DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to Applicant's arguments dated 01/21/2026. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are pending in the application. Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 has/have been amended. Claim(s) 9 and 10 has/have been added.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. In re Tanaka et aI., 193 USPQ 139, (CCPA) 1977.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220118762 to Yoda (hereinafter “Yoda”).
With respect to claim 1, Yoda discloses A printing apparatus (droplet discharging device 11 FIG. 1) comprising: a medium support portion configured to support a medium (medium support unit 30 FIG. 1); an ink ejecting portion configured to perform printing by ejecting an ink including a solvent from a nozzle to a printing region of the medium supported by the medium support portion (printing unit 50 FIG. 1); a housing that contains the ink ejecting portion (housing 12 FIG. 1); a conveyance portion configured to convey the medium into the housing at a medium entry portion and out of the housing at a medium exit portion (13, 14, 40 FIG. 1), and a dry air blowing portion configured to blow dry air toward the printing region (80 FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 6, Yoda discloses further comprising a dry air generation portion configured to generate the dry air, wherein the dry air blowing portion includes a flow path having one end coupled to the dry air generation portion and a dry air blowing nozzle coupled to the other end of the flow path (80 FIG.s 1).
With respect to claim 8, Yoda discloses a printing system comprising: a printing apparatus including a medium support portion configured to support a medium (droplet discharging device 11 FIG. 1, medium support unit 30 FIG. 1), an ink ejecting portion configured to perform printing by ejecting an ink including a solvent from a nozzle to a printing region of the medium supported by the medium support portion (printing unit 50 FIG. 1), a housing that contains the ink ejecting portion; a conveyance portion configured to convey the medium into the housing at a medium entry portion and out of the housing at a medium exit portion (13, 14, 40 FIG. 1), and the printing system further comprising a dry air blowing portion configured to blow dry air toward the printing region (80 FIG. 1); and a dry air generation device configured to generate the dry air, wherein the dry air blowing portion includes a flow path having one end coupled to the dry air generation device and a dry air blowing nozzle coupled to the other end of the flow path (80 FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
1. Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220118762 to Yoda (hereinafter “Yoda”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210078256 to Anegawa (hereinafter “Anegawa”).
With respect to claim 5, Yoda discloses comprising a carriage equipped with the liquid ejecting portion and configured to move in a scanning direction within the housing ([0021] carriage moves)
However, Yoda fails to specifically disclose:
wherein the dry air blowing portion is provided on the carriage.
Anegawa discloses:
wherein the dry air blowing portion is provided on the carriage(140 FIG.s 1-3).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the blowing portion to the carriage as disclosed by Anegawa with the method/apparatus of Yoda. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the control of the air. (FIG. 1-3 of Anegawa).
With respect to claim 7, Yoda in view of Anegawa discloses wherein the dry air blowing portion includes a dry air heating portion configured to heat the dry air (warm air generating unit 110, 140 FIG.s 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9 and 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The primary reason for allowance for claim 2 is that applicant's claimed invention includes the printing apparatus wherein the dry air blowing portion is configured to blow the dry air into the housing through the medium exit portion toward the printing region. It is this limitation, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
1. The objections dated 10/22/2026 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
2. Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853