DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This Office action is in response to communications filed July 14, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 21-46 in the reply filed on July 14, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 47-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 47-48 have been subsequently canceled.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 21-46 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claims 47-48 are canceled as of the July 14, 2026 election.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 21-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-66 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,519 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claims 1-66 contain additional limitations requiring the final layered construction to have at least three adhesive layers, being viscoelastic along any axis, and wherein the thickness of at least a portion of the final layered construction includes at least the at least three adhesive layer, and is thus more specific, in effect making the invention of patented claims 1-66 a "species" of the "generic" invention of instant claims 21-46. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, the claimed method steps of the instant invention, namely selecting the dressing component, removing the removable liner, and placing the first surface onto the skin surrounding the wound, are all well-understood and obvious method steps of installing an adhesive drape of a wound dressing for use with a patient, particularly the adhesive drape claimed in patented claim 1 of US 11,944,519.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 21-22, 24-28, 30, 32-33, 36, 38-39 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan et al. (US PGPUB 2008/0280086 A1) in view of Estes et al. (US PGPUB 2009/0152137 A1).
7. With regard to claims 21 and 22, Sheridan discloses a method of constructing a dressing (multi-layer assembly, 10) over a wound penetrating a surface of a skin ([0161]; abstract; Fig. 1), comprising: selecting a wound dressing component (10) made by a manufacturing process (the steps involved in forming the tape are interpreted as being the process of manufacturing the tape; see method of making the assembly in para [0151]), suitable for covering the wound and suitable for adhering to the skin around the wound ([0161]; “surgical drape”, “wound care”), comprising an unbacked (backing is “optional” and not utilized in Fig.1 embodiment; [0126]), layered adhesive drape construction (10 including first layer, 12 and second layer, 14) (a) defining first and second surfaces (outer surfaces of 12 and 14), the second surface facing oppositely to the first surface (Fig. 1), (b) defining a perimeter having at least one outer edge (drapes are constructed with outer peripheral edges which define a perimeter as shown in Fig. 1), (c) being formed of at least a first adhesive (12) and a second adhesive (14), the second adhesive derived from a different adhesive formula than a first adhesive formula (the first layer 12 is a silicone based PSA and the second layer 14 is an elastomer based PSA), and (d) (ii) having at least two adhesive layers (first layer 12 of silicone based PSA and second layer 14 of elastomer based PSA form a layered construction as shown in figure 1), each adhesive layer being at least one of at least partially (1) dried as a solid coating or a pattern coating and/or (2) cured as a solid coating or a pattern coating (second layer 14 that includes an elastomer-based PSA; [0047]; can be continuous or discontinuous; [0155]), the at least two adhesive layers (12, 14) being assembled into a final layered construction (the assembly 10 includes a first and second layer 12,14 as shown in figure 1 – this is interpreted as being a “final layered construction” as it is capable of use in this form), wherein at least a portion of the final layered construction has a thickness that includes at least the at least two adhesive layers (the assembly 10 includes a first and second layer 12,14 as shown in figure 1 wherein each of the first and second PSA layers 12,14 is from 0.1-40mils thick – [0101;0124]; thus, the total thickness for the assembly is a combination of the thickness of these two layers), wherein the final layered construction is constructed without a backing (Fig. 1; [0126]) and is constructed as a solid coating or a pattern coating (adhesive can be continuous or discontinuous – [0155]) and wherein at least a portion of at least the first surface is at least one biocompatible adhesive (12) capable of adhering to the skin during functional use of the drape construction (10; the PSA article is disclosed as being suitable for use in medical applications such as in surgical drapes, bandages and wound care - [0161] thus, it is inherent that the PSA of layers 12 and/or 14b is biocompatible in order to render the device “suitable” for application to a user’s skin in medical applications where direct application to a user’s skin is required, such as in the case of bandages and wound care applications), the at least one biocompatible adhesive being at least the first adhesive (12; Fig. 1); and removing at least one removable liner (release liner 8 covers the upper surface of first layer 12 as shown in Fig. 1) from covering at least a portion of at least the first surface (12) of the drape construction (10; [0049-0052]; it is inherent that the liner 8 must be removed for application to the user’s skin and, furthermore, that the drape must first be adhered to the skin before it can thereafter be removed).
Sheridan does not explicitly disclose that the adhesive layers are assembled into a final layered construction during the manufacturing process before packaging.
