Detailed action
2. This office action is in response to communication files on 02/29/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 20250203598 A1) (hereinafter “Goyal”) in view of Wentink et al. (US 20230056736 A1) (hereinafter “Wentink”).
Regarding claim 1, Goyal discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a first wireless personal area network (WPAN) device, a connection with a second WPAN device, which includes one or more channels allocated for wireless local area network (WLAN) communication (see Fig. 1, para. [0049] discloses a Wireless Personal Area Network where a central device connects to a one or more peripheral devices using BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) communications (part of Bluetooth specification working on radio frequency of 2.4 Hz (ISM band)); and
transmitting, by the first WPAN device, data via one or more of the plurality of WPAN channels, to the second WPAN device (see para. [0051] disclose the central device may become paired with peripheral device and link layer connections may be configured to run periodic events in dedicated data channels).
Goyal does not clearly disclose a connection comprising a plurality of WPAN channels established in a frequency range.
However, Wentink teaches a connection comprising a plurality of WPAN channels established in a frequency range (see para. [0047] discloses multiple standards transmitted over 2.4 GHz or WB, with multiple 20 MHz channels and PPDU transmitted over physical channels of 40MHz, 80 MHz, etc., by bonding together multiple 20 MHz channels).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance in the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 2, Goyal discloses a method wherein the first WPAN device and the second WPAN device comprise at least one of ultra-wideband (UWB) devices (this part is optional), or a device operating at 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) (see Fig. 1, para. [0049] discloses the connection of the central device to peripheral devices uses Bluetooth protocol with radio frequency communication in 2.4 GHz).
Regarding claim 3, Goyal discloses a method wherein a first device comprises the first WPAN device and a WLAN device, the connection comprises a first connection, and wherein the method further comprises (see Fig. 14, para. [0172] discloses an apparatus paired with a peripheral device over Bluetooth connection receiving data packets from other devices included an Access Point (AP):
establishing, by the WLAN device, a second connection with a WLAN access point within the frequency range of the first connection (see Fig. 14, para. [0172] discloses an apparatus paired with a peripheral device over Bluetooth connection receiving data packets from other devices included an Access Point (AP)).
Regarding claim 4, Goyal does not disclose a method further comprising:
performing, by the first WPAN device, an adaptive frequency hopping procedure, to hop between the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection.
However, Wentink teaches a method further comprising:
performing, by the first WPAN device, an adaptive frequency hopping procedure, to hop between the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection (see para. [0036]; [0081]; [0173] disclose wireless communication with frequency hopping in the context of 2.4GHz and WLAN or WPAN; adaptive frequency hopping (AFH) for coexistence of Bluetooth and WLAN; wireless device configured to perform frequency hopping (FH)).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from prevent interference in the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 5, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method wherein the connection includes a combined bandwidth of at least 20 megahertz (MHz) across the plurality of WPAN channels.
However, Wentink teaches a method wherein the connection includes a combined bandwidth of at least 20 megahertz (MHz) across the plurality of WPAN channels (see para. [0047] disclose how the standard amendments may transmit in 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz or 6 GHz, divided in multiple 20 MHz channels, physical channel having a minimum of 20 MHz but larger channels can be formed through channel bounding).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 7, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method wherein the frequency range comprises at least one of following frequency ranges:
between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 5,250 MHz,
between 5,725 MHz and 5,850 MHz, between 5,850 MHz and 5,925 MHz,
or between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz
However, Wentink teaches a method wherein the frequency range comprises at least one of following frequency ranges:
between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 5,250 MHz, (this part is optional)
between 5,725 MHz and 5,850 MHz (this part is optional), between 5,850 MHz and 5,925 MHz (this part is optional),
or between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz (see para. [0040] discloses family of wireless communication protocol standards IEEE 802.11 for WLAN including 802.11ax (Wi-Fi6), this technology allows the use of frequency band between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 8, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method wherein the frequency range comprises a frequency range between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz, and wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprises channels between 5,925 MHz and 5,945 MHz.
However, Wentink teaches a method wherein the frequency range comprises a frequency range between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz, and wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprises channels between 5,925 MHz and 5,945 MHz (see para. [0040] discloses family of wireless communication protocol standards IEEE 802.11 for WLAN including 802.11ax (Wi-Fi6), this technology allows the use of frequency band between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 9, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method further comprising:
generating, by the first WPAN device, a packet to indicate the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection to be established; and
transmitting, by the first WPAN device, the packet for receipt by at least one of the second WPAN device or a WLAN device.
