DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 05/15/2026.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 5/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 20250156926 A1) which has a Domestic Priority (Continuity Data) US-provisional-application US 63597683 filed on Nov. 09, 2023.
As per claim 1, Wang discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a processor, a natural language instruction from a client device, the natural language instruction describing a task utilizing a software application (Wang, An online system receives a user request from a client device through the interface, identifies one or more featured products based on the query, and generates a prompt for input to a machine-learned generative language model (Abstract));
generating, by the processor, a user interface action comprising a programmatic interaction with a user interface element of the software application, the user interface action representing the natural language instruction, the user interface action generated by a large language model responsive to an input prompt ([0051] In one or more embodiments, the online system 140 interacts with an interface for a generative language application 226, e.g., a chatbot application, a Question and Answer (Q/A) search box, and a general search box to address various tasks within the online system 140. [0052] The online system 140 receives, from a client device, a user query and generates a prompt for input to a machine-learned language model (e.g., an LLM)).
executing, by the processor, the user interface action within the software application ([0052] The online system 140 receives, from a client device, a user query and generates a prompt for input to a machine-learned language model (e.g., an LLM). In one or more embodiments, the online system 140 prompts the chatbot application to create opportunities to promote or inject featured items in the response. For example, the prompt specifies at least the user query and a request to suggest one or more featured products in association with a response to the user query. The online system 140 provides the prompt to a model serving system 150 for execution by the machine-learned language model. The machine-learned language model is executed on the prompt to generate a response); and
transmitting, by the processor, a result of executing the user interface action to the client device (The online system receives a response generated by the model, generates a query response based on the response generated by the model, and transmits instructions to the client device to display the query response (Abstract). transmitting instructions, to the client device, to cause display of the generated query response to the user (claim 1 );
As per non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 10, the claim includes similar subject matter similar to the method claim 1 . Thus, the medium claim is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim.
As per device claim 17 , the claim include a similar subject matter similar to the method claim 1. Thus, the device claim is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldua et al (US 2025/0110957) in view of Kochura et a l (US 2018/0210824 A1).
Baldua et al (“Baldua”) relates to query planning for information retrieval systems.
As per claim 1, Baldua discloses a method (for example see flowcharts of Figs. 1A, 7A-7B) comprising:
receiving, by a processor, a natural language instruction from a client device, the natural language instruction describing a task utilizing a software application [(0183] In accordance with the method 750, a large language model is used to generate a query execution plan for processing a user input including a search query. At operation 752, the processing device receives, via a user interface of an application, a first query that includes a user request for information retrievable using a first set of data resources, where the first query includes at least one first query term. [0089] In operation, configure input classification prompt component 206 receives user input 202 and context data 204 from an application or client device (e.g., application 102), [0139] For example, user interface 612 enables the user of a user system 610 to create, edit, send, view, receive, process, and organize search queries, search results, content items, news feeds, and/or portions of online dialogs. also see [0048, 0070, 0078, 0139, 0142, 0169])
generating, by the processor, a user interface action representing the natural language instruction, the user interface action generated by a large language model responsive to an input prompt ([0047] Prompt as used herein may refer to one or more instructions that are readable by a GAI model, such as large language model 116, along with the input to which the GAI model is to apply the instructions, and a set of parameter values that constrain the operations of the GAI model during the processing of the prompt and generating and outputting a response to the prompt. Also see [0059]
executing, by the processor, the user interface action within the software application; [0108]The large language model 404 reads and executes the instructions contained in the plan generation prompt 402 to generate and output a query execution plan 422 for execution by a plan executor (e.g., plan executor 126. [0142] In some implementations, a front end portion of application system 630 can operate in user system 610, for example as a plugin or widget in a graphical user interface of a web application, mobile software application, or as a web browser executing user interface 612. In an embodiment, a mobile app or a web browser of a user system 610 can transmit a network communication such as an HTTP request over network 620 in response to user input that is received through a user interface provided by the web application, mobile app, or web browser, such as user interface 612. A server running application system 630 can receive the input from the web application, mobile app, or browser executing user interface 612, perform at least one operation using the input, and return output to the user interface 612 using a network communication such as an HTTP response, which the web application, mobile app, or browser receives and processes at the user system 610); and
transmitting, by the processor, a result of executing the user interface action to the client device ([0127] In FIG. 5B, a user interface 550 includes a display of search results 556 that have been returned for a user's query 552. Each search result includes profile information about the entity associated with the search result (e.g., profile data for job candidates), as well as a set of action mechanisms that enable the user viewing the result set 556 to perform actions in relation to the search result, such as storing the result for future use, hiding the result, and initiating the sending of a message. Also see [0063], [0142], [0198]).
