DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 11,047,616 to Jeong et al. (Jeong).
In reference to claim 18, Jeong teaches a vacuum adiabatic body (10, FIG. 1-23), comprising a first plate (40, FIG. 7), a second plate (20, FIG. 1), a vacuum space (410, FIG. 7) provided between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7); and a support (420, FIG. 7) configured to maintain a distance between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7), the support (420, FIG. 7) being disposed next to or adjacent to the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and including a first support plate (420, FIG. 7) including a column (S2, FIG. 7); and a second support plate (cartridge 420 below 420 defining the first support plate above, FIG. 7) including a groove (472, FIG. 7) connected to the column (S2, FIG. 7).
In reference to claim 19, Jeong teaches the system as explained in the rejection of claim 18 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the column includes a bolt that is screw-coupled to the groove (col 6, lines 48-50).
In reference to claim 20, Jeong teaches the system as explained in the rejection of claim 18 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the first support plate (420, FIG. 7) further includes a bar (441, FIG. 13), and wherein the second support plate (cartridge 420 below 420 defining the first support plate above, FIG. 7) includes an additional groove (at D1, FIG. 13) to which the bar is connected.
In reference to claim 21, Jeong teaches the system as explained in the rejection of claim 20 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein a length of the column (S2, FIG. 7) in a direction from the first support plate toward the second support plate is less than a length of the bar (441, FIG. 7-13) in the direction (inherent in the structure of FIG. 7-13; both cartridges 420 can be fastened using respective S2s).
In reference to claim 22, Jeong teaches the system as explained in the rejection of claim 18 above, and Jung additionally teaches a boss (442, FIG. 13) protruding from the second support plate and having the groove (FIG. 7-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of U.S. Patent 8,899,068 to Jung et al. (Jung).
In reference to claim 1, Jeong teaches a vacuum adiabatic body (10, FIG. 1-23), comprising a first plate (40, FIG. 7), a second plate (20, FIG. 1), a vacuum space (410, FIG. 7) provided between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7); and a support (420, FIG. 7) configured to maintain a distance between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7), the support (420, FIG. 7) being disposed next to or adjacent to the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and including a first bar and a second bar (vertical and horizontal portions of the side wall portion 422, FIG. 13), but does not teach that the support includes a first support plate including a first groove coupled to the first bar and a second groove in which the second bar is disposed, the second groove not being coupled to the second bar. Jung teaches a refrigerator comprising vacuum space (FIG. 1-17) comprising a support (380, FIG. 11-15) that includes a first support plate (380, FIG. 11-15) including a first groove (380b, FIG. 12-15) coupled to the first bar (P, FIG. 12-15) and a second groove (R, FIG. 12-15) in which the second bar (380a, FIG. 12-15) is disposed, the second groove not being coupled to the second bar (R resting on top of 380a, FIG. 12-15) in order to provide a reinforcing frame that prevents deformation of the inner case (col 9, lines 19-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeong, to include a first support plate including a first groove coupled to the first bar and a second groove in which the second bar is disposed, the second groove not being coupled to the second bar, as taught by Jung, in order to provide a reinforcing frame that prevents deformation of the inner case.
In reference to claim 2, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches a second support plate (multiple corrugated portions of plate 380, FIG. 11-15) connecting the first bar and the second bar (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 3, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the second groove (R, FIG. 12-15) includes a portion spaced apart from the second bar (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 4, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the second groove (R, FIG. 12-15) includes a first surface to contact the second bar, and a second surface spaced apart from the
second bar (surfaces making a seating contact in FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 5, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 4 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the second surface (surface of R, FIG. 12-15) extends to be inclined from the first surface (separation from R, FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 6, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 5 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the second surface (surface of R, FIG. 12-15) includes a first portion to connect to the first surface; and a second portion extending from the first portion in a direction away from the second bar (surfaces making a seating contact in FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 7, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the second bar (380a, FIG. 12-15) includes an end (portion contacting groove R, FIG. 12-15) to contact the second groove (R, FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 10, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the first support plate (380, FIG. 11-15) includes a surface to face the vacuum space (surface facing the vacuum within 380, FIG. 11-15), and a coupling protrusion (387, FIG. 11-15) to protrude from the surface of the first support plate (380, FIG. 11-15), and wherein the first groove (380b, FIG. 12-15) is provided at the coupling protrusion (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 11, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the first support plate (380, FIG. 11-15) includes a surface to face the vacuum space (surface facing the vacuum within 380, FIG. 11-15), and a seating protrusion (between 386 and 385, FIG. 13) to protrude from the surface of the first support plate, and wherein the second groove (R, FIG. 12-15) is provided at the seating protrusion (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 12, Jeong teaches a vacuum adiabatic body (10, FIG. 1-23), comprising a first plate (40, FIG. 7), a second plate (20, FIG. 1), a vacuum space (410, FIG. 7) provided between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7); and a support (420, FIG. 7) configured to maintain a distance between the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and the second plate (20, FIG. 7), the support (420, FIG. 7) being disposed next to or adjacent to the first plate (40, FIG. 7) and including a bar (422, FIG. 7), but does not teach a support plate including a groove on which the bar is disposed, the groove not being coupled to the bar. Jung teaches a refrigerator comprising vacuum space (FIG. 1-17) comprising a support plate (380, FIG. 11-15) including a groove (R, FIG. 12-15) on which the bar (380a, FIG. 12-15) is disposed, the groove not being coupled to the bar (R resting on top of 380a, FIG. 12-15) in order to provide a reinforcing frame that prevents deformation of the inner case (col 9, lines 19-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeong, to add a support plate including a groove on which the bar is disposed, the groove not being coupled to the bar, as taught by Jung, in order to provide a reinforcing frame that prevents deformation of the inner case.
In reference to claim 13, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 12 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the groove includes a seating surface (between 386 and 385, FIG. 13) to contact the bar, and wherein the groove has a portion (386, FIG. 13) that extends to be inclined from the seating surface and to allow the portion of the groove not to the contact the bar (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 14, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 12 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein at least a portion of the bar is inserted into the groove, and the portion of the groove surrounds the at least a portion of the bar (FIG. 12-15).
In reference to claim 16, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 12 above, and Jung additionally teaches wherein the support further comprises an additional support plate (385, FIG. 13), wherein the bar extends from the additional support plate in a direction toward the support plate.
In reference to claim 17, Jeong and Jung teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 12 above, and Jung additionally teaches a seating protrusion (between 386 and 385, FIG. 13) to protrude from the support plate and having the groove (R, FIG. 12-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763