DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/06/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2021/0211530 A1 herein Jung).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an electronic device (read as electronic device 100) (Jung – Figure 1A, Figure 1B, [0032]) comprising:
a hinge structure comprising a hinge housing (read as hinge housing 300 may be disposed between the first housing 510 and second housing 520 and may be configured to hide an internal part (e.g., a hinge structure)) (Jung – Figure 1B, [0042]);
a first housing connected to the hinge structure (read as hinge housing 300 may be disposed between the first housing 510 and second housing 520) (Jung – Figure 1B, [0033], and [0042]);
a second housing connected to the first housing through the hinge structure and configured to rotate with respect to the first housing (read as hinge housing 300 may be disposed between the first housing 510 and second housing 520 and may be in an unfolded state or a folded state; first housing 510 and second housing 520 rotate in the z-axis direction) (Jung – Figure 1B, Figure 8, [0042], and [0084]);
a flexible display (read as flexible or foldable display 110) disposed in the first housing with a first portion and disposed in the second housing with a second portion (read as first portion 510a of the first housing 510 and second portion 520b of the second housing 520 having mutually symmetrical shapes may form the width of a recess) (Jung – Figure 1A, Figure 1B, [0032], and [0036]); and
at least one protection structure disposed to cover at least a part of a periphery of the flexible display (read as first protective member 710 may be disposed to cover at least part of the protrusion 310 disposed on an edge of the hinge housing 300 and includes a cover body 711, cover hole or recess 711a, and a barrier 712) (Jung – Figure 2, [0054], and [0057]),
wherein the at least one protection structure (read as first protective member 710) comprises:
a base disposed on the hinge housing and comprising a fixing portion (read as first supplementary structure 410 includes a fixing bracket 411 coupled to the hinge housing) (Jung – Figure 3, Figure 5, [0056], and [0064]) formed in a direction in which a front surface of the electronic device faces (read as a surface on which the display 110 is disposed is defined as a first surface or a front surface of the electronic device 100) (Jung – Figure 1A, Figure 1B, Figure 5, [0032]); and
a blocking member comprising an elastic body integrally formed with at least a part of the fixing portion, and disposed to cover at least a part of the periphery of the flexible display (read as first protective member 710 may be disposed to cover at least part of the protrusion 310 disposed on an edge of the hinge housing 300;may be formed of at least one of a rubber member, a polymer member, a silicone member or a flexible plastic member; first protective member 710 may include a cover body 711, a cover hole 711a or a recess, and a barrier 712) (Jung – Figure 9, [0057], and [0087]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches wherein the fixing portion is disposed to support the flexible display, in at least a part of the periphery of a folding axis region of the flexible display (read as a hinge housing 300 or a hinge cover that covers a foldable portion of the folding housing 500, and a flexible or foldable display 110 disposed in a space formed by the foldable housing 500; first supplementary structure 410 includes a fixing bracket 411 coupled to the hinge housing) (Jung – Figure 3, Figure 5, [0032], [0056], and [0064]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches wherein the fixing portion comprises, a protrusion protruding in the direction which the front surface of the electronic device faces, and contained at least in part in the blocking member (read as reinforce a protrusion 310 of the hinge housing 300) (Jung – [0055]-[0057]), and the blocking member comprises: a connection portion comprising an elastic material in a region containing at least a part of the protrusion unit (read as first protective member 710 may include a first barrier 712a and a second barrier 712b disposed on opposing sides) (Jung – Figure 6A, Figure 8, and [0080]); a first extension disposed to cover at least a part of an edge of the first portion, and extending from one end of the connection portion; and a second extension disposed to cover at least a part of an edge of the second portion, and extending from an other end of the connection portion (read as first barrier 712a and the second barrier 712b may be disposed in a seating space such as the first seating place 511 that is formed in the first housing 510 and a seating space such as second seating place 521 that is formed in the second housing 520, respectively in the opposite direction) (Jung – Figure 2, Figure 6, Figure 8, and [0080]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member comprises, at least one opening formed in a direction in which the front surface of the electronic device faces (read as first protective member 710 may include the plurality of slits 713a, 713b, 713c; openings of the slits 713a, 713b, 713c face in the -z-axis direction) (Jung – [0087]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 3, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member comprises, at least one groove concavely formed with at least a part of a longitudinal edge of the blocking member (read as first protective member 710 may include the plurality of slits 713a, 713b, 713c; openings of the slits 713a, 713b, 713c face in the -z-axis direction) (Jung – [0087]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches wherein the protection structure further comprises: a plate disposed to face one surface of the base; and a support structure comprising at least one support disposed to support at least a part of the blocking member between the base and the blocking member (read as support plate 219 disposed to cover at least parts of upper surfaces of the hinge housing 300, the first housing 510, and the second housing 520, which face in the z-axis direction, in a flat unfolded state of the electronic device 100; the support plate 219 may include a first support plate disposed on part of the hinge housing 300 and the upper surface of the first housing 510 and a second support plate disposed on the remaining part of the hinge housing 300 and the upper surface of the second housing 520) (Jung – Figure 2, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Jung further teaches wherein the at least one support is disposed in a space between the base formed on one surface of the fixing portion and the blocking member (read as support plate 219 disposed to cover at least parts of upper surfaces of the hinge housing 300, the first housing 510, and the second housing 520, which face in the z-axis direction, in a flat unfolded state of the electronic device 100) (Jung – Figure 2, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member comprises, an elevation formed from one surface of the blocking member toward the front surface of the electronic device, in at least a part of a region where the fixing portion is disposed (read as the first protective member 710 may be bent with a predetermined curvature through the one or more slits during the rotary operations of the first housing 510 and the second housing 520) (Jung – [0079]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member is curved from the