DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14 – 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2024/0236351, hereafter Chen) in view of Kwon et al (US 2014/0301465, hereafter Kwon).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method of decoding video data, the method comprising:
determining an initial block vector predictor (BVP) for a current block of video data (¶ 124);
determining a set of valid block vector difference (BVD) values using a template size for the current block of video data (¶ 149), the valid BVD values being BVD values that, when added to the BVP, refer to a region of a picture that is entirely within a search area of the picture for the current block, the region including a reference block and a template for the reference block, the template having the template size and being used to perform template matching decoder-side block vector derivation for the current block (¶ 124, 130, 160);
selecting one of the valid BVD values as a final BVD for the current block (¶ 124);
adding the final BVD to the BVP for the current block to form a block vector (BV) for the current block (¶ 124 and 125);
generating a prediction block for the current block using the BV; and decoding the current block using the prediction block (¶ 120 - 124).
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein determining the set of valid BVD values includes: determining that at least one BVD value, when added to the BVP, refers to a region of the picture that is at least partially outside of the search area of the picture for the current block: and in response to the at least one BVD value, when added to the BVP, refers to the region of the picture that is at least partially outside of the search area of the picture for the current block, omitting the at least one BVD value from the set of valid BVD values as an invalid BVD value.
In the same field of endeavor, Kwon teaches wherein determining the set of valid BVD values includes: determining that at least one BVD value, when added to the BVP, refers to a region of the picture that is at least partially outside of the search area of the picture for the current block: and in response to the at least one BVD value, when added to the BVP, refers to the region of the picture that is at least partially outside of the search area of the picture for the current block, omitting the at least one BVD value from the set of valid BVD values as an invalid BVD value (¶ 81; On the decoder side, if a decoded block vector falls outside of the specified search area, the bit stream is not regarded as a valid bit stream.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Kwon. The advantage is improving video coding.
As per claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the template comprises a first template and the template size comprises a first template size along a first dimension of the template, and wherein the region of the picture includes the reference block, the first template, and a second template having a second template size along a second dimension of the template, the second dimension being orthogonal to the first dimension (¶ 106 - 110).
As per claim 14, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising encoding the current block prior to decoding the current block (¶ 106 - 110).
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 16.
As per claim 19, Chen discloses the device of claim 15, further comprising a display configured to display the decoded video data (¶ 36).
As per claim 20, Chen discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the device comprises one or more of a camera, a computer, a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device, or a set-top box (¶ 36).
Claim(s) 3 - 6, 7, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Deng et al (US 2025/0106387, hereafter Deng).
As per claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first template size comprises a height of the template and the second template size comprises a width of the template.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the first template size comprises a height of the template and the second template size comprises a width of the template (¶ 510, 513, and 689).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 4, Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first template is above the reference block and the second template is to the left of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the first template size comprises a height of the template and the second template size comprises a width of the template (¶ 510, 513, and 689).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first template is below the reference block and the second template is to the right of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the first template is below the reference block and the second template is to the right of the reference block (Figure 14B and 14E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 6, Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first template is above the reference block and the second template is to the right of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the first template is above the reference block and the second template is to the right of the reference block (Figure 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 7, Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first template is below the reference block and the second template is to the left of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the first template is below the reference block and the second template is to the left of the reference block (Figure 14G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 8, Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the template is above the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the template is above the reference block (Figure 14A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the template is to the left of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the template is to the left of the reference block (Figure 14F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 10, Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the template is below the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the template is below the reference block (Figure 14E and 14G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
As per claim 11, Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the template is to the right of the reference block.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the template is to the right of the reference block (Figure 14B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Deng. The advantage is improved video coding efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12, 13, 17, and 18 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487