DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 4/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be a serious search and examination burden for Inventions I and II to be examined together. This is found persuasive. Therefore, the previous restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 15-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Speltz et al (US 6,349,929 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Speltz et al (‘929) discloses a mount (fig1) for machining platform, the mount comprising:
a body 110 (col.3 line66);
a first clamp 250 (fig1, col.4 lines47-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110 (fig1), the first clamp comprising:
a first clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the first clamp 250) defining a first opening (col.4 line28, an opening where a drive screw 220 passes through, fig2) comprising a first internal threaded length (col.4 lines28-30, “internal threads”); and
a first protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a first shoulder (fig3);
a second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110, the second clamp 260 comprising:
a second clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the second clamp 260) defining a second opening (col.4 line28, an opening where the drive screw 220 passes through, fig2) comprising a second internal threaded length (col.4 lines28-30, “internal threads”); and
a second protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a second shoulder (fig2); and
a drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) rotatably mounted to the body 110, the drive screw 220 comprising:
a first external threaded length 230 (col.4 lines24-26) threadably engaged with the first internal threaded length of the first clamp 250 (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the first external threaded length comprises first threads 230 (col.4 lines25-26); and
a second external threaded length 240 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the second internal threaded length of the second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the second external threaded length 240 comprises second threads 240 (col.4 lines26-27) oriented in the opposite direction of the first threads 230 (col.4 lines25-27, “right-hand threads”, “left-hand threads”), and wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder move away from each other upon a rotation of the drive screw 220 (col.4 lines30-32).
Regarding claim 2¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, wherein the first external threaded length 230 is right- handed (col.4 lines25-26), and wherein the second external threaded length 240 is left-handed (col.4 lines26-27).
Regarding claim 3¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder face opposite directions (fig2).
Regarding claim 4¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, wherein the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 are equidistantly spaced from a plane of symmetry positioned intermediate the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 (fig2).
Regarding claim 5¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 4, wherein the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 are symmetrical about the plane of symmetry (fig2).
Regarding claim 6¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 5, wherein the drive screw 220 defines a longitudinal axis (fig2), wherein the first shoulder defines a first oblique plane (a slanted surface, fig3) transecting the longitudinal axis (figs2-3), wherein the second shoulder defines a second oblique plane (a slanted surface, fig2) transecting the longitudinal axis (fig2), and wherein the first oblique plane and the second oblique plane are mirrored about the plane of symmetry (fig2).
Regarding claim 9¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, wherein the drive screw 220 comprises a first drive screw (fig1). Speltz et al discloses a use of two of same clamp assemblies 200, each of the clamp assemblies 200 comprising same structural limitations. Therefore, Speltz et al discloses wherein the mount further comprises:
a third clamp 250 (of a right one of the two clamp assemblies 200, col.4 lines47-28, fig1) movable relative to the body 110, the third clamp 250 comprising:
a third clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the third clamp) defining a third opening (col.4 line28, an opening where a drive screw 220 of the right clamp assembly passes through, fig2) comprising a third internal threaded length (col.4 lines28-30, “internal threads”); and
a third protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a third shoulder (fig2);
a fourth clamp 260 (of the right clamp assemblies, col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2) movable relative to the body 110, the fourth clamp 260 comprising:
a fourth clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the fourth clamp) defining a fourth opening (col.4 line28, an opening where the drive screw of the left clamp assembly passes through, fig2) comprising a fourth internal threaded length (col.4 lines28-30, “internal threads”); and
a fourth protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a fourth shoulder (fig2); and
a second drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of the right clamp assembly) rotatably mounted to the body 110, wherein the second drive screw is parallel to the first drive screw (fig1), the second drive screw comprising:
a third external threaded length 230 (col.4 lines24-26) threadably engaged with the third internal threaded length of the third clamp (col.4 lines27-30); and
a fourth external threaded length 240 (col.4 lines24-26) threadably engaged with the fourth internal threaded length of the fourth clamp (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the fourth external threaded length is in the opposite direction of the third external threaded length (col.4 lines25-27, “right-hand threads”, “left-hand threads”), and wherein the third shoulder and the fourth shoulder move away from each other upon a rotation of the second drive screw (col.4 lines30-32).
Regarding claim 10¸ Speltz et al discloses a mount for a machining platform, the mount comprising:
a body 110 (col.3 line66);
a first clamp 250 (fig1, col.4 lines47-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110 (fig1), the first clamp comprising:
a first clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the first clamp 250) defining a first threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 passes through, fig2); and
a first protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a first shoulder (fig3);
a second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110, the second clamp 260 comprising:
a second clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the second clamp 260) defining a second threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 passes through, fig2); and
a second protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a second shoulder (fig2), wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder face away from each other; and
a drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) rotatably mounted to the body 110, the drive screw 220 comprising:
a plurality of first external right-hand threads 230 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the first threaded opening of the first clamp 250 (col.4 lines27-30); and
a plurality of second external left-hand threads 240 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the second threaded opening of the second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder simultaneously move away from each other upon a rotation of the drive screw 220 (col.4 lines30-32).
