DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/29/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0062783 A1, hereafter Kim).
With regard to claim 1, Kim teaches a battery pack comprising:
a plurality of stacked battery cells (unit cells 100) [0058, fig. 2];
a first member (end plate 201) having a longitudinal plate portion (main body 210) and a lateral plate portion (bottom flange 216), the longitudinal plate portion being in abutment with a battery cell in a stacking direction of the battery cells, reaction force in the stacking direction of the battery cells being applied to the longitudinal plate portion from the plurality of battery cells (supporting unit cells), the lateral plate portion protruding from the longitudinal plate portion in a direction of the rection force [0088-0089, 0107, fig. 2, fig. 6];
a second member (bottom plate 301) overlapping with the lateral plate portion in a thickness direction of the lateral plate portion [0108, fig. 8]; and
a connection member (fixing bolt 303) that connects the lateral plate portion to the second member [0108, fig. 8].
With regard to claim 6, Kim teaches the connecting member includes a bolt (fixing bolt 303) [0108, fig. 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kato (US 2023/0060060 A1, hereafter Kato).
With regard to claims 2-3, Kim teaches connecting first and second members together [0108, fig. 8] but does not teach a resin member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kato teaches the use of an adhesive (claim 3) resin (claim 2) [0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the adhesive resin of Kato with the battery pack of Kim for the benefit of improving bonding strength and prevent misalignment [Kato 0046].
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Ke et al. (US 2024/0396175 A1, hereafter Ke).
With regards to claims 4-5, Kim does not explicitly teach the material the first and second member are composed of. However, the use of metal materials for battery housing components is well known in the art as evidenced by Ke which teaches the use of battery case components (case 211 and end cover body 2121) that may be made of the same (claim 4) or different (claim 5) metal materials [0066]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to try the metal materials of Ke with the first and second member of Kim since they are known to be effective for battery case components [Ke 0066].
12. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kato (US 2023/0060060 A1, hereafter Kato) and further in view of Obata (US 2014/0308556 A1, hereafter Obata).
13. With regard to claim 7, Kim does teaches connecting first and second members together [0108, fig. 8] but does not teach an adhesive member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kato teaches the use of an adhesive resin [0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the adhesive resin of Kato with the battery pack of Kim for the benefit of improving bonding strength and prevent misalignment [Kato 0046].
Kim would not teach the second member includes a portion bent by 90 degrees from a tip of the second member. However, in the same field of endeavor, Obata teaches binding members (binding members 13, analogous to the end plate of Kim that includes the lateral plate) and binding bands (14) with the binding bands having portions bent 90 degrees from a tip in the direction of the reaction force [0036, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the bent portion of Obata with the second member of Kim for the benefit of allowing binding members such as the end plate of Kim to press on battery cells [Obata 0036]. Since the lateral plate portion of the end plate of Kim is the outermost portion [0088-0089, 0107, fig. 2, fig. 6] it would necessarily be in contact with the bent portion when modified by the teachings of Obata.
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724