DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallesasse (US Patent No. 7,941,053) in view of Kasai et al (Pub. No.: US 2016/0149643) OR Aronson (US Patent No. 7,532,820).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Figures 2 and 3, Dallesasse teaches
an optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 100, Figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (i.e., a printed circuit board comprises transmit board 108, receive board 110, and PCS/PMA board 112, Figs. 2 and 3) with an edge (i.e., edge 113, Figs. 2 and 3);
one or more first components (i.e., processing component 506 and laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with a transmitter (i.e., transmitter 502, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3), the one or more first components including a linear driver component (i.e., laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) and a processing component (i.e., processing component 506, Figs. 2 and 3);
one or more second components (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 514, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with a receiver (i.e., receiver 503, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3), the one or more second components including a linear transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 514, Figs. 2 and 3);
electrical contacts (i.e., electrical contacts 113, Figs. 2 and 3) arranged at the edge of the PCB;
first electrical traces (i.e., first electrical traces, Figs. 2 and 3), connected between the one or more first components (i.e., processing component 506 and laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) and the electrical contacts; and
second electrical traces (i.e., second electrical traces, Figs 2 and 3), connected between the one or more second components (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 514, Figs. 2 and 3) and the electrical contacts (i.e., Figures 2 and 3, col. 7, lines 11-67, col. 8, lines 1-67, col. 9, lines 1-21, and col. 10, lines 5-10).
Dallesasse differs from claim 1 in that he fails to specifically teach the one or more first components are closer to the electrical contacts than the one or more second components. However, Kasai et al in Pub. No.: US 2016/0149643 teaches the one or more first components (i.e., driver component 34, Fig. 1) are closer to the electrical contacts (i.e., connector 31, Fig. 1) than the one or more second components (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 13, Fig. 1)(i.e., Figure 1, page 1, paragraphs [0015]-[0016], page 2, paragraphs [0017]-[0024]). OR, Aronson et al in US Patent No. 7,147,387 teaches the one or more first components (i.e., TX CDR 1002 and laser driver 1003, Fig. 5A) are closer to the electrical contacts than the one or more second components (i.e., EDC 1006 component, Fig. 5A)(i.e., Figure 5A, col. 7, lines 30-67, col. 8, lines 1-64). Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the one or more first components are closer to the electrical contacts than the one or more second components as taught by Kasai et al OR Aronson et al in the system of Dallesasse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since allowing simplifying the circuitry, reducing the power consumption, and improving the performance of the system.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein: the one or more second components (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 13, Fig. 1 of Kasai et al) associated with the receiver (i.e., receiver 10, Fig. 1 of Kasai et al) functionality are disassociated from any processing component.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein: the linear driver component (i.e., driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3 of Dallesasse, and Fig. 1 of Kasai et al) and the linear TIA component (i.e., TIA 514, Figs. 2 and 3 of Dallesasse, and Fig. 1 of Kasai et al ) are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein: the linear driver component and the processing component (i.e., processing component 506 and laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3 of Dallesasse, and Fig. 5A of Aronson et al) comprise an integrated component of the one or more first components.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein: the integrated component and the linear TIA component (i.e., transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component 514, Figs. 2 and 3 of Dallesasse, and Fig. 1 of Kasai et al) are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein: the first electrical traces connect the integrated component and the electrical contacts of the PCB, and the second electrical traces connect the linear TIA component and the electrical contacts of the PCB (i.e., Figs. 2 and 3 of Dallesasse, and Fig. 1 of Kasai et al).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Dallesasse and Kasai et al OR Aronson et al teaches wherein the optical transceiver supports a data rate of
at least 100 gigabits per second (i.e., Fig. 1 of Kasai et al, page 1, paragraph [0015]).
Claims 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallesasse (US Patent No. 7,941,053) in view of Aronson (US Patent No. 7,532,820).