Baldua further describes [0028] Given a task description, a generative model can generate a set of task description-output pairs, where each pair contains a different output. In some implementations, the generative model assigns a score to each of the generated task description-output pairs.
Although Baldua describes generative model that can generate a set of tasks but the Baldua does not seem to teach the newly amended language including, generating, by the processor, a user interface action comprising a programmatic interaction with a user interface element of the software application, the user interface action representing the natural language instruction, the user interface action generated by a large language model responsive to an input prompt.
Kochura, on the other hand, discloses a user interface automation tool executes a script to perform automation functions on user interface controls in a user interface of an application. Responsive to automation of a given user interface control failing, the user interface automation tool identifies a candidate user interface control that is the same as a user interface control expected in the script using a machine learning model. The user interface automation tool corrects the script to refer to the candidate user interface control to form a corrected script. The user interface automation tool performs a user interface function on the candidate user interface control according the corrected script (Abstract) .
Thus, before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kochura with Baldua because the user interface automation tool of Kochura provides efficiency and scalability, reduce human error and execute operations around the clock.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kochura with Baldua to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Baldua in view of Kochura further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein generating the user interface action comprises:
identifying a parameter in the natural language instruction (Baldua, [0089] In operation, configure input classification prompt component 206 receives user input 202 and context data 204 from an application or client device (e.g., application 102). Determine possible intents component 208 formulates an intent query 210 including the user input 202 and context data 204 as parameters. Also See [0110]);
caching the parameter (Baldua, [0158] A data store configured for offline or batch data processing can be referred to as an offline data store. Data stores can be implemented using databases, such as key-value stores, relational databases, and/or graph databases. Data can be written to and read from data stores using query technologies, e.g., SQL or NoSQL. [0159] A key-value database, or key-value store, is a nonrelational database that organizes and stores data records as key-value pairs. The key uniquely identifies the data record, i.e., the value associated with the key); and
replacing the parameter with a default value to generate a parameterized version of the natural language instruction (Baldua, [0157] For example, a data store can include a volatile memory such as a form of random access memory (RAM) available on user system 610 for storing state data generated at the user system 610 or an application system 630. As another example, in some implementations, a separate, personalized version of each or any of the entity data store 662, activity data store 664, prompt data store 666, and/or context data store 668 is created for each user such that data is not shared between or among the separate, personalized versions of the data stores. [0124] In the user interface shown in FIG. 5B, certain data that would normally be displayed may be anonymized for the purpose of this disclosure. In a live example, the actual data and not the anonymized version of the data would be displayed. For instance, the text “CompanyName” would be replaced with a name of an actual company and “FirstName LastName” would be replaced with a user's actual name).
