DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024, 03/13/2024, 05/14/2025, 06/06/2025, 09/16/2025, 11/10/2025, 12/31/2025, 01/22/2026, and 05/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-13, are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 in view of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1).
Although the claims 1-18 of this Application No. 18/591,633 and claims at issue of co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and the conflicting co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
This Application No. 18/591,633
co-pending US Patent App. No.: 18/591,270
Claim 1: An image decoding device comprising a circuit,
wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value;
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulates the decoded sample;
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample.
Claim 17: An image decoding method comprising:
decoding control information and a quantized value;
obtaining a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtaining a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generating a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulating the decoded sample;
generating a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtaining the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample
Claim 18: A program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device including a circuit,
wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value;
obtains a decoded transform coefficients by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulates the decoded sample;
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample.
Claim 1: An image decoding device comprising a circuit,
wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value;
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulates the decoded sample;
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample.
Claim 15: An image decoding method comprising:
decoding control information and a quantized value;
obtaining a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtaining a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generating a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulating the decoded sample;
generating a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtaining the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample.
Claim 16: A program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device including a circuit,
wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value;
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value;
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient;
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information;
accumulates the decoded sample;
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information;
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample;
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample.
Although, U.S. co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 teaches generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 1 as stated in the table above with respect to claim 1, fails to clearly disclose generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
However, Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), explicitly teaches generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 1 of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulates the decoded sample; generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample with the teachings of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) of having generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
Wherein having co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 having generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a more efficient system that maintains high accuracy of encoding and decoding movement.
Although, co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 15 teaches generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 15 as stated in the table above with respect to claim 17, fails to clearly disclose generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
However, Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), explicitly teaches generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 15 of having An image decoding method comprising: decoding control information and a quantized value; obtaining a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtaining a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generating a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulating the decoded sample; generating a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtaining the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample with the teachings of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) of having generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
Wherein having co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 15 having generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a more efficient system that maintains high accuracy of encoding and decoding movement.
Although, co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 16 teaches generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 16 as stated in the table above with respect to claim 18, fails to clearly disclose generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
However, Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), explicitly teaches generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the U co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270, claim 16 of having a program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device including a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulates the decoded sample; generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample with the teachings of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) of having generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
Wherein having Co-pending U.S. Patent App. 18/591270 claim 16 having generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a more efficient system that maintains high accuracy of encoding and decoding movement.
The further limitations of the dependent claims are similar as indicated below:
This Application No. 18/591,633
Co-pending US Patent App. No.: 18/591,270
Claim 2: wherein the circuit prepares the plurality of weighting coefficients by which a width of a division boundary of a small area is different and selects the weighting coefficients.
Claim 3: wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a shape of a decoding target block.
Claim 4: wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to at least one of a short side of the decoding target block, a long side of the decoding target block, an aspect ratio of the decoding target block, a division mode of the decoding target block, or the number of samples of the decoding target block.
Claim 5: wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a motion vector.
Claim 6: wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area or resolution of the motion vector.
Claim 7: wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary.
Claim 8: wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate.
Claim 9: wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a method of predicting a small area.
Claim 10: wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter.
Claim 11: wherein the circuit selects weighting coefficients of a decoding target block according to control information of a block near the decoding target block.
Claim 12: wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients of the decoding target block according to weighting coefficients of an adjacent decoded block.
Claim 13: wherein the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a block having a continuous division boundary, as the decoding target block.
Claim 2: wherein the circuit prepares the plurality of weighting coefficients by which a width of a division boundary of a small area is different and selects the weighting coefficients.
Claim 3: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a shape of a decoding target block.
Claim 4: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to at least one of a short side of the decoding target block, a long side of the decoding target block, an aspect ratio of the decoding target block, a division mode of the decoding target block, or the number of samples of the decoding target block.
Claim 5: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a motion vector.
Claim 6: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area or resolution of the motion vector.
Claim 7: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary.
Claim 8: wherein the circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate.
Claim 9: wherein the circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to a method of predicting a small area.
Claim 10: wherein the circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter.
Claim 11: wherein the circuit limits combinations of a selectable weighting coefficients of a decoding target block according to control information of a block near the decoding target block.
