DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 20 is objected to because of an informality, which can be corrected as follows: “SMR” should be spelled out in the claim as –self-release myofascial--, or the acronym should be parenthetically inserted after “self-release myofascial” in line 1 of independent claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In line 1, “the first fastener and the second fastener” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-12, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Merrill et al. (10,898,408). Merrill et al. disclose, at least in figures 1-6 and 9 and col. 3 line 57 to col. 4, line 43 and col. 8, lines 1-17; an apparatus, comprising: a self-release myofascial tool (10), comprising: a single body (12) comprising (as shown in annotated figure 2 below): a rounded top surface (deemed to be 36, as shown in fig. 2); a rounded left side surface a rounded right side surface, wherein a radius of the rounded top surface (at 42) and a radius of the rounded left side surface (at 38, distal of 33) are greater than a radius of the rounded right surface (at 34), wherein a depth from a front surface of the single body tapers from the rounded left side surface to the rounded right side surface; and a rod (21) connected to the single body, wherein the rod is fixedly inserted into a dedicated opening (51, as shown in fig. 5) existing on an underside of the single body; wherein the underside of the single body is hollow and the rod is inserted into a portion of the single body integrated into the underside of the single body having the dedicated opening for receiving the rod; wherein the rod comprises one or more threads (at 51) extending longitudinally along the rod; wherein the apparatus further comprises, one or more removable fasteners (e.g., 25, 29, and 27, as shown in fig. 5); wherein the single body is molded from or includes nylon (according to col. 4, lines 31-33); wherein surfaces of the single body are smooth and are not textured; wherein a front surface (at 18, as shown in fig. 2 and 6) and a back surface (at 33) of the single body are generally flat .
Merrill et al. also disclose a system for a self-release myofascial tool, comprising: a rack (16, as shown in fig. 9 and also according to col. 7, lines 32-35) comprising: one or more posts, wherein the one or more posts comprises one or more holes in alignment on a surface of the one or more posts; and the self-release myofascial tool (10), comprising (as shown in annotated fig. 2 below): a single body (12) comprising: a rounded top surface (deemed to be 36, as shown in fig. 2); a rounded left side surface a rounded right side surface, wherein a radius of the rounded top surface (at 42) and a radius of the rounded left side surface (at 38, distal of 33) are greater than a radius of the rounded right surface, wherein a depth from a front surface of the single body tapers from the rounded left side surface to the rounded right side surface; a rod (21) connected to the single body, wherein the rod is fixedly inserted into a dedicated opening (51) existing on an underside of the single body; and one or more removable fasteners; wherein the rod is insertable into any one of the one or more holes of the one or more posts of the rack (as shown in fig. 9); wherein the underside of the single body is hollow and the rod is inserted into a portion of the single body integrated into the underside of the single body having the dedicated opening for receiving the rod; wherein the system further comprises a mounting post (27, as shown in fig. 9) mounted to a frontside of a post (16) of the one or more posts of the rack, wherein the self-release myofascial tool is removably connected to the mounting post mounted to the frontside of the post; wherein the one or more removable fasteners includes a first fastener (25) and a second fastener (29); wherein the single body is molded from or includes nylon (according to col. 4, lines 31-33); and wherein surfaces of the single body are smooth and are not textured.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill et al. (10,898,408). Merrill et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed, but do not explicitly disclose the apparatus or system wherein the radius of the rounded top surface and the radius of the rounded left side surface each have at least a two inch radius, or wherein the radius of the rounded right side surface has at least a one inch radius. Nevertheless, Merrill et al. disclose, in figure 7 and col. 4 line 44 to col. 5, line 65; proportions, orientations, shapes, and dimensions of portions of the single body, which can vary according to “certain massage or treatment techniques and for engaging certain body tissue.” Moreover, Merrill et al. disclose, in col. 3, lines 52-57; that “structural and functional modifications may be made without departing from scope of the present invention.” Thus, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to size the radius of the rounded left side surface and the radius of the rounded right side surface as desired, since such modifications would have involved mere changes in the sizes of components. Changes in size are generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose.
Claims 7, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill et al. (10,898,408) in view of Yoon et al. (10,675,215). Merrill et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed, wherein the apparatus and system may have one or more removable fasteners (e.g., 25) or first and second fasteners for mounting multiple single bodies to a “rack [e.g., 16] or other athletic equipment,” according to col. 8 lines 47-53. However, Merrill et al. do not explicitly disclose that the one or more removable fasteners is a wing nut type fastener, or that the first fastener and the second fastener are wing nut type fasteners. Yoon et al. teach, in col. 9, lines 52-58; fasteners for self-release myofascial tools (e.g., 102), wherein the fasteners include wing nut type fasteners. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Yoon et al., to modify the fasteners of Merrill et al., so that they are wing nut type fasteners. Such modifications would allow easy grasping and/or tightening or removal of the fasteners after being coupled to the self-release myofascial tools.
Also, Merrill et al. do not explicitly disclose that the self-release myofascial tool is connectable to a post of a wall mounted system instead of to the one or more posts of the rack. Yoon et al. further teach, in col. 9, lines 62-65, a self-release myofascial tool that is connectable to a support base or wall. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Yoon et al., to modify the system of Merrill et al., so that the self-release myofascial tool is connectable to a post of a wall-mounted system. Such a modification would allow self-release myofascial tools to be mounted to a post with additional stability for muscle relief therapy for various parts of the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Camacho (2020/0397648) teach a self-release myofascial tool.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JULIAN W WOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771