However, Sheridan not only teaches assembly of the adhesive layers into a final layered product (the assembly 10 includes a first and second layer 12,14 as shown in Fig. 1 – this is interpreted as being a “final layered construction” as it is capable of use in this form) but, also, teaches packaging of the product ([0163])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wound dressing component disclosed by Sheridan to be packaged as an already final layered product, in order to provide the dressing component in a ready-to-use form for user convenience, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, while Sheridan discloses that the PSA article (10) is suitable for use in medical applications such as in surgical drapes, bandages and wound care ([0161] thus, it is inherent that the PSA of layers 12 and/or 14b is biocompatible in order to render the device “suitable” for application to a user’s skin in medical applications where direct application to a user’s skin is required, such as in the case of bandages and wound care applications), Sheridan fails to explicitly disclose the method steps of covering at least a portion of the wound with at least a portion of the drape construction; and placing at least a portion of the first surface of the drape construction onto the skin surrounding the wound to adhere the drape construction to the skin.
Within the same field of medical adhesive drapes, Estes discloses a combined skin sealant and incise drape (abstract; Figs. 1, 2, 19), including the method steps of covering at least a portion of the wound (incision) with at least a portion of the drape construction (incise drape, 10; [0047]; [0053]); and placing at least a portion of the first surface (lower surface, 18) of the drape construction (10) onto the skin surrounding the wound (incision) to adhere the drape construction to the skin ([0056]; Figs. 1, 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Sheridan to include the steps of covering the wound and placement on the surrounding skin, similar to that disclosed by Estes, in order to utilize the dressing as a surgical drape, bandage or wound care component, as intended by Sheridan in paragraph [0161], and to provide an anchor to the wound site as well as to provide a complete, intact draped closure over the surgical site, as suggested by Estes in paragraph [0056].
8. With regard to claim 24, Sheridan discloses that the drape construction (10) is planar and wherein the drape construction as a whole has an elastic recovery from 50 percent stretch of at least 75% in at least one direction in the plane ([0102]; elastomers are inherently viscoelastic; thus, the assembly 10 which is formed from elastomers is interpreted as being viscoelastic along at least one axis in the plane of the material; the at least one axis is interpreted as being a selected axis).
9. With regard to claim 25, the claim is obvious in view of Sheridan and Estes because with respect to the method steps claimed (i.e. stretching at a strain rate of 0.225/sec to 0.300/sec to provide (i) an effective uniaxial modulus of elasticity below 1.0MPa for the small strain range of 0 to 0.1, (ii) an effective uniaxial modulus of elasticity below 0.8MPa for the small strain range of 0 to 0.2, (iii) a knee of its stress versus strain curve below a stress of 0.20MPa and/or (iv) a stress below 0.15MPa at a strain of 0.2), to the extent that the prior art apparatus meets the structural limitations of the apparatus, as claimed, it will also perform the method steps as claimed. Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01(I). In the present case, the device recited in claim 21 is identical to the device recited in claim 25 which is obvious in view of Sheridan and Estes (see claim rejections above). Since the prior art device of Sheridan is the same as the device for carrying out the method steps recited in claim 25, it follows that the device will perform the claimed process and, therefore, the method claimed is considered to be obvious over the prior art device.
10. With regard to claim 26, Sheridan discloses that the drape construction (10) is substantially impervious to fluid transfer through the thickness of the drape construction (the adhesive article is configured to be used in sealing applications e.g., gaskets, for liquids, vapors (e.g., moisture), and dust ([0161]) which inherently indicates that the article is impervious to fluid transfer because the material must be impervious to fluid transfer in order to function as a liquid seal).
11. With regard to claims 27-28, Sheridan is silent in regard to selecting at least one applicator, wherein the at least one applicator includes at least one porous material; and wherein placing the drape construction onto the skin further includes pressing on at least a portion of the second surface of the drape construction with the at least one porous material, wherein during the pressing, the at least one applicator does not apply any separate liquid sealant derived from at least one type of polymer compound to the second surface of the drape construction; or wherein placing the drape construction onto the skin further includes pressing on the second surface of the drape construction in the vicinity of any wrinkles in the drape construction.
However, Estes discloses selecting at least one applicator (separate porous film, 36), wherein the at least one applicator (36) includes at least one porous material ([0060]); and wherein placing the drape construction (10) onto the skin further includes pressing on at least a portion of the second surface of the drape construction (10) in the vicinity of any wrinkles in the drape construction with the at least one porous material ([0056]; [0060]; “its use or non-use may be decided at the time the package is opened and the combined drape 10 is utilized”), wherein during the pressing, the at least one applicator (36) does not apply any separate liquid sealant derived from at least one type of polymer compound to the second surface of the drape construction ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Sheridan to include the step of pressing an applicator against the second surface of the drape, similar to that disclosed by Estes, in order to more evenly place the seal of the drape against the skin during use, as suggested by Estes in paragraph [0060].
