DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the 3D Porous Silicon Anode Electrode for Fast-Charging Lithium-Ion Battery Cells filed February 29, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “a direction transvers to the first diameter” on line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Amending “a direction transvers to the first diameter” to “a direction transverse to the first diameter” would overcome the objection.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “a direction transvers to the first diameter” on line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Amending “a direction transvers to the first diameter” to “a direction transverse to the first diameter” would overcome the objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 14 recite “a first diameter of a wire of the wire mesh…a second diameter of the wire of the wire mesh in a direction transvers to the first diameter”.
It is unclear how a wire of the wire mesh can have a first diameter and at the same time “the wire” also has a second diameter in a direction transverse to the first diameter.
The specification teaches a first diameter of a first set of wires 115 and a second diameter of a second set of wires 117 a direction transverse to the first diameter (see Fig. 4A and [0042]) but does not teach a wire having both a first diameter and a second diameter in a transverse direction.
Amending “a second diameter of the wire of the wire mesh in a direction transvers to the first diameter” to “a second diameter of a wire of the wire mesh in a direction transvers to the first diameter” would overcome the rejections.
Claims 8 and 18 recite, “wherein the cathode active material layer includes cathode active material selected from a group consisting of a layered oxide (e.g., LiMe2O), an olivine type oxide (LiMePO4), a monoclinic type oxide (LiMe2(PO4)3), a spinel type oxide (e.g., LiMe2O4), a tavorite represented by LiMeSO4F or LiMePO4F, where Me comprises a transition metal”.
It is unclear if the narrowing limitations within the parentheses “e.g., LiMe2O”, “LiMePO4”, “LiMe2(PO4)3”, and “e.g., LiMe2O4” are merely examples or required limitations in the claims. See MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0025646 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Ota et al. discloses a battery cell comprising:
A anode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, A anode electrodes 110), wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes:
a porous anode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a porous anode current collector 150; see [0136] teaching anode current collector can be mesh of metal wires which is cited to necessarily include a porous current collector structure); and
an active material layer comprising silicon deposited using physical vapor deposition (PVD) onto the porous anode current collector (see [0061] teaching “anode material 111 disposed on an anode currently collector 150”; see [0069] teaching anode material 111 can be “silicon”; as the generally recited “deposited using physical vapor deposition (PVD)” does not definitely impart a specific structure, the cited active material layer 111 is cited to read on the claimed structural requirements of the product-by-process limitation “deposited using physical vapor deposition (PVD)” because it includes a structure of an active material layer 111 deposited onto the cited porous anode current collector 150);
C cathode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, C cathode electrodes 120) including
a cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode current collector 160) and
a cathode active material layer arranged on the cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode active material layer 121 arranged on the cited cathode current collector 160); and
S separators (as depicted in Fig. 1A, S separators 130), where
A, C and S are integers greater than one (see, for example, Fig. 15 depicting multiple unit cells which corresponds to A, C, and S being greater than one).
With regard to claim 2, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the porous anode current collector is selected from a group consisting of a wire mesh current collector, a through-hole current collector, and a metal foam current collector (see [0136] teaching cited porous anode current collector can be mesh of metal wires).
With regard to claim 3, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the porous anode current collector is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, stainless steel (SS), nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), and alloys thereof (see [0062] teaching copper, stainless steel, nickel, or alloys thereof).
With regard to claim 4, Ota et al. discloses wherein:
the porous anode current collector comprises a wire mesh (see [0136] teaching cited porous anode current collector can be mesh of metal wires); and
a first diameter of a wire of the wire mesh is in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm (see [0068] teaching cited porous anode current collector being 1 to 20 µm which would necessarily provide for a wire of the cited wire mesh having a first diameter in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm), and
a second diameter of the wire of the wire mesh in a direction transvers to the first diameter is in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm (see [0068] teaching cited porous anode current collector being 1 to 20 µm which would necessarily provide a transverse wire of the cited wire mesh having a second diameter in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm).
With regard to claim 8, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the cathode active material layer includes cathode active material selected from a group consisting of a layered oxide (e.g., LiMe2O), an olivine type oxide (LiMePO4), a monoclinic type oxide (LiMe2(PO4)3), a spinel type oxide (e.g., LiMe2O4), a tavorite represented by LiMeSO4F or LiMePO4F, where Me comprises a transition metal (see [0075-0077]).
With regard to claim 11, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the S separators are selected from a group consisting of a polyolefin-based separator, a cellulose separator, a ceramic-coated separator, and a high temperature stable separator (see [0095] teaching “polyolefins material”).
