DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “termination of preceding heating” to “termination of a preceding heating”, or an appropriate equivalent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMPOLINI et al. (US 2014/0270727).
With respect to claims 1, 16 and 17¸ AMPOLINI et al. discloses an electronic smoking device (Abstract; Paragraph [0002]), and control method (Title; Paragraph [0063], [0076]-[0080]) comprising a power supply for supplying electric power (Paragraphs [0028], [0029]; Figure 2); a heater configured to heat an aerosol precursor (e.g., substrate including an aerosol source) by using the electric power supplied from the power supply (Paragraphs [0063]-[0065]); a controller/processor that determines the amount of power supplied to the heater (Paragraphs [0073], [0077], [0116], [0133]) using a sense arrangement (e.g., sensor) (Paragraph [0071]); an electrical load (e.g., passing through 380, 400 and 575 (Paragraphs [0069]-[0073]; Figure 2 ). The device further comprises circuitry (Paragraphs [0079]; Figure 1) configured to control, based on a heating setting defining time-based segments (e.g., time-series transition of a target temperature) for transitioning of a temperature of the heater to a target temperature so that the temperature of the heater changes in accordance with the target temperature and up to a predetermined target setting (Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]; Figure 9).
AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the power levels for each segment is adjusted and controlled. The temperature of the heater corresponds to the power levels (Paragraphs [0067], [0069] and [0093]). Thus, the temperature is controlled according to the control of the power levels. The highest temperature reached (Figure 9) represent the target vale for the generation of aerosol.
The temperature is raised from an initial temperature at the start of heating and incrementally increases the temperature over rise periods (Figure 9).
AMPOLINI et al. further discloses performing, in accordance with the start of supplying of power, a correction process of correcting the measured value (Paragraphs [0007], [0064], [0068], [0069], [0073], [0074], [0077]; Figure 4).
AMPOLINI et al. further discloses that the controller is configured to control each duration (e.g., length of temperature rise period) which may be the same duration or different (Paragraphs [0037], [0068], [0106]-[0113]). Given a starting temperature of an unused device, the initial temperature is room temperature and the duration of the starting heating transition, is based on this initial temperature (Paragraph [0113]).
With respect to claim 2, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the temperature rise period includes a first period having a length that is variable (Paragraph [0114]) and the second duration includes fixed durations (Paragraphs [0113], [0114] and [0106]).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the user may program the durations of each transition (Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]). Thus, the controller is configured to shorten the first period as the initial temperature increases and lengthen the first period as the initial temperature decreases, merely by having the user program the duration based on the ambient initial startup temperature of the heater.
With respect to claim 5, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the power levels for each segment is adjusted and controlled. The temperature of the heater corresponds to the power levels (Paragraphs [0067], [0069] and [0093]). Thus, the temperature is controlled according to the control of the power levels. The highest temperature reached (Figure 9) represent the target vale for the generation of aerosol.
The temperature is raised from an initial temperature at the start of heating and incrementally increases the temperature over rise periods (Figure 9).
Thus, the controller is configured to switch to the second period in response to reaching the target predetermined temperature of the first period, and whose length is determined by programming (Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]).
With respect to claims 6 and 7¸ AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the power on-off determinations are continuously made in order to make a determination of the heating time period expires or ceases (Paragraph [0103]). The controller can automatically compensate for battery decay and adjust the heating time period to achieve a desired power delivery. Thus, the controller is capable of extending the first time period in response to the desired temperature, even as the power source depletes.
With respect to claim 8, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the controller is configured to terminate power to the heater (Paragraph [0130]) after the first period if the controller detects faults in the battery, such as no power flowing to the heater (Paragraphs [0074-[0075]). By having no power to the heater, the temperature necessarily doesn’t reach the predetermined temperature.
With respect to claim 9, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the controller continuously monitors the heating element and its power level. Upon detection of slight variations, the controller adjust the power for the time period (Paragraph [0074]). Once the set temperature is reached for each time period, the subsequent time period begins (Paragraphs [0108]-[0114]). Thus, the controller is capable of determining if the heater reached the desired temperature earlier than expected due to slight variations of the heating rate, and then begin the next phase of the heating profile earlier than expected.
With respect to claim 12¸ AMPOLINI et al. The device further comprises circuitry (Paragraphs [0079]; Figure 1) configured to control, based on a heating setting defining time-based segments (e.g., time-series transition of a target temperature) for transitioning of a temperature of the heater to a target temperature so that the temperature of the heater changes in accordance with the target temperature and up to a predetermined target setting (Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]; Figure 9).
AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the power levels for each segment is adjusted and controlled. The temperature of the heater corresponds to the power levels (Paragraphs [0067], [0069] and [0093]). Thus, the temperature is controlled according to the control of the power levels. The highest temperature reached (Figure 9) represent the target vale for the generation of aerosol.
As seen in the 4-segment puff profile, there is an initial temperature rise duration, and then a final temperature rise duration (e.g., holding temperature).
With respect to claim 13, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the temperature rise period is from the start of heating by an activation signal, before a puff (Paragraphs [0067], [0088], [0090]).
With respect to claim 14, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the controller continuously monitors the heating element and its power level. Upon detection of slight variations, the controller adjust the power for the time period (Paragraph [0074]). Once the set temperature is reached for each time period, the subsequent time period begins (Paragraphs [0108]-[0114]). Thus, the controller is capable of determining if the heater reached the desired temperature earlier than expected due to slight variations of the heating rate, and then begin the next phase of the heating profile earlier than expected.
With respect to claim 15¸ AMPOLINI et al. discloses that in the event of a less than full power down time has elapsed, the inhaler is capable of an immediate restart (Paragraph [0130]) and in the event of a power down by not puffing for a duration (Paragraph [0130]), and even changing the cartridge, initiate a longer duration for the first time segment (Paragraphs [0108-[0114]). Thus, the controller is capable of determining the duration between subsequent puffs, and based on the duration, adjust the length of the first duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
____________________________________________________
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMPOLINI et al. (US 2014/0270727) in view of MONSEES et al. (US 2014/0366898).
With respect to claim 10, AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the inhaler can comprise one or more reservoirs (Paragraphs [0044], [0052]), but does explicitly disclose a plurality of heaters.
MONSEES et al. discloses an electric vaporization device (Abstract) having a first heating element, a first compartment for containment of a first vaporizable material, and a second compartment for containment of a second vaporizable material, and then generates an aerosol for inhalation by heating the two vaporizable materials (Abstract; Paragraphs [0002]-[0005]). The device comprises circuitry that controls the activation of each heater element, and thus control the timing, delivery, contents and amount of the aerosol delivered to the user (Paragraphs [0084], [0106], [0092]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of series-aligned cartridges, each having a respective heater, in the device of AMPOLINI et al., as taught by MONSEES et al. so that the controller can individually control the heater to provide the user with the desired amounts of each vapor in each puff.
It is further noted that the cartridges and their respective vaporizable material have different properties and require different heating temperatures (Paragraphs [0034], [0063]-[0070]), including different heating durations, and heating frequency (Paragraph [0070]. Thus, when the teachings of MONSEES et al. are considered with AMPOLINI et al., the scope of the teachings include a heating setting defining time-based segments (e.g., time-series transition of a target temperature) for transitioning of a temperature of the heater to a target temperature so that the temperature of the heater changes in accordance with the target temperature and up to a predetermined target setting (AMPOLINI et al.; Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]; Figure 9). And as noted in AMPOLINI et al. (Paragraphs [0066]-0068]), the temperature that is reached is set to the volatilization point of the specific aerosol generating material. Thus, each heater would have its own temperature profile (Figure 9 of AMPOLINI et al.) and given that each provide is capable of being automatically adjusted to account for fluctuations in the heating (Paragraphs [0074] and [0103] of AMPOLINI et al.) the scope of the combined teachings also include different first and subsequent heating segment durations.
With respect to claim 11, MONSEES et al. discloses that the first and second cartridges are series aligned (Paragraph [0021]; Figures 1 and 2). AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the user may program the durations of each transition (Paragraphs [0106]-[0114]). Thus, the controller is capable of making the first period in the temperature setting for the heater disposed on an upstream side longer than the first period in the temperature setting for the heater on a downstream side. Either by appropriate programming, or by placing the cartridge requiring a longer first period as the upstream cartridge. In addition, it would have been obvious to do so, so that the aerosol requiring a greater time to reach its volatilization temperature can do so. This would ensure that the puff the user experiences would have the appropriate mix of vapors. It is also noted that there are only three possible permutations for the relative first durations between the two cartridges; the first being the upstream first duration is longer, the second being the downstream first duration is longer and the last being each cartridge has the same duration. Thus, with a limited number of available options to choose from, it would have been obvious to try having the first duration of the upstream portion longer than that of the downstream portion. MPEP 2143, E.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745