of 5.5, as of Fairman, paragraph 0748. While the pH values taught by Fairman appear to differ from the claimed pH values, this is not sufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a composition comprising a polypeptide, an aluminum adjuvant, a non-aluminum phosphate salt, and sodium chloride have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of the pH of the composition via routine experimentation.
As to claim 26, Fairman teaches that the aluminum salt adjuvant is in the form of a suspension, as of paragraph 0534; otherwise, the composition is in a solution, as of paragraph 0524.
As to claim 27, Fairman teaches that aluminum adjuvants for stable porous aggregates of 1-10 microns in diameter, as of Fairman, paragraph 0524. As such, there would have been a reasonable expectation that the D50 of the aluminum adjuvants would have been 1-10 microns in diameter.
As to claim 36, this claim is rejected for essentially the same reason that claim 1 is rejected. See the indefiniteness rejection of claim 36 above.
Note Regarding Reference Date: The instant application appears to have an earliest possible effective filing date of 2 September 2021, which is the filing date of provisional application 63/240,244. Fairman was published on 20 February 2020. As such, Fairman was published over a year earlier than the earliest effective filing date of the instant application. As such, Fairman is prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). As Fairman was published over a year earlier than the effective filing date of the instant application, the exceptions under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) and 102(b)(1)(B) would not appear to be applicable.
Relevant Prior Art – No Rejection
As relevant prior art, the examiner cites Fairman et al. (US 2018/0333484 A1). This reference appears to teach most of what is taught by Fairman et al. (US 2020/0054739 A1).
In selecting the references to be used in rejecting the claims, the examiner should carefully compare the references with one another and with the applicant’s disclosure to avoid an unnecessary number of rejections over similar references. The examiner is not called upon to cite all references that may be available, but only the "best." (See 37 CFR 1.104(c).) Multiplying references, any one of which is as good as, but no better than, the others, adds to the burden and cost of prosecution and should therefore be avoided. See MPEP 904.03. In this case, Fairman et al. (US 2018/0333484 A1) does not appear to be the best reference because, as best understood by the examiner, Fairman et al. (US 2018/0333484 A1) does not appear to teach a sequence which reads on Seq. ID #2, as required by instant claim 19. As such, no rejection over Fairman et al. (US 2018/0333484 A1) has been written by the examiner.
Additional Cited Prior Art Regarding Aluminum-Antigen Interactions
As relevant prior art, the examiner cites HogenEsch (Frontiers in Immunology, Vol. 3, January 2013, pages 1-13). HogenEsch teaches beneficial effects of antigens adsorbing to aluminum on page 1, abstract and page 4, left column, bottom paragraph. However, HogenEsch teaches that adsorption that is too tight can have a negative effect on vaccine immunogenicity, as of page 4, right column, second paragraph, and can cause degradation of the composition, as of the paragraph bridging pages 4-5.
The examiner also notes here that HogenEsch provides a teaching regarding phosphate buffer as of page 5, left column, relevant text reproduced below.
In view of this, the examiner has cited Iyer et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Vol. 101, No. 9, September 2012, pages 3078-3090). Iyer et al. (hereafter referred to as Iyer) is drawn to characterization of an aluminum adjuvanted vaccine, as of Iyer, page 3078, title and abstract. Iyer teaches the following, as of page 3089, left column, top paragraph, relevant text reproduced below with annotation by the examiner.
As such, the art would appear to indicate that sodium phosphate, at least in certain concentrations, would have been expected to have had beneficial effects at the time of filing.
Response to Arguments and Declaration Under 37 C.F.R. 1.132
Applicant has presented arguments in applicant’s response on 6 October 2026 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s arguments). A declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.132 was also presented on 6 October 2026, showing comparative testing. The examiner has addressed applicant’s arguments and the declaration together below.
The declaration shows comparative testing. The examiner has conducted the following analysis regarding the comparative testing shown by the declaration.
Comparison with Closest Prior Art: In order to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness and obtain a patent based upon comparative testing, the claimed invention must be compared with prior art at least as close as that relied upon by the examiner. See MPEP 716.02(e). The instant specification discloses the following comparison, as of page 28 of the specification, relevant table reproduced below with annotation added by the examiner.
This table is the same table reproduced in paragraph #9 of the declaration.
The examiner takes the position that although prior art reference Fairman et al. (US 2020/0054739 A1) teaches all of the above-listed ingredients, they are taught in separate portions of the reference and are not presented in the same example. As such, the comparative example of the instant specification and the declaration appears to be at least as close as the closest subject matter that actually exists in Fairman. This is because Fairman does not teach a single composition comprising all of the required ingredients together in the same composition.
The examiner notes that MPEP 716.02(e)(III) indicates that applicant is required to compare the claimed invention with the closest subject matter that exists in the prior art, and is not required to compare the claimed invention with subject matter that does not exist in the prior art. The comparative example in the declaration appears to be closer to the claimed invention than the composition exemplified by Fairman. Therefore, declarant appears to have met the requirement that the claimed invention be compared with the closest subject matter that actually exists in the prior art. See MPEP 716.02(I & III).
