DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/01/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Claims 1-12 are not purely software, are not to be rejected under 101 as software per se.
In response to the argument, Examiner respectively disagrees. The independent Claims 1, 9 are directed to a device not a method or process. The device is not modified by structure (ie. processor coupled to memory). As the claim does not invoke 112(f) claim interpretation, the specification is looked at to determine physical structure of the claimed device. As stated previously, the specification states that the implementation of the invention can be hardware or software. Applicant may modify the claims to include structure to overcome the 101 software per se rejection, processor coupled to memory, and memory is physical structure.
Applicant argues that Saad does not disclose a corresponding (a) "set of active VLAN identifiers" or (b) generating/sending the route target membership request "responsive to determining that the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers."
In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
(a) VLAN identifiers are taught by Saad. The service prefix identifies the multihomed device for the membership group, the multihomed device in [0035] is CE1 210 and is a VLAN identifier.
See Saad, [0012] A remote device receives, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix. The service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group. The remote device may store the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices and connect, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group. [0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. [0055] virtual network connections.
(b) Saad teaches responsive to determining that the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers: generate a route target membership request with the VLAN-based route target, the route target membership request indicating the networking device requests routes related to the VLAN-based route target. The service route is a VLAN-based route target. The PE device sends add signal for adding the route (membership request) as the prefix for the particular membership (multihomed CE) was not already setup (not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers).
See Saad, [0021] A service route that is advertised by the multihomed CE and learned by a member PE device of the BGP-NHG can be advertised with an additional BGP-NHG prefix attached. The prefix allows remote PE devices to immediately program the service route as reachable via all equal-cost multi-path (ECMP) next-hops, even if a remote PE device does not receive a service route from all the redundant PE device members of the BGP-NHG.
[0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. The route withdraw signal indicates that the PE device is no longer connected to the corresponding CE and is no longer able to forward traffic to the corresponding CE. For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device. Upon receipt of the membership signaling, a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208). The RIB and/or FIB table may be updated according to the PE devices and routes are available for traffic. For example, route reflector 212 may add PE1 204 to a RIB table upon receipt of a route add membership signal containing an indication of BGP-NHG 216 and an indication of PE1 204. Route reflector 212 and/or remote PE 214 may reference the RIB table when attempting to access CE1 210 to identify available service routes within BGP-NHG 216.
Applicant argues that Saad does not disclose a "VLAN” that VPNs are layer 3 and VLANs are layer 2. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the claim does not recite layer 2 or layer 3 requirements. A VLAN, as it is virtual, may include/span many types of networks and layers in its definition/design.
Applicant argues that Saad does not disclose a "VLAN-based route target", that Saad does not disclose that the route target is a VLAN-based route target (i.e., that the route target is affected by the VLAN). In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. VLAN-based route target is not defined in the claim as being “affected” by the VLAN. The VLAN-based route target in Saad is part of the VLAN. Saad teaches on sending the route target membership request to a route reflector to receive routes associated with a particular CE1 multihomed group. See response to arguments 4 (a) & (b) above for further details.
Please see rejection below in view of:
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20220272023 A1 (Bidgoli).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 2024/0039758 Al (Lemoine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because: Claims 1, 9 recite: a networking device, a route controller, a computing device and a route reflector. Claim 8 recites a packet processor. These elements can be interpreted under BRI as being purely software.
The specification does not limit these elements to being hardware or hardware/software: [0055] The described operations and their associated modules may be embodied in software, firmware, hardware, or any combinations thereof. [0056] Any of the steps, operations, or processes described herein may be performed or implemented with one or more hardware or software modules, alone or in combination with other devices. In one embodiment, a software module is implemented with a computer program product comprising a computer-readable medium containing computer program code, which can be executed by a computer processor for performing any or all of the steps, operations, or processes described.
