DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0058174).
Regarding Claims 18-19, 21, 23-24: Fukushima et al. teaches a refrigerant comprising HFC-32 (R32) and HFO-1132(E) each in 50 wt% ([0003] and Table 2). Fukushima et al. teaches the HFC-32 may be present in 1-99 wt% ([0035]-[0036]).
Fukushima et al. does not teach an embodiment wherein the HFC-32 is present in 62 wt% (point D). However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claims 20 and 22: Fukushima et al. teaches the composition may further comprise difluoroethane (R152a) ([0033] and [0035]).
Fukushima et al. does not teach a specific embodiment comprising each of HFC-32 (R32), HFO-1132(E) and R152a in the claimed amounts. However, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include each component in the claimed amounts with a reasonable expectation of success as Fukushima et al. teaches that the hydrofluorocarbon (HFC) can be present in combination of two or more. Furthermore, Fukushima et al. teaches an embodiment wherein R152a is present in 50 wt% (Table 2) and that the HFCs can be present in 1-99 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 25: Fukushima et al. teaches the composition may further comprise HFO-1123 ([0041]).
Regarding Claims 26 and 27: Fukushima et al. teaches employing the composition in a refrigerating apparatus ([0012], [0015]-[0016], and [0165]).
Regarding Claims 28 and 31: A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claims 29 and 30: Fukushima et al. teaches employing the composition in an air conditioner of an automobile ([0012], [0015]-[0016], [0165] and [0198]).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 September 29, 2026