Claim 12: wherein the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients of the decoding target block according to weighting coefficients of an adjacent decoded block.
Claim 13: wherein the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a block having a continuous division boundary, as a combination of the decoding target block.
Claims 2-13 contain the same limitations as Co-pending US Patent App. No.: 18/591270 claims 2-13 respectively. Therefore, given that claims 2-16 depend from claims 1. Claims 2-16, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of the independent claim above.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1, in view of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1).
Regarding claim 14, co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 in view of Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 11,
co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit derives a pattern of weighting coefficients of the adjacent block as an internal parameter corresponding to a merge index used for decoding a merge vector of each small area and selects the derived weighting coefficients as weighting coefficients of each small area of the decoding target block.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein the circuit derives a pattern of weighting coefficients of the adjacent block as an internal parameter corresponding to a merge index used for decoding a merge vector of each small area (Fig. 1, paragraph [0109]- Kim discloses in the case of AMVP, motion candidate lists are derived for L0 and L1, respectively, so the most candidate indexes (mvp_l0_flag, optimal motion mvp_l1_flag) for L0 and L1 are signaled, respectively. In the case of Merge, a single move candidate list is derived, so a single merge index (merge_idx) is signaled. There may be various motion candidate lists derived from a single coding unit, and a motion candidate index or a merge index may be signaled for each motion candidate list.),
and selects the derived weighting coefficients as weighting coefficients of each small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the vertical length is considered the short side).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulates the decoded sample; generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample, with the teachings of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), of having wherein the circuit derives a pattern of weighting coefficients of the adjacent block as an internal parameter corresponding to a merge index used for decoding a merge vector of each small area and selects the derived weighting coefficients as weighting coefficients of each small area of the decoding target block.
Wherein having co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 having wherein the circuit derives a pattern of weighting coefficients of the adjacent block as an internal parameter corresponding to a merge index used for decoding a merge vector of each small area and selects the derived weighting coefficients as weighting coefficients of each small area of the decoding target block.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better efficiency and quality of coding.
Regarding claim 16, co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 in view of Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 14,
co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 fails to explicitly teach wherein in a case where each small area is in an intra prediction mode, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein in a case where each small area is in an intra prediction mode, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0090]- Kim discloses first, FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of reference samples used for prediction of a current block in an intra prediction mode. According to an embodiment, the reference samples may be samples adjacent to the left boundary of the current block and/or samples adjacent to the upper boundary. As shown in FIG. 5, when the size of the current block is W×H and samples of a single reference line adjacent to the current block are used for intra prediction, reference samples may be configured using a maximum of 2 W+2H+1 neighboring samples located on the left and/or upper side of the current block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulates the decoded sample; generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample, with the teachings of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), of having wherein in a case where each small area is in an intra prediction mode, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
Wherein having co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 having wherein in a case where each small area is in an intra prediction mode, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better efficiency and quality of coding.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1, in view of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) and Chuang et al. (US 20170223379 A1) hereafter referenced as Chuang.
Regarding claim 15, co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 in view of Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 14,
co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 in view of Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
However, Chuang explicitly teaches wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]- Chuang discloses when one or more Merge candidates are not available (e.g. non-existing or non-Inter coded), additional candidates are inserted. Fig. 1, Paragraph [0097]- Chuang discloses exemplary non-zero vectors that can be used to add to the Merge candidate list as additional Merge candidates include (−W, 0), (−2W, 0), (0, −H), (0, −2H) and (−W, −H). The value W and H may refer to the width and height of the current prediction unit, or the width or height of the current coding unit (CU).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of the co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270claim 1 in view of Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value; obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient; generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information; accumulates the decoded sample; generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information; generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample; and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample, with the teachings of Chuang et al. (US 20170223379 A1), of having wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
Wherein having co-pending US Patent Application No.: 18/591270 claim 1 having wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better coding efficiency.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 1-16 and 18, recites limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language but do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit: decodes……,” [Lines 2-4].
Claim 2; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit prepares……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 3; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 5; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 6; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 7; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit specifies……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit specifies……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 9; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit specifies……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 10; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit specifies……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 11; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 12; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit selects……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 13; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit adopts……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit derives……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 15; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit adopts……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 16; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit adopts……,” [Lines 2-3].
