The election is noted. Claims 14-22 are withdrawn. Due to the species election, claims 4, and 9-11 are also withdrawn. However, applicants should be mindful of the totality of teachings of the below-cited references.
Normally successive amendments ae not permitted, however the rule is waived on this occasion, noting that the second submission was still within the original time period set for response.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is unclear as to when and how hydrogenation is done, and what the heat requirements are.
Claim 6 is unclear as to whether the change is between runs or during the process. If the latter, then it is unclear how it is accomplished.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. 20220255101 taken with Burcher et al. 20210017021.
Seo teaches, especially in paras 12-21 and 51 and fig. 1, exothermic and endothermic H carriers. The endothermic dehydrogenation agent is organic liquid. The elected siloxane is not taught by Seo, however Burcher does in para 67 in a similar system. Using it in the process of Seo is obvious to provide a hydrogen carrier.
For clams 2 and 3, methylcyclohexane is taught in Seo para 17.
For claim 5, Seo para 48 teaches initiation of the cycle without adding heat.
For claim 6, in so far as dehydrogenation of a H2 adduct reduces the amount thereof (‘adjusted’), option ii is merely a mathematical restatement of what is already required in/implied by claim 1. See also the above rejection under ‘112.
For claims 7 and 8, see Burcher para 67.
For claim 12, para 57 teaches controlling the reaction rate.
For clam 13, para 51 teaches connecting the chambers, suggesting a common wall.
The following is noted:
Lin ‘419 teaches in para 208 dodecahydroethylcarbozole in a similar system.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736