DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIU et al. (US 2024/0340924) in view of ZHANG et al. (US 2019/0313350).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 18, p. [0094]), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 18, Memory 1804G); and one or more processors (Fig. 18, CPU), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
transmit, within a first slot, a first set of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs) (p. [0041], [0052]; Fig. 6, 642A; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., first set) on a plurality of respective beams, for example, figure 6 shows the UE transmitting a plurality of S-SSBs on Tx beam 512A in a first slot); and
transmit, within a second slot, a second set of S-SSBs (p. [0041], [0052];Fig. 6, 642B; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., second set) on Tx beam 512B in a second slot, see Fig 6).
But, Niu does not particularly disclose each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID).
However, Zhang teaches wherein each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID) (p. [0076], [0078], [0079], [0080], [0081]; a plurality of SSB is transmitted in a burst, each may be identified by a respective scrambling code, based on cell ID and SSB index (i.e., SSB identifier)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niu with the teachings of Zhang, since such a modification would allow the receiver to identify the synchronization signal blocks that has been received (Zhang - p. [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from an additional UE, beam management information associated with an S-SSB of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs (Fig. 4, step 408; p. [0043]; UE 101-2 receives a beam management message 408 from UE 101-1 (i.e., additional UE)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 2, Niu discloses wherein the beam management information comprises an indication of a transmission beam for the UE to use in communications with the additional UE (p. [0043], [0047]; the beam management message, specifically a beam acquisition message indicates an index of the optimal beam).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein a single S-SSB burst includes the first set of S-SSBs and the second set of S-SSBs (P. [0041] and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the first set of S-SSBs comprises multiple S-SSBs associated with different transmission beams (Fig. 6, 642A/512A; p. [0041], the UE transmits a plurality of S-SSBs on a plurality of respective beams) or wherein the second set of S-SSBs comprises multiple S-SSBs associated with different transmission beams (Fig. 6, 642B/512B; p. [0041], the UE transmits a plurality of S-SSBs on a plurality of respective beams).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, Zhang discloses wherein each S-SSB of the first set of S-SSBs indicates a respective S-SSB ID via one or more of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence of a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) or one or more reserved bits of the PSBCH (p. [0079]; figure 6 illustrates identification information of an SSB, the identification information may include a plurality of bits identifying broadcast channel (BCH) transmission), or
wherein each S-SSB of the second set of S-SSBs indicates a respective S-SSB ID via one or more of a DMRS sequence of the PSBCH or one or more reserved bits of the PSBCH (p. [0079]; figure 6 illustrates identification information of an SSB, the identification information may include a plurality of bits identifying broadcast channel (BCH) transmission). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niu with the teachings of Zhang, since such a modification would allow the receiver to identify the synchronization signal blocks that has been received (Zhang - p. [0091]).
Regarding claim 16, Niu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE):
transmitting, within a first slot, a first set of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs) (p. [0041], [0052]; Fig. 6, 642A; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., first set) on a plurality of respective beams, for example, figure 6 shows the UE transmitting a plurality of S-SSBs on Tx beam 512A in a first slot); and
transmitting, within a second slot, a second set of S-SSBs (p. [0041], [0052];Fig. 6, 642B; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., second set) on Tx beam 512B in a second slot, see Fig 6).
But, Niu does not particularly disclose each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID).
However, Zhang teaches wherein each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID) (p. [0076], [0078], [0079], [0080], [0081]; a plurality of SSB is transmitted in a burst, each may be identified by a respective scrambling code, based on cell ID and SSB index (i.e., SSB identifier)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niu with the teachings of Zhang, since such a modification would allow the receiver to identify the synchronization signal blocks that has been received (Zhang - p. [0091]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the method of claim 16, Niu discloses further comprising: receiving, from an additional UE, beam management information associated with an S-SSB of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs (Fig. 4, step 408; p. [0043]; UE 101-2 receives a beam management message 408 from UE 101-1 (i.e., additional UE)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the method of claim 17, Niu discloses wherein the beam management information comprises an indication of a transmission beam for the UE to use in communications with the additional UE (p. [0043], [0047]; the beam management message, specifically a beam acquisition message indicates an index of the optimal beam).
