DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/29/24 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 20210307442) in view of Bojarski et al. (US 11,857,378).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada teaches a helmet assembly (helmet 101, fig. 1, ¶96) securable to a reality device (head-up display device; ¶2, virtual image, ¶17, ¶37, ¶49, ¶95, ¶130, ¶142), the assembly comprising, an inner frame (liner 111, mouse cover 115, fig. 3-5, ¶97) securable to the reality device (HUD device 3, fig. 1-3); a visor (shield 107, fig. 3-5, ¶98) releasably securable to the inner frame (111/115, ¶99), the visor (107) to optically expose the reality device (HUD 3); and a hood (helmet body 105) connected to the visor (107) and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user (shown in fig. 11 and 12). Yamada does not specifically teach a surgical helmet assembly, mixed reality device, surgical hood and used in a surgical field. (Yamada only teaches a head-up display HUD and helmet). However, in a similar field of endeavor, Bojarski teaches a surgical helmet assembly (col. 1, lines 15-25, surgical helmet) securable to a mixed reality device(col. 19, lines 55-60, mixed reality environment), the assembly used in a surgical field and comprising a surgical hood (col. 1, lines 15-25, Aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems, devices and methods for performing a surgical step or surgical procedure with visual guidance using a head mounted display. Aspects of the present disclosure relate a protective cover for the surgical helmet or hood, a protective face shield, and/or a helmet for use during a surgical step or surgical procedure.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the assembly of Yamada with a surgical helmet assembly, mixed reality device, surgical hood and used in a surgical field of Bojarski, for the purpose of being configured to be worn on a head of a user under a cover of a surgical helmet that the display of the head mounted display is adjacent to a transparent portion of the cover (col. 1, 39-50).
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/100,252 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference ASN: 18/100,252 teaches all the elements of claim 16 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current application
ASN: 18/100,252
16. A surgical helmet assembly securable to a mixed reality device, the assembly comprising:
an inner frame securable to the mixed reality device;
a visor releasably securable to the inner frame, the visor to optically expose the mixed reality device to a surgical field; and
a surgical hood connected to the visor and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user.
11. A surgical helmet assembly securable to a mixed reality device, the assembly comprising:
an inner frame securable to the mixed reality device;
an outer frame releasably securable to the inner frame;
a visor releasably securable to the inner frame, at least a portion of a lens of the mixed reality device exposed through the visor and the outer frame; and
a surgical hood connected to the visor and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user and to enclose at least a portion of the mixed reality device.
17. A surgical helmet assembly securable to a mixed reality device, the assembly comprising:
an inner frame securable to the mixed reality device;
a visor releasably securable to the inner frame, at least a portion of a lens of the mixed reality device exposed through the visor and the inner frame; and
a surgical hood connected to the visor and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user and to enclose at least a portion of the mixed reality device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not disclose the claimed surgical helmet assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the inner frame includes an upper portion and a lower portion, the upper portion including a projection extending downward therefrom and insertable into a slot of the mixed reality device, the lower portion including a tab extending laterally inward and engageable with the mixed reality device to, together with the projection, secure the inner frame to the mixed reality device.”
Regarding claim 18, the prior art does not disclose the claimed surgical helmet assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed
“wherein the inner frame includes a fixed portion securable to the mixed reality device and includes a movable portion rotatably coupled to the fixed portion.”
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not disclose the claimed surgical helmet assembly specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed
“wherein the surgical hood defines a posterior opening to receive a rear portion of the mixed reality device at least partially therethrough to position the rear portion at least partially outside of the surgical helmet assembly.”
Specifically, with respect to claim 20, is objected to for the same reason as claim 19.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 would be improper.
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art Yamada et al. (US 20210307442) teaches a helmet assembly (helmet 101, fig. 1, ¶96) securable to a reality device (head-up display device; ¶2, virtual image, ¶17, ¶37, ¶49, ¶95, ¶130, ¶142), the assembly comprising, an inner frame (liner 111, mouse cover 115, fig. 3-5, ¶97) securable to the reality device (HUD device 3, fig. 1-3); a visor (shield 107, fig. 3-5, ¶98) releasably securable to the inner frame (111/115, ¶99), the visor (107) to optically expose the reality device (HUD 3); and a hood (helmet body 105) connected to the visor (107) and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user (shown in fig. 11 and 12).
However, regarding claim 1, the prior art Yamada et al. taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a helmet assembly securable to a mixed reality device, the assembly comprising: an inner frame securable to the mixed reality device; an outer frame releasably securable to the inner frame, the outer frame including a visor to optically expose the mixed reality device to a surgical field; and a surgical hood connected to the outer frame and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user, the surgical hood defining a posterior opening to receive a rear portion of the mixed reality device at least partially therethrough to position the rear portion at least partially outside of the surgical helmet assembly, in combination with all other claimed limitation of claim 1.
With respect to claims 2-15, these claims depend on claim 1 and are allowable at least for the reason stated supra.
Conclusion
/HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 01/24/26