DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/29/24, 4/15/25 the information disclosure statement was considered by initialing the PTO Form 1449.
Drawings
The Examiner has approved drawings filed on 6/13/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Angelov et al., (US. 10,191,653) .
As to claim 1, Angelov disclose a method for recognizing handwriting ( column 18, lines 62- 67) input from handwriting strokes ( fig 2 and 6) of digital ink ( abstract, column 10, lines 43 - 51), on a computing device, the computing device comprising a processor ( column 12, lines 29- 30 ) with at least two processing units configured to process data in parallel (column 32, lines 15- 38, 40- 67), a memory ( column 18, line 59 ) and at least one non-transitory computer ( column 3, lines 24- 39) readable medium for recognizing input under control of the processor ( column 12, lines 29-30 ) , the method, comprising:
receiving the handwriting ( column 18, lines 62-67) strokes of digital ink (column 10, lines 25- 26);
performing element extraction from said strokes ( see fig 4A,4B) to extract a plurality of elements ( column 13, lines 17- 32, 60 -68, column 14, lines 1-17);
recognizing the plurality of elements ( column 13, lines 10-32, column 16, lines 32 -46, 47-67, column 33, lines 29- 47) in parallel ( note, parallel processing are done see fig 9, generating stroke data first and second thread processing, see fig 75, 84, 85 ,90 B shows parallel processing ) by ( column 10, lines 43- 54 column, 32, lines 15- 19, 20 -38 ):
sending ( column 24, lines 20-25) at least two elements (note, first element processing ink data processing section (100) collecting pen event data, column 11, lines 56-67, column 12, lines 1-5, 24- 30, column 37, lines 35-29 ) second processing element slicing or segmentation of stroke column 11, lines 19- 24, column 18, lines 47- 68) of the extracted plurality of elements to at least two processing units ( note, parallel processing are done see fig 9, generating stroke data first and second thread processing, see fig 75, 84, 85 ,90 B shows parallel processing , column 3, lines 13-23, 24-39, column 41, lines 7- 32) , respectively;
sending ( column 24, lines 20-25) successively the remaining elements of the extracted plurality of elements ( fig 17 A,B,C ) to the processing units ( column 12, lines 24-30 as the processing units become available ( note available corresponds to update or sharing with other computer or executes the processing function column 41, lines 28-32 );
compiling ( fig 19) the plurality of recognized elements to generate ( note, generating stroke data , fig 14) the recognized handwriting input ( fig 23 ) , generating stroke data fig 14, see fig 9, generating stroke data first and second thread processing, see fig 75, 84, 85 ,90 B shows the output ).
As to claim 2, Angelov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the elements are text or non-text elements (fig 43) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3- 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelov et al., (US. 10,191,653) , as applied to claim 1- 2, above in view of Melinand et al., ( US. 20170109032 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Angelov directed to methods and systems for generating, rendering, manipulating and communicating ink data that reproduces a path of hand-drawn (freehand) stroke data and renders the path with style. Angelov is silent about wherein the text elements are words, lines, paragraphs , or mathematical expressions.
Melinand disclose system and method of guiding handwriting diagram input. The system comprises: wherein the text elements are words, lines, paragraphs ( see para 26), or mathematical expressions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to have modified Angelov by the teaching of Melinand in order to provide users with recognition feedback which informs them that the handwritten text has been detected, and the content of the text has been recognized (as suggested by Melinand see para 80 ).
As to claim 4, Melinand disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the non-text elements are shapes ( see para 76), drawings ( see para 87) or image data including characters, strings or symbols ( see para 93) used in non-text contexts ( see para 66).
As to claim 5, Melinand disclose the method of claim 1, wherein sending elements to the processing units comprises sending semantic ( see para 75, 76 ) groups of elements to the processing units.
Claims 17-20 are allowed because there is no prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6- 16, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Park Chan can be reached at 571-272-7409. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHEELA C CHAWAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669