DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 40 – distribution cavity. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 objected to because of the following grammatical errors:
Claim 1, line 10 reads in part, “at least one of the measure humidity of temperature”, appears it should read “or”.
Claim 10, line 3 reads “receive a signal form the at least one sensor” appears is should read “from”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
GROUND 1: Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0374058 to Blond et al.
In regard to claim 1, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel 1 comprising: a cooking body 2 defining a cooking chamber (See Fig. 1); a lid 3 removably couplable to the cooking body (See para 0033), the lid having: a lid body extending between an inner surface confronting the cooking chamber, and an outer surface, the lid body having a centerline axis extending between the inner surface and the outer surface (see Fig. 1); and a liquid reservoir 6 provided within the lid body (See para 0036); and at least one sensor 29 configured to measure at least one of a humidity or a temperature of the cooking chamber (see paras 0038-0039, 0084); wherein a liquid within the liquid reservoir is selectively supplied to the cooking chamber based on at least one of the measured humidity or temperature of the cooking chamber (see paras 0053-0060).
In regard to claim 2, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises an actuator 28 configured to selectively supply a liquid within the liquid reservoir to the cooking chamber.
In regard to claim 4, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises a plurality of outlets 15/115 provided along the inner surface and being fluidly coupled to the liquid reservoir (see Figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 5, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises a distribution cavity 20/120 formed within the lid body and fluidly coupling the liquid reservoir to the plurality of outlets (See Figs 1-3).
In regard to claim 6, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises a distribution duct 121 provided within the distribution cavity (See Figs. 2-3 and paras 0067-0071).
In regard to claim 7, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the distribution duct is formed as a singular wall extending circumferentially about the centerline axis (See Figs. 2-3 and paras 0067-0071).
In regard to claim 8, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the plurality of outlets are arranged in a plurality of concentric rows radially spaced with respect to one another, with respect to the centerline axis (see Figs. 1-3).
In regard to claim 11, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, further comprising a controller module 28/128 communicatively coupled to the at least one sensor, the controller module configured to: receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of at least one of the temperature or the humidity of the cooking chamber; and automatically selectively fluidly couple the liquid reservoir to the cooking chamber based on the received signal (See paras 0053-0060 and 0081-006).
In regard to claim 14, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the controller module is provided within the lid body (see Figs. 1-4).
In regard to claim 15, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the at least one sensor is provided along the lid body (see Figs. 1-4 and para 0086).
In regard to claim 16, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises a power source 50 operably coupled to the at least one sensor (see para 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 2: Claim(s) 1-3, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4088629 to Yang in view of CN 203207777 to Zhongshan.
In regard to claims 1 and 15-19, Yang discloses a cooking vessel 10 comprising: a cooking body 12 defining a cooking chamber (See Fig. 2); a lid 13 removably couplable to the cooking body (See para 0030), the lid having: a lid body extending between an inner surface confronting the cooking chamber, and an outer surface, the lid body having a centerline axis extending between the inner surface and the outer surface (see Fig. 3); and a liquid reservoir 21 provided within the lid body (See Figs. 4-6 and para 0033); and at least one sensor 25 configured to measure at least one of a humidity or a temperature of the cooking chamber; wherein a liquid within the liquid reservoir is selectively supplied to the cooking chamber based on at least one of the measured humidity or temperature of the cooking chamber (See paras 0046-0048). Yang discloses a temperature sensor provided in the cooking pot but is silent with respect to the sensor being provided in the lid as claimed in the instant invention. Zhongshan teaches of an analogous cooking vessel comprising a body 1 and lid 2, wherein the lid is equipped with both a humidity sensor 5 and a temperature sensor 4 which provide feedback to controller 6 (See Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cooking vessel of Yang to include both humidity and temperature sensors on the lid thereof, to ensure more accurate and precise measurements throughout the entire cooking vessel and thereby prevent undesirable cooking conditions by control over energy/power application as taught by Zhongshan. With regard to claim 18, Yang discloses a cooking appliance 10 comprising, a cook surface 14 with a heating zone 16 configured to receive the cooking vessel described above (see Fig. 3 and para 0029).
In regard to claim 2, Yang discloses a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises an actuator 22 configured to selectively supply a liquid within the liquid reservoir to the cooking chamber (See Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 3, Yang discloses a cooking vessel, wherein the actuator is an electrovalve (See paras 0036-0042 and 0046-0049).
In regard to claims 11 and 20, Yang discloses a cooking vessel, further comprising a controller module communicatively coupled to the at least one sensor, the controller module configured to: receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of at least one of the temperature or the humidity of the cooking chamber; and automatically selectively fluidly couple the liquid reservoir to the cooking chamber based on the received signal (See paras 0036-0042 and 0046-0052).
In regard to claims 12-14, Yang discloses a cooking vessel comrping a controller module (See rejections above) but are silent with respect to wherein the controller module is configured to communicate through a wireless communication. Zhongshan teaches of an analogous cooking vessel both a humidity sensor 5 and a temperature sensor 4 which provide feedback to controller 6 (see rejections above) and which provide feedback to a user through wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cooking vessel of Yang to include wireless communications to enable feedback control over the cooking appliance and cooking surfaces thereof as taught by Zhongshan.
GROUND 3: Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0374058 to Blond et al. in view of CN 206381064 to Gu.
In regard to claims 9-10, Blond et al. disclose a cooking vessel, wherein the lid comprises a plurality of outlets 15/115 provided along the inner surface and being fluidly coupled to the liquid reservoir (see Figs. 1-2), but are silent with respect to wherein: a first outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a first cross-sectional area when viewed along a plane perpendicular to the centerline axis and intersecting the first outlet; and a second outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a second cross-sectional area, larger than the first cross-sectional area, when viewed along a plane perpendicular to the centerline axis and intersecting the second outlet and wherein the first outlet is provided radially inward from the second outlet. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the plurality of outlets of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Additionally, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Evidence that arranging the plurality of outlets on a radial pattern is seen in Gu Fig. 13, and is considered to be well known at the time the invention was filed, as the radial dispersing of outlets holes ensures even distribution of steam over the cooking body.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993