12. With regard to claim 30, while Sheridan and Estes fail to explicitly disclose selecting at least one wound packing material; and packing the wound with the at least one wound packing material, Sheridan specifically suggests the use of its disclosed tape (10) as a surgical drape, a bandage and in wound care.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes to include the step of selecting a wound packing material and packing the wound, similar to how Sheridan utilizes the drape in wound care, since it is well-known and widely recognized in the field of wound dressings that wound packing material can greatly assist in the absorption of wound exudate, while also assisting in overall wound healing process, and packing the wound prior to application of the drape construction disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes would lead to an overall positive in wound healing progress, as opposed to without a wound packing.
13. With regard to claims 32 and 33, while Sheridan is silent in regard to the method steps of claims 32 and 33, Estes discloses selecting at least one container (150) of at least one sealant component (12; the skin sealant is interpreted as being a “dressing to skin interface” because it is disposed on the incise drape and the combination skin sealant and incise drape is applied to a patient's skin such that the skin sealant is positioned adjacent the skin and the incise drape is positioned over the skin sealant and the skin – thus the adhesive is the interface between a user’s skin and the drape), that is capable of being delivered as a sealant in a liquid state at pre-selected ambient conditions (fully capable); during and/or after placing the drape construction (10) onto the skin, applying the sealant, that is in the liquid state as applied (the sealant forms a coherent film with strong adhesion to the skin – para [0005] and substantially fills contours of the incise drape such that any air pockets and wrinkles positioned between the incise drape and the skin sealant are sealed and isolated from the skin – para [0010]), on at least a portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction (10) and at least the skin adjacent to at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction (10) in at least one sealant layer (the sealant 12 is applied to the edge because “when applied to the incision site, the skin sealant 12 extends at least to an outer edge of the defined reservoir 24, and desirably beyond – para [0059]; sealant is interpreted as being applied after the adhesive surface of the drape is applied to the skin in order for the sealant to thereby form an occlusive seal with the skin), the sealant being at least partially cross-linked after at least one of drying and/or curing ([0005-0006]); and at least one of drying and/or curing the sealant within thirty minutes after application of the sealant as the at least one sealant layer on at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction (fully capable); wherein applying the sealant, that is in the liquid state as applied, includes applying the sealant over at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction and on at least the second surface of the drape construction adjacent to at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction and at least the skin adjacent to at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction in at least one sealant layer (forms an occlusive or airtight bond because sealant 12 forms a coherent film with strong adhesion to the skin - para [0005] and substantially fills contours of the incise drape such that any air pockets and wrinkles positioned between the incise drape and the skin sealant are sealed and isolated from the skin – para [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes to include the step of selecting and applying sealant along the edges, similar to that disclosed by Estes, in order to form an occlusive/airtight bond between the skin and the edges of the drape, substantially filling any contours of the drape such that any air pockets and wrinkles are sealed and isolated from the skin, as suggested by Estes in paragraph [0010].
14. With regard to claim 36, Sheridan and Estes fail to explicitly disclose that at least one adhesive of the drape construction and a majority of the sealant after the at least one of drying and/or curing are each derived from at least one type of rubber compound that is not silicone-based, but it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used such an adhesive and sealant since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
15. With regard to claims 38 and 39, Sheridan discloses that the wound dressing component (10) is suitable to remove from the skin without damaging the skin by stretching the component ([0150]); and further including removing the drape construction (10) from the skin by applying a force of removal by stretching the drape construction in a direction wherein the drape construction is lifted less than or equal to 45 degrees from the surface of the skin (Fig. 5B; [0150]).
16. With regard to claim 43, While Sheridan is silent in regard to the claimed limitations, Estes discloses that the drape construction (10) is assembled during the manufacturing process before packaging to at least one other fluid-pervious material (clear porous film, 36; Fig. 1) to form a border dressing (Figs. 11-13, 17; [0055]; [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drape construction disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes to be preassembled with one other fluid-pervious material, similar to that disclosed by Estes, in order to provide a more evenly placed skin sealant, as suggested by Estes in paragraph [0060].
17. Claim(s) 29 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Estes, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Willms et al (US 6,309,745).
