DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Wayne DOZIER (DOZIER) US 2023/0127383 A1.
As per claim 1 DOZIER disclose;
An expandable electrical panelboard system (Fig. 1 item 100), comprising:
a panelboard bus assembly (line bus 104 and 104’ and 110), the panelboard bus assembly comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown)at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 2 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a distinct component from the expansion subassembly (item 110), the expansion subassembly further comprising:
one or more expansion insulators (fig. 5 item 154, 159 and 134), wherein
the one or more expansion busbars (126) are at least partially enclosed in the one or more expansion insulators (item Fig.3 item 134 and 154).
As per claim 3 DOZIER disclose;
wherein a side shape of the expansion subassembly is complementary with a side shape of the bus subassembly. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 4 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly and the expansion subassembly are formed as one unit, the one or more expansion busbars extending from the one or more panelboard busbars and out of the one or more busbar insulators. (fig. 1 shows one unit formed by item 104, 104’ and 110)
As per claim 5 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion busbar comprises a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end and proximal to the panelboard busbars, a thickness of the expansion busbar at the distal end being greater than a thickness of the expansion busbar at the proximal end. (open ends of item 128 facing items 104 is shown as rounded end having less thickness, to slide into item 104)
As per claim 7 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the one or more expansion busbars further include one or more clips positioned at one or more ends of the one or more expansion busbars. (Fig. 9 Para 0033 and 0059 “Alternatively, plug-on bus bars may be used in some embodiments that employ spring jaws)
Claim(s) 8-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER.
As per claim 8 DOZIER disclose;
An expandable panelboard bus assembly (Fig. 1 item 100) for an electrical panelboard system, the panelboard bus assembly comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown)at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 9 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a distinct component from the expansion subassembly (item 110), the expansion subassembly further comprising:
one or more expansion insulators (fig. 5 item 154, 159 and 134), wherein
the one or more expansion busbars (126) are at least partially enclosed in the one or more expansion insulators (item Fig.3 item 134 and 154).
As per claim 10 DOZIER disclose;
wherein a side shape of the expansion subassembly is complementary with a side shape of the bus subassembly. (Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 11 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion subassembly further comprises an expansion bolt (fig. 5 item 124) coupled with the one or more expansion insulators and the one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5).
As per claim 12 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly and the expansion subassembly are formed as one unit, the one or more expansion busbars extending from the one or more panelboard busbars and out of the one or more busbar insulators. (fig. 1 shows one unit formed by item 104, 104’ and 110)
As per claim 13 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion busbar comprises a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end and proximal to the panelboard busbars, a thickness of the expansion busbar at the distal end being greater than a thickness of the expansion busbar at the proximal end. (open ends of item 128 facing items 104 is shown as rounded end having less thickness, to slide into item 104)
As per claim 15 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the panelboard busbar comprises a first panelboard sub-busbar (fig. 1 item 104) and a second panelboard sub-busbar (Fig. 1 item 104’), the expansion busbar comprising a first expansion sub-busbar extending from the first panelboard sub-busbar and a second expansion sub-busbar extending from the second panelboard sub-busbar.(Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 16 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the expansion subassembly is interwoven with the bus subassembly.(Fig. 1 and 7)
As per claim 17 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the one or more expansion busbars further include one or more clips positioned at one or more ends of the one or more expansion busbars. (Fig. 9 Para 0033 and 0059 “Alternatively, plug-on bus bars may be used in some embodiments that employ spring jaws)
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER.
As per claim 18 DOZIER disclose;
. A method of assembling an expandable electrical panelboard system (Fig. 1 item 100), the method including:
forming a panelboard bus assembly (line bus 104 and 104’ and 110), the panelboard bus assembly comprising:
a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) including: one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and
one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown); and
an expansion subassembly (fig. 3, 5 item 110) comprising:
one or more expansion busbars (Fig. 5 item 126a and 126b), wherein the one or more expansion busbars are electrically conductive and at least partially exposed (Fig. 3),
wherein the bus subassembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple with another bus subassembly (fig. 1 item 104 and 104’) via the expansion subassembly (item 110).
DOZIER disclose a bus subassembly (104 and 104’) comprising: one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) and further shows in fig. 7 (reproduced below) a “GAP” between line bus item 104 for inserting contacts of bridge assembly.
But do not show a well-known details one or more busbar insulators (details of well-known insulators item 159 as shown in fig. 5 to prevent short circuit between bus bars od item 104 is not shown in drawing); and one or more panelboard busbars (of line bus 104 and 104’ Para 0024 “line bus 104 in this example is an I-Line bus”) at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators (well-known details not shown)at least partially enclosed in the one or more busbar insulators.
However in Fig. 5 DOZIER disclose well-known in the art arrangement of, placing insulators (134, 154, 159 and 160) between bus bars (126a and 126b) to create a GAP between busbars.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by DOZIER fig. 5 to the device of DOZIER fig. 7 and 1 would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for electrical isolation between busbars and to create a gap between busbars.
As per claim 19 DOZIER disclose;
wherein the bus subassembly (item 104 and 104’) is a distinct component from the expansion subassembly (item 110),
As per claim 20 DOZIER disclose;
wherein forming the panelboard bus assembly further comprises forming the expansion subassembly and the bus subassembly as one unit. (Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOZIER in view of Philipp Steinberger (Steinberger) US 10,879,642 B2.
As per claims 6 and 14 DOZIER do not teach well-known use of
wherein the panelboard bus assembly further comprises an insulation cap sized to receive the one or more expansion busbars.
However in analogues art Steinberger, disclose well-known use of an insulation cap sized to receive the one or more expansion busbars. (Col. 14 lines 7 and 8)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Steinberger to the device of DOZIER would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for protection of the busbar ends from damage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1-US 5,760,339 Faulkner Fig. 1-8 disclose bus assembly with busbar expansion joint.
2-US 8717741 B2 Valenzuela Fig. 2 and 3 disclose panel board assembly with busbar and with busbar joint.
3-US 4,627,680 Weimer Fig. 1-9 disclose bus assembly with busbar expansion joint.
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835