DETAILED ACTION
Amendments
Claim 1 has been amended by inserting to induce local paralysis in line 5.
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 and 23-26 are currently pending and have been examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103
RE: Rejection of claims 1-11 and 23-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palan et al. (WO 2015/166242 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/29/2024) in view of Pellett et al. (Toxicon, 2015, Vol. 107, pages 37-42; cited in IDS filed on 02/29/2024).
With respect to the unexpected results argument, applicant argues that the rejection of record relies on a generalization from other BoNT/A subtypes to BoNT/A6. Specifically, applicant asserts that Pellet does not teach each of the BoNT/A subtypes as predictable or interchangeable and to the contrary, Pellett teaches that BoNT/A subtypes have “distinct characteristics”. Applicant states that only relatively few BoNT subtypes had been characterized at the time of filing (with respect to their biologic properties) and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the pharmacological behavior of a particular BoNT/A subtype must be determined empirically, not inferred from the mere fact that another subtype had favorable properties.
Applicant explains that this point is particularly important for BoNT/A6 because little was known regarding this subtype as it is only produced in a dual-toxin producing strain complicating its isolation and characterization. Given the amino acid similarity (95.7% with BoNT/A1) and nearly identical light chain amino acid sequence, applicant asserts that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have expected BoNT/A6 to exhibit similar properties to BoNT/A1. In contrast, BoNT/A6 was found to be 10-fold more potent than BoNT/A1 and a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected such a dramatic improvement in pharmacologic activity from a toxin whose light chain differs from BoNT/A1 by only one amino acid residue.
The examiner has fully considered this argument but it is not sufficient to overcome the rejection of record for the following reasons.
As discussed in the rejection of record, Palan established the existence of BoNT/A6 and its use to induce paralysis and Pellett provides sufficient motivation to modify Palan such that the BoNT/A6 is used to induce local paralysis. It was known at the time of filing that BoNT/A subtypes have distinct characteristics, ranging from differences in cell entry and enzyme kinetics to differences in potent in mice and cell-model specific potency. The Examiner disagrees with the assertion that BoNT/A6’s similarity to BoNT/A1 would have suggested to a person having ordinary skill that the activity would also be similar. It is well established in the art that single amino acid changes can impart dramatic changes on protein activity. For example, Pirazzini et al. (Pharmacological Reviews, 2017, Vol. 69, pages 200-235) is a review of the state of the botulinum toxin art months before the effective filing date and is therefore helpful in ascertaining the state of the art at the time of filing. Pirazzini teaches the following.
The limited data available on the biologic properties of the novel BoNTs indicate that even minor differences in the amino acid sequence can significantly change their activity and toxicity (Wang et al., 2013; Whitemarsh et al., 2013; Kull et al., 2015). In addition, novel BoNT mutants endowed with ad hoc properties can be designed and produced via recombinant methods (Pirazzini et al., 2013b; Masuyer et al., 2014). Therefore, it is likely that new BoNTs with improved and/or different therapeutic targets /properties/indications will be discovered in the near future. (p. 202, left col., par. 3; emphasis added).
Thus, at the time of filing, it was expected that small differences could elicit large changes in activity and it was known that there would be discovery of new BoNTs having improved activities. For these reasons, the observed properties are not considered to be unexpected.
Additionally, as discussed in the rejection of record, the specification concedes that the activity of BoNT/A6 is similar to that of BoNT/A2. Therefore, at least with respect to the BoNT/A serotype as a whole, applicant has not demonstrated that the observed activity of BoNT/A6 is unexpected or remarkable (such as by being significantly improved when compared to all known BoNT/A subtypes).
In summary, the prior art (Palan) directly taught the existence and usefulness of BoNT/A6 in methods of inducing paralysis. Pellett provides sufficient motivation to modify Palan’s method such that it is for inducing “local paralysis”. The instant application differs only in that applicant has elucidated the properties of the previously known BoNT/A6 toxin. For the reasons discussed above and in the rejection of record, it would have been reasonably expected that the BoNT/A6 toxin had different characteristics than other BoNT/A subtypes including subtypes with which it had close sequence identity. Therefore the differences observed by applicant are not considered to rise to a level of an “unexpected or remarkable result”.
With respect to the routine optimization argument, applicant argues that arriving at the effective dose is not a result of routine optimization because it flows from the discovered and allegedly unexpected pharmacologic properties of BoNT/A6. Applicant asserts that this dosage is therefore not an arbitrary dosage parameter but a functional consequence of an unexpectedly superior BoNT/A6 pharmacologic profile. Therefore, the contention that this dose is routine optimization is impermissible hindsight.
