DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US Publication 2023/0379760 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee (Guandong OPPO Mobile Telecommunications Corp. LTD.) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claims 1, 12 and 20 Huang (US Publication 2023/0379760 A1) A wireless communication method, comprising: sending, by a first device, a first aggregate medium access control protocol data unit (A-MPDU) to a second device, wherein the first A-MPDU comprises modulation and coding scheme feedback (MFB) information of at least one link (see paragraph 97; A-MPDU include a MFB request); wherein the first A-MPDU comprises a first frame; the first frame comprises a first extremely high throughput link adaptation control field (ELA control field) (see paragraph 98; each of the one or more data frames carried in the A-MPDU of the first PPDU may include a LA Control subfield which includes a MCS feedback (MFB) request in an HT Control field of its MAC header. The LA Control subfields in all of the one or more data frames carried in the A-MPDU are the same. In this embodiment, the LA Control subfield may be an HLA Control subfield or an ELA Control subfield); the first ELA control field is configured to indicate single-link MFB information (see paragraph 14; he ELA Control subfield may at least include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) request (MRQ) sequence identifier (MSI) subfield which is set to include a sequence number in a range of 0 to 6 to identify a specific link adaptation feedback request); wherein the first ELA control field comprises an unsolicited MFB field and a modulation and coding scheme (MSC) request (MRQ)/uplink extremely high throughput trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit modulation and coding scheme feedback (UL EHT TB PPDU MFB) field (see figure 6D and paragraph 110; FIG. 6D is a block diagram illustrating a format of the MFB Control subfield in the MFB subfield in FIG. 6C. As illustrated in FIG. 6D, the MFB Control subfield may include an Unsolicited MFB subfield, a MSI subfield and an uplink (UL) EHT TB PPDU MFB subfield. The Unsolicited MFB subfield is set to indicate whether the link adaptation feedback is an unsolicited MFB or a solicited MFB. For example, the Unsolicited MFB subfield may be set to 1 to indicate the unsolicited MFB and set to 0 to indicate the solicited MFB); wherein the MRQ/UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is interpreted as an MRQ field or an UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field (see paragraph 110; When the Unsolicited MFB subfield is set to 1, the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB subfield is set to indicate whether the recommended transmission parameters indicated in the Recommended Parameters subfield are applied for transmission of an EHT TB PPDU from STA2; thus the interpretation as an UL EHT TB PPDU MFB subfield is implicit).
In regards to claims 2 and 13, Huang teaches, wherein the unsolicited MFB field is configured to indicate that a feedback type of the MFB information is an unsolicited MFB or a solicited MFB (see paragraph 110; When the Unsolicited MFB subfield is set to 0, the MSI subfield may include a sequence number in the range 0 to 6 that is set to identify a specific solicited MFB request. When the Unsolicited MFB subfield is set to 1, the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB subfield is set to indicate whether the recommended transmission parameters indicated in the Recommended Parameters subfield are applied for transmission of an EHT TB PPDU from STA2).
In regards to claims 3 and 14, Huang teaches, wherein, in a case where the unsolicited MFB field indicates that the feedback type of the MFB information is the unsolicited MFB, the MRQ/UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field (see paragraph 110; When the Unsolicited MFB subfield is set to 1, the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB subfield is set to indicate whether the recommended transmission parameters indicated in the Recommended Parameters subfield are applied for transmission of an EHT TB PPDU from STA2).
In regards to claims 4 and 15, Huang teaches, wherein, in a case where the unsolicited MFB field indicates that the feedback type of the MFB information is the solicited MFB, the MRQ/UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is the MRQ field (see paragraph 100; the unsolicited MFB subfield in the EHT type of HLA Control subfield shall be set to 0 and the MRQ subfield shall be set to 1, as illustrated in FIG. 3C; see figure 3D and paragraph 101; the unsolicited MFB subfield in the EHT type of HLA Control subfield is set to 0 and the MRQ subfield is set to 1, as illustrated in FIG. 3D. In some examples, as the EHT type of HLA Control subfield is only used for transmission with a MFB request, the unsolicited MFB subfield in the EHT type of HLA Control subfield is set to 1 and the MRQ subfield is set to 0).
