DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to amendment filed 9/29/2025, where Applicant amended the claims. Claims 2-21 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments filed 9/29/25, with respect to the previous rejections have been fully considered, change the scope of the claims and are persuasive thus overcoming the previous 102 rejections. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made based on Mukherjee in view of Yoneda.
The 101 rejection of claims 9-21 is overcome and therefore withdrawn.
The previous Double Patenting rejections are rejections are withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5,8,9,11,14,15,16,19-21 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee (US Publication 20040010614) in view of Yoneda et al (US Publication 20110110260).
In reference to claim 1, Mukherjee teaches a method for providing media content within a media distribution network (see at least Abstract), wherein the media distribution network comprises a core network with at least one core storage unit, a first edge network coupled to one or more first clients, and a second edge network coupled to one or more second clients, wherein the method comprises:
transforming source media content into an interim format, thereby providing transformed content; (see at least ¶ 59 lines 6-15, which teaches transforming media content into encoded/transformed interim data)
storing the transformed content on the at least one core storage unit; (see at least ¶ 75 lines 4-8 and ¶ 78 lines 1-9, which teaches a media source storing the encoded data)
receiving feedback data from at least one of the group consisting of one or more clients, a rendering environment of the one or more clients, one or more components within the media distribution network, and combinations thereof, wherein the feedback data includes first feedback data including first information indicative of a first characteristic of a first rendering environment of the one or more first clients (see at least Fig 9 & ¶ 75 lines 11-15, which teaches receiving feedback/attribute data from one or more client destinations the data providing information indicative of attributes of the clients) and second feedback data including second information indicative of a second characteristic of a second rendering environment of the one or more second clients, wherein the first feedback data is different than the second feedback data; (see at least Fig 9 & ¶ 75 lines 11-15, which teaches receiving different feedback/attribute data from each client destination the data providing information indicative of attributes of the clients);
encoding the transformed content into first intermediate coded content based on the first feedback data; encoding the transformed content into second intermediate coded content based on the second feedback data; (see at least ¶ 75 lines 14-20 and ¶ 76 lines 10-22, which teaches encoding the formatted data based on the attribute data)
sending the first intermediate coded content via the core network to the first edge network; and sending the second intermediate coded content via the core network to the second edge network (see at least Fig 8 #81 & Fig 9 and ¶ 75-76, which teaches sending the encoded data via the network to the destination).
Mukherjee fails to explicitly teach encoding the transformed content into first intermediate coded content based on the first feedback data by adjusting, via network coding or forward error correction (FEC) coding, a redundancy of the transformed content to generate the first intermediate coded content based on the first information indicative of the first characteristic of the first rendering environment of the one or more first clients; and encoding the transformed content into second intermediate coded content based on the second feedback data by adjusting, via network coding or FEC coding, the redundancy of the transformed content to generate the second intermediate coded content based on the second information indicative of the second characteristic of the second rendering environment of the one or more second clients. However, Yoneda teaches optimizing media streaming and packet recovery, and discloses encoding packets of a media stream in an intermediary unit, the packet is encoded by adjusting the network coding rate and FEC redundancy based on feedback data/report of the receiving node; and each packet is adjusted based on the receiving node feedback (see Yoneda, at least Background & ¶s 145-150). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mukherjee based on the teachings of Yoneda for the purpose of optimizing media packet recovery based on receiving node and network conditions.
In reference to claim 3, Mukherjee teaches encoding data differently according to the respective destination attributes (see at least ¶ 76 lines 15-21).
In reference to claim 5, Mukherjee teaches encoding data differently according to the respective destination attributes (see at least ¶ 75 lines 4-14 & ¶ 76 lines 7-21)
In reference to claim 8, Mukherjee teaches feedback attributes of the destination including noise level, destination preferences, size, resolution, and behavior (see at least ¶s 34,43,44,60,62)
Claims 9,11,14,15,16,19-21 correspond to claim 1,3,5,8 and are slight variations thereof. Therefore claims 9,11,14,15,16,19-21 are rejected based upon the same rationale as given above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee (US Publication 20040010614) in view of Yoneda et al (US Publication 20110110260) in view of Musser et al (US Publication 20130308699).
In reference to claim 4, Mukherjee fails to explicitly teach further comprising receiving a request for the source media content from the one or more first clients and from the one or more second clients. However, Musser teaches media content delivery in a content distribution network and discloses receiving a request from a client device for content data (see Musser, at least Abstract & ¶ 32 lines 1-5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mukherjee based on the teachings of Musser for the purpose of servicing client request upon demand for media content.
Claims 6,7,12,13,17,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee (US Publication 20040010614) in view of Yoneda et al (US Publication 20110110260) in view of Bennet (US Publication 20100050225).
In reference to claim 6, Mukherjee teaches the characteristics/attributes as mentioned in claim 8 above. Mukherjee fails to explicitly teach each of its limitations regarding the first feedback data and the second feedback data. However, Bennet teaches data adaptation to suit recipient devices, and discloses characteristics/requirements including bandwidth, error rates, and transmission path (see Bennet, at least Abstract & ¶s 32-34). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mukherjee based on the teachings of Bennet for the purpose of data adaptation that optimality suits the media/data recipients.
In reference to claim 7, Mukherjee teaches the characteristics/attributes as mentioned in claim 8 above. Mukherjee fails to explicitly teach each of its limitations regarding the first feedback data and the second feedback data. However, Bennet teaches data adaptation to suit recipient devices, and discloses characteristics/requirements including audio and video characteristics (see Bennet, at least Abstract & ¶s 32-34). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mukherjee based on the teachings of Bennet for the purpose of data adaptation that optimality suits the media/data recipients.
Claims 12,13,17,18 correspond to claims 6,7 and are slight variations thereof. Therefore claims 12,13,17,18 are rejected based upon the same rationale as given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Forms 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAMY M OSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
October 31, 2025