Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1, 3-5) in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7, 8, 10-12, and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse as noted above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gindrat (US 9,930,910 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Gindrat discloses a homogenized tobacco sheet for a heated smoking article, containing 70% or more tobacco (claim 6), 5-30% aerosol-former content (abstract) and has a plurality of spaced-apart ridges or corrugations (col 11, 29-43). The sheet is disclosed as being dried to a moisture content between 5 and 12 %. The moisture range is considered to be sufficiently specific because the prior art range overlaps the entire claimed range (5-7.5%) and there is no disclosure of critical or unexpected results disclosed.
Gindrat also teaches that the tobacco raw material can be tobacco dust (i.e. inherently dry, see col. 6, 50-58).
Regarding claim 4, Gindrat disclose the range of 5-30% aerosol-forming material. This range significantly and specifically overlaps the claimed range of less than 20%. The range is considered to be sufficiently specific because the prior art range 5-30% overlaps the claimed range (0-20%) and there is no disclosure of critical or unexpected results disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gindrat (US 9,930,910 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zuber et al. (US 20140305448 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gindrat does not disclose less than 20% aerosol generating material. Zuber et al., like Gindrat, disclose a range of 5-30% aerosol generating, however, Zuber et al. further disclose using that it is preferred to use 20% aerosol generating material [0082]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use 20% as disclosed by Zuber et al. in the range of 5-30% disclosed by both Gindrat and Zuber et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Gindrat discloses that aerosol forming materials include polyhydric alcohols and glycerine, but does not expressly disclose a combination of glycerine and propylene glycol. However, Zuber et al. disclose that, “Preferred aerosol formers are polyhydric alcohols or mixtures thereof, such as propylene glycol, triethylene glycol, 1,3-butanediol and, most preferred, glycerine.” [0078]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use propylene glycol and glycerine as the aerosol forming material in the invention of Gindrat because they are well-known and preferred aerosol formers in the homogenized tobacco of Zuber et al.
Double Patenting
Claims, 1 and 2-5, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 18493162 (reference application),
claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18493525 (reference application),
claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18493162 (reference application),
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The above reference all claim a tobacco sheet with aerosol former and corrugations that are made obvious in light of the instant application and the disclosure of Gindrat of moisture content.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Please note, there are at least 20 applications related to the instant application. Double patenting can arise during prosecution and, due the large number of related applications, the office may not be aware of all possible double patenting relationships between them.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747