Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric winch” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the anchor” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, the “anchor” is not mentioned previously in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russo (US10981487B1) in view of Glickman et al. (US 6454338 B1) and further in view of Ludewigt et al. (US10625652B2).
Regarding claim 1, Russo discloses a portable apparatus for lifting and lowering items to and from pickup truck cargo bed (FIG. 1) that is mounted stationary assembly (See attached annotated FIG. 1) with two rigid framing members at cross distance wider than lifted items (It can be seen they are cross distance wider than lifted item in Fig. 1), starting near ground (It can be seen in FIG. 1), projecting above the open truck tailgate (It can be seen in FIG. 3),
a loading platform assembly (See attached annotated FIG. 1) with supporting rigid framing that mounts on the stationary assembly two framing members (See attached annotated FIG. 1) and moving up and down these two members on wheels fixed in the supporting rigid framing (See attached annotated FIG. 1) while maintaining the loading platform parallel to the truck cargo bed (It can be seen in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, while the platform assembly moving up or down platform being parallel to the truck cargo bed );
a winch (8), manual or electric (Column 13, lines 7-10), attached to one of the stationary assembly rigid framing members (It can be seen, It is attached to the member of the stationary assembly) for lifting and lowering loading platform assembly (Column 2, lines 48-50) by retracting or extending steel rope (38) that runs from the winch, around loading platform assembly rigid framing bottom to the anchor on the other stationary assembly framing member (It can be seen in Fig. 9).
It does not disclose portable apparatus for lifting and lowering items to and from pickup truck cargo bed that is mounted (However it discloses the mounting bracket 58) on the open truck tailgate and is secured in place by attachment to anchor points in the truck cargo bed.
Glickman et al. teaches portable apparatus of bed extender (8, which can be replace by ordinary skill person in art by apparatus for lifting and lowering items to and from pickup truck cargo bed) that is mounted on the open truck tailgate tail gate (It can be seen in Fig. 2 to 4) and is secured in place by attachment to anchor points in the truck cargo bed (See Fig. 1, Column 2, lines 45-46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling date of the claimed invention to modify Russo by replacing the bed extender structure with the portable apparatus for lifting and lowering items from a stationary frame member to the open truck tailgate (In other words, mount the stationary assembly with the help of bracket 58, of Russo in such a way that it is supported on the open truck tailgate of Glickman et al. instead of bed extender) and tail gate is secured in place by attachment to anchor points in the truck cargo bed in view of Glickman et al. in order to achieve the installation of the elevator mechanism without requiring the permanent removal of tail gate.
Russo and Glickman et al. both fails to teach a stationary assembly secured from overturning or sliding by tension members connected to the anchor points in the truck cargo bed.
Ludewigt et al. teaches the stationary assembly (25) secured from overturning or sliding by tension members (24) connected to the anchor points (20) in the truck cargo bed (it can be seen in Fig.1 it is inside the cargo bad).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify the combination of Russo and Glickman et al. by incorporation the stationary assembly secured from overturning or sliding by tension members connected to the anchor points in the truck cargo bed further in view of Ludewigt et al in order to improve the stability of the frame structure. (Use of the cable for balancing the structure is well known in art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additionally cited prior art shows other portable apparatus for lifting and lowering the items and use of cable or rope and winch mechanism as well.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652