The examiner has fully considered this argument but it is not sufficient to overcome the rejection of record for the following reasons.
As discussed above and in the rejection of record, the prior art (Palan) directly taught the existence and usefulness of BoNT/A6 in methods of inducing paralysis and the observed properties of BoNT/A6 are not found to be unexpected. The “effective amount” limitation in the instant claims is merely representative of a comparison between BoNT/A6 and BoNT/A1 and flows naturally from the increased potency compared to BoNT/A1. The activities of BoNT/A1 and BoNT/A6 are inherent to the toxins and therefore the use of less toxin flows directly from the activity applicant observed. As discussed in the rejection of record, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been prompted, upon determining factors such as the LD50, to routinely experiment with various amounts of the toxin in order to arrive at an “effective amount”. The comparison made in the claim merely establishes the “effective amount” as being less than BoNT/A1 and this fact is directly tied to the inherent properties of BoNT/A6. For the reasons discussed above, it is not unexpected that BoNT/A6 had improved activity when compared to BoNT/A1 and therefore it is not non-obvious for the effective amount to be less than BoNT/A1.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of record is proper and must be maintained.
Maintained rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-11 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palan et al. (WO 2015/166242 A1; cited in IDS filed on 02/29/2024) in view of Pellett et al. (Toxicon, 2015, Vol. 107, pages 37-42; cited in IDS filed on 02/29/2024).
Palan et al. (hereinafter Palan) describes methods for producing recombinant Clostridium botulinum neurotoxins of serotype A (BoNT/A)(p. 1, lines 5-6). Palan teaches that there are at least seven different classes of botulinum neurotoxin (A, B, C1, D, E, F, and G) and these are the most potent toxins known, with a median lethal dose (LD50) of 0.5 to 5 ng/kg depending on the serotype (p. 1, lines 9-21). Among the serotypes, the BoNT proteins are further divided into different subtypes on the basis of amino acid percentage sequence identity (p. 1, lines 17-18). The BoNT/A serotype is divided into at least eight subtypes (BoNT/A1 through BoNT/A8), which share at least 84% amino acid sequence identity with each other (p. 7, lines 32-34). Palan discloses the purification and full-length amino acid sequence of BoNT/A6 (p. 10, lines 30-31; p. 56, line 29 through p. 30, line 10). Palan teaches that clostridial neurotoxins are synthesized as single-chain polypeptides that are modified post-translationally by a proteolytic cleavage event to form two polypeptide chains joined together by a disulfide bond (i.e., a di-chain BoNT/A protein)(p. 1, lines 29-31). Although the invention of Palan is primarily directed towards methods of manufacturing BoNT using Escherichia coli and Lys-C (a commercially available endoproteinase)(p. 2, line 30 through p. 3, line 3; p. 3, line 32 through p. 4, line 2), Palan also teaches a method of treatment comprising administration of an active di-chain BoNT/A protein, composition, or liquid pharmaceutical composition of the invention to a patient in need thereof (p. 7, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 1, Palan teaches a method of treatment comprising administration of an active di-chain BoNT/A protein, composition, or liquid pharmaceutical composition of the invention to a patient in need thereof (p. 7, lines 16-18; claims 18 and 20).
With respect to the method of inducing local paralysis with BoNT/A6, Palan teaches administration of BoNT/A and further teaches that the BoNT/A may be a single-chain or di-chain protein comprising the sequence of BoNT/A6 (p. 9, lines 16-18 and 26-30 and p. 10, lines 30-31). Palan’s disclosure is directed to the administration of only one BoNT/A subtype (e.g., a composition consisting of BoNT/A6), rather than a combination of multiple subtypes (e.g., a composition comprising BoNT/A6) because Palan discloses that the method is used to produce the di-chain of any BoNT/A subtype (p. 9, lines 20-22) resulting from the culture of a single BoNT/A transformed cell (p. 48, lines 20-25). Palan further teaches that BoNTs are “well known for their ability to cause flaccid muscle paralysis” and “said muscle-relaxant properties have led to botulinum neurotoxins (such as BoNT/A) being employed in a variety of medical and cosmetic procedures” including a list encompassing local muscle paralysis (p. 2, lines 23-28). Palan does not use to exact words “including local paralysis”.