Claim 18; recites the limitation, “wherein the circuit: decodes……,” [Lines 3-5].
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) “circuit ….” has a structure associated with it of a combination of transistors, resistors, capacitors, and their interconnections.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-14 and 16-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an image decoding device comprising a circuit (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0257]- Kim discloses the present specification has been described primarily from the perspective of a decoder, but may function equally in an encoder. Further in Fig. 1, Paragraph [0259]- Kim discloses for implementation by hardware, the method according to embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by one or more of Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, and the like.),
wherein the circuit: decodes control information (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Kim discloses the inter-prediction unit 154 may again include a motion estimation unit 154a and a motion compensation unit 154b. The motion estimation unit 154a finds a part most similar to a current region with reference to a specific region of a reconstructed reference picture, and obtains a motion vector value which is the distance between the regions.) and a quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
accumulates the decoded sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).);
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit prepares the plurality of weighting coefficients by which a width of a division boundary of a small area is different (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0076]- Kim discloses FIG. 3 illustrates an embodiment in which a coding tree unit (CTU) is divided into coding units (CUs) within a picture. In the process of coding a video signal, a picture may be divided into a sequence of coding tree units (CTUs). A coding tree unit may include a luma Coding Tree Block (CTB), two chroma coding tree blocks, and encoded syntax information thereof (wherein fig. 3 shows varying widths and heights of blocks).) and selects the weighting coefficients (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0161]- Kim discloses when OBMC is performed on a current block, the decoder may selectively use prediction blocks of neighboring blocks of the current block or apply different weights.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a shape of a decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the horizontal and vertical length of the block is considered the shape).).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a motion vector (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the motion information is seen as a motion vector).).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a method of predicting a small area (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein each sub-block is seen as a small area).),).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit selects weighting coefficients of a decoding target block according to control information of a block near the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the motion resolution information of the current block is seen as a motion vector resolution).),).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 11, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients of the decoding target block according to weighting coefficients of an adjacent decoded block (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 12, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a block having a continuous division boundary, as the decoding target block (Fig. 16, Paragraph [0173]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether the OBMC is performed on the current block, based on a template. First, the decoder may configure a template including pixels of a reconstructed block adjacent to the current block, and for convenience of description, this template may be referred to as a reference template. The width of an upper template may be determined based on the horizontal size of each sub-block, and the height of the upper template may be a preconfigured size (wherein fig. 16 shows a continuous boundary).).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 11, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit derives a pattern of weighting coefficients of the adjacent block as an internal parameter corresponding to a merge index used for decoding a merge vector of each small area (Fig. 1, paragraph [0109]- Kim discloses in the case of AMVP, motion candidate lists are derived for L0 and L1, respectively, so the most candidate indexes (mvp_l0_flag, optimal motion mvp_l1_flag) for L0 and L1 are signaled, respectively. In the case of Merge, a single move candidate list is derived, so a single merge index (merge_idx) is signaled. There may be various motion candidate lists derived from a single coding unit, and a motion candidate index or a merge index may be signaled for each motion candidate list.),
and selects the derived weighting coefficients as weighting coefficients of each small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the vertical length is considered the short side).).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 14, Kim further teaches wherein in a case where each small area is in an intra prediction mode, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0090]- Kim discloses first, FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of reference samples used for prediction of a current block in an intra prediction mode. According to an embodiment, the reference samples may be samples adjacent to the left boundary of the current block and/or samples adjacent to the upper boundary. As shown in FIG. 5, when the size of the current block is W×H and samples of a single reference line adjacent to the current block are used for intra prediction, reference samples may be configured using a maximum of 2 W+2H+1 neighboring samples located on the left and/or upper side of the current block.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches an image decoding method comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0006]- Kim discloses according to the present disclosure, a video signal encoding device may include a processor, wherein the processor is configured to acquire a bitstream decoded by a decoding method):
decoding control information (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Kim discloses the inter-prediction unit 154 may again include a motion estimation unit 154a and a motion compensation unit 154b. The motion estimation unit 154a finds a part most similar to a current region with reference to a specific region of a reconstructed reference picture, and obtains a motion vector value which is the distance between the regions.) and a quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtaining a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtaining a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
generating a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
accumulating the decoded sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.);
generating a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).);