Regarding claim 11¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 10, wherein a plane of symmetry is defined between the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260, wherein the drive screw 220 defines a longitudinal axis orthogonal to the plane of symmetry (fig2), wherein the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 are equidistantly spaced from the plane of symmetry (fig2).
Regarding claim 12¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 11, wherein the first shoulder defines a first oblique plane (a slanted surface, fig3) transecting the longitudinal axis, wherein the second shoulder defines a second oblique plane (a slanted surface, fig2) transecting the longitudinal axis (fig2), and wherein the first oblique plane and the second oblique plane are mirrored about the plane of symmetry (fig2).
Regarding claim 15¸ Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 10, wherein the drive screw 220 comprises a first drive screw (fig1). Speltz et al discloses a use of two of same clamp assemblies 200, each of the clamp assemblies 200 comprising same structural limitations. Therefore, Speltz et al discloses wherein the mount further comprises:
a third clamp 250 (of a right one of the two clamp assemblies 200, col.4 lines47-28, fig1) movable relative to the body 110, the third clamp comprising:
a third clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the third clamp) defining a third threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 of the right clamp assembly passes through, fig2); and
a third protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a third shoulder (fig2);
a fourth clamp 260 (of the right clamp assemblies, col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2) movable relative to the body 110, the fourth clamp comprising:
a fourth clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the fourth clamp) defining a fourth threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where the drive screw of the left clamp assembly passes through, fig2);
a fourth protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a fourth shoulder (fig2), wherein the third shoulder and the fourth shoulder face away from each other (fig2); and
a second drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of the right clamp assembly) rotatably mounted to the body 110, wherein the second drive screw is parallel to the first drive screw (fig1), the second drive screw comprising:
a plurality of third external right-hand threads 230 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the third threaded opening of the third clamp (col.4 lines27-30); and
a plurality of fourth external left-hand threads 240 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the fourth threaded opening of the fourth clamp (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the third shoulder and the fourth shoulder simultaneously move away from each other upon a rotation of the second drive screw (col.4 lines30-32).
Regarding claim 16¸ Speltz et al discloses a mounting system (fig1), comprising:
a body 110 (col.3 line66);
a first clamp 250 (fig1, col.4 lines47-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110 (fig1), the first clamp comprising:
a first clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the first clamp 250) defining a first threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 passes through, fig2); and
a first protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a first shoulder (fig3);
a second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) movable relative to the body 110, the second clamp 260 comprising:
a second clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the second clamp 260) defining a second threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 passes through, fig2); and
a second protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a second shoulder (fig2), wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder face away from each other (fig2), wherein a plane of symmetry is defined between the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260; and
a drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of left one of two clamp assemblies 200) rotatably mounted to the body 110, the drive screw 220 comprising:
a plurality of first external threads 230 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the first threaded opening of the first clamp 250 (col.4 lines27-30); and
a plurality of second external threads 240 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the second threaded opening of the second clamp 260 (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder move from a first configuration (when the first and second clamps are moved away from each other and not engaging the workpiece) to a second configuration (when the first and second clamps are moved toward to each other to engage the workpiece) upon a rotation of the drive screw 220 (col.4 lines30-32), and wherein the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 are equidistantly spaced from the plane of symmetry in the first configuration and in the second configuration (fig2, the first and second clamps move simultaneously).