18. With regard to claims 29 and 40-42, Sheridan and Estes fail to disclose during and/or after placing the drape construction onto the skin, removing at least one removable liner from covering at least a portion of at least the second surface of the drape construction; selecting at least one separate cover material, wherein the at least one separate cover material is capable of preventing from sticking to other surfaces at least a portion of the second surface of the drape construction after placing at least the portion of the first surface onto the skin; and during and/or after placing at least the portion of the first surface onto the skin,covering at least a portion of the second surface of the drape construction with at least one separate cover material; wherein the at least one separate cover material is at least one powder and/or fine, solid particulate material or paint material.
However, within the same field of adhesive drapes, Willms discloses an adhesive tape wherein the adhesive can comprise a print coverage thereon covering the layer in order to adjust a reduced adhesive retention force and thereby prevent sticking, wherein the coverage material can be a material like paint or powder (col 2 line 63 – col 3 line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drape construction disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes to include at least one powder/paint removable liner from covering at least a portion of the second surface of the drape, similar to that disclosed by Willms in order to adjust a reduced adhesive retention force, as suggested by Willms in col 2 line 63 – col 3 line 1.
Sheridan in view of Estes and Willms does not, however, disclose that the separate cover material prevents sticking to other surfaces after a portion of the first surface is applied to the surface of the tissue.
However, to the extent that the prior art apparatus meets the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, it is obvious that during normal use of the prior art device that the prior art will also perform the method steps as claimed. Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01(I). In the present case, the device recited in the instant claims is substantially identical to the device recited in Sheridan in view of Willms. Since the prior art device is substantially the same as the device for carrying out the claimed method, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, that the device of Sheridan in view of Estes and Willms will perform the claimed process because the method as claimed is nothing more than the expected steps involved for normal and usual use of the device by an intended user.
19. Claim(s) 31, 37, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Estes, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0137775 A1).
20. With regard to claims 31, 37, 44 and 45, Sheridan and Estes fail to disclose selecting an interface comprising at least one of (1) at least one flexible tube having a first end and a second end, (2) at least one flange having a central passage through which a first end of a tube is insertable, (3) at least one flange having a central passage capable of communicating with a connector that is capable of mating with a first end of a tube and/or (4) at least one flange having a central passage communicating with a connector that is capable of mating with a first end of a tube; selecting at least one source of negative pressure; during and/or after placing the drape construction onto the skin, forming at least one sealed volume under the drape construction; connecting the at least one source of negative pressure to the drape construction, wherein the at least one source of negative pressure is configured to apply negative pressure to at least a portion of the at least one sealed volume; and applying negative pressure to at least the portion of the at least one sealed volume with the at least one source of negative pressure; and selecting at least one valve, wherein the at least one valve is capable of causing a controlled air leak; and positioning the at least one valve over the at least one sealed volume, wherein the at least one valve is capable of causing the controlled air leak to flow under the drape construction from outside of any sealed volume under the drape construction, wherein the controlled air leak is capable of causing liquid between the drape construction and the wound to flow towards the at least one source of negative pressure; wherein at least one of the at least one valve is at least one purge valve, the at least one purge valve being capable of causing the controlled air leak, wherein the controlled air leak is temporary.
However, within the same field of wound draping, Hu discloses a device for delivery of reduced pressure to body surfaces (abstract; Fig. 1) including the steps of selecting an interface (port, 102) comprising at least one of (1) at least one flexible tube (tubing, 103) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1; [0077]), (2) at least one flange (flange, 323; Fig. 3A) having a central passage (opening, 308) through which a first end of a tube (103) is insertable (Fig. 3A; [0081]); selecting at least one source of negative pressure (reduced pressure source; [0038]); during and/or after placing the drape construction (304) onto the skin, forming at least one sealed volume under the drape construction ([0052]; [0054]); connecting the at least one source of negative pressure to the drape construction ([0057-0059]), wherein the at least one source of negative pressure is configured to apply negative pressure to at least a portion of the at least one sealed volume ([0057-0059]); and applying negative pressure to at least the portion of the at least one sealed volume with the at least one source of negative pressure ([0057-0059]); and selecting at least one valve (203; [0004]; [0059]), wherein the at least one valve is capable of causing a controlled air leak ([0040]; [0042-0043]); and positioning the at least one valve (203) over the at least one sealed volume, wherein the at least one valve is capable of causing the controlled air leak to flow under the drape construction (304) from outside of any sealed volume under the drape construction ([0112]), wherein the controlled air leak is capable of causing liquid between the drape construction and the wound to flow towards the at least one source of negative pressure ([0038]; [0042]); wherein at least one of the at least one valve is at least one purge valve, the at least one purge valve being capable of causing the controlled air leak, wherein the controlled air leak is temporary ([0040]; [0042-0043]; [0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Sheridan in view of Estes to include a selection of an interface, a source of negative pressure and a valve, similar to that disclosed by Hu, in order to utilize the adhesive drape as a surgical drape or wound care component for negative pressure wound dressing therapy, as suggested by Sheridan in paragraph [0161], and to provide fluid communication between a negative pressure source and the wound via a port, tubing and interposed valve, for inducing wound healing through sustained negative pressure at the wound bed, as suggested by Hu in paragraphs [0077-0080].