and obtaining the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device including a circuit (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0006]- Kim discloses a video signal encoding device may include a processor, wherein the processor is configured to acquire a bitstream decoded by a decoding method. In addition, according to the present disclosure, in a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a bitstream, the bitstream may be decoded by a decoding method.),
wherein the circuit: decodes control information (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Kim discloses the inter-prediction unit 154 may again include a motion estimation unit 154a and a motion compensation unit 154b. The motion estimation unit 154a finds a part most similar to a current region with reference to a specific region of a reconstructed reference picture, and obtains a motion vector value which is the distance between the regions.) and a quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtains a decoded transform coefficients by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Fig. 2 Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the inverse quantization unit 220 inverse-quantizes the quantized transform coefficient, and the inverse transformation unit 225 restores a residual value by using the inverse-quantized transform coefficient.);
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
accumulates the decoded sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Fig. 35, Paragraph [0249]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a first prediction block based on the first motion information, acquire a second prediction block based on the second motion information, and acquire a third prediction block based on the third motion information (S3504, S3505, and S3506).);
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using weighting coefficients which are uniquely selected from among a plurality of weighting coefficients based on indirect control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0142]- Kim discloses the decoder may acquire a final prediction block for the L2 block by performing weight-averaging of the first prediction block and the second prediction block, based on a preconfigured weight (wherein the final prediction block is seen as the third predicted sample.) Further in Paragraph [0143]- Kim discloses in this case, the preconfigured weight may be defined in a table form. The reference pictures between the current block and the neighboring blocks may be the same as in case 1 or different from each other as in case 2. Further in paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC applied to each sub-block, based on the similarity between the current block and the neighboring block of the current block (wherein the indirect control information is seen as the similarity between current and the neighboring block).);
and obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0064]- Kim discloses the video signal processing device 200 restores an original pixel value by summing the residual value obtained by the inverse transformation unit 225 with a prediction value obtained by the prediction unit 250.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim in view of Lim et al. (US 20220086486 A1) hereafter referenced as Lim.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to at least one of a short side of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the vertical length is considered the short side).),
a long side of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the horizontal length is considered the long side).),
a division mode of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the encoding mode is seen as the division mode).),
Kim fails to explicitly teach an aspect ratio of the decoding target block or the number of samples of the decoding target block.
However, Lim explicitly teaches an aspect ratio of the decoding target block (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0420]- Lim discloses the weight may vary according to current block information, neighbor block information, a quantization parameter (QP), etc., and the current/neighbor block information may mean the width of the current/neighbor block, the height of the current/neighbor block, the size of the current/neighbor block, the depth of the current/neighbor block, the form (square/non-square) of the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the width to the height of the current/neighbor block, the location of the current/neighbor block sample, the prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the intra prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the intra prediction mode directionality of the current/neighbor block, the inter prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the inter prediction block to the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the intra prediction block to the current/neighbor block, the number of inter prediction blocks of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks having a non-directional prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks having a directional prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the weight of the neighbor block, etc. At least one of them may be used to give a weight (wherein the ratio between the width and height is seen as the aspect ratio).),
or the number of samples of the decoding target block (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0420]- Lim discloses the weight may vary according to current block information, neighbor block information, a quantization parameter (QP), etc., and the current/neighbor block information may mean the width of the current/neighbor block, the height of the current/neighbor block, the size of the current/neighbor block, the depth of the current/neighbor block, the form (square/non-square) of the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the width to the height of the current/neighbor block, the location of the current/neighbor block sample, the prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the intra prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the intra prediction mode directionality of the current/neighbor block, the inter prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the inter prediction block to the current/neighbor block, the ratio of the intra prediction block to the current/neighbor block, the number of inter prediction blocks of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks having a non-directional prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the number of intra prediction blocks having a directional prediction mode of the current/neighbor block, the weight of the neighbor block, etc. At least one of them may be used to give a weight. (wherein the number of inter prediction blocks of the current/neighbor block is seen as number of samples).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Lim an aspect ratio of the decoding target block or the number of samples of the decoding target block.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein an aspect ratio of the decoding target block or the number of samples of the decoding target block.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency, since both Kim and Lim are both systems that improve video coding efficiency. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Lim’s system provides a way to further improve coding efficiency. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Lim et al. (US 20220086486 A1) Paragraph [0025].