With regard to claim 12, Ota et al. discloses a battery cell comprising:
A anode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, A anode electrodes 110), wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes:
a wire mesh (as depicted in Fig. 1A, each of the A anode electrodes 110 includes a wire mesh 150; see [0136] teaching anode current collector can be mesh of metal wires); and
an active material layer comprising silicon sputtered onto the wire mesh (see [0061] teaching “anode material 111 disposed on an anode currently collector 150”; see [0069] teaching anode material 111 can be “silicon”; as the generally recited “sputtered” does not definitely impart a specific structure, the cited active material layer 111 is cited to read on the claimed structural requirements of the product-by-process limitation “sputtered” because it includes a structure of an active material layer 111 deposited onto the cited wire mesh 150);
C cathode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, C cathode electrodes 120) including
a cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode current collector 160) and
a cathode active material layer arranged on the cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode active material layer 121 arranged on the cited cathode current collector 160); and
S separators (as depicted in Fig. 1A, S separators 130), where
A, C and S are integers greater than one (see, for example, Fig. 15 depicting multiple unit cells which corresponds to A, C, and S being greater than one).
With regard to claim 13, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the wire mesh is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, stainless steel (SS), nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), and alloys thereof (see [0062] teaching copper, stainless steel, nickel, or alloys thereof).
With regard to claim 14, Ota et al. discloses wherein:
a first diameter of a wire of the wire mesh is in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm (see [0068] teaching cited porous anode current collector being 1 to 20 µm which would necessarily provide for a wire of the cited wire mesh having a first diameter in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm), and
a second diameter of the wire of the wire mesh in a direction transvers to the first diameter is in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm (see [0068] teaching cited porous anode current collector being 1 to 20 µm which would necessarily provide a transverse wire of the cited wire mesh having a second diameter in a range from 0.5 μm to 50 μm).
With regard to claim 20, Ota et al. discloses wherein
the S separators are selected from a group consisting of a polyolefin-based separator, a cellulose separator, a ceramic-coated separator, and a high temperature stable separator (see [0095] teaching “polyolefins material”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0025646 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 108075105 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed November 15, 2024).
With regard to claims 5-7, Ota et al. discloses a battery cell comprising:
A anode electrodes comprising silicon (as depicted in Fig. 1A, A anode electrodes 110; see [0079] teaching cited anode electrode including “silicon”),
C cathode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, C cathode electrodes 120) including
a cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode current collector 160) and
a cathode active material layer arranged on the cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode active material layer 121 arranged on the cited cathode current collector 160); and
S separators (as depicted in Fig. 1A, S separators 130), where
A, C and S are integers greater than one (see, for example, Fig. 15 depicting multiple unit cells which corresponds to A, C, and S being greater than one).
Ota et al. does not disclose wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes the claimed thickness, pore size, and porosity.
However, Liu et al. discloses a battery cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches
an anode electrode (see [0009] teaching “silicon-based anode for lithium-ion batteries”), wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes:
a porous anode current collector (see [0011-0012] teaching porous metals such as in the form of “metal mesh”); and
an active material layer comprising silicon deposited using physical vapor deposition (PVD) onto the porous anode current collector (see [0010] teaching “physical vapor deposition of a silicon-metal alloy”), wherein
the active material layer has a thickness in a range from 0.001 μm to 30 μm. (see [0010] teaching “physical vapor deposition of a silicon-metal alloy with a thickness of 200 nm to 4 μm”), wherein
a pore size of the porous anode current collector is in a range from 0.2 μm to 80 μm (see [0011] teaching “a pore size of 1 μm to 200 μm”), wherein
a porosity of the porous anode current collector is in a range from 30% to 99% (see [0011] teaching “a porosity of 20% to 95%”).
Liu et al. teaches the anode electrode design solves the problem of suffering from large volume changes leading to internal damage of the active material and separation from the current collector (see [0007]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the material of the anode electrode in the battery cell of Liu et al. for the material of the anode electrode in the battery cell of Ota et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose, in the instant case a material for an anode electrode in a battery cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07) and because it would have solved the problem of suffering from large volume changes leading to internal damage of the active material and separation from the current collector.
With regard to claims 15-17, Ota et al. discloses a battery cell comprising:
A anode electrodes comprising silicon (as depicted in Fig. 1A, A anode electrodes 110; see [0079] teaching cited anode electrode including “silicon”);
C cathode electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 1A, C cathode electrodes 120) including
a cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode current collector 160) and
a cathode active material layer arranged on the cathode current collector (as depicted in Fig. 1A, a cathode active material layer 121 arranged on the cited cathode current collector 160); and
S separators (as depicted in Fig. 1A, S separators 130), where
A, C and S are integers greater than one (see, for example, Fig. 15 depicting multiple unit cells which corresponds to A, C, and S being greater than one).