In regards to claims 5 and 16, Huang teaches, wherein, the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is set to have a value of 1 to indicate that a number of spatial streams (NSS) field, an MCS field, a bandwidth (BW) field, and a resource unit (RU) allocation field in the first ELA control field is recommended MFB information for PPDUs that will be sent by the first device (see figure 6F and paragraph 112; FIG. 6F is a block diagram illustrating a format of the Recommended Parameters subfield in the MFB subfield in FIG. 6C. As illustrated in FIG. 6F, the Recommended Parameters subfield may include a RU Allocation subfield, a BW subfield, a Coding Type subfield, an EHT-MCS subfield and a number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield).
In regards to claims 6 and 17, Huang teaches, wherein, the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is set to have a value of 0 to indicate that an NSS field, an MCS field, a bandwidth (BW) field, and a resource unit (RU) allocation field in the first ELA control field is recommended MFB information for PPDUs that will be sent to the first device (see paragraph 112; When the Unsolicited MFB subfield of the MFB Control subfield is set to 0 to indicate the solicited MFB, the RU Allocation subfield and the BW subfield are reserved. The Coding Type subfield is set to indicate the coding type for which the recommended EHT-MCS applies to the PPDU. The EHT-MCS subfield is set to indicate the recommended EHT-MCS for the PPDU. The NSS subfield is set to indicate the recommended number of spatial streams for the PPDU).
In regards to claims 7 and 18, Huang teaches, wherein the MFB information of the at least one link comprises at least one of the following: MCS, the number of spatial streams (NSS), a bandwidth, resource unit (RU) allocation information (see paragraph 112; As illustrated in FIG. 6F, the Recommended Parameters subfield may include a RU Allocation subfield, a BW subfield, a Coding Type subfield, an EHT-MCS subfield and a number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield), partial physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) parameters, and transmission beam-forming (Tx Beam-forming).
In regards to claims 8 and 19, Huang teaches, wherein an BW field in the first ELA control field is designed to be 3 bits to support a maximum bandwidth 320 MHz (see paragraph 3; extend the maximum BW support to 320 MHz).
In regards to claim 9, Huang teaches, wherein the unsolicited MFB field is at a first position of a control information field of the first ELA control field (see figures 6C and 6D; the first position in figure 6D is the unsolicited MFB).
In regards to claim 10, Huang teaches, wherein the MRQ/UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is right behind the unsolicited MFB field in the control information field of the first ELA control field (see figure 6D, the location of the UL EHT TB PPDU MFB).
In regards to claim 11, Huang teaches, wherein the unsolicited MFB and/or the MRQ/UL EHT TB PPDU MFB field is 1 bit (see figure 6D, both field are 1 bit each).
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Song et al. (US Publication 2013/0188630 A1) teaches with respect to figure 3, the PPDU transmitted by the AP 310 may include an aggregate MAC protocol data unit (A-MPDU) which has a format of a data frame in which a plurality of data units are aggregated. Thus, the STA 321 can transmit to the AP 310 a block acknowledgement (BA) frame that can be used as a reception confirmation for each MPDU. It is assumed hereinafter that a frame transmitted by STAs as a reception confirmation is a BA frame. In this case, the STA1 321 can transmit MCS feedback (MFB) information which is a result of MCS estimation based on the received PPDU by including the information into the BA frame (see paragraph 68).
Prior art Grandhi et al. (US Publication 2006/0248429 A1) teaches with respect figure 4 the responder 404 generates an A-MPDU 424 including the MFB MMPDU 424a and a BA 424b and sends it using a sounding A-PPDU 426 as requested by the TRQ MMPDU 420a (see paragraph 40).
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466