DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the 101 rejections. In response to the argument, the Examiner respectfully agrees. The 101 rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the amendment “wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices” overcomes the prior art of record. In response to the argument, the Examiner respectfully agrees. An updated search was conducted and a prior art was discovered to the read on this limitation: US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise).
Saad teaches on a VLAN-based route target ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices.
Ranpise teaches wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices; ([0019] Filtering advertising of route advertisements based on virtual network identifiers (e.g., VNIs or RTs) included in the route advertisements. Route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same VNI as is included in the new route advertisement. In other embodiments described herein, route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same RT as is included in the new route advertisement.)
It would have been obvious to modify Saad per Ranpise as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Applicant argues that the amendment “wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target.” to the claim 10 overcomes the prior art of record Lemoine. In response to the argument, the Examiner respectfully agrees. An updated search was conducted and a prior art was discovered to the read on this limitation: US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise).
Saad teaches on route advertisement ([0035][0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target.
Ranpise teaches wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target. See Ranpise, [0082] control circuitry 304 may identify an export route target of the VLAN that includes the new host and include that export route target in the route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904. [0083] At block 908, control circuitry 304 adds, to a non-route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904, a route target value. For example, control circuitry 304 may identify an import route target of the VLAN that includes the new host, and include that import route target (or another value to which that import route target can be mapped or from which that import route target can be derived) in the non-route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904. Thereafter, at block 910, control circuitry 304 transmits the route advertisement to a route reflector.
It would have been obvious to modify Saad per Ranpise as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Please see rejection below in view of:
Claim(s) 1, 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise) further in view of US 20220272023 A1 (Bidgoli).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise).
Regarding Claim 1:
Saad teaches A networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) for dynamic route management of a virtual local network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor; ([0057] computing system 500 includes at least one processing unit (CPU or processor) 504 and connection 502 that couples various system components including system memory 508.)
a route controller (Fig 2A, PE2 206) configured to:
determine that a computing device (Fig 2A, [0035] PE1 204 or PE3 208 ) connected to the networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
determine that the VLAN identifier is not included in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route.
determine a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier, ([0036] If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). The membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and responsive to determining that the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers: generate a route target membership request with the VLAN-based route target, the route target membership request indicating the networking device requests routes related to the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and send the route target membership request to a route reflector to receive routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Saad teaches on a VLAN-based route target ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices.
Ranpise teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on virtual network identifiers which are extracted from route advertisements, Abstract.
Ranpise teaches wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices; ([0019] Filtering advertising of route advertisements based on virtual network identifiers (e.g., VNIs or RTs) included in the route advertisements. Route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same VNI as is included in the new route advertisement. In other embodiments described herein, route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same RT as is included in the new route advertisement.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Ranpise to include wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Regarding Claim 4:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to receive a route for the VLAN identifier from the route reflector and store the route in a forwarding table. (A router receives, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix. The service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group. The router may store the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices and connect, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group, Abstract. [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 5:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to: generate a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and send the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 6:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 5 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 7:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claims 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller determines that the computing device is associated with the VLAN based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches the route controller is further comprising a packet processor configured to receive VLAN packets from the computing device and forward the VLAN packets according to received routes from the route reflector. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 9:
Saad teaches A networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) for dynamic route management of a virtual local network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor; ([0057] computing system 500 includes at least one processing unit (CPU or processor) 504 and connection 502 that couples various system components including system memory 508.)
a route controller (Fig 2A, PE2 206) configured to:
determine that a computing device connected to the networking device is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
responsive to determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN, determine a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier, ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
generate a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and send the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Saad teaches on a VLAN-based route target ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices.
Ranpise teaches wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices; ([0019] Filtering advertising of route advertisements based on virtual network identifiers (e.g., VNIs or RTs) included in the route advertisements. Route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same VNI as is included in the new route advertisement. In other embodiments described herein, route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same RT as is included in the new route advertisement.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Ranpise to include wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Regarding Claim 10:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches on route advertisement ([0035][0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target.
