Claim Status
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1 and 9 have partially obscured text as shown with the Examiner added arrows below:
Figure 1
Figure 9
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a space between the comma and “thereof”:
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 recites “a salts”. That is grammatically awkward and should be “a salt”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a pharmaceutical composition comprising an adsorbent carbon material (Claim 1). The scope of the carbon material includes “soot” (Claim 2). Wildfire soot is known to be adsorptive (See Abstract in: Jelavic et al. Peer Community Journal, Vol. 2 (2022), article e80: 17 pages: “The large adsorption capacities and strong binding of DNA to soot and charcoal…”). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because soot is naturally produced from the burning of wood, such as from a forest fire, that would produce a plurality of dry soot particles/powder. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because characterizing the soot particle in terms of diameter, pore volume and micropore diameter does not alter the fact that it is still soot. Soot landing in a puddle of water that contains trace amounts of metal ions would read on an aqueous excipient of claim 9 with an element of claim 12. Soot would naturally have oxygen functional groups from the combustion of wood in the presence of oxygen of claim 11. Therefore, the claims as a whole adds nothing significantly more to the product of nature soot itself. Accordingly, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and do not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites in part: “an antibacterial medicine, an antiviral medicine, a benzene-ring medicine, an anticoagulant medicine, a thrombolytic medicine...” The function of the medicine is provided by the preceding term. Thus, “an antibacterial medicine” is a medicine with antibacterial function. However, a benzene-ring is not a function but a structure. A medicine does not have a benzene-ring function. Benzene itself is a carcinogen and not considered a medicine. Consequently, the term “a benzene-ring medicine” is confusing to the Examiner. The specification does not clarify the issue and only mentions “benzene-ring” once [0032] with no further clarification or species provided. The Examiner suggests deleting the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US9999598).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Ko et al. disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising adsorbent activated carbon fiber powder carrying silver and copper particles with a BET surface area of 980 m2/g (Example 2, column 4, lines 35-58; claim 1). (See MPEP 2131.03: A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range.) The limitations of “for improving respiratory damage” and “improving respiratory system damage” have been considered but have not been given patentable weight. There is no terminology in these limitations that would limit the structure of the claimed invention and they merely state the intended use of the composition. An intended use will not limit the scope of the claim because it merely defines a context in which the invention operates. Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Consequently, the prior art composition which recites the same components as instantly claimed can also be used for improving respiratory damage.
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al. disclose other carbonaceous materials including an activated carbon powder, a charcoal material, a bamboo charcoal granule, a carbon black, a graphite powder, an expanded 15 graphite powder, a graphene, a nano carbon powder (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al. disclose thermal drying of the powder (Example 2, column 4, line 47-48).
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al. disclose adding an additive (Claim 9), which reads on adding an excipient.
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al. disclose antibacterial silver particles (Example 2, column 4, lines 35-58; Claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al. disclose the presence of acidic or basic groups on the carbonaceous material (Claim 1) and the activated carbon fiber would inherently have the same groups as claimed, due to the manufacturing process, whether Ko et al. recognized it or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skogvall (WO2009067067) and Foxwell et al. (US20090297499) and Ko et al. (US9999598) as evidenced by PubChem Activated Charcoal ([online] retrieved on 2/4/26 from: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Activated-Charcoal; 3 pages).
Applicant claims:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a pharmaceutical research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from pharmaceutical formulation methods and techniques— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 9-10, Skogvall teach administration of a pharmaceutical composition of 1-10% w/w elemental iodine on activated charcoal, a carbon material, to a human or animal for producing bronchorelaxation (Claims 1, 9-10 and 33; Example 1-3) where the human or animal has COPD or asthma (Claims 2, 28 and 34-35) in the form of a tablet with disintegrant excipient (Claim 5). Skogvall teach that activated charcoal has a very large surface area; 1 gram has a surface area of 300-2000 m2 (Page 3, lines 32-34), which overlaps the claimed range of from 300 to 3000 m2/g. Activated charcoal is reasonably interpreted to be synonymous with activated carbon and is administered from 0.10 g to 100 g daily or from 1.5 mg/kg to 1400 mg/kg (Page 5, lines 26-31; claims 18-23). Administration of the pharmaceutical composition of Skogvall naturally improves respiratory system damage from the COPD or asthma. Iodine is an antiseptic and thus at least an antibacterial medicine of instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, activated charcoal inherently has hydroxyl, carbonyl and carboxylic functional groups as inherent features from the production process (See PubChem, page 3, 4.1.10).