Ota et al. does not disclose wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes the claimed thickness, pore size, and porosity.
However, Liu et al. discloses a battery cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches
an anode electrode (see [0009] teaching “silicon-based anode for lithium-ion batteries”), wherein each of the A anode electrodes includes:
a wire mesh (see [0011-0012] teaching “metal mesh”); and
an active material layer comprising silicon sputtered onto the wire mesh (see [0010] teaching “physical vapor deposition of a silicon-metal alloy”; see [0021] teaching “magnetron sputtering”), wherein
the active material layer has a thickness in a range from 0.001 μm to 30 μm. (see [0010] teaching “physical vapor deposition of a silicon-metal alloy with a thickness of 200 nm to 4 μm”), wherein
a pore size of the wire mesh is in a range from 0.2 μm to 80 μm (see [0011] teaching “a pore size of 1 μm to 200 μm”), wherein
a porosity of the wire mesh is in a range from 30% to 99% (see [0011] teaching “a porosity of 20% to 95%”).
Liu et al. teaches the anode electrode material solves the problem of suffering from large volume changes leading to internal damage of the active material and separation from the current collector (see [0007]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the material of the anode electrode in the battery cell of Liu et al. for the material of the anode electrode in the battery cell of Ota et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose, in the instant case a material for an anode electrode in a battery cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07) and because it would have solved the problem of suffering from large volume changes leading to internal damage of the active material and separation from the current collector.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0025646 A1) in view of Shiotani (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0132377 A1).
With regard to claims 9 and 10, independent claim 1 is anticipated by Ota et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above.
Ota et al. does not disclose wherein the cathode active material layer includes cathode active material in a range from 30 wt% to 98 wt%, a solid electrolyte in a range from 1 wt% to 50wt%, a conductive additive in a range from 1 wt% to 30 wt%, and a binder in a range from 1 wt% to 20 wt%.
However, Shiotani discloses a battery cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches
a cathode active material layer (110, Fig. 1) includes
cathode active material in a range from 30 wt% to 98 wt% (see [0040] teaching “the content of the positive electrode active material may be 40% by mass or more”),
an oxide-based solid electrolyte in a range from 1 wt% to 50wt% (see [0049] teaching “oxide solid-state electrolyte”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the solid electrolyte…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of solid electrolyte in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance),
a conductive additive in a range from 1 wt% to 30 wt% (see [0040] teaching “conductive auxiliary agent”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the conductive auxiliary agent…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of conductive auxiliary agent in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance), and
a binder in a range from 1 wt% to 20 wt% (see [0040] teaching “binder”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the binder…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of binder in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the material of the cathode active material layer of Shiotani for the material of the cathode active material layer of Ota et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case a material of a cathode active material layer in a battery cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07).
With regard to claims 18 and 19, independent claim 12 is anticipated by Ota et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above.
Ota et al. does not disclose wherein the cathode active material layer includes cathode active material in a range from 30 wt% to 98 wt%, a solid electrolyte in a range from 1 wt% to 50wt%, a conductive additive in a range from 1 wt% to 30 wt%, and a binder in a range from 1 wt% to 20 wt%.
However, Shiotani discloses a battery cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches
a cathode active material layer (110, Fig. 1) includes
cathode active material in a range from 30 wt% to 98 wt% (see [0040] teaching “the content of the positive electrode active material may be 40% by mass or more”),
an oxide-based solid electrolyte in a range from 1 wt% to 50wt% (see [0049] teaching “oxide solid-state electrolyte”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the solid electrolyte…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of solid electrolyte in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance),
a conductive additive in a range from 1 wt% to 30 wt% (see [0040] teaching “conductive auxiliary agent”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the conductive auxiliary agent…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of conductive auxiliary agent in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance), and
a binder in a range from 1 wt% to 20 wt% (see [0040] teaching “binder”; see [0040] teaching “The content of…the binder…in the positive electrode active material layer may be appropriately determined in accordance with the desired battery performance; at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of binder in the cathode active material layer and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, especially since it would have led to optimizing the desired battery performance), and the cathode active material layer includes
cathode active material selected from a group consisting of a layered oxide (e.g., LiMe2O), an olivine type oxide (LiMePO4), a monoclinic type oxide (LiMe2(PO4)3), a spinel type oxide (e.g., LiMe2O4), a tavorite represented by LiMeSO4F or LiMePO4F, where Me comprises a transition metal (see [0042]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the material of the cathode active material layer of Shiotani for the material of the cathode active material layer of Ota et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case a material of a cathode active material layer in a battery cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (CN 1026836556 A) teaching magnetic control sputtering silicon-metal film on porous current collector (see Abstract).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 June 22, 2026