Regarding claim 20, Niu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (p. [0102]), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to:
transmit, within a first slot, a first set of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs) (p. [0041], [0052]; Fig. 6, 642A; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., first set) on a plurality of respective beams, for example, figure 6 shows the UE transmitting a plurality of S-SSBs on Tx beam 512A in a first slot); and
transmit, within a second slot, a second set of S-SSBs (p. [0041], [0052];Fig. 6, 642B; the UE 101-2 transmits a plurality of S-SSBs (i.e., second set) on Tx beam 512B in a second slot, see Fig 6).
But, Niu does not particularly disclose each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID).
However, Zhang teaches wherein each S-SSB of the first set and second set of S-SSBs indicating a respective S-SSB identifier (ID) (p. [0076], [0078], [0079], [0080], [0081]; a plurality of SSB is transmitted in a burst, each may be identified by a respective scrambling code, based on cell ID and SSB index (i.e., SSB identifier)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niu with the teachings of Zhang, since such a modification would allow the receiver to identify the synchronization signal blocks that has been received (Zhang - p. [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIU et al. in views of ZHANG et al. and LIU et al. (US 2023/0300761).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein an S-SSB burst that includes the first set of S-SSBs and the second set of S-SSBs comprises an S-SSB that occupies one or more symbols of the first slot and one or more symbols of the second slot.
However, Liu teaches wherein an S-SSB burst that includes the first set of S-SSBs and the second set of S-SSBs comprises an S-SSB that occupies one or more symbols of the first slot and one or more symbols of the second slot (p. [0004]-[0005], [0029], [0030], [0040]; Liu teaches the technology for wireless communication includes a slot of a sidelink communication frame of a user equipment, the slot is configured with a resource element allocation comprising an SL synchronization signal block (S-SSB) occupying a plurality of less than all symbols of the slot, in some examples, the S-SSB is configured across 4 contiguous symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Niu and Zhang with the teachings of Liu, since such a modification would allow the transmission of the S-SSB burst on the available resources of the slot for sidelink communication.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein each S-SSB of the first set of S-SSBs occupies 7 or fewer symbols, or wherein each S-SSB of the second set of S-SSBs occupies 7 or fewer symbols.
However, Liu teaches wherein each S-SSB of the first set of S-SSBs occupies 7 or fewer symbols, or wherein each S-SSB of the second set of S-SSBs occupies 7 or fewer symbols (p. [0004]-[0005], [0029], [0030], [0040]; Liu teaches the technology for wireless communication includes a slot of a sidelink communication frame of a user equipment, the slot is configured with a resource element allocation comprising an SL synchronization signal block (S-SSB) occupying a plurality of less than all symbols of the slot, in some examples, the S-SSB is configured across 4 contiguous symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Niu and Zhang with the teachings of Liu, since such a modification would allow the transmission of the S-SSB burst on the available resources of the slot for sidelink communication.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIU et al. in views of ZHANG et al. and YE et al. (US 2026/0052551).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Niu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 8, but does not particularly disclose wherein the single S-SSB burst comprises one or more of:
one or more automatic gain control (AGC) symbols preceding one or more of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs, or
one or more gap symbols following one or more of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs.
However, Ye teaches the single S-SSB burst comprises one or more of:
one or more automatic gain control (AGC) symbols preceding one or more of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs (Fig. 9; p. [0115], [0116], [0132], [0135]; figure shows SL transmission including S-SSB occasions, the slot include 5 symbols, wherein the first symbol is a AGC symbol), or
one or more gap symbols following one or more of the first set of S-SSBs or the second set of S-SSBs (Fig. 9 shows SL SSB transmission 940C that includes first AGC symbol 930C and GAP symbol 950).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Niu and Zhang with the teachings of Ye, since these are typical resources included in a slot structure of a radio frame in an SL transmission (p. [0115]-[0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 12-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643