Declarant Must Establish Results are Significant: It is the examiner’s position that the declaration shows multiple examples of the claimed composition, which comprises a non-aluminum phosphate salt, has significantly improved suspension stability as compared with the comparative example. As one example of this, the examiner notes paragraph #11 of the declaration, which is reproduced below.
As such, at least in view of this result, as well as other results present in the declaration, the examiner takes the position that the declaration has shown significantly improved suspension stability as compared with the comparative example. This would be of practical significance as it would allow for a longer storage time prior to use and reduce the cases of compositions going bad in storage.
Declaration Must Establish that the Results are Unexpected: The declaration must establish that the results are both unexpected and significant. See MPEP 716.02(b). The examiner presents the following rationale below to support the position that declarant’s results are unexcepted. This rationale relies upon Iyer et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Vol. 101, No. 9, September 2012, pages 3078-3090), which was cited on pages 18-19 of the prior office action mailed on 6 July 2026, as information in that reference is relevant to the examiner’s determination as to whether the results obtained by declarant are unexpected.
In the prior office action mailed on 6 July 2026, the examiner cited the Iyer et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Vol. 101, No. 9, September 2012, pages 3078-3090) reference on page 19 of that office action. Relevant text from page 19 of the prior office action mailed on 6 July 2026 is reproduced below.
The above-reproduced text would appear to indicate that Iyer teaches that sodium phosphate has a stabilizing effect. However, this appears to be a different type of stability as compared with the type of stability measured in the instant application. See paragraph #7 of the declaration, which is reproduced below.
The above-reproduced text from the declaration delineates between colloidal/suspension stability and the chemical/physiochemical stability of the antigen itself. As best understood by the examiner, the above-reproduced text from Iyer teaches that sodium phosphate has a beneficial effect on the chemical/physiochemical stability of the antigen itself. In contrast, the type of stability measured by the declaration is colloidal/suspension stability, which is stability against aggregation or agglomeration. There is nothing in Iyer to indicate that sodium phosphate would have improved colloidal/suspension stability.
The examiner notes that expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(c)(II). However, the evidence in this case would appear to indicate that the beneficial results measured by the declaration are not expected beneficial results. As such, declarant appears to have met the burden of showing that the beneficial results are unexpected.
Commensurateness in Scope: Unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See MPEP 716.02(d). In this case, the unexpected results obtained by declarant do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. The examiner presents the following rationale in support of this position.
First, regarding the identity of the antigen, as best understood by the examiner, the antigen used in the experiment summarized on page 28, Table 1 of the instant specification has the following structure.
The above-reproduced description appears to be unclear because it first indicates that the polypeptide is of Seq. ID #2, which would appear to be a single serotype. However, the above-reproduced text subsequently indicates that there are multiple serotypes included. As such, it is unclear whether the polypeptide has the structure of Seq. ID #2 or a different structure.
Additionally, it is unclear whether the data obtained for this antigen is commensurate with the full scope of polypeptide-polysaccharide conjugate antigens. This is because different polypeptides and different polysaccharides have different properties. For example, some peptides are more hydrophobic and others are more hydrophilic. Some peptides have many cysteines, whereas others lack cysteine; this is relevant because cysteine has a thiol group that can engage in specific forms of intermolecular chemical bonding such as disulfide bonding. Some peptides have a high isoelectric point whereas others have a lower isoelectric point. As such, it is unclear whether the data presented by applicant regarding one particular polypeptide apply to a different polypeptide.
Additionally, different polysaccharides have different properties, with some polysaccharides being positively charged, other polysaccharides being negatively charged, and other polysaccharides being hydrophobic. For example, chitosan is a positively charged polysaccharide, hyaluronic acid is a negatively charged polysaccharide, and alkylcelluloses can be hydrophobic polysaccharides, especially in cases where there is a high degree of substitution and long alkyl chains. As such, it is unclear whether the data presented by declarant regarding one polypeptide can be applied to a different polypeptide.
Additionally, claim 1, while reciting an aluminum adjuvant and a phosphate salt, does not recite specific concentrations of either the aluminum adjuvant or the phosphate salt. It is unclear whether the data obtained by declarant would apply to the full concentration ranges of each of these elements. In support of the idea that concentrations of elements can affect the issue of commensurateness in scope, the examiner notes that Iyer teaches that 5 mM phosphate did not affect absorption, but higher phosphate concentrations resulted in major losses in binding, as of Iyer, page 3089, left column, top paragraph, relevant text reproduced above. Although Iyer is not referring to suspension stability or colloidal stability, the teachings of Iyer nevertheless indicate that different concentrations of a particular ingredient can have different effects.
Additionally, claim 2 recites an emulsifier. The skilled artisan would have expected that emulsifiers (i.e. surfactants) would have had a significant impact on colloidal stability because emulsifiers can stabilize a particle and prevent particles from aggregation. The skilled artisan would not have expected that a beneficial result obtained in the presence of an emulsifier would have been applicable to the absence of an emulsifier because an emulsifier contributes to particle stability, and that particle stability would have been greatly reduced in the absence of the emulsifier.
