DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-11 are pending and are subject to this office action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 3-6 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “a tobacco sheet” whereas claims 3-4, 6, 9-11 recites “the sheet” and claim 5 recites, “the dry tobacco sheet.” The preamble for all claims should use the same term for the sheet.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frobisher (US 20200178591 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frobisher discloses a laminate (10, i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprises a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring the tobacco sheet is for a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses the laminate (10) may be used in a smoking article (20). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a tobacco sheet and is limited to the positively recited elements of the tobacco sheet. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the laminate (10) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of being used in a smoking article (20) that is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Regarding claim 3, Frobisher discloses the humectant is glycerol and propylene glycol (claim 6, [0008, 0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046), comprising a laminate (10 i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), the laminate (10), comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprising a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, Fig. 2). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a flavor inhalator and is limited to the positively recited elements of the flavor inhalator. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the smoking article (20) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Regarding claim 9, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046), comprising a laminate (10 i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), the laminate (10), comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprising a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant comprising glycerol and propylene glycol (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, Fig. 2). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a flavor inhalator and is limited to the positively recited elements of the flavor inhalator. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the smoking article (20) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Claims 4-5, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frobisher (US 20200178591 A1) in view of Ibrahim (US 20180360099 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Frobisher discloses the tobacco layer (14) in the laminate (10, “sheet”) may comprise a humectant of glycerol and propylene glycol ([0008, 0032]).
Frobisher is silent to the amount of humectant in the sheet.
However, Ibrahim, directed to a tobacco composition (abstract), discloses:
A tobacco composition containing an aerosol generating agent comprising 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol ([0030-0032]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Frobisher by including 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol for the humectant as taught by Ibrahim because both Frobisher and Ibrahim are directed to tobacco compositions for smoking, Frobisher discloses a tobacco layer comprising glycerol and propylene glycol but is silent to the amount used, Ibrahmim discloses a similar tobacco composition comprising known amount of glycerol and propylene glycol, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar tobacco compositions for suitable ranges of humectant amount, and this involves applying a known amount of humectant to a similar tobacco composition to yield predictable results.
Frobisher discloses a laminate (10) comprising a support sheet (12) and tobacco layer (14, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]. Frobisher is silent to the inclusion of humectant in the support sheet (12) and therefore the support sheet (12) is considered to be free of humectant. Frobisher, in view of Ibrahim, does not explicitly disclose the amount of humectant in the overall laminate/sheet. However, the tobacco layer (14) of the laminate (10) comprising by 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol and the support sheet (12) comprising no humectant would result in the total humectant in the overall laminate (10) being in a range that overlaps with the range of less than 20 wt% of the laminate (10) and is therefore is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Frobisher discloses the humectant is glycerol and propylene glycol (claim 6, [0008, 0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046), comprising a laminate (10 i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), the laminate (10), comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprising a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, Fig. 2). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a flavor inhalator and is limited to the positively recited elements of the flavor inhalator. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the smoking article (20) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Frobisher is silent to the amount of humectant in the sheet.
However, Ibrahim, directed to a tobacco composition (abstract), discloses:
A tobacco composition containing an aerosol generating agent comprising 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol ([0030-0032]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Frobisher by including 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol for the humectant as taught by Ibrahim because both Frobisher and Ibrahim are directed to tobacco compositions for smoking, Frobisher discloses a tobacco layer comprising glycerol and propylene glycol but is silent to the amount used, Ibrahmim discloses a similar tobacco composition comprising known amount of glycerol and propylene glycol, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar tobacco compositions for suitable ranges of humectant amount, and this involves applying a known amount of humectant to a similar tobacco composition to yield predictable results.
