DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimatsu (US 2019/0239259) in view of Tachiwa (US 10,481,842).
With respect to claim 1 (similarly claims 10-11), Kunimatsu teaches a printing device (e.g. a printer 100 Fig 1 [0024], Fig 2 [0035]) comprising:
a connection processor (e.g. CPU 301 Fig 3 [0035]) configured to establish wireless communication connection with a plurality of terminal devices including a first terminal device and a second terminal device, conforming to a neighbor awareness network (NAN) standard (e.g. to establish wireless communication connection with communication apparatuses 101, 103-104 Fig 1 i.e. a first terminal device and a second terminal device, conforming to NAN standard, [0024]-[0025], [0036] communication unit 308, Figs 4-5 [0040]-[0042]);
a print information acquisition unit (e.g. communication unit 308 [0036]) configured to acquire image data to be printed from the first terminal device using the wireless communication connection (e.g. to acquire image data to be printed from 101 [0026] using the communication connection);
a printing unit (e.g. printing unit 305 Fig 3) configured to print the image data (e.g. prints the image, [0026], [0036]); and
a transmission controller (e.g. CPU 301 through communication unit 308) configured to perform control to transmit the image data to the first terminal device using the wireless communication connection when the image data is printed (e.g. to control the communication unit 308 to transmit the image of [0026], [0036] to communication apparatus 101 of Fig 1 using the wireless communication connection when the printing is completed and the image data is printed as suggested in Figs 4-5 S411 and F513, since the communication unit 308 allows printer 100 and communication apparatus 101 to transmit/receive content data, [0058]).
However, Kunimatsu fails to teach to perform control to transmit the image data to the second terminal device i.e. terminal apparatus 102 or 103 of Fig 1.
Tachiwa teaches a display screen 502 Fig 5B with a selectable button “Share via email” to perform control to transmit image data to a second terminal device (e.g. control unit 301 of terminal device 100 Fig 3 performs control to transmit image content Fig 5B to a second terminal device 102 Fig 1 using selectable button “Share via email” Fig 5B).
Kunimatsu and Tachiwa are analogous art because they all pertain to image data/content transmission/reception in a NAN system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kunimatsu with the selectable button “Share via email” of Tachiwa in Fig 5B to include: to perform control to transmit the image data to the second terminal device such that the image data is transmitted to not only the first terminal device 101, but also second terminal device 102 of Fig 1, thus providing more flexibility to the user of terminal device 100 Fig 1 to transmit/receive data/content.
With respect to claim 3, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission controller is configured to perform control not to transmit the image data to the first terminal device (e.g. not to transmit the image data the communication apparatus that is non-master and non-sync since it transmits neither a sync beacon nor a discovery beacon [0028], when the first terminal device 101 is non-master and non-sync).
With respect to claim 4, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 1, wherein the first terminal device, the second terminal device, and the printing device are devices belonging to the same NAN cluster (e.g. communication apparatus 101, 102 and printer 100 are devices belonging to the same NAN cluster 110, see Fig 1).
With respect to claim 5, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 1, wherein the print information acquisition unit further acquire, using the wireless communication connection, print setting information for designating a print setting for printing the image data (e.g. acquiring using the wireless communication connection, print setting/service list for designating a print setting/service list for printing the image data, as suggested in [0045]-[0046]), and the transmission controller does not transmit the image data to the second terminal device when the print setting information does not include information for designating a predetermined print setting (e.g. the printer 100 can, for example, have a setting value indicating that it provides a print service to a specific apparatus alone, and when the TA of a message in F505 is different from the address of the specific apparatus, the printer 100 can perform a process such as the exclusion of a print service from a service list to be transmitted [0046]).
With respect to claim 6, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 5, wherein when the print setting information does not include information for instructing printing of the image data on a predetermined printing medium, the transmission controller does not transmit the image data to the second terminal device (e.g. when the TA of a message in F505 is different from the address of the specific apparatus, the printer 100 can perform a process such as the exclusion of a print service from a service list to be transmitted [0046]).
With respect to claim 7, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 5, wherein when the print setting information does not include information for instructing printing of the image data at a predetermined image quality, the transmission controller does not transmit the image data to the second terminal device (e.g. when the TA of a message in F505 is different from the address of the specific apparatus, the printer 100 can perform a process such as the exclusion of a print service from a service list to be transmitted [0046]).
With respect to claim 8, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission controller is configured to end transmission of the image data based on a comparison result between the number of copies of the image data printed by the printing unit and the number of the terminal devices to which the image data is transmitted (e.g. end transmission of image data after printing is complete and a notification in that regard is sent Fig 4 S411 and the NAN data link is terminated S412, which steps are based on a comparison result between the number of copies of the image data printed by the printing unit and the number of the terminal devices to which the image data is transmitted, as suggested in [0048]).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimatsu (US 2019/0239259) in view of Tachiwa (US 10,481,842) and further in view of Jung (US 2022/0103332).
With respect to claim 2, Kunimatsu teaches the printing device according to claim 1.
However, Kunimatsu fails to teach further comprising: a distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire, for each of the plurality of terminal devices, distance information indicating a distance between the terminal device and the printing device measured conforming to the NAN standard, wherein the transmission controller is configured to determine the second terminal device as a transmission destination of the image data based on the distance information.
Jung teaches a distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire, for each of the plurality of terminal devices, distance information indicating a distance between a terminal device and an external device measured conforming to the NAN standard (e.g. device 101 acquires, for each of the plurality of terminal devices, distance information indicating a distance between terminal device 101 and an external device measured conforming to the NAN standard, see [0197]-[0201] Fig 25) , wherein the transmission controller is configured to determine the terminal device as a transmission destination of the image data based on the distance information (e.g. The NAN device may measure an RSSI associated with a signal received from an external device in the 6 GHz frequency band, and if the measured RSSI is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value, it is determined that the external device is located within a coverage area of the 6 GHz frequency band. If the measured RSSI is greater than the threshold value, it is determined that the external device is located outside the coverage area of the 6 GHz frequency band [0197]).
Kunimatsu and Jung are analogous art because they all pertain to managing devices in a NAN cluster. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kunimatsu with the teachings of Jung to include: further comprising: a distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire, for each of the plurality of terminal devices, distance information indicating a distance between the terminal device and the printing device measured conforming to the NAN standard, wherein the transmission controller is configured to determine the second terminal device as a transmission destination of the image data based on the distance information, as taught by Jung in Fig 25 [0197]-[0201]). The benefit of the modification would be to provide an efficient management of the devices within the NAN cluster.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM SIDDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681