Nevertheless, Pellett teaches that BoNT/A is the most commonly used BoNT serotype for medical purposes (p. 37, right col., par. 2). Pellett further teaches that BoNT subtypes can be used to induce local paralysis (abstract). For example, Pellett investigated the administration of BoNT subtypes A1-A5 by intramuscular injection in mice (Fig. 5) and demonstrates that each of the BoNT subtypes were capable of causing local paralysis with some subtypes, such as BoNT/A2, having significantly more rapid increase in local paralysis when compared to other BoNT/A subtypes (p. 39, left col., par. 2; p. 41, fig. 3). Pellett teaches that ten subtypes have been identified for BoNT/A and analysis of several of these subtypes have revealed distinct characteristics, ranging from differences in cell entry and enzyme kinetics to differences in potent in mice and cell-model specific potency (abstract). BoNT/A2 has been studied in vitro and more potently causes local paralysis compared to BoNT/A1 likely due to its improved cell entry kinetics (p. 38, left col., par. 2).
Accordingly, because Palan teaches methods for treating patients with BoNT/A toxins including BoNT/A6 and because Pellett teaches that BoNT/A toxins can be administered to induce local paralysis, it would have been obvious to have modified the method of Palan such that it is a method of inducing local paralysis with BoNT/A6. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because both Palan and Pellett demonstrate that BoNT/A subtypes are universally useful in inducing local paralysis but differ in their characteristics such as cell entry and enzyme kinetics as well as potency. There is no evidence that the properties of BoNT/A6 are remarkable or unexpected because Pellett demonstrates the existence of BoNT/A toxins, such as BoNT/A2, which have superior cell entry kinetics when compared to BoNT/A1. Although applicant’s disclosure was not relied upon in arriving at this determination of obviousness, it is noted that applicant describes their BoNT/A6 findings as being “similar to BoNT/A2” (specification, [0090]), thus the disclosure does not clearly establish unexpected properties when compared to the BoNT/A subtype as a whole. This obviousness is based upon the “Some Teaching, Suggestion, or Motivation in the Prior Art That Would Have Led One of Ordinary Skill To Modify the Prior Art Reference or To Combine Prior Art Reference Teachings To Arrive at the Claimed Invention” rationale set forth in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Accordingly, Palan in view of Pellett makes obvious a method of inducing local paralysis in a patient comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a preparation comprising Clostridium botulinum neurotoxin, wherein the neurotoxin is BoNT/A6.
With respect to intramuscular administration, Palan teaches that the composition is to be applied intramuscularly (p. 43, lines 5-7; p. 45, lines 26-30). And although Palan does not use the word “injection”, intra-muscular administration is readily understood to be synonymous with intramuscular injection. Similarly, Pellett teaches IM injection of BoNT/A subtypes to induce local paralysis (p. 38, right col., par. 3).
With respect to the amount of the composition, although Palan does not explicitly teach administration of “an effective amount”, Palan teaches that a therapeutically effective dose is the amount of neurotoxin which prevents, ameliorates or treats the symptoms accompanying the disease and the dosage regiment will be determined by the attending physician and other clinical factors (p. 43, lines 19-30). In addition, Palan teaches that the compositions are administered at least once in order to treat or ameliorate or prevent a disease or condition (p. 43, line 34 through p. 44, line 2). Accordingly, Palan teaches administration of the composition in an effective amount because this amount necessarily must be one which prevents, ameliorates, or treats the symptoms of the accompanying disease (such as by performing the well-understood function of including local paralysis).
With respect to the effective amount being less than the amount of BoNT/A1 to induce local paralysis, Palan does not compare the dosing of BoNT/A6 to BoNT/A1 with respect to the amount required to induce local paralysis. Nevertheless, as discussed above, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been prompted to determine the “effective amount” through routine optimization based upon (i) Palan’s disclosure that BoNT LD50 values range from 0.5 to 5 ng/kg and that BoNT neurotoxins have differing efficacy (p. 1, lines 20-27) and (ii) Pellet’s disclosure that it is understood that BoNT subtypes have distinct characteristics such as cell entry and enzyme kinetics. Therefore, in routinely determining the LD50 values of BoNT serotypes, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at an effective amount of serotype A6 which is lower than needed when using subtype A1 with a reasonable expectation of success due to its inherently higher potency. There would have also existed a reasonable expectation of success because Palan teaches that the determination of efficacy is a standard pharmaceutical procedure, and the dosage regiment will be determined by the attending physician and other clinical factors (p. 43, lines 19-30).
Thus, claim 1 is made obvious by the teachings of Palan in view of Pellett as a result of routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 11, the instant claims are drawn to inherent properties of BoNT/A6. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Therefore, claims 2-5 and 11 are anticipated regardless of whether Palan or any other prior art disclosure recognized the enzymatic characteristics possessed by BoNT/A6 or its inherent differences when compared to BoNT/A1. See MPEP § 2112(I) and (II).