Regarding claim 12, Skogvall teach adding a bromide salt (a source of halogen ions) as well as calcium bromide, lithium bromide, ammonium bromide and magnesium bromide (a source of metal magnesium ions) (Claims 24-25, 30-32 and 36-38; Example 5) and read on “cation compounds” as defined by Applicant (Specification [0033]: “cation compounds (such as compounds containing calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium, like calcium carbonate or calcium phosphate)”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-8 and 12, Ko et al. teach the functional equivalents of activated carbon fiber, an activated carbon powder, a charcoal material, a bamboo charcoal granule, a carbon black, a graphite powder, an expanded graphite powder, a graphene, a nano carbon powder (Claim 3) with a BET surface area of the carbonaceous material is of 10-2500 m2/g (Claim 5) and particle size of 1 nm to 500 microns (Claim 6). Ko et al. teach adding metals (Claim 1) and is in the form of capsules, tablets, powders, suspensions or emulsions (Column 2, lines 44-61).
Regarding claims 1-10, Foxwell et al. teach that charcoal is useful for treating inflammatory conditions such as COPD and SARS [0016], which are conditions associated with respiratory damage. Foxwell et al. teach: “Activated charcoal typically has particle sizes of 0.05 to 2 mm, a specific surface area of 500 to 2000 m2/g and a specific pore volume of 0.2 to 2.0 ml/g determined in the range of a pore radius of not more than 80 A.” [0019] Foxwell et al. teach pharmaceutical dosage forms such as capsules, tablets, powders, solutions and aqueous suspensions [0033] with buffers [0035]. Foxwell et al. teach activated charcoal in combination with other pharmaceutically active agents such as microbiocidal agents (Claims 7-12 and [0025-0027]). Foxwell et al. teach formulation with buffers, salts, antioxidants and anti-inflammatory agents [0035] and administration of the activated charcoal in saline (Examples 2-3, [0067, 0071]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Skogvall is that Skogvall do not expressly teach in one embodiment a pharmaceutical composition wherein said carbon material has a specific surface area (BET) ranging from 300 to 3000 m2/g, a mean particle diameter from 0.1 to 500 microns, a volume in pores ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 ml/g, a micropore diameter ranging from 1-500 nm and formulated as an aqueous suspension at a concentration from 0.001-1wt% in normal saline, buffers or isotonic saline solution or dry powder with all the carbon materials of instant claim 3. This deficiency in Skogvall is cured by the teachings of Ko et al. and Foxwell et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the activated charcoal of Skogvall with a specific surface area (BET) ranging from 300 to 3000 m2/g, a mean particle diameter from 0.1 to 500 microns, a volume in pores ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 ml/g, a micropore diameter ranging from 1-500 nm and formulated as an aqueous suspension at a concentration from 0.001-1wt% in normal saline, buffers or isotonic saline solution or dry powder with all the carbon materials of instant claim 3, as suggested by Ko et al. and Foxwell et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because for the following sound articulated reasoning with rational underpinning based upon the evidence. First of all, the specific surface area taught by Skogvall overlaps the claimed range to render it obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I): In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Secondly, it is understood that the activated charcoal of Skogvall has some physical particle size, porosity and micropore diameter measurements to provide the BET value. However, while Skogvall is silent on a mean particle diameter from 0.1 to 500 microns, a volume in pores ranging from 0.1 to 3.0 ml/g and a micropore diameter ranging from 1-500 nm, the secondary references of Ko et al. and Foxwell et al. provide guidance for the artisan to select values within the claimed ranges with a reasonable expectation of success. Thirdly, while Skogvall do not expressly teach as an aqueous suspension or dry powder with all the carbon materials of instant claim 3, the secondary references render obvious tablet, powder and aqueous suspension formulations and the functional equivalence of the claimed species of carbon materials. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). Moreover, “Where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious." In re Fout 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982). Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success of formulating the composition of Skogvall as a dry powder or 0.001-1% aqueous suspension with any of the claimed carbon materials claimed. Especially given that Skogvall already suggest administration of different concentrations of the activated charcoal and it would require no undue experimentation to formulate a 0.001-1% aqueous suspension in view of the combined references. Pharmaceutical dose has been recognized as a result-effective parameter susceptible to routine optimization. See, e.g., Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809 (Fed. Cir. 1989). In fact, Skogvall teach obtaining iodinated activated charcoal from Sigma-Aldrich, Inc., which was mixed with other excipients prior to form a tablet. (Page 8, Example 3). Prior to compression, it would appear that Skogvall had a dry powder of iodinated activated charcoal in hand. The selection of an aqueous carrier of normal saline, buffers or isotonic saline solution are obvious conventional choices to the pharmaceutical artisan in this art to make the suspension as the artisan would desire a biocompatible carrier. As noted above, Foxwell et al. teach formulation with buffers and administration of the activated charcoal in saline (Examples 2-3, [0067, 0071]). Accordingly, the combined teachings of the references would have suggested the claimed limitations to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skogvall (WO2009067067) and Foxwell et al. (US20090297499) and Ko et al. (US9999598) as evidenced by PubChem Activated Charcoal ([online] retrieved on 2/4/26 from: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Activated-Charcoal; 3 pages), as applied to claims 1-12 above, and further in view of Boucher et al. (US20140109899).
