DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ argument that Bordman does not teach the limitations “the first seal retaining sections…coplanar” is not persuasive since Bordman teaches inner diameters of the first and second seal retaining sections are axially coplanar. See figure below that shows 1st sections and 2nd sections between adjacent 1st sections.
Applicant is comparing lips 22 and lips 24 that are not coplanar is not persuasive since the inner surface of the retaining sections are coplanar.
Applicants’ argument regarding tabs is not persuasive since the lips which are the comparable structure to the tabs are annular offset or circumferentially offset and axially spaced apart as applicants’ lips.
Applicants’ argument regard that the tab members 22 and 24 as corresponding to applicants claimed first and second seal retaining sections is not persuasive, see rejection below and paragraphs 3-5 above.
Applicants’ argument with regard to snap-fit is not persuasive since the outer diameter of the inner seal element is of larger diameter than the tabs inner diameters (see reference of Boardman). Furthermore snap-fit is considered is when a portion of a member is deformed inwardly and then deformed outwardly (e.g. Boardman locking members 46 are deformed inwardly to pass the tabs 22 or 24 and then deformed outwardly thereof).
Applicants’ argument with regard to claim 18 with limitation are inclined surfaces is not persuasive in view of rejection below.
Applicants’ argument are moot in view of new rejection(s).
In conclusion no claims are allowable in view of the rejections provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1, “wherein the first seal retaining sections and the second retaining sections are positioned circumferentially adjacent to one another and axially coplanar”, unclear how the first and second retaining sections are coplanar. As stated in the specification the retaining sections having 38 and 36 which have tapered surfaces in opposite directions and hence cannot be axially coplanar. This also applies to claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boardman (5145190).
Boardman discloses a seal assembly for an air conditioning system (e.g. intended use the seal assembly of Boardman is capable of being used in air conditioning system) comprising an annular inner seal member (e.g. 28) formed from a first material, the annular inner seal member having a first axial surface (e.g. 32) and a second axial surface (e.g. 32) opposite the first axial surface (e.g. figures), an annular outer seal member (e.g. 12) coupled to the inner seal member by a snap-fit (e.g. 28 placed between tabs 22 and 24, locking member 46 must be deformed and then undeform to be placed between 22 and 24 and this is considered to be snap-fit), the annular outer seal member having an inner radial surface (e.g. inner diameter of 12), an outer radial surface (e.g. outer surface that is opposite of the inner surface), a first axial surface (e.g. 18) and a second axial surface (e.g. 20) opposing the first surface, the annular outer seal member formed from a second material (e.g. figures and entire document). Wherein the inner radial surface of the annular outer seal member is divided into a plurality of first retaining sections and a plurality of second seal retaining sections (see figure above, “1st sections”), the first seal retaining sections interposed between the second seal retaining sections each engaging at least a portion of the outer radial surface of the annular inner seal member (e.g. outer portion of the annular seal inner seal member contacting the tabs), wherein the first seal retaining sections and the second retaining sections are positioned circumferentially adjacent to one another and axially coplanar (e.g. this is the case since inner diameter of the outer seal member)
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the first material is a metal (e.g. 42 is metal).
Regarding claim 9: Wherein each of the first seal retaining sections and each of the second seal retaining sections extend at a range between about 0 and 180 degree intervals with respect to the inner surface of the annular outer seal member (e.g. see figure 2 showing, inner surface adjacent to 22 and 24 and the inner surface that has the tabs 22 and 24 extending thereof).
Regarding claim 10: Wherein each of the plurality of first seal retaining sections and each of the plurality of second seal retaining sections extend at one of 30 degree intervals, 45 degree intervals, and 60 degree intervals (e.g. see figure showing 22 and 24, inner surface adjacent to 22 and 24 and the inner surface that has the tabs 22 and 24 extending thereof).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein each of the first seal retaining sections include a first lip (e.g. lip formed by 22) extending inwardly from the inner surface of the annular outer seal member to engage at least a portion of the first axial surface of the annular outer seal member, and wherein each of the second seal retaining sections include a second lip (e.g. lip formed by 24) extending inwardly from the inner radial surface of the annular outer seal member to engage at least a portion of the second axial surface of the outer seal member (e.g. see figures).