See MPEP, 2106.03 I. The Four Categories: 35 U.S.C. 101 enumerates four categories of subject matter that Congress deemed to be appropriate subject matter for a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter. … The other three categories (machines, manufactures and compositions of matter) define the types of physical or tangible "things" or "products" that Congress deemed appropriate to patent. … Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations.
Therefore, Claims 1, 9 (and dependents) are rejected as being software per se, which is not one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad).
Regarding Claim 1:
Saad teaches A networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) for dynamic route management of a virtual local network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising: a route controller (Fig 2A, PE2 206) configured to:
determine that a computing device (Fig 2A, [0035] PE1 204 or PE3 208 ) connected to the networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
determine that the VLAN identifier is not included in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route.
determine a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier; ([0036] If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). The membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and responsive to determining that the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers: generate a route target membership request with the VLAN-based route target, the route target membership request indicating the networking device requests routes related to the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and send the route target membership request to a route reflector to receive routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 4:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to receive a route for the VLAN identifier from the route reflector and store the route in a forwarding table. (A router receives, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix. The service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group. The router may store the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices and connect, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group, Abstract. [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 5:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to: generate a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and send the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 6:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 5 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 7:
Saad teaches on the invention of claims 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route controller determines that the computing device is associated with the VLAN based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches the route controller is further comprising a packet processor configured to receive VLAN packets from the computing device and forward the VLAN packets according to received routes from the route reflector. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 9:
Saad teaches A networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) for dynamic route management of a virtual local network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising: a route controller (Fig 2A, PE2 206) configured to:
determine that a computing device connected to the networking device is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
responsive to determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN, determine a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
generate a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and send the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 11:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 12:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches wherein determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN is based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Saad teaches 13. A method, performed by a networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206), for dynamic route management of a virtual local area network (VLAN) ([0055] virtual network connections), comprising:
determining a computing device (Fig 2A, [0035] PE1 204 or PE3 208 ) connected to the networking device (Fig 2A, PE2 206) is associated with a VLAN having a VLAN identifier; ([0035] PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208 connected to CE1 210 form a membership group BGP-NHG 216. [0055] virtual network connections.) VLAN identifier is CE1 210.
determining the VLAN identifier is not included in a set of active VLAN identifiers; ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).) The PE2 206 determines that it is missing the particular network CE and sends a request to add the route.
determining a VLAN-based route target based on the VLAN identifier; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and responsive to determining the VLAN identifier is not included in the set of active VLAN identifiers: generating a route target membership request with the VLAN-based route target, the route target membership request indicating the networking device requests routes related to the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic.)
and sending the route target membership request to a route reflector to receive routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 14:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising determining that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
and sending another route target membership request to stop receiving routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route withdraw signal indicates that the PE device is no longer connected to the corresponding CE and is no longer able to forward traffic to the corresponding CE. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0055] virtual network connections.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 14 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising removing stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
Regarding Claim 16:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising receiving a route for the VLAN identifier from the route reflector and storing the route in a forwarding table. (A router receives, from a provider edge device of the one or more provider edge devices, a service prefix. The service prefix is associated with the multi-homed device and the membership group. The router may store the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices and connect, according to the service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices, to the multi-homed device associated with the membership group, Abstract. [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Regarding Claim 17:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 14 as described.
generating a route advertisement for the computing device including the VLAN-based route target; ([0036] For example, if PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). In some examples, the membership signaling may also include an indication of the specific PE device.)
and sending the route advertisement to the route reflector. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 18:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 17 as described.
Saad teaches wherein the route advertisement is a border gateway protocol (BGP) request. ([0036] The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216).)
Regarding Claim 19:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches wherein determining that the computing device is associated with the VLAN is based on authentication of the computing device with an authentication server that provides the VLAN identifier for the computing device. ([0033] BGPSEC extends the Resource Public Key Infrastructure (RPKI) by adding an additional type of certificate, referred to as a BGPSEC router certificate, that binds an AS number to a public signature verification key, the corresponding private key of which is held by one or more BGP speakers within this AS. … The certificates thus allow a relying party to verify that a BGPSEC signature was produced by a BGP speaker belonging to a given AS.[0063] a service can be considered a server.)