However, Wentink teaches a method further comprising:
generating, by the first WPAN device, a packet to indicate the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection to be established (see para. [0063] disclose advertising events may be used to transmit advertising packets via advertising channels to establish bidirectional communication (connection) via data channels, periodic broadcast via secondary advertising channels or via isochronous channels); and
transmitting, by the first WPAN device, the packet for receipt by at least one of the second WPAN device or a WLAN device (see para. [0063] disclose advertising events may be used to transmit advertising packets via advertising channels to establish bidirectional communication (connection) via data channels, periodic broadcast via secondary advertising channels or via isochronous channels. Gives example of ADV_EXT_IND and ADV_AUX_IND PDUs packet transmitted during the advertising event).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling performance.
Regarding claim 10, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method wherein the packet comprises at least one of a traffic indication packet or a beacon packet.
However, Wentink teaches a method wherein the packet comprises at least one of a traffic indication packet or a beacon packet (see [0042] disclose the AP periodically broadcast beacon frames within the wireless range to establish respective communication link).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling performance.
Regarding claim 11, Goyal does not clearly disclose a method wherein the packet comprises a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective channel between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 6,425 MHz
However, Wentink teaches method wherein the packet comprises a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective channel between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 6,425 MHz (see para. [0064] disclose Isochronous events used to transmit PDU, (packets) with synchronization parameters that include channel map that indicates the set of channels used, pseudo random number used as index of the complete set of channels and timing of the first data packet).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling performance.
Regarding claim 12, Goyal discloses a first device, comprising:
a wireless personal area network (WPAN) transceiver (see para. [0176] disclose the transceiver coupled to one or more antennas and the processing system, providing means for communication over transmission medium); and one or more processors configured to (see Fig. 2 para. [0011]; [0013; [0014]; [0019]; [0045]; [0059] disclose a wireless communication device with one or more processors coupled to a memory with the instructions for wireless communication and other circuits of the wireless device):
establish, via the WPAN transceiver, a connection with a second device, which
includes one or more channels allocated for wireless local area network (WLAN)
communication (see Fig. 1, para. [0049] discloses a Wireless Personal Area Network where a central device connects to a one or more peripheral devices using BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) communications (part of Bluetooth specification working on radio frequency of 2.4 Hz (ISM band)); and
transmit, via the first WPAN transceiver, data via one or more of the plurality of WPAN channels, to the second device (see para. [0051] disclose the central device may become paired with peripheral device and link layer connections may be configured to run periodic events in dedicated data channels).
Goyal does not clearly disclose a connection comprising a plurality of WPAN channels established in a frequency range.
However, Wentink teaches a connection comprising a plurality of WPAN channels established in a frequency range. (see para. [0047] discloses multiple standards transmitted over 2.4 GHz or WB, with multiple 20 MHz channels and PPDU transmitted over physical channels of 40MHz, 80 MHz, etc., by bonding together multiple 20 MHz channels).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance in the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 13, Goyal discloses a first device wherein the first WPAN device and the second WPAN device comprise at least one of ultra-wideband (UWB) devices (this part is optional), or a device operating at 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) (see Fig. 1, para. [0049] discloses the connection of the central device to peripheral devices uses Bluetooth protocol with radio frequency communication in 2.4 GHz).
Regarding claim 14, Goyal discloses a first device further comprising a WLAN transceiver,
wherein the connection comprises a first connection (see para. [0176] disclose the transceiver coupled to one or more antennas and the processing system, providing means for communication over transmission medium), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to (see para. [(see Fig. 2 para. [0011]; [0013; [0014]; [0019]; [0045]; [0059] disclose a wireless communication device with one or more processors coupled to a memory with the instructions for wireless communication and other circuits of the wireless device)]):
establish, via the WLAN transceiver, a second connection with a WLAN access point within the frequency range of the first connection (see para. [0051] disclose the central device may become paired with peripheral device and link layer connections may be configured to run periodic events in dedicated data channels).
Regarding claim 15, Goyal does not clearly disclose a first device wherein the connection includes a combined bandwidth of at least 20 megahertz (MHz) across the plurality of WPAN channels.
