DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV (claims 7-10) in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 4, and 6 are withdrawn from consideration.
Title of the Invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite because the claimed invention is not clear and does not completely define the boundaries of the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the claim initially recites the limitation of
“determining, by a terminal, first resource information for first data, the first resource used to re-evaluate or preempt a target resource” in lines 2-3. Then, the claim further recites that the “first resource information” is associated with first target information that comprises “whether the first data enables periodic reservation” and “in case that the first data enables periodic reservation, the first information is determined based on first sensing and second sensing”.
The above-mentioned steps regarding the relationship between the determination of the “first resource information” and its underlying condition is unclear and contradictory. Specifically, lines 2-3 recite that terminal determines “first resource information”. The claim later specifies that this information includes target information that indicates “whether the first data enables periodic reservation”. However, lines 11-12 includes a conditional limitation “in case that the first data enables periodic reservation, the first information is determined based on the first sensing and second sensing”. This creates a contradiction because the claim states that ascertaining whether periodic reservation is based on the determined “first resource information” but subsequently requires that determining “first resource information” is conditional upon, and performed after, establishing that periodic reservation is enabled. Therefore, the claims do not clearly define the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
**Note: this applies to independent claims 17 and 20 which includes the same subject matter.
Regarding claims 5, 8, 9, 10, and 14-16, the claims are directed to “determining wherein the first resource satisfies at least one of” and list multiple different conditions and each condition is associated with different ways to determine the “first resource information” and thus the claims fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KO (WO 2022/191678, see electronic translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a transmission processing method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, first resource information for first data, the first resource
information being used to re-evaluate or preempt a target resource (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot for selecting and performing partial sensing; after the selecting the terminal may perform re-evaluation or pre-emption procedure based on the result of the sensing); wherein
the first resource information is associated with first target information, and the first target information comprises: whether the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)); and information related to second data, the second data being different from the first data (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot (i.e., second data)),
wherein
in a case that the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)), the first resource information is determined based on first sensing and second sensing, wherein the first sensing is periodic based partial sensing (PBPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device performs a first periodic based partial sensing associated with the at least second SL resource), and the second sensing is continuous partial sensing (CPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27;the first device performs first contiguous partial sensing on the at least one first candidate slot).
Regarding claim 2, Ko discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first resource information comprises at least one of the following resource information: a resource selection method, a resource sensing method, to-be-sensed resources (page 1, lines 37-46; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool, including information regarding candidate slots in which the first device performs partial sensing, thus the information includes information about the to-be-sensed resources), a resource size, a minimum number of resource sizes, a maximum number of resource sizes, a resource location, a resource sensing trigger time, or a resource selection trigger time.
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the second data comprises at least one of the following: whether being periodic traffic; whether periodic reservation is enabled; resource information for selection or reselection; or resource information for re-evaluation or pre-emption (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool, the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot for selecting (i.e., resource information for selection or reselection) and performing partial sensing; after the selecting the terminal may perform re-evaluation or pre-emption procedure based on the result of the sensing).
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the first resource information satisfies at least one of the following:
in a case that the second data enables periodic reservation or is periodic traffic (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool3 ), the first resource information is determined based on at least one of first sensing of the second data, second sensing of the second data, and second sensing of the first data (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device performs a first periodic based partial sensing associated with the at least second SL resource);
in a case that the second data does not enable periodic reservation or is aperiodic traffic, the first resource information is determined based on at least one of the second sensing of the second data and the second sensing of the first data; or
in a case that the second data does not enable periodic reservation or is aperiodic traffic, and that the second data satisfies a first preset condition, the first resource information is determined based on at least one of first sensing of the second data, second sensing of the second data, and second sensing of the first data;
wherein the first preset condition comprises at least one of the following: presence of second sensing and predictable time of arrival;
or,
wherein in a case that the first resource information is associated with the resource information for selection or reselection for the second data, the first resource information satisfies any one of the following:
the first resource information is the same as the resource information for selection or reselection for the second data; or
the first resource information uses at least some sensing results corresponding to the resource information for selection or reselection for the second data;
or,
wherein in a case that the first resource information is associated with the resource information for re-evaluation or pre-emption for the second data, the first resource information satisfies:
the first resource information is the same as the resource information for re-evaluation or pre-emption for the second data.
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses a terminal, comprising a memory, a processor, and a
program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (page 25, lines 31-42), wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
determining, by a terminal, first resource information for first data, the first resource
information being used to re-evaluate or preempt a target resource (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot for selecting and performing partial sensing; after the selecting the terminal may perform re-evaluation or pre-emption procedure based on the result of the sensing); wherein
the first resource information is associated with first target information, and the first target information comprises: whether the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)); and information related to second data, the second data being different from the first data (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot (i.e., second data)),
wherein
in a case that the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)), the first resource information is determined based on first sensing and second sensing, wherein the first sensing is periodic based partial sensing (PBPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device performs a first periodic based partial sensing associated with the at least second SL resource), and the second sensing is continuous partial sensing (CPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27;the first device performs first contiguous partial sensing on the at least one first candidate slot).
Regarding claim 18, Ko discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the first resource information comprises at least one of the following resource information: a resource selection method, a resource sensing method, to-be-sensed resources (page 1, lines 37-46; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool, including information regarding candidate slots in which the first device performs partial sensing, thus the information includes information about the to-be-sensed resources), a resource size, a minimum number of resource sizes, a maximum number of resource sizes, a resource location, a resource sensing trigger time, or a resource selection trigger time.
Regarding claim 20, Ko discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein
the non-transitory storage medium has a program or instructions (page 25, lines 31-42), when executed by the processor of a terminal, causes the processor of the terminal to perform:
determining, by a terminal, first resource information for first data, the first resource
information being used to re-evaluate or preempt a target resource (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot for selecting and performing partial sensing; after the selecting the terminal may perform re-evaluation or pre-emption procedure based on the result of the sensing); wherein
the first resource information is associated with first target information, and the first target information comprises: whether the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)); and information related to second data, the second data being different from the first data (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device obtains information related to a resource pool (i.e., first resource pool), the resource pool includes at least one first candidate slot (i.e., second data)),
wherein
in a case that the first data enables periodic reservation (page 24, lines 25-27; the first device may obtain information related to a resource pool including information related to one or more resource reservation periods, for example, periodic resource reservation may be enable for the resource pool (i.e., first data)), the first resource information is determined based on first sensing and second sensing, wherein the first sensing is periodic based partial sensing (PBPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27; the first device performs a first periodic based partial sensing associated with the at least second SL resource), and the second sensing is continuous partial sensing (CPS) (page 1, lines 37-page 2, lines 1-6; page 24, lines 25-27;the first device performs first contiguous partial sensing on the at least one first candidate slot).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Yoshioka et al. (US 2024/0205752) discloses a terminal including a receiving unit configured to receive a signal from another terminal in a resource pool in which partial sensing is configured and periodic reservation is enabled; a control unit configured to determine candidate resources for resource selection in a resource pool (see abstract).
(b)Ye et al. (US 2023/0180185) discloses power saving sensing for reduced sensing UEs using resource re-evaluation and resource pre-emption (see abstract).
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643