21. Claim(s) 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheridan in view of Estes, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Carte et al (US 5,947,917).
22. With regard to claims 34 and 35, while Estes discloses selecting at least one container (150) of at least one sealant component (12; the skin sealant is interpreted as being a “dressing to skin interface” because it is disposed on the incise drape and the combination skin sealant and incise drape is applied to a patient's skin such that the skin sealant is positioned adjacent the skin and the incise drape is positioned over the skin sealant and the skin – thus the adhesive is the interface between a user’s skin and the drape), that is capable of being delivered as a sealant in a liquid state at pre-selected ambient conditions (fully capable); during and/or after placing the drape construction (10) onto the skin, applying the sealant, that is in the liquid state as applied (the sealant forms a coherent film with strong adhesion to the skin – para [0005] and substantially fills contours of the incise drape such that any air pockets and wrinkles positioned between the incise drape and the skin sealant are sealed and isolated from the skin – para [0010]), on at least a portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction (10) and at least the skin adjacent to at least the portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction (10) in at least one sealant layer (the sealant 12 is applied to the edge because “when applied to the incision site, the skin sealant 12 extends at least to an outer edge of the defined reservoir 24, and desirably beyond – para [0059]; sealant is interpreted as being applied after the adhesive surface of the drape is applied to the skin in order for the sealant to thereby form an occlusive seal with the skin), Sheridan and Estes fail to disclose making at least one fold in the drape construction when placing at least the portion of the first surface of the drape construction onto the skin surrounding the wound; and pressing on the at least one fold in the drape construction to adhere the at least one fold to at least the second surface of the drape construction to lie flat on at least the second surface of the drape construction, the at least one fold having at least one edge after pressing; and during and/or after pressing on the at least one fold, applying the sealant, that is in the liquid state as applied, over the at least one edge of the at least one fold and at least one of (1) on at least the second surface of the drape construction in at least one sealant layer and/or (2) on at least the second surface of the drape construction and at least the skin adjacent to the drape construction in at least one sealant layer.
However, within the same field of adhesive bandages, Carte discloses an adhesive bandage or tape (abstract; Fig. 1; col 3 lines 4-11) having a liner comprising two overlapping pieces that form a pull tab (col 6 lines 13-20; liners 16 and 18 covering adhesive 14 as shown in figure 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the liner in Sheridan to have an overlapping adjacent liner covering the same surface of the tape as in Carte in order to provide a pull tab for grasping by a user to more easily facilitate application, as suggested by Carte in col 6 lines 13-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
23. Claims 23 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additionally, a non-statutory double patenting rejection has been applied against the instant claims and would necessitate a properly filed Terminal Disclaimer prior to placing the claims into condition for allowance.
24. Regarding claim 23, closest prior art of record fails to reasonably disclose or suggest, alone or in combination, the unique combination of claimed structure in claim 22, further requiring wherein the final layered construction has at least three adhesive layers and wherein the thickness of at least a portion of the final layered construction includes at least the at least three adhesive layers.
25. Regarding claim 46, closest prior art of record fails to reasonably disclose or suggest, alone or in combination, the unique combination of claimed structure in claim 32, further requiring the step of selecting at least one applicator, wherein the at least one applicator includes at least one porous material, wherein at least one saturation liquid saturates at least a portion of the at least one porous material, wherein the at least one saturation liquid is not the sealant and/or any sealant component; and wherein applying the sealant, that is in the liquid state as applied, includes pressing on at least a portion of the at least one outer edge of the drape construction with at least a portion of the at least one porous material, wherein at least a portion of the at least one porous material is at least damp with the at least one saturation liquid and contacts the sealant in the liquid state..
Conclusion
26. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wiedner et al. (US 5,860,420) discloses a surgical draping system having a reusable and disposable component.
/ANDREW J MENSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781