DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 05/06/2026 for response of the office actions mailed on 02/06/2026. Independent claim 1 was cancelled previously. Claims 9 and 19 are cancelled currently. Therefore, claims 2-8,10-18 and 20-22 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2-5, 8, 11-15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2013/0301420, corresponding to US Patent No. 9681382 as submitted on 06/01/2026), Zhang hereinafter, in view of Wong et al. (2020/0367166), Wong hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2 and 12, Zhang teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 7-8) comprising: a processor (Fig. 8, Application/Graphics Processor); a first transceiver (Fig. 7, 704); and a second transceiver (Fig. 7, 702), and a method (Fig.2-6 & ¶0033-¶0036) for use by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig.7-8) comprising a first transceiver (Fig. 7, 704) and a second transceiver (Fig. 7, 702), the method comprising: receiving first configuration information comprising configuration information for a first discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) cycle and configuration information for at least one second DRX cycle (Fig. 2 & ¶0033 - FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a long discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in accordance with an example. The concept of DRX was introduced for saving power in 3GPP LTE Release 8. DRX can be used to enable a wireless device, such as a user equipment (UE) in a 3GPP LTE network, to discontinuously monitor a control channel, such as the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communicated from a transmission station such as an enhanced node (eNB or eNodeB). The discontinuous monitoring by using DRX can provide significant power savings at the UE since the receiver at the UE can be turned off for selected periods. Fig. 2 & ¶0036 – The 3GPP LTE transceiver can be operable to monitor the PDCCH discontinuously if the 3GPP LTE transceiver is configured for DRX and is in an RRC_CONNECTED mode. ….The Radio Resource Control (RRC) can be used to control the DRX operation in the 3GPP LTE transceiver by configuring the parameters onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, longDRX-Cycle <i.e., first DRX Cycle>, drxStartOffset and optionally drxShortCycleTimer and shortDRX-Cycle < i.e., second DRX Cycle >. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0039 - a 5 ms short DRX cycle can be used within the 10 ms long DRX cycle. Fig. 4 & ¶0052 - The DRX-Config-r11 (i.e., DRX Configuration 11) is used to define various characteristics of the DRX cycles. The existing DRX-Config-r11 includes ASN.1 code to define the onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimer, longDRX-CycleStartOffset, shortDRX-Cycle (i.e., second DRX Cycle), and the drxShortCycleTimer… The addition of the 2 ms, 5 ms, and 8 ms long DRX cycle < i.e., first DRX Cycle > values can be included in the DRX-Config-r11 by adding the cycle values of sf2, sf5, and sf8 into the ASN.1 code. Fig. 6 & ¶0069 - receiving 610 a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration at the multi-radio device from an enhanced Node B (eNodeB). The multi-radio device can be a user equipment having a plurality of radio transceivers. The method 600 further comprises applying 620 the discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to at least one of the plurality of radio transceivers in the multi-radio device. The DRX can include a long DRX cycle < i.e., first DRX Cycle>for the at least one of the plurality of radio transceivers.) setting a long duty cycle period the first transceiver based on the first DRX cycle and place the first transceiver in a sleep mode (Fig. 2 & ¶0033 - FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a long discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in accordance with an example. The concept of DRX was introduced for saving power in 3GPP LTE Release 8. DRX can be used to enable a wireless device, such as a user equipment (UE) in a 3GPP LTE network, to discontinuously monitor a control channel, such as the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communicated from a transmission station such as an enhanced node (eNB or eNodeB). The discontinuous monitoring by using DRX can provide significant power savings at the UE since the receiver at the UE can be turned off for selected periods. Fig. 2 & ¶0036 - if no data arrives at the eNB during the short DRX cycle, then the 3GPP LTE transceiver can enter the long DRX cycle if the packet activity is finished for the time being); receiving a first message from a first network node, wherein the first message comprises a command to interrupt the long duty cycle period and use a short duty cycle period associated with the at least one second DRX cycle; activating, responsive to the first message, the first transceiver and setting the short duty cycle period for the first transceiver (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0036 - When the short DRX cycle is configured, the short DRX cycle can be considered as a confirmation period for when a packet arrives late, prior to the 3GPP LTE transceiver entering the long DRX cycle. When data arrives at the eNB while the 3GPP LTE transceiver is in the short DRX cycle, the data is scheduled for transmission at the next wake-up time, after which the 3GPP LTE transceiver resumes continuous reception. Also, see snapshot next);
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach receiving a synchronization signal after being activated; and receiving a second message at a paging occasion based on the short duty cycle period.