Ranpise teaches wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target. ([0082] control circuitry 304 may identify an export route target of the VLAN that includes the new host and include that export route target in the route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904. [0083] At block 908, control circuitry 304 adds, to a non-route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904, a route target value. For example, control circuitry 304 may identify an import route target of the VLAN that includes the new host, and include that import route target (or another value to which that import route target can be mapped or from which that import route target can be derived) in the non-route target path attribute of the route advertisement generated at block 904. Thereafter, at block 910, control circuitry 304 transmits the route advertisement to a route reflector. )
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Ranpise to include wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement that includes the VLAN-based target. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Regarding Claim 11:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 12:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches wherein determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN is based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Saad teaches A method, performed by a networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206), for dynamic route management of a virtual local area network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising:
determining a computing device (Fig 2A, [0035] PE1 204 or PE3 208 ) connected to the networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
determining the VLAN identifier is not included in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route.
determining a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier, ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and responsive to determining the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers: generating a route target membership request with the VLAN-based route target, the route target membership request indicating the networking device requests routes related to the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and sending the route target membership request to a route reflector to receive routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Saad teaches on a VLAN-based route target ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices.
Ranpise teaches wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices; ([0019] Filtering advertising of route advertisements based on virtual network identifiers (e.g., VNIs or RTs) included in the route advertisements. Route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same VNI as is included in the new route advertisement. In other embodiments described herein, route reflectors restrict advertising of a new route advertisement to PE devices that have advertised routes including the same RT as is included in the new route advertisement.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Ranpise to include wherein the VLAN-based route target is deterministically generated to provide a same route target value for a same VLAN identifier across different networking devices. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide only necessary route advertisements to provider edge devices which allows for minimizing or eliminating advertising of unnecessary route advertisements, see Ranpise [0019].
Regarding Claim 14:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising determining that the VLAN identifier is inactive based on a last computing device local to the networking device associated with the VLAN identifier becoming inactive, ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
and sending another route target membership request to stop receiving routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route withdraw signal indicates that the PE device is no longer connected to the corresponding CE and is no longer able to forward traffic to the corresponding CE. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0055] virtual network connections.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 14 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising removing stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
Regarding Claim 16:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising receiving a route for the VLAN identifier from the route reflector and storing the route in a forwarding table. (A router receives, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix. The service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group. The router may store the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices and connect, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group, Abstract. [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 17:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 14 as described.
generating a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and sending the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 18:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 17 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 19:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches wherein determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN is based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 20:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising receiving VLAN packets from the computing device and forwarding the VLAN packets according to received routes from the route reflector. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20210119830 A1 (Ranpise) further in view of US 20220272023 A1 (Bidgoli).
Regarding Claim 2:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise) teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein route reflector is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive based on a last computing device local to the networking device associated with the VLAN identifier becoming inactive, ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
and send another route target membership request to stop receiving routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route withdraw signal indicates that the PE device is no longer connected to the corresponding CE and is no longer able to forward traffic to the corresponding CE. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0055] virtual network connections.)
Saad teaches that the router reflector determines when local devices are inactive ([0036]). However, Saad (as modified by Ranpise) is silent on wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device.
Bidgoli teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a controller which generates forwarding instructions for the nodes based on the advertisements, Abstract.
Bidgoli teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device. ([0010] FIGS. 1-4 disclose a path computation element (PCE, or other controller in a network) that establishes a session with a route reflector that receives advertisements (such as BGP messages) from nodes in the network via corresponding sessions with the route reflector. The PCE uses its session with the route reflector to monitor the advertisements received by the route reflector and determine the topology of the network.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad (as modified by Ranpise) by modifying Saad per Bidgoli to include wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide multiple devices with capabilities for discovering other locally connected devices for updating routing tables in order to provide redundancy/backup to the route reflector.
Regarding Claim 3:
Saad (as modified by Ranpise & Bidgoli) teaches on the invention of claim 2 as described.
Saad teaches wherein route reflector is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
Saad teaches that the route reflector removes/adds routes ([0036]). However, Saad (as modified by Ranpise) is silent on wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive.
Bidgoli teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0011] The PCE recomputes the forwarding instructions in response to addition of a leaf, removal of a leaf, addition of a new provider tunnel type, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad (as modified by Ranpise) by modifying Saad per Bidgoli to include wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide multiple devices with capabilities for discovering other locally connected devices for updating routing tables in order to provide redundancy/backup to the route reflector.
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454