DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, species A, claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 14-15, in the reply filed on 2/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II and/or species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/5/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2024 and 7/21/2025 were received and placed in the record on file. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Control unit configured to…” in claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 14.
“Control unit configured to…” corresponding structure is described in the specification in paragraph [0028], and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (WO 2024/163742 A2).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11, 14 and 15; Chen discloses a laryngeal elevation measurement device comprising:
a first displacement sensor (middle strain sensor, element 110) configured to be attached to a neck of a test subject (held on neck via garment or band elements 130 and 140, respectively; page 13, line 17 – page 19, line 19; figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3, 5A-5B, 6)
a second displacement sensor (upper strain sensor, element 110) configured to be attached to a site that is part of the neck of the test subject and that is located at a predetermined distance from the first displacement sensor (wherein strain sensor element 110 are a woven into the fabric of the garment/band elements 130/140 at a distance that doesn’t change and is thus predetermined; page 13, line 17 – page 19, line 19, page 26, line 30 – page 27, line 17; figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3, 5A-5B, 6); and
a control unit (MCU and computers; figure 5A-5B; page 30, line 29 – page 31, line 11) configured to:
acquire a displacement amount of the first displacement sensor and a displacement amount of the second displacement sensor (wherein measured strain of strain sensor elements 110 represent a displacement of the sensor via movement of the laryngeal prominence; page 13, line 17 – page 19, line 19, page 26, line 30 – page 27, line 17; figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3, 5A-5B, 6),
estimate positional changes of a laryngeal prominence of the test subject based on changes over time in the displacement amount of each of the first and second displacement sensors and the predetermined distance (wherein sensor elements 110 sense and determine positional changes of the laryngeal prominence; page 90, line 23 – page 95, line 11), and
output a result based on the estimated positional changes (provides graphical data representative of positional changes to a serial monitor and on serial plotter; page 90, line 23 – page 95, line 11; figures 9, 11A-L, 19-25).
Further regarding claims 2, 5 and 6; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to output the result concerning a first period including a point in time when the displacement amount of the first displacement sensor reaches or exceeds a first threshold value (wherein the control unit determines swallowing events using a trained machine learning classifier which utilizes various features from the signals measured by the sensors, and the examiner notes that the time domain features (i.e. amplitude of specific sensors at different times) used as one of the inputs into the machine learning classifier during training of the classifier inherently creates predetermined thresholds for displacement that must be met in order to be classified as a swallow; page 90, line 23 – page 108, line 20, specifically page 99, line 10 – page 106, line 8).
Further regarding claim 5; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to: output the result concerning the first period when the displacement amount of the second displacement sensor at a specific time point is greater than or equal to a second threshold value that is smaller than the first threshold value, and not output the result when the displacement amount of the second displacement sensor at the specific time point is smaller than the second threshold value, wherein the specific time point is the point in time when the displacement amount of the first displacement sensor reaches or exceeds the first threshold value (wherein the control unit determines swallowing events using a trained machine learning classifier which utilizes various features from the signals measured by the sensors, and the examiner notes that the time domain features (i.e. amplitude of specific sensors at different times) used as one of the inputs into the machine learning classifier during training of the classifier inherently creates predetermined maximum and minimum thresholds for displacement of the first and second sensors that must be met in order to be classified as a swallow to output as a swallowing event; page 90, line 23 – page 108, line 20, specifically page 99, line 10 – page 106, line 8).
Further regarding claim 6; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to: start estimating the positional changes of the laryngeal prominence when the displacement amount of the first displacement sensor and the displacement amount of the second displacement sensor are each greater than or equal to a fourth threshold value that is smaller than the first threshold value, and not start estimating the positional changes of the laryngeal prominence when the displacement amount of at least one of the first displacement sensor and the second displacement sensor is smaller than the fourth threshold value (wherein the control unit determines swallowing events using a trained machine learning classifier which utilizes various features from the signals measured by the sensors, and the examiner notes that the time domain features (i.e. amplitude of specific sensors at different times) used as one of the inputs into the machine learning classifier during training of the classifier inherently creates predetermined maximum and minimum thresholds for displacement of the first and second sensors that must be met in order to be classified as a swallow to output as a swallowing event; page 90, line 23 – page 108, line 20, specifically page 99, line 10 – page 106, line 8).
Further regarding claims 8-11; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to output the result in a form of a two-dimensional image that is based on a Cartesian coordinate system that is defined by a horizontal axis representing time and a vertical axis representing an up-down position or a front-rear position and that contains chromatic changes expressing one of the up-down position and the front-rear position that is not represented by the vertical axis (wherein the examiner notes that output plots 11A – 11L, 19, 33A-33F, 34A-34C, 36A,C,E,H, 38A,C,E,G from control system meet claim limitations as horizonal axis is time, vertical represents a front-rear position (as measured strain represents position of the sensor being forced forward/backward) and the different colors/shades of each line represent the top, middle and bottom sensors which represents the up-down position).
