DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, lines 1 – 2, “to the kingpin a configured” should be “to the kingpin and configured”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by international patent document number WO 2020/107125 A1 to Layfield et al. (hereinafter referred to as Layfield).
Regarding claim 19, Layfield discloses a road vehicle system (active converter dolly apparatus 14) comprising:
a chassis (frame 24) defining a longitudinal axis;
a first vehicle coupling (hitch 26) mounted at a forward end of the chassis relative to the longitudinal axis;
a second vehicle coupling (second trailer connector assembly 6) mounted to a superior surface of the chassis rearwardly of the forward end relative to the longitudinal axis (See Fig. 2a);
an electric powertrain (kinetic energy recovery device 30), comprising:
a battery (energy storing device 32) mounted to the forward end of the chassis (frame 24);
a steering actuator (controller 502);
a drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111); and
a traction motor (electric motor/generator 36) coupled to the drive axle; and
a vehicle sensor suite (force sensors 80) comprising a first sensor coupled to the first vehicle coupling (hitch 26) and configured to measure a longitudinal force between the first vehicle coupling and the chassis (Paragraph [0105] and Fig. 14); and
[Claim 20] wherein the drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111) is a split-drive axle (differential 116 indicates a split drive axle, Fig. 16; Paragraph [00103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 13, and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield, in view of patent application publication number US 4,070,033 to Weir et al. (hereinafter referred to as Weir).
Regarding claim 1, Layfield discloses an electric vehicle (EV) system (active convertor dolly apparatus 14) configured to connect between a semi-tractor (towing vehicle 13) and a trailer (second trailer 12b), the EV system comprising:
a chassis (frame 24);
a first vehicle coupling (hitch 26) configured to couple the chassis to a fifth wheel of the semi-tractor;
a secondary fifth wheel (second trailer connector assembly 6) mounted to the chassis and configured to couple the trailer (second trailer 12b) to the chassis;
an electric drivetrain (kinetic energy recovery device 30) comprising:
a traction motor (electric motor/generator 36) and a drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111);
a battery system (battery array 632) comprising a set of battery cells and a charge port (inherent in charging a battery; Paragraph [00183]); and
a set of landing gear (crank 650 and detachable trailer jack 627) mounted to the chassis (frame 24) forward of the drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111).
However, Lay field does not disclose a kingpin configured to couple the chassis to a fifth wheel of the semi-tractor. Weir discloses a transport system of highway vehicles comprising a king pin (31) coupling a chassis (frame 25) to a fifth wheel of a semi-tractor (highway tractor 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield’s device to have a kingpin, as taught by Weir, to enable larger capacity towing.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1, but does not disclose:
[Claim 4] wherein a distance between the kingpin and the secondary fifth wheel is adjustable; and
[Claim 5] wherein a mounting position of the secondary fifth wheel is adjustable relative to the chassis.
However, Weir further discloses:
[Claim 4] a distance between the kingpin and the secondary fifth wheel is adjustable (fifth wheel plate 47 is slidable; Col. 2, Lns. 63 thru Col. 3, Ln. 1); and
[Claim 5] wherein a mounting position of the secondary fifth wheel is adjustable relative to the chassis (fifth wheel plate 47 is slidable; Col. 2, Lns. 63 thru Col. 3, Ln. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield such that the fifth wheel hitch is adjustable, to accommodate variances in trailer geometry.
Regarding claim 9, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses an EV system of claim 1, further comprising an electronic braking system (EBS) (regenerative braking ; Paragraph [0099]) coupled to the drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111).
Regarding claim 13, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1. Layfield further discloses a load cell (force sensors 80) connected to a pintle hook and configured to measure a longitudinal force at the pintle hook (Fig. 14 and Paragraph [00105]). Layfield does not disclose a kingpin and the force sensor connected to the kingpin to measure longitudinal forces at a kingpin.
However, Weir does disclose the kingpin (31) as previously mentioned.
Therefore, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to add the force sensor of Layfield to the kingpin from Weir, on the now modified hitch, to provide Layfield’s system with a kingpin hitch that can sense longitudinal loads on the trailer and provide that data to improve tractor-trailer driving.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1. Layfield does not teach;
[Claim 15] wherein the chassis comprises a pair of monocline-shaped frame rails; and
[Claim 16] wherein the chassis comprises a unibody.
However, Weir further discloses:
[Claim 15] a chassis (frame 25) comprises a pair of monocline-shaped frame rails (longitudinally extending frame members 28, Figs. 2 and 3); and
[Claim 16] the chassis (frame 25) comprises a unibody (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield to have a monocline-shaped and unibody frame, as taught by Weir, to increase the strength of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Layfield discloses an electric vehicle (EV) system (active convertor dolly apparatus 14) configured to connect between a semi-tractor (towing vehicle 13) and a trailer (second trailer 12b), the EV system comprising:
a chassis (frame 24);
a first vehicle coupling (hitch 26) configured to couple the chassis to a fifth wheel of the semi-tractor;
a secondary fifth wheel (second trailer connector assembly 6) mounted to the chassis and configured to couple the trailer (second trailer 12b) to the chassis; and
an electric drivetrain (kinetic energy recovery device 30) comprising:
a traction motor (electric motor/generator 36) and a drive axle (two drive shafts 110 and 111).
However, Layfield does not disclose a kingpin configured to couple the chassis to a fifth wheel of the semi-tractor. Weir discloses a transport system of highway vehicles comprising a king pin (31) coupling a chassis (frame 25) to a fifth wheel of a semi-tractor (highway tractor 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield’s device to have a kingpin, as taught by Weir, to enable larger capacity towing.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield and Weir, in view of patent application publication number US 2011/0074132 A1 to Banwart.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Layfield discloses the EV system of claim 1, but does not teach:
[Claim 2] wherein the set of landing gear comprises a set of front wheels; and
[Claim 3] wherein the front wheels are steerable.
Banwart discloses a powered converter dolly and securing device wherein:
[Claim 2] a set of landing gear (steerable landing gear assembly 82) comprises a set of front wheels (landing gear wheels 98); and
[Claim 3] the front wheels are steerable (steering control module; Paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield’s system to include landing gear as taught by Banwart, above, to aid in steering the tractor-trailer in addition to driving it.
Claims 6, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield and Weir, and further in view of patent application publication number US 2018/0346042 A1 to Elliott et al. (hereinafter referred to as Elliott).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 14, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1, but they do not disclose:
[Claim 6] wherein the electric drivetrain comprises a trailing arm suspension;
[Claim 7] wherein the drive axle comprises a steering drive axle coupled to the trailing arm suspension; and
[Claim 14] wherein the drive axle comprises a split-drive axle mounted to the chassis by a trailing arm suspension.
However, Elliott discloses a vehicle hitch mounting trailer (double-decker trailer 10) comprising wheel axles (axle 70) mounted to the trailer by trailing-arm suspension (Paragraph [0031]; Figs. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Layfield’s trailer to have attached thereto a trailing arm suspension, as taught by Elliott, to avoid damaging the trailer frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10 – 12, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the set of battery cells is arranged above the kingpin. Claim 18 includes similar limitations, and therefore, is allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Layfield, modified by Weir, discloses the EV system of claim 1, but they do not teach the kingpin is integrated with a multi-axis force sensing assembly. Other prior art does not teach this in singly or in combination. Claims 11 and 12 depend from claim 10, and therefore, are also allowed.
Conclusion
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611