As such, in view of the above-indicated issues, the results presented by applicant and/or declarant do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Applicant presents arguments in applicant’s response on 6 October 2026. These arguments appear to reiterate and emphasize points that were already made in the declaration submitted on 6 October 2026. As such, the above text that was written by the examiner in response to the declaration is also applicable to applicant’s arguments.
The examiner has included a proposed amendment on the next page in which the examiner proposes amending the claims in such a manner to render the claims commensurate in scope with the results presented by applicant.
Proposed Examiner’s Amendment
The examiner proposes amending the instant claims in the following manner to place the instant claims in condition for allowance.
X) Claim 1 is proposed to be amended in the following manner:
Claim 1 (Proposed Amendment): A stabilized vaccine composition comprising:
a. at least one polypeptide-polysaccharide conjugate, wherein the polypeptide component of the at least one polypeptide-polysaccharide conjugate comprises at least two non- natural amino acids (nnAA);
b. an aluminum adjuvant;
c. a non-aluminum phosphate salt; and
d. sodium chloride;
wherein the concentration of sodium chloride is less than 200 mM, and the pH is between about 5.5 and 7,
wherein the stabilized vaccine composition is in the form of a population of particles, wherein 10% of the particles have a diameter equal to or smaller than 2.48 μm, wherein 50% of the particles have a diameter equal to or smaller than 4.54 μm, and wherein 90% of the particles have a diameter equal to or smaller than 12.5 μm, and
wherein the sedimentation velocity at 25°C and 2500 revolutions per minute (rpm) is from 172 to 197 μm/s.
[Note Regarding Claim 1 Proposed Amendments: The amendments regarding particle size appear to be supported as of Table 2 on page 29, Table 3 on page 30, and Table 4 on page 31. The language “wherein 10% of the particles have a diameter smaller than…” is abbreviated in the specification as D10 or Dx10. The language “wherein 50% of the particles have a diameter smaller than…” is abbreviated in the specification as D50 or Dx50. The language “wherein 90% of the particles have a diameter smaller than…” is abbreviated in the specification as D90 or Dx90. See the instant specification on pages 16-17, paragraph 0049. The values chosen for the examiner for D10, D50, and D90 were chosen as the largest values on Tables 3, 4, or 5.
Regarding the data related to sedimentation rate, this was taken from figure 6. Disclosures in the drawings may be used to show adequate description in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a); see MPEP 2163.02, second paragraph. Also see the instant specification on page 32, paragraph 00111. The skilled artisan would have been aware that the well-known abbreviation “rpm” refers to revolutions per minute.
The proposed amendment is intended to limit the claims only to compositions having relatively small particles whose sedimentation rate is relatively slow. Compositions having a large particle size or faster sedimentation rate would be excluded from the claim scope, thereby rendering the claims limited only to compositions that achieve smaller particle size with greater suspension stability.
There would have been no evidence that the compositions of Fairman et al. (US 2020/0054739 A1) would inherently have had the required particle size. Evidence in support of this position is provided by the instant specification on page 29, paragraph 00106, relevant text reproduced below.
This would appear to indicate that the skilled artisan would have expected the comparative compositions to have had a larger particle size than what is required by the instant claims. Therefore, the skilled artisan would not have expected the particle size (and/or the sedimentation rate) recited by the above-proposed claims to have been inherent in Fairman.
Additionally, there would have been no reasonable expectation that the particle size of sedimentation rate could have been successfully optimized to have achieved the particle size or sedimentation rate as in the above-proposed claims. Optimization requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, in view of the declaration, there does not appear to be a reasonable expectation that the particle size and sedimentation rate could have been successfully optimized to have achieved what is proposed above.]
X) No amendment to claims 2-26 are proposed.
X) Claim 27 is proposed to be cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer, because the D50 limitation is being amended into claim 1.
X) Claim 28 is proposed to be rejoined, and no amendment to claim 28 is proposed.
X) Claim 29 is proposed to be rejoined, and no amendment to claim 29 is proposed.
X) Claim 30 is proposed to be rejoined, and no amendment to claim 30 is proposed.
X) Claims 31-34 have already been cancelled.
X) Claim 35 is proposed to be amended in the following manner:
Claim 35 (Proposed Amendment): A method of [[ ]] making the composition of claim 1, comprising mixing a non- aluminum phosphate salt with a solution comprising:
a. at least one polypeptide-polysaccharide conjugate, wherein the polypeptide component of the at least one polypeptide-polysaccharide conjugate comprises at least two non- natural amino acids (nnAAs);
b. an aluminum adjuvant; and
c. sodium chloride;
wherein the concentration of sodium chloride is less than 200 mM, and the pH is between about 5.5 and 7.
X) Claim 36 is proposed to be cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer – this obviates 35 U.S.C. 112 issues related to this claim.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612