However, in the analogous art, Wong explicitly discloses receiving a synchronization signal after being activated; and receiving a second message at a paging occasion based on the short duty cycle period. (Fig. 5 & ¶0050 - An example of this is schematically shown in FIG. 5 in which the communications device wakes up at time t0 so that it can synchronise with the wireless telecommunication system in the period between times t0 and t1 so that it is able to monitor/detect MPDCCH during the configured paging occasion between t1 and t2. In this regard, the process of synchronisation might in some cases only require fine adjustments to frequency and/or timing tracking loops based on detection of CRS (cell-specific reference symbols), e.g. when DRX cycles (times between paging occasions) are relatively short).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system to include Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in re-synchronizing with a network device when the low power communications device monitors/detects MPDCCH <PDCCH for MTC, see ¶0047 > during a configured paging occasion, goes back to sleep (low power mode) until the next paging occasion, with optimized radio resources operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0051, Wong)
Re. Claims 3 and 13, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Zhang further teaches wherein the configuration information for the at least one second DRX cycle comprises configuration information for a plurality of second DRX cycles (See Fig. 4, a plurality of short DRX – cycle as defined, see snapshot below), the method further comprising: selecting the second DRX cycle from the plurality of second DRX cycles based on the first message (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0036 - When the short DRX cycle is configured, the short DRX cycle can be considered as a confirmation period for when a packet arrives late, prior to the 3GPP LTE transceiver entering the long DRX cycle. When data arrives at the eNB while the 3GPP LTE transceiver is in the short DRX cycle, the data is scheduled for transmission at the next wake-up time, after which the 3GPP LTE transceiver resumes continuous reception).
Re. Claims 4 and 14, Zhang and Wong teach claims 3 and 13.
Zhang further teaches setting the short duty cycle period for the first transceiver based on the selected second DRX cycle and the first message. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0036 - When the short DRX cycle is configured, the short DRX cycle can be considered as a confirmation period for when a packet arrives late, prior to the 3GPP LTE transceiver entering the long DRX cycle. When data arrives at the eNB while the 3GPP LTE transceiver is in the short DRX cycle, the data is scheduled for transmission at the next wake-up time, after which the 3GPP LTE transceiver resumes continuous reception).
Re. Claims 5 and 15, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach resetting the long duty cycle period for the first transceiver after the first transceiver receives the second message.
However, in the analogous art, Wong explicitly discloses resetting the long duty cycle period for the first transceiver after the first transceiver receives the second message. (Fig. 5 & ¶0050 - An example of this is schematically shown in FIG. 5 in which the communications device wakes up at time t0 so that it can synchronise with the wireless telecommunication system in the period between times t0 and t1 so that it is able to monitor/detect MPDCCH during the configured paging occasion between t1 and t2. In this regard, the process of synchronisation might in some cases only require fine adjustments to frequency and/or timing tracking loops based on detection of CRS (cell-specific reference symbols), e.g. when DRX cycles (times between paging occasions) are relatively short).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system to include Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in re-synchronizing with a network device when the low power communications device monitors/detects MPDCCH <PDCCH for MTC, see ¶0047 > during a configured paging occasion, goes back to sleep (low power mode) until the next paging occasion, with optimized radio resources operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0051, Wong)
Re. Claims 8 and 18, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Zhang further teaches wherein the short duty cycle period is shorter than the long duty cycle period. (Fig. 2 & ¶0036 – The 3GPP LTE transceiver can be operable to monitor the PDCCH discontinuously if the 3GPP LTE transceiver is configured for DRX and is in an RRC_CONNECTED mode. ….The Radio Resource Control (RRC) can be used to control the DRX operation in the 3GPP LTE transceiver by configuring the parameters onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, longDRX-Cycle <i.e., first DRX Cycle>, drxStartOffset and optionally drxShortCycleTimer and shortDRX-Cycle < i.e., second DRX Cycle >. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0039 - a 5 ms short DRX cycle can be used within the 10 ms long DRX cycle.).
Re. Claims 11 and 21, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the second message is a paging message, received during a paging occasion determined according to the short duty cycle period after the first transceiver is activated.
However, in the analogous art, Wong explicitly discloses wherein the second message is a paging message, received during a paging occasion determined according to the short duty cycle period after the first transceiver is activated. (Fig. 5 & ¶0050 - An example of this is schematically shown in FIG. 5 in which the communications device wakes up at time t0 so that it can synchronise with the wireless telecommunication system in the period between times t0 and t1 so that it is able to monitor/detect MPDCCH during the configured paging occasion between t1 and t2. In this regard, the process of synchronisation might in some cases only require fine adjustments to frequency and/or timing tracking loops based on detection of CRS (cell-specific reference symbols), e.g. when DRX cycles (times between paging occasions) are relatively short).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system to include Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in re-synchronizing with a network device when the low power communications device monitors/detects MPDCCH <PDCCH for MTC, see ¶0047 > during a configured paging occasion, goes back to sleep (low power mode) until the next paging occasion, with optimized radio resources operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0051, Wong)
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Wong, further in view of Radulescu et al. (2018/0054780), Radulescu hereinafter.
Re. Claims 6 and 16, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Zhang and Wong do not expressly teach wherein each of a plurality of second DRX cycles are associated with a priority level.