Regarding claim 17, referring to Figures 2 and 3, Dallesasse teaches
an optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 100, Figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (i.e., a printed circuit board comprises transmit board 108, receive board 110, and PCS/PMA board 112, Figs. 2 and 3) with an edge (i.e., edge 113, Figs. 2 and 3);
a light emission component (i.e., laser 510, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with a transmitter (i.e., transmitter 502, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3);
one or more first components (i.e., processing component 506 and laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with a transmitter (i.e., transmitter 502, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3), the one or more first components including a linear driver component (i.e., laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) and a processing component (i.e., processing component 506, Figs. 2 and 3);
a light reception component (i.e., photodetector 513, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with a receiver (i.e., receiver 503, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3);
a linear transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component (i.e., TIA 514, Figs. 2 and 3) associated with the receiver (i.e., receiver 503, Figs. 2 and 3) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 500, Figs. 2 and 3); and
electrical contacts (i.e., electrical contacts 113, Figs. 2 and 3) arranged at the edge of the PCB;
the one or more first components (i.e., processing component 506 and laser driver 509, Figs. 2 and 3) and the linear TIA component (i.e., TIA 514, Figs. 2 and 3) are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB (i.e., Figures 2 and 3, col. 7, lines 11-67, col. 8, lines 1-67, col. 9, lines 1-21, and col. 10, lines 5-10).
Dallesasse differs from claim 17 in that he fails to specifically teach
an integrated component associated with the transmitter functionality of the optical transceiver that includes a linear driver component and a processing component, the integrated component and the linear TIA component are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB, and the receiver functionality of the optical transceiver is not associated with the processing component. However, Aronson et al in US Patent No. 7,147,387 teaches an integrated component (i.e., Fig. 5A) associated with the transmitter (i.e., transmitter 1004, Fig. 5A) functionality of the optical transceiver (i.e., optical transceiver 1000, Fig. 5A) that includes a linear driver component (i.e., driver 1003, Fig. 5A) and a processing component (i.e., TX CDR 1002, Fig. 5A) , the integrated component and the linear TIA component are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB, and the receiver (i.e., receiver ROSA 1005, Fig. 5A) functionality of the optical transceiver is not associated with the processing component (i.e., Figure 5A, col. 7, lines 30-67, col. 8, lines 1-64). Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the integrated component associated with the transmitter functionality of the optical transceiver that includes a linear driver component and a processing component, the integrated component and the linear TIA component are disposed on a surface of the PCB in a side-by-side configuration along a width of the surface of the PCB, and the receiver functionality of the optical transceiver is not associated with the processing component as taught by Aronson et al in the system of Dallesasse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since allowing simplifying the circuitry, reducing the power consumption, and improving the performance of the system.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dallesasse and Aronson et al teaches wherein: first electrical traces directly connect the integrated component and the electrical contacts of the PCB, and second electrical traces directly connect the linear TIA component and the electrical contacts of the PCB (i.e., Figs. 2 and 3 of Dalesasse, and Fig. 5A of Aronson et al).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dallesasse and Aronson et al teaches wherein: the integrated component is closer to the edge of the PCB than the linear TIA component (i.e., Figs. 2 and 3 of Dalesasse, and Fig. 5A of Aronson et al).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 12-16 are allowable because Dallesasse (US Patent No. 7,941,053),
Kasai et al (Pub. No.: US 2016/0149643), and Aronson (US Patent No. 7,532,820), takes alone or in combination, fails to teach a printed circuit board (PCB) with an edge, a first surface and a second surface, the first surface opposite the second surface; electrical contacts arranged on the first surface and the second surface at the edge of the PCB; the processing component disposed on the first surface of the PCB; the light reception component disposed on the second surface of the PCB; a linear transimpedance amplifier (TIA) component associated with the receiver functionality of the optical transceiver, the linear TIA disposed on the second surface of the PCB; first electrical traces routed on the first surface of the PCB and connecting the processing component and the electrical contacts; and
second electrical traces routed on the second surface of the PCB and connecting the linear TIA component and the electrical contacts, wherein: the receiver functionality of the optical transceiver is not associated with the processing component.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (Pub. No.: US 2008/0107423) discloses optical transceiver and method of controlling optical output jitter using the same.
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hanh Phan whose telephone number is (571)272-3035. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner's supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye, can be reached on (571)272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703)305-4700.
/HANH PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634