DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a domestic application filed 29 February 2024, which is a continuation of PCT/US2022/042545, filed 02 September 2022, and claims priority to US Provisional Application No. 63/240,578, filed 03 September 2021.
Claims 1-23 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommadossi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0201433, hereinafter the ‘433 Publication, cited in IDS submitted 25 September 2025) in view of Paparin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0198005, hereinafter the ‘005 Publication, cited in IDS submitted 25 September 2025).
The ‘433 Publication is drawn towards the use of 2’-substituted-N6-substituted purine nucleotides for RNA virus treatment (title). The nucleotide derivatives can be used to treat West Nile Virus (WNV), Zika, Yellow Fever Virus (YFV), and Dengue fever (para [0018]; claims 23-29). The ‘433 Publication teaches a method comprising administering an effective amount of a compound of Formula IIIe or Formula IVe, and exemplifies compound 205:
(claim 1, Table 5, see also para [0021]). Compound 205 had an EC50 towards DENV-2 of 0.8 µM, and an EC50 towards YFV. The ‘433 Publication teaches isomeric forms of compound 205, including:
,
,
(column 69, para [0679]). The drug can be in the form of an inorganic salt including sulfate (para [0720]).
While the ‘433 Publication teaches a 2’-methyl-2’-fluoro nucleoside derivative, the ‘433 Publication does not expressly disclose a 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro nucleoside analogues (title).
The ‘005 Publication teaches the following 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative:
(col. 164, claim 1). The compounds can be used to treat Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever (abstract). The ‘005 Publication teaches the preparation of 2’-dichloro nucleoside analogues 103 diastereomers 1 and 2:
(col. 143, 144). Compound 103a (diastereomer 2) had an EC50 of > 10 µM towards HCV Replicon , and a CC50 > 50 µM towards HCV Replicon Table 1). Compound 103a (diastereomer 1) had the same activity as diastereomer 2. The mixture had a higher EC50 activity of > 1 µM, and < 10 µM (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 205 of the ‘433 Publication at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, to arrive at a 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative.
The ordinary artisan would have started from compound 205, because it was identified by the ‘433 Publication as a lead compound, having strong antiviral activity towards dengue virus and yellow fever virus. The skilled artisan would have looked to the ‘005 Publication, because they are both concerned with preparing nucleoside analogues for the treatment of Flaviviridae infections. The compounds of the ‘433 Publication are very similar to compounds 103a of the ‘005 Publication, differing only at the 2’-position and the base. Furthermore, 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivatives were shown to have antiviral activity.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to substitute the 2’-methyl-2’-fluoro nucleoside for 2’-chloro-2’-fluoro with a reasonable expectation of arriving at a compound having similar Flaviviridae antiviral activity.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claim(s) 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the '433 Publication and the '005 Publication as applied to claims 1-13 and 20-23 above, and further in view of Moussa et al. (US Patent No. 10,519,186, hereinafter the ‘186 Patent, cited in IDS submitted 25 September 2025).
The ‘433 Publication teaches as discussed above.
The ‘433 Publication does not expressly disclose a hemi-sulfate salt (present claims 14-19).
The ‘005 Publication teaches as discussed above.
The ‘186 Patent is drawn towards 2’-deoxy-2’-fluoro nucleoside hemi-sulfate salts for the treatment of hepatitis viral infections (title, abstract):
. The ‘186 Patent teaches hepatitis C is an RNA single-stranded virus (col.1:26-35). The ‘186 Patent teach they found the hemisulfate salt of compound 1, exhibited unexpected advantageous therapeutic properties, including enhanced bioavailability, and target organ selectivity over its free base, compound 1
(col.4:38-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 205 of the ‘433 Publication at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, and to prepare a hemi-sulfate salt of the compound for the treatment of a human host infected with a Flavivirus.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to prepare the hemi-sulfate salt as claimed, because in the same field of endeavor of administering 2’-fluoro nucleoside derivatives for the treatment of RNA viruses, the ‘433 Publication teaches preparing sulfate forms of compound 1, and the ‘186 Patent found the hemi-sulfate salt of compound 1 was significantly more bioavailable than the free base.