elevation to the one surface of the blocking member (read as the first protective member 710 may be bent with a predetermined curvature through the one or more slits during the rotary operations of the first housing 510 and the second housing 520) (Jung – [0079]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches comprising: a first frame disposed on at least a part of the edge of the first portion along the periphery of the first portion, in the first housing (read as first supplementary member 210 may serve to reinforce the peripheral edge of the display 110 placed on the first housing 510 and may have a shape of “C”) (Jung – [0061]); and a second frame disposed on at least a part of the edge of the second portion along the edge of the second portion, in the second housing (read as second supplementary member 220 may serve to reinforce the peripheral edge of the display 110 placed on the second housing 520 and may have a shape of “C”) (Jung – [0062]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Jung further teaches wherein the first frame and the second frame are disposed to cover at least a part of the blocking member (read as first supplementary member 210 and second supplementary member 220) (Jung – [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Jung further teaches wherein the at least one protection structure integrally couples at least a part of the fixing portion of the base with the blocking member through insert injection (read as part of the first supplementary structure 410 (e.g., at least part of the fixing bracket) may be fixedly inserted into a coupling recess 311 formed on one side of the protrusion 310 of the hinge housing 300) (Jung – [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Jung teaches a protection structure (read as first protective member 710) (Jung – Figure 2, [0054], and [0057]) comprising:
a base including a fixing portion (read as first supplementary structure 410 includes a fixing bracket 411 coupled to the hinge housing) (Jung – Figure 3, Figure 5, [0056], and [0064]) facing in a first direction (read as a surface on which the display 110 is disposed is defined as a first surface or a front surface of the electronic device 100) (Jung – Figure 1A, Figure 1B, Figure 5, [0032]); and
a blocking member comprising an elastic body integrally formed with at least a part of the fixing portion (read as first protective member 710 may be disposed to cover at least part of the protrusion 310 disposed on an edge of the hinge housing 300; may be formed of at least one of a rubber member, a polymer member, a silicone member or a flexible plastic member; first protective member 710 may include a cover body 711, a cover hole 711a or a recess, and a barrier 712) (Jung – Figure 9, [0057], and [0087]),
wherein the blocking member (read as first protective member 710) comprises:
a connection portion disposed in a region where the fixing portion is disposed (read as first protective member 710 may include a first barrier 712a and a second barrier 712b disposed on opposing sides) (Jung – Figure 6A, Figure 8, and [0080]);
a first extension extending from one end of the connection portion in a second direction (read as first barrier 712a and the second barrier 712b may be disposed in a seating space such as the first seating place 511 that is formed in the first housing 510 and a seating space such as second seating place 521 that is formed in the second housing 520, respectively in the opposite direction) (Jung – Figure 2, Figure 6, Figure 8, and [0080]); and
a second extension extending from an other end of the connection portion in a third direction opposite to the second direction (read as first barrier 712a and the second barrier 712b may be disposed in a seating space such as the first seating place 511 that is formed in the first housing 510 and a seating space such as second seating place 521 that is formed in the second housing 520, respectively in the opposite direction) (Jung – Figure 2, Figure 6, Figure 8, and [0080]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Jung further teaches wherein the fixing portion includes a protrusion protruding in the first direction and contained at least in part in the blocking member, and wherein the blocking member includes at least one opening formed in a direction which the protrusion protrudes (read as first supplementary structure 410 may include a fixing bracket 411, a first wing part 412 or a first part, a second wing part 413 or a second part and a coupling part 415) (Jung – Figure 3, Figure 4, and [0064]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 13, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member includes at least one groove concavely formed with at least a part of a longitudinal edge of the blocking member (read as first protective member 710 may include the plurality of slits 713a, 713b, 713c; openings of the slits 713a, 713b, 713c face in the -z-axis direction) (Jung – [0087]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 13, Jung further teaches further comprising: a plate disposed to face one surface of the base; and a support structure comprising at least one support disposed to support at least a part of the blocking member between the base and the blocking member (read as support plate 219 disposed to cover at least parts of upper surfaces of the hinge housing 300, the first housing 510, and the second housing 520, which face in the z-axis direction, in a flat unfolded state of the electronic device 100; the support plate 219 may include a first support plate disposed on part of the hinge housing 300 and the upper surface of the first housing 510 and a second support plate disposed on the remaining part of the hinge housing 300 and the upper surface of the second housing 520) (Jung – Figure 2, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 17 are applied to claim 16, Jung further teaches wherein the at least one support is disposed in a space between the base formed on one surface of the fixing portion and the blocking member (read as support plate 219 disposed to cover at least parts of upper surfaces of the hinge housing 300, the first housing 510, and the second housing 520, which face in the z-axis direction, in a flat unfolded state of the electronic device 100) (Jung – Figure 2, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 13, Jung further teaches wherein the fixing portion includes a protrusion protruding in the first direction and contained at least in part in the blocking member (read as reinforce a protrusion 310 of the hinge housing 300) (Jung – [0055]-[0057]), and wherein the blocking member includes an elevation formed in a direction in which the protrusion protrudes from one surface of the blocking member in at least a portion of a region in which at least a portion of the protrusion is contained (read as the first protective member 710 may be bent with a predetermined curvature through the one or more slits during the rotary operations of the first housing 510 and the second housing 520) (Jung – [0079]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Jung further teaches wherein the blocking member is curved from the elevation to the one surface of the blocking member (read as the first protective member 710 may be bent with a predetermined curvature through the one or more slits during the rotary operations of the first housing 510 and the second housing 520) (Jung – [0079]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648