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 1, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter.
However, Lim explicitly teaches wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter (Fig. 1 Paragraph [0420]- Lim discloses at this time, the weight may vary according to current block information, neighbor block information, a quantization parameter (QP), etc.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Lim wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency, since both Kim and Lim are both systems that improve video coding efficiency. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Lim’s system provides a way to further improve coding efficiency. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Lim et al. (US 20220086486 A1) Paragraph [0025].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim in view of Ikai et al. (US 20130058417 A1) hereafter referenced as Ikai.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 5, Kim further teaches or resolution of the motion vector (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0171]- Kim discloses the decoder may determine whether to perform OBMC for each sub-block, and the weight and the length of filtering for the OBMC, based on at least one of a difference between motion information of the current block and the motion information of the neighboring block of the current block, motion resolution information of the current block, motion resolution information of the neighboring block of the current block, prediction direction information (e.g., L0 prediction, L1 prediction, and bidirectional prediction) of the current block, the horizontal length of the current block, the vertical length of the current block, the product of the horizontal and vertical lengths of the current block, and an encoding mode (e.g., a merge mode, an affine mode, an sbTMVP mode, etc.) of the current block (wherein the motion resolution information of the current block is seen as a motion vector resolution).),).
Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area.
However, Ikai explicitly teaches wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0330]- Ikai discloses the weighting factor setting means sets the values of the weighting factors w.sub.1 and w.sub.2 in accordance with |mv.sub.1| and |mv.sub.2| which are the sizes of the motion vectors mv.sub.1 and mv.sub.2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Ikai wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein the circuit selects the weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the systems prediction accuracy, since both Kim and Ikai are both systems that improve the video coding process. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Ikai’s system provides a way to further improve prediction accuracy allowing for reduced coding. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Ikai et al. (US 20130058417 A1) Paragraph [0014-15].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim in view of Wang et al. (US 20240364864 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the image decoding device of claim 5, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary (Fig. 14- Paragraph [0204]- Wang discloses if the weight derivation mode is 27, a corresponding angle index is 12 and a corresponding distance index is 3. Then, the template weight is determined according to the angle index, the distance index, and the size of the template.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Wang wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the systems coding efficiency, since both Kim and Wang are both systems that improve video coding efficiency. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Wang’s system provides a way to further improve coding efficiency. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Wang et al. (US 20240364864 A1) Paragraph [0127].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim in view of Pometun et al. (US 20140152767 A1) hereafter referenced as Pometun.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 5, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate.
However, Pometun explicitly teaches wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0046]- Pometun discloses according to an exemplary embodiment, the transformation coefficient selecting unit 410 may select a transformation coefficient according to information about a frame per second (FPS) of a device for reproducing the video signal data 440.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Pometun wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein the circuit specifies the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the systems coding performance, since both Kim and Pometun are both systems that perform video coding. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Pometun’s system provides a way to improve video compression. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Pometun et al. (US 20140152767 A1) Paragraph [0009].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim in view of Chuang et al. (US 20170223379 A1) hereafter referenced as Chuang.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the image decoding device according to claim 14, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
However, Chuang explicitly teaches wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0020]- Chuang discloses when one or more Merge candidates are not available (e.g. non-existing or non-Inter coded), additional candidates are inserted. Fig. 1, Paragraph [0097]- Chuang discloses exemplary non-zero vectors that can be used to add to the Merge candidate list as additional Merge candidates include (−W, 0), (−2W, 0), (0, −H), (0, −2H) and (−W, −H). The value W and H may refer to the width and height of the current prediction unit, or the width or height of the current coding unit (CU).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim of having an image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit: decodes control information and a quantized value; obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value with the teachings of Chuang wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