However, Wentink teaches a first device wherein the connection includes a combined bandwidth of at least 20 megahertz (MHz) across the plurality of WPAN channels (see para. [0047] disclose how standard amendments may transmit in 2, 4 GHz, 5 GHz or 6 GHz, divided in multiple 20 MHz channels, physical channel having a minimum of 20 MHz but larger channels can be formed through channel bounding).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a device as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 17, Goyal does not clearly disclose a first device wherein the frequency range comprises at least one the following frequency ranges:
between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 5,250 MHz,
between 5,725 MHz and 5,850 MHz, between 5,850 MHz and 5,925 MHz, or between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz
However, Wentink teaches a device wherein the frequency range comprises at least one the following frequency ranges:
between 5,150 megahertz (MHz) and 5,250 MHz, (this part is optional)
between 5,725 MHz and 5,850 MHz, between 5,850 MHz and 5,925 MHz, (this part is optional)
or between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz (see para. [0040] discloses family of wireless communication protocol standards IEEE 802.11 for WLAN including 802.11ax (Wi-Fi6), this technology allows the use of frequency band between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz. The WLAN include multiple communications devices such as access points (AP) and stations (STA)).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a device as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 18, Goyal does not clearly disclose device wherein the frequency range comprises a frequency range between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz, and wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprises channels between 5,925 MHz and 5,945 MHz.
However, Wentink teaches a first device wherein the frequency range comprises a frequency range between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz, and wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprises channels between 5,925 MHz and 5,945 MHz (see para. [0040] discloses family of wireless communication protocol standards IEEE 802.11 for WLAN including 802.11ax (Wi-Fi6), this technology allows the use of frequency band between 5,925 MHz and 6,425 MHz. The WLAN include multiple communications devices such as access points (AP) and stations (STA)).
Regarding claim 19, Goyal does not clearly disclose a first device wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
generate a packet to indicate the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection to be established; and
transmit, via the WPAN transceiver, the packet for receipt by at least one of the second WPAN device or a WLAN device
However, Wentink teaches a device wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
generate a packet to indicate the plurality of WPAN channels of the connection to be established (see para. [0063] disclose advertising events may be used to transmit advertising packets via advertising channels to establish bidirectional communication (connection) via data channels, periodic broadcast via secondary advertising channels or via isochronous channels); and
transmit, via the WPAN transceiver, the packet for receipt by at least one of the second WPAN device or a WLAN device (see para. [0063] disclose advertising events may be used to transmit advertising packets via advertising channels to establish bidirectional communication (connection) via data channels, periodic broadcast via secondary advertising channels or via isochronous channels. Gives example of ADV_EXT_IND and ADV_AUX_IND PDUs packet transmitted during the advertising event).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a device as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Regarding claim 20, Goyal does not clearly disclose a first device wherein the packet comprises at least one of a traffic indication packet or a beacon packet for a WLAN device, and wherein
the packet comprises a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective channel.
However, Wentink teaches a first device wherein the packet comprises at least one of a traffic indication packet or a beacon packet for a WLAN device (see [0042] disclose the AP periodically broadcast beacon frames within the wireless range to establish respective communication link), and wherein
the packet comprises a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective channel (see para. [0064] disclose Isochronous events used to transmit PDU, (packets) with synchronization parameters that include channel map that indicates the set of channels used, pseudo random number used as index of the complete set of channels and timing of the first data packet).
Goyal and Wentink are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a device as described by Wentink.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and bit rate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 20250203598 A1) (hereinafter “Goyal”) in view of Wentink et al. (US 20230056736 A1) (hereinafter “Wentink”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He et al. (US 10749991 B2) (hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 6, Goyal fails to disclose a method wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprise at least five channels, including three advertising channels and two data channels.
However, He teaches a method wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprise at least five channels, including three advertising channels and two data channels (see para. [0209] disclose how BLE has 40 channels (of 2 MHz named 0 to 39) with 3 advertising channels and others are data channels).
Goyal and He are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a method as described by He.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance, signaling and bit rate.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 20250203598 A1) (hereinafter “Goyal”) in view of Wentink et al. (US 20230056736 A1) (hereinafter “Wentink”) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of He et al. (US 10749991 B2) (hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 16, Goyal fails to disclose a first device wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprise at least five channels, including three advertising channels and two data channels.
However, He teaches a device wherein the plurality of WPAN channels comprise at least five channels, including three advertising channels and two data channels (see para. [0209] disclose how BLE has 40 channels (of 2 MHz named 0 to 39) with 3 advertising channels and others are data channels).
Goyal and He are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal to include a device as described by He.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance, signaling and bit rate.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kupa et al. (US 20250151136 A1) discloses Transmitting Bluetooth Audio Data Over Wi-Fi Link.
Silverman et al. (US 20230076697 A1) discloses Dynamic Frequency Coordination in Shared Wireless Communications
/LUIS LEMA LEMOS/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419