DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Wayne DOZIER (DOZIER) US 2023/0127383 A1.
As per claim 1 DOZIER disclose;
An expandable electrical panelboard system (Fig. 1 item 100), comprising:
an enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100));
a framework (102) distributed within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100));
a panelboard bus assembly (line bus 104 and 104’ and 110, in paragraph [0025], “The line bus 104 and breaker panel 106 extend generally parallel to a long axis of the frame 102 and are secured to and supported by the frame 102”) configured to attached to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)), the panelboard bus assembly comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) configured to attached to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 2 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a discrete component from the expansion subassembly (item 110), the expansion subassembly further comprising:
one or more expansion insulators (fig. 5 item 154, 159 and 134), wherein
the one or more expansion busbars (126) are at least partially enclosed in the one or more expansion insulators (item Fig.3 item 134 and 154).
As per claim 3 DOZIER disclose;
wherein a first side shape of the expansion subassembly is complementary with a second side shape of the bus subassembly. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 4 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly and the expansion subassembly are formed as one unit, the one or more expansion busbars extending from the one or more panelboard busbars and out of the one or more busbar insulators. (fig. 1 shows one unit formed by item 104, 104’ and 110)
As per claim 5 DOZIER disclose;
wherein each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) comprises a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end and proximate to the panelboard busbars, and
wherein a first thickness (overall thickness of (128)) of each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) at the distal end is greater than a second thickness (thickness of (128), from top of bottom edge of (128) to the notch () of (128) facing items (104)) of each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) at the proximal end. (open ends of item 128 facing items 104 is shown as rounded end having less thickness, to slide into item 104)
As per claim 7 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the one or more expansion busbars further include one or more clips positioned at one or more ends of the one or more expansion busbars. (Fig. 9 Para 0033 and 0059 “Alternatively, plug-on bus bars may be used in some embodiments that employ spring jaws)
Claim(s) 8-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER.
As per claim 8 DOZIER disclose;
An expandable panelboard bus assembly (Fig. 1 item 100) for an electrical panelboard system, the expandable panelboard bus assembly (100) comprising an enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)) and a framework (102) distributed within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)), the expandable panelboard bus assembly (100) configured to attach to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)) and comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) configured to attach to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars of item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 9 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a discrete component from the expansion subassembly (item 110), the expansion subassembly further comprising:
one or more expansion insulators (fig. 5 item 154, 159 and 134), wherein
the one or more expansion busbars (126) are at least partially enclosed in the one or more expansion insulators (item Fig.3 item 134 and 154).
As per claim 10 DOZIER disclose;
wherein a first side shape of the expansion subassembly is complementary with a second side shape of the bus subassembly. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 11 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion subassembly further comprises an expansion bolt (fig. 5 item 124) coupled with the one or more expansion insulators and the one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5).
As per claim 12 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly and the expansion subassembly are formed as one unit, the one or more expansion busbars extending from the one or more panelboard busbars and out of the one or more busbar insulators. (fig. 1 shows one unit formed by item 104, 104’ and 110)
As per claim 13 DOZIER disclose;
wherein each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) comprises a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end and proximate to the panelboard busbars,
wherein a first thickness (overall thickness of (128)) of each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) at the distal end is greater than a second thickness (thickness of (128), from top of bottom edge of (128) to the notch () of (128) facing items (104)) of each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) at the proximal end. (open ends of item 128 facing items 104 is shown as rounded end having less thickness, to slide into item 104)
As per claim 15 DOZIER disclose;
wherein each of the one or more panelboard busbars (126) comprises a first panelboard sub-busbar (fig. 1 item 104) and a second panelboard sub-busbar (Fig. 1 item 104’), each of the one or more expansion busbars (126) comprising a first expansion sub-busbar extending from the first panelboard sub-busbar and a second expansion sub-busbar extending from the second panelboard sub-busbar. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 16 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion subassembly is interwoven with the bus subassembly. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 17 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the one or more expansion busbars further include one or more clips positioned at one or more ends of the one or more expansion busbars. (Fig. 9 Para 0033 and 0059 “Alternatively, plug-on bus bars may be used in some embodiments that employ spring jaws)
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER.
As per claim 18 DOZIER disclose;
A method of assembling an expandable electrical panelboard system (Fig. 1 item 100), the method comprising:
forming an enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100));
forming a framework (102) distributed within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100));
forming a panelboard bus assembly (line bus 104 and 104’ and 110) configure to attach to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)), the panelboard bus assembly comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) including: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) configured to attach to the framework (102) within the enclosure (enclosure of expandable electrical panelboard system (100)) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 19 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a discrete component from the expansion subassembly (item 110),
As per claim 20 DOZIER disclose;
wherein forming the panelboard bus assembly further comprises forming the expansion subassembly and the bus subassembly as one unit. (Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER in view of Philipp Steinberger (Steinberger) US 10,879,642 B2.
As per claims 6 and 14 DOZIER do not teach well-known use of
wherein the panelboard bus assembly further comprises an insulation cap sized to receive the one or more expansion busbars.
However in analogues art Steinberger, disclose well-known use of an insulation cap sized to receive the one or more expansion busbars. (Col. 14 lines 7 and 8)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Steinberger to the device of DOZIER would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allow for protection of the busbar ends from damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/29/2026 have been fully considered, the Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,587,099 to Parkerson et al., which teaches a power distribution system includes a first bus including a first bus bar and a second bus bar. A first portion of the first bus is located in a position where the first bus bar and the second bus bar extend parallel to each other. A space is located between the first bus bar and the second bus bar in the first portion of the first bus. A run-over bus includes two or more run-over bus bars, wherein at least a cross-sectional portion of at least one of the run-over bus bars is located in the space and the at least one run-over bus bar extends parallel to the first bus bar and the second bus bar.
US 2014/0099820 to Robinson et al., which teaches a meter socket, load center combination apparatus is disclosed. The meter socket, load center combination apparatus has an enclosure having a meter socket section with a meter socket configured to receive a utility meter, a load center section having a panelboard with a plurality of locations configured to receive circuit interface devices, and a cross-bus connection section extending between first and second sides of the enclosure, the cross bus connection section having one or more side openings configured to allow electrical connection to one or more cross bus bars, and a main circuit breaker coupled between the panelboard and the meter socket.
US 2008/0062620 to Parker et al., which teaches an electrical bus member mounting system is provided for an electrical enclosure including a housing having a front, a back and a plurality of sides, a plurality of sections disposed between the sides, at least one electrical apparatus disposed within a first one of the sections, and an electrical bus assembly electrically connected to the electrical apparatus. The electrical bus member mounting system includes a mounting assembly having a first portion and a second portion. A plurality of electrical bus members are coupled to the first portion and the second portion is coupled at or about at least one of the sides of the housing within a second one of the sections thereof.
US 4,870,542 to Koslosky et al., which teaches a plug-on enclosed fusible switches, enclosed lug devices and non-enclosed molded case circuit breakers are attached to a panelboard in a single or side-by-side double row. Spring biased latches retain the devices to the panelboard. Locating notches on the panelboard locate the devices at incremental spacing to provide a variable, compact arrangement for the devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841