Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 includes the limitation, “the sheet has a moisture content of 3% to 5% by mass. This fails to further limit claim 1, which includes the limitation, “the sheet has a moisture content of more than 5% by mass and 7.5% by mass or less”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deforel et al. (US 20210329964).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, Deforel et al. discloses a tobacco sheet, a aerosol generating article (inhalator), and a system that uses the article and a heater (see Abstract and [0002]. The sheet is made from purposely ground tobacco material having a defined particle size distribution, including a D90 of between 20 microns to up to 300 microns [0019],[0020]. This anticipates the range disclose of range of a D90 of 200 micrometers or more. Deforel et al. also disclose using humectants (i.e. aerosol-generating agents) including glycerine [0127] and disclose that the moisture content should be between 5 and 15 %. The range is considered to be sufficiently specific because the prior art range overlaps the entire claimed range (5-7.5%) and there is no disclosure of critical or unexpected results disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deforel et al. (US 20210329964) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 108420124 A)
Deforel et al. disclose that a variety of compounds can be used as humectants including glycerine and polyols [0127], but do not expressly disclose using propylene glycol and glycerol (i.e. glycerine).
However, Chen et al. disclose a similar tobacco sheet and aerosol-generating article (i.e. low temperature cigarette) and disclose that the tobacco powder combined with, “…one or a mixture of glycerin and propylene glycol.” [0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the mixture of propylene glycol and glycerol. One of ordinary skill would expect the combination to perform predictably because Deforel et al. provide motivation for using other materials including polyols (propylene glycol is a polyol) alone and in combination with glycerine.
Double Patenting
Claims, 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18493519 (reference application), in view of Doforel et al. (see rejection above, in particular the moisture content).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Please note, there are at least 20 applications related to the instant application. Double patenting can arise during prosecution and, due the large number of related applications, the office may not be aware of all possible double patenting relationships between them.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747