Regarding claim 13-14: Wherein the annular outer seal member has a first protuberance formed on at least one of the first surface and the second surface thereof and wherein the annular outer seal member has a second protuberance formed on the at least one of the first surface and the second surface thereof (e.g. protuberance 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 18: Boardman discloses a seal assembly for an air conditioning system comprising: an annular inner seal member formed from a first material, an annular outer seal member coupled to the inner seal member, the annular outer seal member having an inner surface, an outer surface, a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface (e.g. 12 having inner surface with 22 and 24, outer surface opposite the inner surface, a first surface 18 and a second surface 20), wherein the inner surface includes a plurality of first seal retaining sections (e.g. one of 22 and 24) are interposed between a plurality of second seal retaining sections (e.g. other of 22 and 24) cooperating with each other to snap-fit the annular inner seal member to the annular outer seal member.
Regarding claim 19: Wherein the annular outer seal member is formed from a second material and each of the first seal retaining sections and the second seal retaining sections include a lip (e.g. lips of 22 and 24) extending inwardly from the inner surface of the annular outer seal member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 18-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Kesler (US 9261194).
Boardman discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose that the inner surface that forms the first and second seal retaining sections are inclined in opposite directions. Kesler teaches a seal assembly having an outer seal member with an inner surface that is inclined in opposite directions. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inner surface of Bordman to have incline surfaces as taught by Kesler with reasonable expectation of success to provide sealing contact between the inner and outer seal members and to provide retention (e.g. see description of 20 and 22 in Kesler).
It is noted that incline surface will extend on inner surface of the tabs of Boardman oppositely (e.g. inwardly on tab 24 and incline toward the axial surface 18 and inwardly on tab 22 and incline toward the axial surface 20) and this is what is considered to be inclined in opposite directions (see figure below).
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Kessler ‘194.
Boardman discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the first material is aluminum alloy or copper alloy or the inner seal member is coated with tin. Kessler teaches to have an inner seal made of different materials such as generic metal, aluminum alloy, copper alloy or material that is coated with tin. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first material of Boardman be made of materials as taught by Kessler with reasonable expectation of success, since the material would be selected as based on necessity of the required property (e.g. aluminum would be used to reduce corrosion, copper would be used for food industry and etc).
Claim(s) 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Kessler (US20200200307A1).
Boardman discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the second material is nylon. Kessler ‘307 teaches to have the seal made of elastomer or nylon or thermoplastic elastomer. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second material of Boardman to be nylon as taught Kessler ‘307, with reasonable expectation of success since the material would be selected as based on necessity of the required property (e.g. one can choose material based on material hand book or property of material and furthermore the material are interchangeable as provided in paragraph 0050 of Kessler ‘307).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadman in view of Schmitt (e.g. US.20120056386).
Broadman discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the outer seal member is formed from a pair of components coupled to each other, wherein a first one of the pair of components is a nylon and a second one of the pair of components is a thermoplastic. Schmitt discloses a seal made of three members (e.g. 4, 6 and 2), an outer member (e.g. 4) being softer material and the outer member is made of thermoplastic. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the outer seal member of Broadman can have an outer coating or member as taught by Schmitt with reasonable expectation of success to seal imperfection on the outer component (inherent due to the soft material of Schmitt).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadman in view of Galle (US. 5570911).
Broadman discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose wherein a plurality of ribs are formed on the outer surface of the annular outer seal member. Galle discloses an outer member (e.g. 47) with plurality of ribs (e.g. 57 and 59) on an outer surface (e.g. 61). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the outer surface of the annular outer seal member of Broadman to have plurality of ribs as taught Galle with reasonable expectation of success, to provide mounting on a component with a groove structure (e.g. see description of 57, 41 and etc in Galle).
Conclusion
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675