DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen (Pub. No.: US 2005/0113754).
Regarding claims 1, 17, 19, Cohan discloses a fluid injector comprising:
an injector housing (18) [see 0011] by disclosing the injector includes a housing, and a drive member at least partially disposed within the housing [see 0011];
at least one port (ledge/holes) defined in the injector housing to receive at least one syringe [see 0050, 0059, 0257, 0276, 0367, 0371] by disclosing at least one tab at a base of the syringe for engagement with a ledge defined in an interface of an injector housing [see 0050];
wherein the syringe is received within at least one pressure jacket [see 0244, 0248, 0251] by disclosing time savings in syringe-filling and syringe-changing operations, can be achieved utilizing a pressure jacket, such as pressure jacket 170 mounted on injector housing front wall 116 [see 0251];
at least one assembly for retaining the at least one pressure jacket on the fluid injector
and retaining the at least one syringe in the at least one port [see 0244] by disclosing Pressure jacket 170 is in the form of an elongated tubular member that is suitably mounted at its rearward end in a mounting assembly 124 on housing front wall 116, by fitting the flange of pressure jacket 170 into the collar on the mounting assembly 124 [see 0244];
the assembly comprising:
a base plate comprising a body (base member 1530/1630) [see fig 40C, 0298-0309, 0407-0412, figs 40A-41C];
at least a first retaining arm (1532/1632/1732) and a second retaining arm (1532/1632) operatively mounted on the body of the base plate [see 0298-0309];
the first retaining arm having two first support arms (two angled rail members 1534, fig 40C) pivotably connected at first pivot points (pivot ends 1751, 0306) to the base plate and the second retaining arm having two second support arms pivotably connected at second pivot points to the base plate (base member 1530) the first retaining arm having a first retaining surface at a distal end of the two first support arms [see fig 40C, 0298] by disclosing each retaining member 1532 preferably defines a contact surface 1533 and a channel 1536 to capture and retain the mounting member 1522 on the syringe 1512 [see 0298] and each of the retaining members 1532 is associated with the base member 1530 by means of two angled rail members 1534 [see 0298] and by disclosing FIGS. 41A-41D in that the retaining members 1732 include pivot ends 1751 located at the ends of the retaining members 1732 [see 0306].
the second retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) having a second retaining surface (contact surfaces 1533) at a distal end of the two second support arms [see 0300];
wherein the first retaining surface and the second retaining surface (contact surfaces 1533) are configured for abutting a distal surface of at least one of the pressure jacket and syringe [see 0300, 0303-0305, 0418];
a linkage assembly (rail members 1538) operatively connected to at least one of a proximal end of the first retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) and a proximal end of the second retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) [see 0299-0303, figs 40-41C] by disclosing retaining members 1532 are preferably associated with one another by means of two rail members 1538 and one, three or more rail members 1538 may be used to associate the retaining members 1532 with one another [see 0299];
wherein the linkage assembly (rail members 1538) is configured to move at least one of the first retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) and the second retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) between at least a first open position (as shown in figs 41C) and a closed position (as shown in fig 40B) [see 0300-0304] by disclosing the rail members 1534 operate to cause the retaining members 1532 to move toward each other along the rail members 1538 and to "collapse" around the rear end 1520 of the syringe 1512 [see 0300];
wherein each of the first retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) and the second retaining arm (retaining member 1532/1632) comprises at least one base member (1530) operatively connected to the body of the base plate and at least one retaining portion provided on a distal end of the at least one base member to engage at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe when in the closed position [see 0298-0300, fig 40B, 41]
Regarding claim 2, Cohan discloses wherein the linkage assembly (rail assembly) operatively connects the first retaining arm to the second retaining arm such that the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm are configured to move in unison between at least the first open position and the
closed position [see 0298-0300, figs 40A, 40C, 41C] by disclosing the rail members 1534 operate to cause the retaining members 1532 to move toward each other along the rail members 1538 and to "collapse" around the rear end 1520 of the syringe 1512 [see 0300].
As disclosed herein, the rail assembly moves both retaining members to each other which implies that they are moving simultaneously (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3, Cohan discloses wherein the linkage assembly comprises at least one biasing member configured for biasing (spring member, see 0303) the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm to move in unison between at least the first open position and the closed position [see 0298-0300, figs 40A, 40C, 41C] by disclosing the rail members 1534 operate to cause the retaining members 1532 to move toward each other along the rail members 1538 and to "collapse" around the rear end 1520 of the syringe 1512 [see 0300].
As disclosed herein, the rail assembly moves both retaining members to each other which implies that they are moving simultaneously (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, Cohan discloses wherein the first retaining arm and the second retaining
arm pivot (via pivot 1651 as shown in fig 41D) between at least the first open position and the closed position about the first pivot point and the second pivot point, respectively [see 0303] by disclosing FIGS. 41A-41D in that the retaining members 1732 include pivot ends 1751 located at the ends of the retaining members 1732 [see 0306].
