DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Priority
The claimed foreign priority (CHINA 202111005514.2 08/30/2021) in this application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), is acknowledged.
The claimed priority of PCT (PCT/CN2022/114680 08/25/2022) in this application under 35 U.S.C. 371, is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment, paper dated 6/24/24 (claims, specification, abstract) is acknowledged.
Specification
The title is objected to because the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The present title COMMUNICATION METHOD, APPARATUS, AND SYSTEM is too broad and not sufficient for proper classification of the claimed subject matter. The title should also reflect claimed invention,
CONNECTION ESTABLISHMENT WITH ANOTHER NODE USING DIFFERENT KEY, please refer to MPEP 606 for title contents.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The figures submitted on the filing date of this application are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/18/24, 12/9/24, 5/6/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and has been considered and a copy is enclosed with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “second node” in claims 1, 9, 10, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The claim recites “second node” but it would be unclear as to what “second” correspond to since there is no “fist node” recited in the claim, so it is unclear if a first node is required. Claims 2-9, 11-18, 20 depend upon claims 1, 10, 19 respectively and hence subject to same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B.
Referring to claim(s) 1, 10, 19, Dao substantially discloses
A chip, wherein the chip is coupled to a memory, and is configurednon-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the computer-readable medium stores computer program instructions, and when the computer program instructions are executed by a processor, the processor is caused to implementperform a communication method, wherein the method comprises comprising: a communication apparatus, method, applied to an apparatus that comprises a processor and a transmitter, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by the processor, a second information used for communication with a second node, receiving, by the transmitter from the second node, a release request for a first communication connection, wherein the first information is used for communication on the first communication connection,
[0083] Another trigger in step 521 is that the ED 102 generates signalling connection release request to the (R)AN 302 so that the ED 102 enters CM-IDLE state. In this case, the (R)AN 302 will perform AN Release procedure with the AMF 308. The message 522 is replaced by message N2 ED Context Release request as described in the AN Release procedure of 3GPP TS 23.502, version 2.0.0 published in December 2017.
[0094] In step 550, MB Session Modification in UPF, the SMF 310 configures the UPFs. For some MB Session Modification Request, the SMF 310 needs to select a new Intermediate UPF (I-UPF) 305 to connect the (R)AN nodes and MB Session Anchor UPF. The I-UPF may be needed, for example, when activating UP connection of an MB Session, when the some or all EDs have moved to a new location, where there may be no direct connection between the new (R)AN node and the MB Session Anchor UPF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551, to an I-UPF 305. If a new I-UPF is selected, the SMF may send an N4 MB Session Establishment Request, to the newly selected I-UPF. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL TEID, and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)) to connect the I-UPF and the MB Session Anchor UPF, error correction protocol for N3 and N9. If an existing I-UPF is modified, the SMF may send an N4 MB Session Modification Request, to the I-UPF.
[0186] access and security information for connection between the nodes.
sending, by the transmitter, a connection establishment request to the second node, wherein the connection establishment request is used to request to establish a connection based on the second information
[0083] Another trigger in step 521 is that the ED 102 generates signalling connection release request to the (R)AN 302 so that the ED 102 enters CM-IDLE state. In this case, the (R)AN 302 will perform AN Release procedure with the AMF 308. The message 522 is replaced by message N2 ED Context Release request as described in the AN Release procedure of 3GPP TS 23.502, version 2.0.0 published in December 2017.
[0094] In step 550, MB Session Modification in UPF, the SMF 310 configures the UPFs. For some MB Session Modification Request, the SMF 310 needs to select a new Intermediate UPF (I-UPF) 305 to connect the (R)AN nodes and MB Session Anchor UPF. The I-UPF may be needed, for example, when activating UP connection of an MB Session, when the some or all EDs have moved to a new location, where there may be no direct connection between the new (R)AN node and the MB Session Anchor UPF. The SMF 310 may send a message, e.g. N4 MB Session Establishment/Modification/Release Request 551, to an I-UPF 305. If a new I-UPF is selected, the SMF may send an N4 MB Session Establishment Request, to the newly selected I-UPF. The message may include QoS rules, N3 tunnel information ((R)AN Addresses and DL TEID, and optionally the UL TEID) to connect I-UPF and (R)AN nodes, N9 tunnel information (UPF Addresses and UL and DL TEID(s)) to connect the I-UPF and the MB Session Anchor UPF, error correction protocol for N3 and N9. If an existing I-UPF is modified, the SMF may send an N4 MB Session Modification Request, to the I-UPF.
[0186] access and security information for connection between the nodes.
Dao does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which MA discloses, first key (pre-configured first key to encrypt, last 4th para, page 17) second key for communication authentication ( the second key is used for performing the safety verification, last para, page 3, verifies the safety node, the authentication response may include the second key generated by the AUSF device for the first UCF device. The second key is used to verify the safety UCF device, and is further used for encrypting and decrypting the message transmitted between the first UCF device and the RAN node, 6th para, page 22) obtaining, by the processor, a second key used for communication authentication with a second node( the second key is used for performing the safety verification, last para, page 3) wherein the second key is different from a preconfigured first key (pre-configured first key to encrypt, last 4th para, page 17)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing keys. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, the key would enable authenticating the entity using the secure information for secure access of the entity. The separate keys for each communication would prevent a user to use the same key for another communication, 6th para, page 22.
Claim(s) 2, 20, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B and WANG et al., CN 107580324 A.