However, in the analogous art, Radulescu explicitly discloses wherein each of a plurality of second DRX cycles are associated with a priority level. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0039 - method, apparatus… instructions for determining that decreasing the DRX cycle may be prioritized over increasing the POW <i.e., paging opportunity window > duration, wherein decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing POW duration, or both, may be based at least in part on the determination. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0122 - Paging opportunity component 1055 may increase the number of paging opportunities includes decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing the POW duration, or both and determine that decreasing the DRX cycle is prioritized over increasing the POW duration, where decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing POW duration, or both, is based on the determination. Also, claims 7, 14 & 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system and Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system to include Radulescu’s invention of a system and a method for energy-efficient paging in an unlicensed or shared spectrum wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in addressing failed listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for a user equipment (UE) operating in the unlicensed or shared spectrum wireless network. (¶0004, Radulescu)
Re. Claims 7 and 17, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Zhang and Wong do not expressly teach wherein parameters of the received first message are based on an associated priority level.
However, in the analogous art, Radulescu explicitly discloses wherein parameters of the received first message are based on an associated priority level. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0039 - method, apparatus… instructions for determining that decreasing the DRX cycle may be prioritized over increasing the POW <i.e., paging opportunity window > duration, wherein decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing POW duration, or both, may be based at least in part on the determination. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0122 - Paging opportunity component 1055 may increase the number of paging opportunities includes decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing the POW duration, or both and determine that decreasing the DRX cycle is prioritized over increasing the POW duration, where decreasing the DRX cycle or increasing POW duration, or both, is based on the determination. Also, claims 7, 14 & 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system and Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system to include Radulescu’s invention of a system and a method for energy-efficient paging in an unlicensed or shared spectrum wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in addressing failed listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for a user equipment (UE) operating in the unlicensed or shared spectrum wireless network. (¶0004, Radulescu)
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Wong, further in view of Kellogg et. al (2018/0375703 as submitted in IDS), Kellogg hereinafter.
Re. Claims 10 and 20, Zhang and Wong teach claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Zhang and Wong do not expressly teach extracting energy from the first message, wherein the first message comprises an energy signature comprising one or more sections of different time duration and different amplitudes with a same energy.
However, in the analogous art, Kellogg explicitly discloses extracting energy from the first message, wherein the first message comprises an energy signature comprising one or more sections of different time duration and different amplitudes with a same energy. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0144 - electronic devices may communicate data to backscatter devices by providing an AM modulated signal in a payload of Wi-Fi packets (e.g. IEEE 802.11g packets)….. A time-domain OFDM symbol created from random modulated bits may be called random OFDM The symbol created when the IFFT is performed over constant modulated bits may be called constant OFDM. While random OFDM symbols have the energy spread across the time samples; with constant OFDM, the energy is in the first time sample and is zero elsewhere. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0154 - The random OFDM signals have energy distributed throughout the symbol while the constant OFDM signals have a significant peak at the front of the symbol.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for reducing coexistence interference in a multi-radio device in a wireless communication system and Wong’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a wake-up-signal in a selected format for use by a low power communications device (e.g., low cost MTC device, ¶0005/¶0006) operating in a wireless communication system to include to Kellogg’s invention of backscatter devices having single sideband operation, because it provides query-reply protocol as such an electronic device communicates Wi-Fi packets having AM (amplitude modulated) signal in querying backscatter devices. (¶0154/¶0159, Kellogg)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/06/2026 with respect to independent claims 2 and 12 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Double patenting rejection have been withdrawn following the submission of TD (Terminal discloser) by the applicant on 06/01/2026.
Regarding arguments in pages 7-9 as submitted on 05/06/2026 for independent claim 2, applicant asserts that Li et al. (2016/0337975 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference), Liu et al. (2019/0342939 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) or Laha et al. (2018/0049156 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) do not teach the amended claim limitations as submitted on 05/06/2026.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous, Zhang et al. (2013/0301420 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, corresponding to US Patent No. 9681382 as submitted on 06/01/2026) and Wong et al. (2020/0367166 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), combined discloses the amended claimed limitation as mentioned in §103 rejection supra.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claim 12.
None of the old references (Li, Liu or Laha) are used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
Also, there exists NO specific allegations towards, Kellogg, hence, moot.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang <2013/0301420 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference >, in view of Wong <2020/0367166 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference >.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 2, and 12, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #63bis; R2-085387; Source: Ericsson; Title: Signaling of DRX Start Offset; Prague, Czech Republic, September 29th – October 3rd 2008; See §2. See snapshot next;
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #89; R1-1708246; Source: SONY; Title: Power consumption evaluation of wake-up signal technique for efeMTC; Hangzhou, China 15th – 19th May 2017; See §2, §4 <Proposal 2>; See snapshot next;
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #75; Tdoc R2-114331; Source: Ericsson, ST-Ericsson; Title: Solutions for IDC interference in LTE + BT voice scenario; Athens, Greece, August 22–26, 2011. See §3. See snapshot next;
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467