DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one thread extending radially inward beyond the liner inner wall must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Liner inner wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Thread)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheu (US 5758787).
Regarding Claim 10
Sheu teaches a bottle liner (below - Fig. 3), comprising: a wall (3 & 1) defining an open end and a closed end opposite the open end, the wall including a liner inner wall defining a storage volume accessed via the open end; wherein the wall has an open end thickness at the open end; wherein the wall has a closed end thickness at the closed end; wherein at least one thread (32) extending inwardly from the liner inner wall is configured between the open end and the closed end; and wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness, as can be seen in Fig. 3 below (Col. 3, Ln. 13-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Foley et al. (US 6910594) (hereinafter Foley).
Regarding Claim 13
Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. Sheu does not teach the bottle liner comprises a molded stretchable elastomer.
Foley teaches a bottle liner (below – Fig. 1) (12), comprising: a wall defining an open end (18) and a closed end (16) opposite the open end, the wall including a liner inner wall defining a storage volume accessed via the open end; wherein the wall has an open end thickness at the open end; wherein the wall has a closed end thickness at the closed end; wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness; and the bottle liner comprises a molded stretchable elastomer, as can be seen in the figures above (Col. 3, Ln. 20-63).
Sheu and Foley are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having liners. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the material of the liner of Sheu with the teachings of the molded stretchable elastomer of Foley in order to provide a liner that is rigid enough to support the weight of milk within liner, but also flexible enough to collapse under atmospheric pressure when used as part of a nursing device (Col. 3, Ln. 33-36).
Regarding Claims 14 and 15
Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. Sheu does not teach the bottle liner comprising a thermochromic material, specifically wherein the thermochromic material has a first aesthetic corresponding to a first temperature state; wherein the thermochromic material has a second aesthetic corresponding to a second temperature state; wherein the first aesthetic is different from the second aesthetic; and wherein the first temperature state is different from the second temperature state.
Foley teaches a bottle liner (12), comprising: a wall defining an open end (18) and a closed end (16) opposite the open end, the wall including a liner inner wall defining a storage volume accessed via the open end; wherein the wall has an open end thickness at the open end; wherein the wall has a closed end thickness at the closed end; wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness, and the bottle liner further comprising a thermochromic material, wherein the thermochromic material has a first aesthetic corresponding to a first temperature state; wherein the thermochromic material has a second aesthetic corresponding to a second temperature state; wherein the first aesthetic is different from the second aesthetic; and wherein the first temperature state is different from the second temperature state (Col. 3, Ln. 20-63).
Sheu and Foley are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having liners. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the material of the liner of Sheu with the teachings of the thermochromic material of Foley in order to provide a liner that allows the user to see the change in temperature of the liquid within the liner (Col. 3, Ln. 45-48).
Claim(s) 16-18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu (US 5758787) in view of Foley et al. (US 6910594) (hereinafter Foley).
Regarding Claim 16
Sheu teaches a bottle liner (Fig. 3), comprising: a wall (3&1) defining an open end and a closed end opposite the open end, the wall including a liner inner wall defining a storage volume accessed via the open end, the liner inner wall including at least one thread (32) extending inwardly between the open end and the closed end (Col. 3, Ln. 13-25).
Sheu does not teach the bottle liner comprises a molded stretchable elastomer.
Foley teaches a bottle liner, comprising: a wall (12) defining an open end (18) and a closed end (16) opposite the open end, the wall including a liner inner wall defining a storage volume accessed via the open end; wherein the bottle liner comprises a molded stretchable elastomer (Col. 3, Ln. 20-63).
Sheu and Foley are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having liners. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the material of the liner of Sheu with the teachings of the molded stretchable elastomer of Foley in order to provide a liner that is rigid enough to support the weight of milk within liner, but also flexible enough to collapse under atmospheric pressure when used as part of a nursing device (Col. 3, Ln. 33-36).
Regarding Claim 17 & 18
Sheu in view of Foley (hereinafter “modified Sheu”) teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. Foley further teaches the bottle liner further comprising a thermochromic material, wherein the thermochromic material has a first aesthetic corresponding to a first temperature state; wherein the thermochromic material has a second aesthetic corresponding to a second temperature state; wherein the first aesthetic is different from the second aesthetic; and wherein the first temperature state is different from the second temperature state (Col. 3, Ln. 45-48).
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. Sheu further teaches the wall has an open end thickness (shown at 3) at the open end; wherein the wall has a closed end thickness (shown at 1) at the closed end; wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness, as can be seen above.
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Sheu teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. Sheu further teaches the at least one thread extends radially inward beyond the liner inner wall, inasmuch as Applicant shows.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-9 are allowed.
Claims 11, 12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art (Sheu – cited above) teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach: the lip extending radially outward beyond a liner outer wall; and a ledge extending radially inward beyond the liner inner wall (claims 1, 11, and 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sheu does not teach a bottle liner wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in the rejection above, the interpretation of the liner of Sheu includes both elements (3 and 1). As such, Sheu clearly teaches a bottle liner wherein the open end thickness is greater than the closed end thickness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733
23 March 2026