Regarding claims 6-7, as discussed above, Palan in view of Pellett makes obvious a method of inducing local paralysis. Palan further teaches that the medicament can be used for prevention and/or treatment of cervical dystonia, blepharospasm, hyperhidrosis, strabismus, achalasia, and migraine (i.e., nervous system or neuromuscular conditions)(p. 2, lines 23-29; p. 44, line 8 through p. 45, line 24).
Regarding claim 8, Palan teaches that the active di-chain BoNT/A proteins can be used in therapy and suitable therapies may include cosmetic treatments (p. 44, lines 5-7).
Regarding claims 9-10, Palan does not explicitly teach that the preparation comprises at least 95% pure A6 toxin or toxin complex but the purification of the composition is nonetheless obvious through routine optimization. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the recited levels of purity (95% and 98%) as a result of routine optimization and would have been prompted to do so by Palan’s teaching that it may be useful to purify the BoNT/A single- and di-chain proteins (p. 18, lines 16-18 and 20-23; p. 24, lines 19-28; p. 28, lines 9-20) to remove contaminants such as protamine sulfate, remaining DNA, parts of smaller proteins, and middle sized proteins as well as the hemagglutinins of the botulinum neurotoxin protein complex (p. 28, lines 9-20). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because simply increasing the purity of the active compound (BoNT/A6) would result in a composition which would be reasonably expected to more efficiently induce local paralysis in a patient. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 23, Palan teaches that BoNT/A can be used for the treatment of cervical dystonia, blepharospasm, strabismus, achalasia, migraine, cosmetic issues, spasms, hemifacial spasm, torticollis, cerebral palsy, spasmodic dysphonia, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, masticatory spasms, anal fissures, bladder dysfunction, bruxism, myokymia, and wrinkles (p. 2, lines 23-28; p. 44, line 8 through p. 45, line 24).
Regarding claim 24, Palan does not disclose a preparation comprising 100 units of Clostridium botulinum neurotoxin BoNT/A6. Nevertheless, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at this amount as a result of routine optimization. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been prompted to experiment to determine an appropriate amount to administer to a subject in need thereof based upon Palan’s teaching that a therapeutically effective dose is the amount of neurotoxin which prevents, ameliorates or treats the symptoms accompanying the disease and the dosage regiment will be determined by the attending physician and other clinical factors (p. 43, lines 19-30). Palan describes the methodology for determining an effective amount as being “well known in the medical arts” and teaches that dosages for any one patient depend upon many factors, including the patient’s size, body surface area, age, the particular compound to be administered (e.g., that the amount depends on the pharmacodynamic properties of the BoNT), time of administration, route of administration, general health, and other drugs being administered concurrently (p. 43, lines 29-33). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Palan teaches that the therapeutic efficacy and toxicity of the compound can be determined by standard pharmaceutical procedures in cell cultures or experimental animals (p. 43, lines 22-25). Applicant’s disclosure has been fully reviewed and there is no evidence that the recited amount is critical and/or elicits a remarkable or unexpected result. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at a dose of 100 units of Clostridium botulinum neurotoxin BoNT/A6 as a result of routine optimization (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 25, although Palan does not explicitly state that the preparation is at least 90% pure, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the recited level of purity as a result of routine optimization and would have been prompted to do so by Palan’s teaching that it may be useful to purify the BoNT/A single- and di-chain proteins to remove contaminants such as protamine sulfate, remaining DNA, parts of smaller proteins, and middle sized proteins as well as the hemagglutinins of the botulinum neurotoxin protein complex (p. 18, lines 16-18 and 20-23; p. 24, lines 19-28; p. 28, lines 9-20). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because simply increasing the purity of the active compound (BoNT/A6) would be reasonably expected to result in a composition which would more efficiently induce local paralysis in a patient. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 26, applicant has not provided a special definition for “single dose form”. This term has therefore been interpreted in its broadest reasonable form to encompass any administration form of administration which takes place over a single timepoint (i.e., a non-continuous administration such as an infusion). Palan discusses various administration methods including conventional intramuscular administration (p. 43, lines 5-7). Palan further teaches that the pharmaceutical compositions and formulations “are administered at least once in order to treat or ameliorate or prevent a disease or condition recited in this specification” (p. 43, line 34 through p. 44, line 2). Additionally, Palan teaches that the composition can be in liquid form and sealed in a vial or in a ready-to-use device such as a syringe (p. 41, lines 21-23) and teaches that dosage regimens can be determined by physicians and other clinical factors (p. 43, lines 29-33). Finally, Palan describes a process of reconstituting (with saline or water) a lyophilized material to create a solution or composition containing the BoNT/A protein “to be administered to a patient” (p. 42, lines 2-4). Therefore, Palan implicitly teaches or at least makes obvious administration in a single dose form.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT C CURRENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/MELENIE L GORDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651