Regarding Claim 20:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 13 as described.
Saad teaches further comprising receiving VLAN packets from the computing device and forwarding the VLAN packets according to received routes from the route reflector. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route add signal indicates that the PE device is ready to receive and forward traffic to the corresponding CE. If PE2 206 is connected to CE1 210, PE2 206 may transmit a route add membership signal, indicating to remote PE 214 and route reflector 212 that PE2 206 is available to receive traffic. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0014] The service prefix and the one or more provider edge devices are stored in a data table associated with the membership group. In some aspects, the service prefix is further associated with one or more VPN service route(s).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 20220272023 A1 (Bidgoli).
Regarding Claim 2:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Saad teaches wherein route reflector is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device, ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
and wherein the route controller is further configured to send another route target membership request to stop receiving routes associated with the VLAN identifier. ([0036] The membership signaling from each member device may be at least two types of signal, a "route withdraw" signal or a "route add" signal. The route withdraw signal indicates that the PE device is no longer connected to the corresponding CE and is no longer able to forward traffic to the corresponding CE. The membership signaling may include an identifier (e.g., an IP address) associated with the BGP-NHG membership group (e.g., 10.10.10.1 associated with BGP-NHG 216). [0055] virtual network connections.)
Saad teaches that the router reflector determines when local devices are inactive ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device.
Bidgoli teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a controller which generates forwarding instructions for the nodes based on the advertisements, Abstract.
Bidgoli also teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device. ([0010] FIGS. 1-4 disclose a path computation element (PCE, or other controller in a network) that establishes a session with a route reflector that receives advertisements (such as BGP messages) from nodes in the network via corresponding sessions with the route reflector. The PCE uses its session with the route reflector to monitor the advertisements received by the route reflector and determine the topology of the network.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Bidgoli to include wherein the route controller is further configured to determine that the VLAN identifier is inactive for computing devices local to the networking device. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide multiple devices with capabilities for discovering other locally connected devices for updating routing tables in order to provide redundancy/backup to the route reflector.
Regarding Claim 3:
Saad (as modified by Bidgoli) teaches on the invention of claim 2 as described.
Saad teaches wherein route reflector is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0036] a remote PE device ( e.g., remote PE 214) and/or an associated route reflector ( e.g., route reflector 212) may maintain a routing information base (RIB) and/or a forwarding information base (FIB) containing data corresponding to BGP-NHG 216 and associated PE devices (e.g., PE1 204, PE2 206, and PE3 208).)
Saad teaches that the route reflector removes/adds routes ([0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive.
Bidgoli teaches wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. ([0011] The PCE recomputes the forwarding instructions in response to addition of a leaf, removal of a leaf, addition of a new provider tunnel type, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Bidgoli to include wherein the route controller is further configured to remove stored routes for the VLAN identifier when the VLAN identifier is inactive. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide multiple devices with capabilities for discovering other locally connected devices for updating routing tables in order to provide redundancy/backup to the route reflector.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132972 Al (Saad) in view of US 2024/0039758 Al (Lemoine).
Regarding Claim 10:
Saad teaches on the invention of claim 9 as described.
Saad teaches route advertisement ([0035][0036]). However, Saad is silent on wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement.
Lemoine teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a communication method is implemented by a route reflector belonging to a computer system including at least one server in which a virtual proxy and a host are connected, Abstract.
Lemoine also teaches wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement. ([0112] a first transmission module MOD_TX1-D configured to freely transmit to the source proxy PR-D a notification including the hardware address CE-D MAC@ as well as the hop address CE-D NH@.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Saad per Lemoine to include wherein the route advertisement is a MAC-IP route advertisement. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide implementation into varied systems, as this would allow for flexibility to support many types of addressing for route advertisement.
Conclusion & Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454