Applicant claims:
The references of Skogvall, Foxwell et al. and Ko et al. are discussed in detail above.
Boucher et al. teach treatment of asthma and COPD [0274, 0282-0283, 0286, 0309] with, for example, 5-alpha reductase inhibitors, alpha-glucosidase inhibitors, bronchodilators, alternative medicines, antiasthmatic, anticoagulants, antifungals, antiseptics, anti-infectives, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory agents, decongestants, mucolytics, thrombolytics, expectorants, therapeutic vaccines, TNF alpha inhibitors, antibodies and vitamins [0307]. Boucher et al. also teach using metallic cations such as lithium, zinc, iron (magnetic), calcium and magnesium [0213]. Boucher et al. teach administration using a gas source (propellant) (Claims 24, 35-36).
The difference between the instant application and Skogvall, as modified by Foxwell et al. and Ko et al., is that Skogvall, as modified by Foxwell et al. and Ko et al., do not expressly teach adding all the medicines of claim 10 or the elements of claim 12 to the pharmaceutical formulation or the use of a propellant. This deficiency in Skogvall, as modified by Foxwell et al. and Ko et al., is cured by the teachings of Boucher et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the medicines of claim 10 and the elements of claim 12 and a propellant to the pharmaceutical composition of Skogvall, as modified by Foxwell et al. and Ko et al., as suggested by Boucher et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Skogvall teach and suggest treating COPD and asthma and the ordinary artisan would co-administer known medicaments that a known to treat COPD and asthma, such as those suggested by Boucher et al., with a reasonable expectation of success. The Examiner notes that Boucher et al. teach alternative medicines which would appear to render obvious Chinese medicinal extracts as an alternative medicine to the ordinary artisan in this art. See MPEP 2144.06(I) COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose.” With regard to the propellant limitation, Bouchard et al. teach and suggest a delivery apparatus with a gas source (propellant) to delivery the medicament. It would then be obvious to formulate the pharmaceutical composition of Skogvall, as modified by Foxwell et al. and Ko et al., with a propellant for administration to the subject, as suggested by Bouchard et al., with a reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-12 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 32, 41-32 of copending Application No. 17335124. The copending has the same inventor in common. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending is also directed to:
The scope of adjuvant includes metals [0027] and the scope of excipient in the copending includes salts such as sodium chloride and calcium carbonate that can provide cations and anions [0028]. MPEP 804: “The portion of the specification of the reference that describes subject matter that falls within the scope of a reference claim may be relied upon to properly construe the scope of that claim.”
The same material taught in the copending will also have oxygen functional groups.
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject mater over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9999598. The patent has a common inventor. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of the patent uses a carbonaceous material is an activated carbon fiber, an activated carbon powder, a charcoal material, a bamboo charcoal granule, a carbon black, a graphite powder, an expanded graphite powder, a graphene, a nano carbon powder, or a carbon powder with metal particles (Claims 1 and 3) with a BET of 10-2500 m2/g (Claim 5), a particle size of 1 nm to 500 microns (Claims 6 and 12), a pore radius of more than 0 but less than 2.5 nm (Claim 11) and further comprises an additive (Claim 9). Because the patent renders obvious the pharmaceutical composition, then the intended use for improving respiratory damage is implicit in the composition. While the patent does not expressly teach that the carbon material has a mean particle diameter of 0.1 to 500 microns, it does teach a size of 0.1 to 500 microns which would include a mean particle diameter as claimed. While the patent does not expressly teach the pore volume claimed, it would appear to be an inherent property of the claimed carbon materials. Especially given that the pore diameter is within the claimed range of from 1-500 nm. Formulation as a dry powder appears to be an obvious variation of the copending application.
The same material taught in the copending will also have oxygen functional groups.
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
There is a vast body of art on adsorbent carbonaceous materials. The Examiner has carefully compared the references with one another and with the applicant’s disclosure to avoid an unnecessary number of rejections over similar references. The examiner is not called upon to cite all references that may be available, but only the "best." (See 37 CFR 1.104(c).) Multiplying references, any one of which is as good as, but no better than, the others, adds to the burden and cost of prosecution and should therefore be avoided. See MPEP 904.03.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Von Blucher (US5275154) teaches an activated charcoal composition with a particle diameter of 0.1 to 1 mm (Abstract; claim 1) impregnated with silver, copper or chromium (Claims 15-16) and an enzyme (Claim 17) and has an internal surface area of 600-2000 m2g (Column 5, lines 18-20). The hood/gas mask (Claims 19-20) implicitly improves respiratory system damage by adsorbing toxic gases (Column 1, lines 12-20).
Ke et al. (GB2486713) teach pharmaceutical compositions of a carbon material and a water-containing carrier (Abstract; claim 1) where the carbon material can be various carbons such as active carbon (Claim 14) and has a BET of 200-2000 m2/g (Claims 12-13 and 17) and further comprise metals (Claim 5) and antibiotics (Claims 10-11, 19-20).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613