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating a human host infected with a Flavivirus, because the ‘433 Publication teaches compound 1 was effective in treating Dengue virus infections and Yellow Fever infections, and the ‘005 Publication teaches 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative for treating Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-52 of U.S. Patent No. 10,519,186 in view of Paparin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0198005, cited above).
The claims of the ‘186 Patent are drawn towards the following hemisulfate salt:
, and a method of administering it to treat a hepatitis C infection in a human.
The claims of the ‘186 Patent do not expressly disclose the 2’-chloro derivative, or treating a Flavivirus infection.
The ‘005 Publication teaches the following 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative:
(col. 164, claim 1). The compounds can be used to treat Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of the reference patent at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, because like the ‘005 Publication, the compound was claimed as having antiviral activity. Substitution of methyl with chloro results in a compound having strong antiviral activity towards Flavivirus infections.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-52 of U.S. Patent No. 10,946,033 in view of Paparin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0198005, cited above), and further in view of Moussa et al. (US Patent No. 10,519,186, cited above).
The claims of the reference Patent are drawn towards the same compounds presently claimed for treating the same virus presently claimed, except they differ at the 2’-position (2’-methyl-2’-fluoro vs 2’-chloro-2’fluoro).
The claims of the reference Patent do not expressly disclose the hemi-sulfate salt.
The ‘005 Publication teaches the following 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative:
(col. 164, claim 1). The compounds can be used to treat Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever (abstract).
The claims of the ‘186 Patent are drawn towards the following hemisulfate salt:
, and a method of administering it to treat a hepatitis C infection in a human.
The claims of the ‘186 Patent do not expressly disclose the 2’-chloro derivative, or treating a Flavivirus infection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of the reference patent at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, because like the ‘005 Publication, the compound was claimed as having antiviral activity. Substitution of methyl with chloro results in a compound having strong antiviral activity towards Flavivirus infections.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to prepare the hemi-sulfate salt as claimed, because in the same field of endeavor of administering 2’-fluoro nucleoside derivatives for the treatment of RNA viruses, the ‘433 Publication teaches preparing sulfate forms of compound 1, and the ‘186 Patent found the hemi-sulfate salt of compound 1 was significantly more bioavailable than the free base.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-52 of U.S. Patent No. 10,874,687 in view of Paparin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0198005, cited above).
The claims of the reference Patent are drawn towards administering the 2’-methyl-2’-fluoro derivative of the presently claimed compound (rather than the claimed 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro), and its hemi-sulfate form, for treating SARS-CoV-2 virus.
The claims of the reference Patent do not expressly disclose the 2’-chloro derivative, or treating a Flavivirus infection.
The ‘005 Publication teaches the following 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative:
(col. 164, claim 1). The compounds can be used to treat Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of the reference patent at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, because like the ‘005 Publication, the compound was claimed as having antiviral activity. Substitution of methyl with chloro results in a compound having strong antiviral activity towards Flavivirus infections.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,860 in view of Paparin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0198005, cited above).
The claims of the reference Patent are drawn towards administering the 2’-methyl-2’-fluoro derivative of the presently claimed compound (rather than the claimed 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro), and its hemi-sulfate form, for treating hepatitis C virus infected human.
The claims of the reference Patent do not expressly disclose the 2’-chloro derivative, or treating a Flavivirus infection.
The ‘005 Publication teaches the following 2’-fluoro-2’-chloro derivative:
(col. 164, claim 1). The compounds can be used to treat Flaviviridae infections, including dengue fever and yellow fever (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of the reference patent at the 2’-position, to replace the 2’-methyl of compound 205 with a 2’-chloro group, because like the ‘005 Publication, the compound was claimed as having antiviral activity. Substitution of methyl with chloro results in a compound having strong antiviral activity towards Flavivirus infections.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699