Frobisher discloses a laminate (10) comprising a support sheet (12) and tobacco layer (14, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]. Frobisher is silent to the inclusion of humectant in the support sheet (12) and therefore the support sheet (12) is considered to be free of humectant. Frobisher, in view of Ibrahim, does not explicitly disclose the amount of humectant in the overall laminate/sheet. However, the tobacco layer (14) of the laminate (10) comprising by 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol and the support sheet (12) comprising no humectant would result in the total humectant in the overall laminate (10) being in a range that overlaps with the range of less than 20 wt% of the laminate (10) and is therefore is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046), comprising a laminate (10 i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), the laminate (10), comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprising a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant comprising glycerol and propylene glycol (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, Fig. 2). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a flavor inhalator and is limited to the positively recited elements of the flavor inhalator. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the smoking article (20) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Frobisher is silent to the amount of humectant in the sheet.
However, Ibrahim, directed to a tobacco composition (abstract), discloses:
A tobacco composition containing an aerosol generating agent comprising 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol ([0030-0032]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Frobisher by including 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol for the humectant as taught by Ibrahim because both Frobisher and Ibrahim are directed to tobacco compositions for smoking, Frobisher discloses a tobacco layer comprising glycerol and propylene glycol but is silent to the amount used, Ibrahmim discloses a similar tobacco composition comprising known amount of glycerol and propylene glycol, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar tobacco compositions for suitable ranges of humectant amount, and this involves applying a known amount of humectant to a similar tobacco composition to yield predictable results.
Frobisher discloses a laminate (10) comprising a support sheet (12) and tobacco layer (14, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]. Frobisher is silent to the inclusion of humectant in the support sheet (12) and therefore the support sheet (12) is considered to be free of humectant. Frobisher, in view of Ibrahim, does not explicitly disclose the amount of humectant in the overall laminate/sheet. However, the tobacco layer (14) of the laminate (10) comprising by 10-20 wt% glycerol and 0.1-0.3 wt% propylene glycol and the support sheet (12) comprising no humectant would result in the total humectant in the overall laminate (10) being in a range that overlaps with the range of less than 20 wt% of the laminate (10) and is therefore is considered prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20230329342 A1) in view of Frobisher (US 20200178591 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses a vapor generation device (Fig. 1, [0044]), comprising
An aerosol forming article (A) and a tubular heater (30) for receiving and heating the aerosol forming article (A, Fig. 4, [0044, 0056]).
The vapor generation device is configured to heat but not burn the aerosol forming article ([0041]) and therefore is considered a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation system.
Lu does not explicitly disclose the aerosol forming article comprises a tobacco sheet comprising a fibrous material, aerosol forming agent, and dry tobacco.
However, Frobisher directed to a smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046), discloses:
A smoking article (20, “non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator”, Fig. 2, [0045-0046) comprising a laminate (10 i.e. a sheet, Fig. 1, [0044-0046]), the laminate (10) comprising:
A layer of tobacco material (14) having a water content (i.e. moisture content) of 5 to 20 wt% ([0030,0046]). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The layer of tobacco material (14) comprising a fibrous material ([0014, 0028]) and a humectant (“aerosol generating agent”, [0008, 0032]).
In regards to the limitation requiring a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator, Frobisher discloses a smoking article (20, Fig. 2). The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a flavor inhalator and is limited to the positively recited elements of the flavor inhalator. The limitation, “a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalator” is claimed as intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the smoking article (20) disclosed by Frobisher is capable of generating an aerosol when heated without combustion.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify by Lu by substituting the smoking article with the smoking article disclosed by Frobisher, because both Lu and Frobisher are directed to smoking apparatuses, Lu discloses a smoking article used with a vaporization device but is silent to the contents of the smoking article, Frobisher discloses a known smoking article comprising dry tobacco, a fibrous material and aerosol generating agent, and this involves substituting one known smoking article for another to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-7, and 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/591,757. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The co-pending claims and rejected claims differ in that claim 1 of the co-pending claims additionally requires that a cross section of the tobacco sheet in a thickness direction has a corrugated shape.
Therefore, all of the elements of provisionally rejected 1, 3-7, and 9-11 are present and obvious over conflicting 1, 3-7, and 10-12 of co-pending Application No. 18/591,757.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755