Regarding claims 5, 18, 20, Cohan discloses, wherein, in the first open position, the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm (1632/1532/1732) and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm (1632/1532/1732) are separated from one another at a first distance (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G) configured to permit insertion and engagement of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe with the fluid injector [see fig 42B, 43C-43G] or removal of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe from the fluid injector [see 0369],
wherein the first distance is greater than an outer diameter of the pressure jacket [see fig 42B, 43C-43G]
wherein, in the closed position, the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm (1632/1532/1732) and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm (1632/1532/1732) are separated from one another at a second distance configured to retain the pressure jacket and the syringe between the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm [see fig 41B];
wherein the second distance is less (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G, 41B) than an outer diameter of the syringe, and wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G) [see 0298-0306].
Regarding claim 6, Cohan discloses wherein the first retaining arm and the second retaining
arm are further configured to move to a second open position between the first open position
and the closed position [see 0298-0300, figs 40A, 40C, 41C] by disclosing the rail members 1534 operate to cause the retaining members 1532 to move toward each other along the rail members 1538 and to "collapse" around the rear end 1520 of the syringe 1512 [see 0300].
The pins 1629, riding in slots 1635 defined in the base member 1630, direct and control the arcuate motion of the retaining members 1632 into engagement around the syringe 1512. As the retaining members 1632 collapse on the syringe 1512, the retaining members 1632 cooperate to capture the mounting member 1522 within the channels 1636 to securely engage the syringe 1512 with the syringe interface 1614 [see 0304]
Regarding claim 7, Cohan discloses wherein in the first open position, the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm are separated from one another at a first distance configured to permit insertion and engagement of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe with the fluid injector or removal of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe from the fluid injector, (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G);
wherein the first distance is greater than an outer diameter of the pressure jacket, (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G);
wherein, in the closed position, the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm are separated from one another at a second distance to retain the pressure jacket and the syringe between the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm, wherein the second distance is less than an outer diameter of the syringe, (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G);
wherein, in the second open position, the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm are separated from one another at a third distance to retain the pressure jacket in the fluid injector and allow removal of the syringe from the fluid injector, (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G);
wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and wherein the third distance is less than the first distance and greater than the second distance (as shown in figs 40A, 42B, 43C-43G) [see 0298-0306].
Cohan discloses the pins 1629, riding in slots 1635 defined in the base member 1630, direct and control the arcuate motion of the retaining members 1632 into engagement around the syringe 1512. As the retaining members 1632 collapse on the syringe 1512, the retaining members 1632 cooperate to capture the mounting member 1522 within the channels 1636 to securely engage the syringe 1512 with the syringe interface 1614 [see 0304].
Regarding claim 8, Cohan discloses wherein the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm each include at least one inner protrusion to engage a distal end of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe [see 0299] by disclosing each retaining member 1532 preferably defines a contact surface 1533 and a channel 1536 to capture and retain the mounting member 1522 on the syringe 1512 [see 0299].
Regarding claim 9, Cohan discloses wherein the at least one inner protrusion is a syringe retaining protrusion extending at an angle relative to a longitudinal axis of the syringe configured to interact with a corresponding angled surface of a circumferential wall on a distal end of the syringe to urge the distal ends of the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm with an inward retaining force [see 0316, 0318]
Regarding claim 10, Cohan discloses wherein at least one of the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm includes at least one finger tab (pins 1629) configured to assist in moving the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm between the closed position and the first open position [see 0304]
Cohan discloses the pins 1629, riding in slots 1635 defined in the base member 1630, direct and control the arcuate motion of the retaining members 1632 into engagement around the syringe 1512. As the retaining members 1632 collapse on the syringe 1512, the retaining members 1632 cooperate to capture the mounting member 1522 within the channels 1636 to securely engage the syringe 1512 with the syringe interface 1614 [see 0304].
Regarding claim 11, Cohan discloses wherein each of the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm includes at least one finger tab (pins 1629) configured to assist in moving the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm between the closed position and the first open position [see 0304].
Regarding claim 12, Cohan discloses wherein the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm each define a retaining groove (ledge/ridge) to receive at least a portion of the distal end of the pressure jacket [see 0244-0245, 0260].
Regarding claim 13, Cohan discloses wherein the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm have a curvature (arcuate) relative to a longitudinal axis of the syringe corresponding to a distal end of at least one of the pressure jacket and the syringe [see figs 40A-4G, 0304, 0307].
Regarding claim 14, Cohan discloses an electromechanical motor provided in the injector housing to move the first retaining arm and the second retaining arm between the open position and the closed position [see abstract, 0011, 0029, 0380].
Regarding claim 15, Cohan discloses wherein the syringe comprises a drip flange provided on a distal end of the syringe [see 0013-0014, 0357],
wherein the first retaining surface of the first retaining arm and the second retaining surface of the second retaining arm are configured to engage the drip flange of the syringe to retain the syringe in the at least one port of the injector housing [see 0014, 0269, 0357] by disclosing The at least one tab or flange is adapted to engage a wall portion on an injector, or a syringe interface or an adapter connected to the injector, when the syringe engages with the injector. The at least one tab or flange provides for engagement of the syringe to and release of the syringe from the injector [see 0014].
Regarding claim 16, Cohan discloses wherein the fluid injector further comprises a second port
defined in the injector housing to receive a second syringe [see 0032, 0329]
wherein the second syringe is received within a second pressure jacket [see 0004]
at least one second assembly for retaining the second pressure jacket on the fluid injector and retaining the second syringe in the second port [see 0003, 0032, 0035, 0217].
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797