Further regarding claim 9; Chen discloses the up-down position is a position of the laryngeal prominence in a direction of an arrangement of cervical vertebrae of the test subject, and the front-rear position is a position of a top of the laryngeal prominence in a front-rear direction of the test subject (as noted in figures cited in rejection of claim 8 above, the signal magnitude of respective top, middle and bottom sensors represents the up-down position of a laryngeal prominence [e.g. when top sensor has high magnitude and middle/bottom sensor have lower, no or negative magnitude, the laryngeal prominence is at upper position], and the front-rear position is represented by the magnitude of the signals of the top/middle/bottom sensors [e.g. when a respective signal has positive magnitude it represents when the laryngeal prominence is moved forward as it is flexing the strain sensor]).
Further regarding claim 10; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to express, numerically in conformance with the form of the two-dimensional image, at least one of: a number of swallowing movements of the test subject in a period during which the control unit estimates the position of the laryngeal prominence, a swallowing duration that is time taken for the test subject to make a single swallowing movement, and a maximum shift distance of the laryngeal prominence in the single swallowing movement (as noted in the figures cited in rejection of claim 8 above, wherein the data represented in the figures depicts swallowing duration and the maximum shift distance of the laryngeal prominence).
Further regarding claim 11; Chen discloses the control unit is further configured to display the two-dimensional image in which a time period over which the test subject is making swallowing movements is made distinguishable from a time period over which the test subject is not making the swallowing movements (as noted in the figures cited in rejection of claim 8 above, system records and displays data for before and after swallowing movement, wherein the swallowing movement is distinguishable from the non-swallowing based on the baseline signal not having magnitude).
Further regarding claim 14; Chen discloses the first and second displacement sensors (elements 110) are strip-shaped that are separate from each other and extend in a direction parallel to each other (page 14, lines 14-17; figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3, 5A-5B, 6).
Further regarding claim 15; Chen discloses the control unit comprises one or more processors configured to execute program instructions on memory for acquiring the respective displacement amounts, estimating the respective positional changes of the laryngeal prominence of the test subject, and outputting the result (figures 5A and 6; wherein the system utilizes an MCU and computer/cell phone to execute instructions to perform testing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Bernstein et al (US 2017/0172459 A1).
Regarding claim 7; Chen is described in the rejection of claims 1 and 2 above; however Chen does not explicitly disclose the control unit is further configured to generate an alert that the laryngeal elevation measurement device is unable to estimate the positional changes of the laryngeal prominence of the test subject when the displacement amount of at least one of the first displacement sensor and the second displacement sensor is smaller than a fourth threshold value that is smaller than the first threshold value.
Chen does disclose that the strain sensors may show signs of wear due to reduced elasticity after repeated usage and that sensitivity can be affected and the garment may need to be adjusted to provide the desired sensitivity (page 34, lines 10-15).
Bernstein teaches a system for monitoring a patient wherein the system includes alarms which may be triggered to indicate a particular situation, such as sensor failure which is provided to the user device (paragraph [0170]).
As Chen teaches that the system is ineffective when the sensor shows wear and corrective action must to be taken to ensure proper sensitivity, and Bernstein teaches having a sensor system provide an alert/alarm when a sensor fails; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chen’s control unit to generate an alert when the sensor is failing (i.e. insufficient sensitivity) as taught by Bernstein in order to indicate to the user that they need to take correcting action (i.e. tightening drawstring or replacing shirt/collar). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to set the alarm condition as a fourth threshold value which that represents when Chen’s strain sensors (elements 110) are not fitted sufficiently and/or failing from wear to generate a signal with a magnitude greater than said threshold value representing the desired sensitivity. As such, the Chen/Bernstein combination control unit would be configured to generate an alert that the laryngeal elevation measurement device is unable to estimate the positional changes of the laryngeal prominence of the test subject when the displacement amount of at least one of the first displacement sensor and the second displacement sensor (magnitude output from sensor element 110) is smaller than a fourth threshold value (sensitivity threshold which would require signal to exceed in order be desired sensitivity and signal magnitudes below indicates sensor failure/wear) that is smaller than the first threshold value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0209073 A1 to Yoshioka et al; discloses swallowing diagnosis apparatus and storage medium.
US 2024/0298330 A1 to Balberg et al; discloses a wearable device for real time measurement of swallowing.
US 2018/0242900 A1 to Kuwa et al; discloses a swallowing movement monitoring sensor.
US 2019/0038208 A1 to Mohammadi et al; discloses a signal trimming and false positive reduction of post-segmentation swallowing accelerometry data.
US 2024/0000322 A1 to Xu et al; discloses advanced mechano-acoustic sensing and applications of same.
JP 2018-50755 A to Araki et al; discloses throat passing movement measuring apparatus, system and method.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791