Regarding claim 18¸ Speltz et al discloses the mounting system of Claim 16, wherein the drive screw comprises a first drive screw (fig1) and the plane of symmetry comprises a first plane of symmetry (fig2). Speltz et al discloses a use of two of same clamp assemblies 200, each of the clamp assemblies 200 comprising same structural limitations. Therefore, Speltz et al discloses wherein the mounting system further comprises:
a third clamp 250 (of a right one of the two clamp assemblies 200, col.4 lines47-28, fig1) movable relative to the body 110, the third clamp comprising:
a third clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the third clamp) defining a third threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where a drive screw 220 of the right clamp assembly passes through, fig2); and
a third protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50, fig3) comprising a third shoulder (fig2);
a fourth clamp 260 (of the right clamp assemblies, col.4 lines27-28, figs1-2) movable relative to the body 110, the fourth clamp comprising:
a fourth clamp body (figs2-4, a body portion of the fourth clamp) defining a fourth threaded opening (col.4 lines28-30, an opening with internal threads where the drive screw of the left clamp assembly passes through, fig2);
a fourth protrusion 255 (col.4 lines49-50) comprising a fourth shoulder (fig2), wherein the third shoulder and the fourth shoulder face away from each other (fig2), wherein a second plane of symmetry is defined between the third clamp and the fourth clamp (figs1-2); and
a second drive screw 220 (col.4 line24, fig1, of the right clamp assembly) rotatably mounted to the body 110, wherein the second drive screw is parallel to the first drive screw (fig1), the second drive screw comprising:
a plurality of third external threads 230 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the third threaded opening of the third clamp (col.4 lines27-30); and
a plurality of fourth external threads 240 (col.4 lines24-27) threadably engaged with the fourth threaded opening of the fourth clamp (col.4 lines27-30), wherein the third shoulder and the fourth shoulder move from a third configuration (when the third and fourth clamps are moved away from each other and not engaging the workpiece) to a fourth configuration (when the third and fourth clamps are moved toward to each other to engage the workpiece) upon a rotation of the second drive screw (col.4 lines30-32), and wherein the third clamp and the fourth clamp are equidistantly spaced from the second plane of symmetry in the third configuration and in the fourth configuration (fig2, the third and fourth clamps move simultaneously).
Regarding claim 19¸ Speltz et al discloses the mounting system of Claim 18, wherein the mounting system further comprises a payload (a workpiece), wherein the first clamp 250 and the second clamp 260 are positioned to exert equal and opposite clamping forces on the payload in the second configuration (when engaged/clamped), and wherein the third clamp and the fourth clamp are positioned to exert equal and opposite clamping forces on the payload in the fourth configuration (when engaged/clamped).
Regarding claim 20¸ Speltz et al discloses the mounting system of Claim 19, wherein a third plane of symmetry (fig1) is defined between the first clamp and the third clamp such that the first clamp and the third clamp are equidistantly spaced from the third plane of symmetry (fig1), and wherein the first drive screw and the second drive screw extend longitudinally on opposite sides of the third plane of symmetry (fig1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speltz et al (US 6,349,929 B1) in view of Taylor et al (US 9,364,937 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a first groove on the first protrusion to define a hook. As seen in fig 11B, Taylor et al (‘937) teaches a use of a groove (defined by a dovetail cut 132 further into a side of a clamp body, fig10, col.3 lines29-31) on a protrusion (figs10,11B) to define a hook (figs10,11B) so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speltz et al to use a groove on a protrusion, as taught by Taylor et al, for the purpose of so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped.
Regarding claim 13, Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 10, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a first groove on the first protrusion to define a hook. As seen in fig 11B, Taylor et al (‘937) teaches a use of a groove (defined by a dovetail cut 132 further into a side of a clamp body, fig10, col.3 lines29-31) on a protrusion (figs10,11B) to define a hook (figs10,11B) so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speltz et al to use a groove on a protrusion, as taught by Taylor et al, for the purpose of so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped.
Regarding claim 17, Speltz et al discloses the mounting system of Claim 16, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a first groove on the first protrusion to define a hook. As seen in fig 11B, Taylor et al (‘937) teaches a use of a groove (defined by a dovetail cut 132 further into a side of a clamp body, fig10, col.3 lines29-31) on a protrusion (figs10,11B) to define a hook (figs10,11B) so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speltz et al to use a groove on a protrusion, as taught by Taylor et al, for the purpose of so that a clamp can have a reference surface 124 to receive a bottom of the workpiece when clamped.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speltz et al (US 6,349,929 B1) in view of Brockhaus, Jr. (1,811,299).
Regarding claim 8, Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a cover plate. Brockhaus, Jr. (‘299) teaches a use of a cover plate 20,20’ (pg2 line10) for a mount wherein protrusions 6 (pg1 line64, fig1) of clamps extend through the cover plate 20,20’ (fig1) to provide effective means for exclusion of fillings and dirt from a drive screw (col.2 lines10-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speltz et al to use a cover plate, as taught by Brockhaus, Jr., to provide effective means for exclusion of fillings and dirt from a drive screw (col.2 lines10-16).
Regarding claim 14, Speltz et al discloses the mount of Claim 10, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a cover plate. Brockhaus, Jr. (‘299) teaches a use of a cover plate 20,20’ (pg2 line10) for a mount wherein protrusions 6 (pg1 line64, fig1) of clamps extend through the cover plate 20,20’ (fig1) to provide effective means for exclusion of fillings and dirt from a drive screw (col.2 lines10-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speltz et al to use a cover plate, as taught by Brockhaus, Jr., to provide effective means for exclusion of fillings and dirt from a drive screw (col.2 lines10-16).
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723