Referring to claim(s) 2, Dao and MA do not disclose, which WANG discloses wherein the connection establishment request is used to request to perform an authentication and security context negotiation procedure based on the second key ( AMF receives IMSI UPDATE ACCEPT message, sends the IMSI to UDM/AUSF UPDATE ACCEPT message, and based on the root key Kseaf to generate a new NAS integrity and confidentiality protection key Knasi and Knase key, and re-sending the security context negotiation action to the UE. UE generates new Knase, Knasi, keys and Krrce, Krrci, Kupe, and Kupi according to the standard with the AMF security context negotiation procedure.4th para, page 5. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing security context negotiation procedure. The procedure provides secure communication, starting with the device sending available mechanisms and the other device responding until mutual authentication and context are established. Hence, the secure communication is bound to the security context which can be specifically specified for additional security. 4th para, page 5.
Claim(s) 3, 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B and WANG et al., CN 107580324 A and Hu et al., WO 2021037262 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 3, 12, WANG discloses receiving, by the transmitter, authentication information that is based on the second key and that is from the second node (
maintaining the UE subscription information or provide authentication of network element UDM/AUSF/HSS according to certain strategy of UE generates new IMSI information, replacing the previous old IMSI of the UE. and then maintaining the UE subscription information or providing network authentication through a CP (control plane) mechanism notifies the AMF/MME action of the UE changes the IMSI, and producing new GUTI information is the new IMSI, then change AMF/MME and then notifies the UE IMSI and GUTI. secondly, by maintaining the UE subscription information or provide authentication of network element UDM/AUSF/HSS according to certain strategy of UE generates new IMSI information, replacing the previous old IMSI of the UE. and then maintaining the UE subscription information or provide authentication of network element notifying the UE to change to perform IMSI action through the UP (User Plane) mechanism, at the same time, deletes the old GUTI IMSI related information, then the UE carries the new IMSI to reinitiate network attachment procedure. the AMF/MME new IMSI for establishing various context information, so as to reach the effect of changing IMSI on the AMF/MME. 3rd last para, page 4
Dao, Ma, and Wang do not disclose, which Hu discloses wherein the authentication information is used to verify an identity of the second node. (4th last para, page 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing verifying an identity of the node. Verifying a node's identity means confirming it's a legitimate, trusted entity, using cryptography (certificates, signatures), attestation (proving its unique environment), or shared secrets. Hence, the identify of the node would enable ensuring that the communication is bound to the trusted entity so that shared secrets can be provided for accessing resources, 4th last para, page 6.
Claim(s) 4, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO in view of MA, WANG, Hu and Li et al., CN 109548010 A.
Referring to claim(s) 4, 13, Dao, Ma, Hu and Wang do not disclose, which Li discloses sending, by the transmitter, an authentication response that is based on the second key to the second node, wherein the authentication response is used to verify an identity of a first node (3rd para, page 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the response and verifying an identity of the node. Verifying a node's identity means confirming it's a legitimate, trusted entity, using cryptography (certificates, signatures), attestation (proving its unique environment), or shared secrets. Hence, the response and identify of the node would enable ensuring that the communication is bound to the trusted entity so that shared secrets can be provided for accessing resources, 3rd para, page 24.
Claim(s) 5, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B and Patil et al., 20210153009.
Referring to claim(s) 5, 14, Dao and MA do not disclose, which Patil discloses wherein the release request comprises request cause information; and the request cause information indicates that a key used for communication authentication is updated. (para 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing updating the key. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, the updating the key would ensure that the old key is not reused by anyone to maintain the confidentiality and integrity for additional security, para 9.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B and Wu, WO 2021030576 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 15, Dao and MA do not disclose, which Wu discloses wherein the second key is valid within a first duration, and the first duration is defined by a timer or a timestamp, para 56. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing second key duration. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, during the duration of the key it would enable securing the communication, the key would not be of misused by any user after the expiration of the key, para 56.
Referring to claim(s) 7, 16, Wu discloses the second key is valid within the first duration starting from a first moment, and the first moment is a moment at which the first communication connection is released or a moment at which the connection establishment request is sent, para 56.
Claim(s) 8, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B and Park et al., 20200252847.
Referring to claim(s) 8, 17, Dao and MA do not disclose, which Park discloses performing, by the processor within a validity period of the second key, information transmission with a third node by using a backhaul link between the second node and the third node, para 415. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing validity period of the key. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, during the validity period of the key it would enable securing the communication, the key would not be of misused by any user after the expiration of the key, para 415.
Claim(s) 9, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al., 20190223250 in view of MA, CN 110784434 B, Kunz et al., US 12356182 B2 and TEYEB et al., WO 2020174291 A1.
Referring to claim(s) 9, 18, Dao and MA do not disclose, which Kunz discloses wherein at least one of the first key is a key derived based on a first communication system, or the second key is a key derived based on a second communication system. (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing deriving of the key. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, the key derived using the entity would be usable during the validity period of the key for securing the communication. The key would not be of misused by any user after the expiration of the key, claim 1.
Dao, MA and Kunz do not disclose, which Teyeb discloses the first communication system is different from the second communication system, para 131 Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Dao to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing different entities for deriving of the keys. A cryptographic key is a secret piece of data (like a string of numbers/letters) used with an algorithm to scramble (encrypt) information into unreadable code (ciphertext) and unscramble (decrypt) it back to plain text, ensuring data confidentiality and integrity. Hence, the different keys derived using the different entities would be usable during the validity period of the key for securing the communication. The key would not be of misused by any user after the expiration of the key, para 131.
Conclusion
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496