As per claim 3, Baldua in view of Kochura further discloses that the method of claim 2, wherein generating the user interface action further comprises:
generating a large language model prompt using the parameterized version of the natural language instruction (Baldua, [0025] To accomplish these and other improvements to conventional information retrieval systems, embodiments can dynamically configure a prompt to include instructions to cause one or more generative artificial intelligence models (e.g., one or more large language models) to generate and output a plan for executing a query. In accordance with the instructions set forth in the prompt, the large language model is to generate a query execution plan that includes a set of functions, where the set of functions are executable using a set of data resources to create a modified version of the initial query);
inputting the parameterized version of the natural language instruction into the large language model to obtain the user interface action (Baldua, [0025] Also in accordance with the instructions set forth in the prompt, the large language model is to select the set of functions in accordance with the user's explicit and/or implicit signals, e.g., the query input by the user and/or the user's history of interactions with the user interface. [0054] A query execution plan includes a set of functions which can be executed by executor 126 to create a modified version of the user input (e.g., a modified version of first query 106). For example, a query execution plan can include a set of functions that retrieve data from multiple different data resources 134 and incorporate at least some of that retrieved data into the modified version of the user input); and
rehydrating the user interface action by inserting the parameter into the user interface action (Baldua, [0130] User interface 550 includes a chat section 568. The chat section 568 includes a chat style dialog box 570, a system-generated response to the user's input in the dialog box 570, including selectable action mechanisms 574, and a chat style input mechanism 576 by which the user can provide feedback relating to the system output including the insights and/or suggestions, start a new query, or input a natural language comment, statement, or question to modify the user's query 552 or the modified version 554. [0175] At operation 712, the processing device configures a second prompt to cause a large language model to translate the intent obtained at operation 708 into a set of functions that can be executed to modify the first query and output a plan for executing the first query, where the plan is to include the set of functions. To configure the second prompt, operation 708 can, for example, merge the user input received at operation 702, the context data obtained at operation 704, and the intent obtained at operation 708 with a pre-created prompt or prompt template for query plan generation. Also see [0032-0033,0054]).
As per claim 4, Baldua in view of Kochura further discloses that the method of claim 3, wherein inserting the parameter into the user interface action comprises replacing the default value appearing in the user interface action with the parameter (Baldua, [0047 ]The parameter values contained in the prompt can be specified by the GAI model and may be adjustable in accordance with the requirements of a particular design or implementation. Examples of parameter values include the maximum length or size of the prompt and the temperature, or degree to which the model produces deterministic output versus random output).
As per claim 8, Baldua in view of Kochura further discloses that the method of claim 2, wherein generating the user interface action further comprises retrieving a curated user interface action using the parameterized version of the natural language instruction (Baldua, [0047] The parameter values contained in the prompt can be specified by the GAI model and may be adjustable in accordance with the requirements of a particular design or implementation. Examples of parameter values include the maximum length or size of the prompt and the temperature, or degree to which the model produces deterministic output versus random output. The way in which the elements of the prompt are organized and the phrasing used to articulate the prompt elements can significantly affect the output produced by the GAI model in response to the prompt. For example, a small change in the prompt content or structure can cause the GAI model to generate a very different output. Also see [0054] A query execution plan includes a set of functions which can be executed by executor 126 to create a modified version of the user input (e.g., a modified version of first query 106). For example, a query execution plan can include a set of functions that retrieve data from multiple different data resources 134 and incorporate at least some of that retrieved data into the modified version of the user input).
As per claim 9, Baldua in view of Kochura further discloses that the method of claim 8, wherein the result of executing the user interface action includes an execution status and the method further comprises updating a status of the curated user interface action responsive to the execution status (Baldua, [0054] A query execution plan includes a set of functions which can be executed by executor 126 to create a modified version of the user input (e.g., a modified version of first query 106). For example, a query execution plan can include a set of functions that retrieve data from multiple different data resources 134 and incorporate at least some of that retrieved data into the modified version of the user input. [Baldua, 0061] The executor 126 executes the plan 124 to translate the user input (e.g., first query 106) to a modified version of the user input (e.g., a modified version of first query 106). For example, the executor 126 executes a set of functions contained in the plan 124 according to an order of execution specified in the plan 124 to obtain at least one second query term 128 from one or more data resources).
As per non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims 10, 11, 15 and 16, these claims include similar subject matter similar to the method claims 1, 2, 8, and 9, respectively . Thus, the medium claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims.
As per device claims 17 and 18, these claims include similar subject matter similar to the method claims 1, and 2, respectively . Thus, the device claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TADESSE HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174