Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al (US Pub No. 2021/0132657 A1 and Chan hereinafter) in view of Jordan et al (US Pub No. 7283353 B1 and Jordan hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Chan discloses (figs. 1-5) an attachable display device, comprising: a mount (104) configured to be removably attached to a portable electronic device (102) comprising a main display (fig.4), a hinge (418) operatively attached to the mount, a display screen attached to the mount via the hinge (fig.4), wherein the mount comprises a first portion of a pogo pin connector (108) coupled to a front of the mount and a control board (HUB) disposed therein, and wherein the portable electronic device comprises a second portion (106) of the pogo pin connector coupled to a rear of the main display and configured to receive the first portion of the pogo pin connector, wherein signals are communicated from the portable electronic device to the control board via the pogo pin connector in response to engagement of the first portion with the second portion the control board comprising an electrical connector configured to supply power to and communicate with the display screen, wherein the electrical connector operatively connects the control board to the display screen ([0022]-[0024]).
Chan does not explicitly disclose wherein the display screen is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mount. However, Jordan teaches (figs. 1-7) wherein the display screen (2) is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mount (figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the open/close position of the display of Jordon to device of Chan in order to provide a new and improved system for extending the data representation capability of a main output panel, which provides novel utility and flexibility through the use of a unique modular design which allows one or more extension panels to be removably attached to the main output panel (Jordon and Col 2, lines 5-10)
Regarding claim 4, Chan/Jordon discloses the attachable display device of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the mount comprises a recess (not shown, recess to hold magnets 550-3 and 550-4) having a magnet (550-3) embedded therein and the recess is configured for receiving an attachment mechanism on the portable electronic device.
Claims 7-8, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al in view of Hudgins et al (US Pub No. 2021/0405702 A1 and Hudgins hereinafter)
Regarding claim 7, Chan discloses (figs. 1-5) an attachable display device, comprising: a mount (104) configured to be removably attached to a rear of a portable electronic device (102) comprising a main display, and wherein the mount comprises a first portion of a pogo pin connector (108) coupled to a front of the mount and a control board (HUB) disposed therein, the control board comprising an electrical connector (cable and [0024]) configured to supply power to and communicate with the display screen, wherein the electrical connector operatively connects the control board to the display screen and is fed through the interior portion of the cover, and wherein the portable electronic device comprises a second portion of the pogo pin connector (106) coupled to a rear of the main display and configured to receive the first portion of the pogo pin connector, wherein signals are communicated from the portable electronic device to the control board via the pogo pin connector in response to engagement of the first portion with the second portion ([0022]-[0024]). Chan does not explicitly disclose a torque hinge operatively attached to the mount, the torque hinge comprising a cover having an interior portion, a display screen attached to the mount via the pivot point of the torque hinge, wherein the display screen is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mounting frame, and the display screen is configured to vertically rotate relative to the mount to allow the display screen to be placed in a tilted configuration. However, Hudgins teaches (figs. 1-18B) a torque hinge (42) operatively attached to the mount, the torque hinge comprising a cover (34 and 36) having an interior portion, a display screen (12) attached to the mount via the pivot point of the torque hinge, wherein the display screen is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mounting frame (figs. 8-9), and the display screen is configured to vertically rotate relative to the mount to allow the display screen to be placed in a tilted configuration (fig.11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the open/close position of the display of Hudgins to device of Chan in order to provides users increased functionality and usability while still retaining the portability of the electronic device. (Hudgins and [0043])
Regarding claim 8, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 7. Hudgins discloses wherein the display screen is configured to vertically rotate 360 degrees about the pivot point ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display screen to vertically rotate 360 degrees of Hudgins to device of Chan in order to provides users increased functionality and usability while still retaining the portability of the electronic device. (Hudgins and [0043])
Regarding claim 11, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 7. Chan further discloses wherein the electrical connector comprises a first end operatively connected to the control board and a second end operatively connected to an electrical panel disposed in the display screen [0015].
Regarding claim 13, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 7. Chan further discloses wherein the mount comprises a recess (not shown, recess to hold magnets 550-3 and 550-4) having a magnet (550-3) embedded therein and the recess is configured for receiving an attachment mechanism on the portable electronic device.
Regarding claim 14, Chan discloses (figs. 1-5) an attachable display device, comprising: a mount (104) configured to be removably attached to a rear of a portable electronic device (102) comprising a main display, wherein the mount comprises a first portion of a pogo pin connector (108) coupled thereto to a front of the mount and a control board (HUB) disposed therein, the control board configured to receive signals sent from the portable electronic device, and the display screen is configured to vertically rotate 360 degrees about the pivot point relative to the mount to allow the display screen to be placed in a tilted configuration (fig.11), and wherein the portable electronic device comprises a second portion of the pogo pin connector (106) coupled to a rear of the main display and thereto configured to receive the first portion of the pogo pin connector, wherein the signals are communicated from the portable electronic device to the control board via the pogo pin connector in response to engagement of the first portion with the second portion ([0022]-[0024]). Chan does not explicitly disclose a torque hinge operatively attached to the mount, the torque hinge comprising a pivot point, a display screen attached to the mount via the pivot point of the torque hinge, wherein the display screen is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mount mounting frame. However, Hudgins teaches (figs. 1-18B) a torque hinge (42) operatively attached to the mount, the torque hinge comprising a pivot point, a display screen (12) attached to the mount via the pivot point of the torque hinge, wherein the display screen is operable to selectively transition between a closed position in which the display screen is positioned behind the mount and an open position in which the display screen extends outwardly of the mount to be exposed from one side of the mount mounting frame (figs. 8-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the open/close position of the display of Hudgins to device of Chan in order to provides users increased functionality and usability while still retaining the portability of the electronic device (Hudgins and [0043])
Regarding claim 15, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 14. Chan further discloses wherein the mount comprises a recess (not shown, recess to hold magnets 550-3 and 550-4) having a magnet (550-3) embedded therein and the recess is configured for receiving an attachment mechanism on the portable electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 15. Chan further discloses wherein the attachment mechanism on the portable electronic device is configured to magnetically couple to the recess.
Regarding claim 17, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 14. Chan further discloses wherein the signals sent from the portable electronic device are high-speed signals ([0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 14. Chan further discloses wherein the portable electronic device is a laptop ([0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 14. Hudgins discloses (figs. 1-18B) a kickstand (39) rotatably attached to the mount. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the kickstand of Hudgins to device of Chan in order to provide support when the attachable display device is in an extended position (Hudgins and [0079])
Regarding claim 20, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 19. Hudgins discloses (figs. 1-18B) wherein the kickstand is integrally formed with the mount. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the kickstand of Hudgins to device of Chan in order to provide support when the attachable display device is in an extended position (Hudgins and [0079])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al in view of Hudgins et al and further in view of Jordan et al
Regarding claim 12, Chan/ Hudgins discloses the attachable display device of claim 11 but fails to disclose wherein the electrical connector is fed through a space under the torque hinge and above a bottom portion of the cover. However, Jordan teaches (fig.1-3) wherein the electrical connector (5) is fed through a space under the torque hinge (9) and above a bottom portion of the cover (11). t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine t the electrical connector under the torque hinge of Jordan to device of Chan/ Hudgins in order to protect the connector under the surface of the sleeve (Jordan and col 3, lines 35-40)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 7-8 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The abstract objections have been withdrawn due to the amendments to the specification filed on 12/05/2025
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841