Wherein having Kim’s system for video decoding wherein in a case where the merge vector of each small area does not exist, the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a pattern which is set in advance, as the small area of the decoding target block.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the systems coding efficiency, since both Kim and Chuang are both systems that perform video coding. Wherein Kim’s system wherein improved the efficiency and quality of coding, while Chuang’s system provides a way to improve coding efficiency. Please see Kim et al. (US 20250039400 A1), Paragraph [0051-53] and Chuang et al. (US 20170223379 A1) Paragraph [0003-4].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20210409716 A1)- An image decoding method performed by a decoding device, according to the present document, comprises the steps of: receiving a bitstream including residual information of a current block; deriving a specific number of context-encoding bins for context syntax elements for a current sub-block of the current block; decoding the context syntax elements for the current sub-block included in the residual information on the basis of the specific number; deriving transform coefficients for the current sub-block on the basis of the decoded context syntax elements; deriving residual samples for the current block on the basis of the transform coefficients; and generating a reconstructed picture on the basis of the residual samples....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Srinivasan et al. (US 7263232 B2)- Techniques and tools for spatial extrapolation of pixel values in intraframe video encoding and/or decoding are described. For example, to predict the pixel values for a block of pixels, a video encoder or decoder uses spatial extrapolation from the pixel values of pixels in a causal neighborhood for the block of pixels.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Koo et al. (US 20210105477 A1)- Disclosed are an image encoding/decoding method and a device therefor. Specifically, an image encoding method may comprise the steps of: generating a quantized transform block by performing transform and quantization on a residual signal of a current block; splitting the quantized transform block into a plurality of coefficient groups; determining a first scan order representing the scan order among the coefficients of the coefficient groups; and entropy encoding the coefficients of the quantized transform block according to the first scan order, and a second scan order representing the scan order among the plurality of coefficient groups......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Zhang et al. (US 20210006788 A1)- Devices, systems and methods for digital video coding, which include geometric partitioning, are described. An exemplary method for video processing includes making a decision, based on a priority rule, regarding an order of insertion of motion candidates into a motion candidate list for a conversion between a current block of video and a bitstream representation of the video, wherein the current block is coded using a geometry partition mode; and performing, based on the decision and the motion candidate list, the conversion.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Reuze et al. (US 20210092392 A1)- A video decoder can be configured to determine, for a block of video data encoded in a geometric partition mode, an angle for the block for the geometric partition mode; determine a separation line displacement relative to a center of the block for the geometric partition mode; partition the block into first and second partitions based on the angle and the separation line displacement; determine first predictive samples for the block using a motion vector for the first partition and second predictive samples for the block using a motion vector for the second partition; determine a power-of-2 number based on the angle for the block; determine weighting values based on the power-of-2 number; perform a blending operation on the first predictive samples and the second predictive samples based on the weighting values to determine a prediction block for the block.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Mahdi et al. (US 20190045188 A1)- Techniques related to transform coefficient shaping for video encoding are discussed. Such techniques include applying weighting parameters from one or more perceptually-designed matrices of weighting parameters to blocks of transform coefficients to generate weighted transform coefficients and encoding the weighted transform coefficients into a bitstream. The process may be based on sets of perceptually designed matrices of weighting parameters. Classifier outputs may be used to select from the set of perceptually designed matrices a subset of matrices to work with. The latter may be used in a synthesis procedure to develop the final weighting matrix to be used is shaping the transform coefficients.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Ma et al. (US 20230080546 A1)- Disclosed are an inter prediction method, encoder/decoder, and storage medium. The method includes: determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block; when the parameter indicates that a GPM is used for determining an inter prediction value of the current block, determining an angle and a distance corresponding to a dividing line in the current block, setting an angle index value and a distance index value to index serial numbers corresponding to the angle and the distance in a preset mapping table respectively; determining a value of shifting direction indicator of the current block, which is used for indicating shifting directions of different dividing lines of the current block at the angle, by using a preset model based on size information and the angle index value of the current block; performing inter prediction on the current block based on the value of shifting direction indicator and the distance index value.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Choi et al. (US 20210344929 A1)- Video decoding includes obtaining intra prediction mode information for a current block; determining an intra prediction direction indicated by the intra prediction mode, and a shape of the current block; predicting the current block by intra predicting the current block; and reconstructing the current block, according to a prediction result with respect to the current block. The intra prediction direction of the current block is used and may include: when the current block has the square shape, determining the intra prediction direction of the current block in a prediction direction indicated by the intra prediction mode information; and when the current block has the non-square shape, determining the intra prediction direction of the current block based on a result of comparison between a reference prediction direction and the prediction direction, the reference prediction direction being determined according to a ratio of the width and the height of the current block.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673